DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The applicant has elected Species Ia (claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10) with indicating traverse, and no argument has been submitted. Applicant’s election in the reply is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
This restriction is made FINAL. See previous action for the reasons of applying restriction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM HYUNG MO et al. (KR1020210147332, listed on IDS).
As to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10, KIM HYUNG MO (claims, abs., Ex.1) discloses a composition comprising a biodegradable polyester having a Mn of 50k that meets the range of instant pgpub [0263] and a monomer ratio of 1,4-butanediol// adipic acid/ dimethylterephthalate (1.4//0.5/0.5) meets the range of instant pgpub [0063] and the monomers of instant pgpub [0052-60] and [0081-83].
KIM HYUNG MO is silent on the claimed properties of hydrolysis degree, weight swelling rates measured in ethanol, water contact angle, and polarity of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10. The polyester would inherently exhibit the aforementioned properties, because in view of the substantially identical composition (in this case, the disclosed polymer/monomer structures, monomer molar ratio, biodegradability, and Mn), it appears that the adduct would have inherently possessed the claimed properties. See MPEP § 2112.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM HYUNG MO et al. (US 20210380757, listed on IDS).
As to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10, KIM HYUNG MO (claims, abs., Ex.1) discloses a composition comprising a biodegradable polyester having a Mn of 50k that meets the range of instant pgpub [0263] and a monomer ratio of 1,4-butanediol// adipic acid/ dimethylterephthalate (1.4//0.5/0.5) meets the range of instant pgpub [0063] and the monomers of instant pgpub [0052-60] and [0081-83].
KIM HYUNG MO is silent on the claimed properties of hydrolysis degree, weight swelling rates measured in ethanol, water contact angle, and polarity of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10. The claimed properties are met by the same rationale of above ¶1.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (US 20220389154, listed on IDS).
As to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10, Ryu (claims, abs., Ex.1) discloses a composition comprising a biodegradable polyester having a Mn of 50k that meets the range of instant pgpub [0263] and a monomer ratio of 1,4-butanediol//adipic acid/ terephthalic acid (1//0.48/0.52) meets the range of instant pgpub [0063] and the monomers of instant pgpub [0052-60] and [0081-83].
Ryu is silent on the claimed properties of hydrolysis degree, weight swelling rates measured in ethanol, water contact angle, and polarity of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10. The claimed properties are met by the same rationale of above ¶1.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US20150183927, listed on IDS).
As to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10, Kang (claims, abs., 90, Ex.1) discloses a composition comprising a biodegradable polyester having an intrinsic viscosity of 120-200 cm3/g (1.2-2 dl/g, an index of Mn or Mw) that meets the range of instant pgpub [0188] and a monomer ratio of 1,4-butanediol// adipic acid/ terephthalic acid (1.3//0.52/0.48) meets the range instant pgpub [0063] and the monomers of instant pgpub [0052-60] and [0081-83].
Kang is silent on the claimed properties of hydrolysis degree, weight swelling rates measured in ethanol, water contact angle, and polarity of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10. The claimed properties are met by the same rationale of above ¶1.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (CN102311618, listed on IDS).
As to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10, Yuan (claims, abs., Ex.2) discloses a composition comprising a biodegradable polyester having a Mn of 54390 that meets the range of instant pgpub [0263] and a monomer ratio of 1,4-butanediol// adipic acid/ dimethylterephthalate (320kg//175kg/130kg=1.42//0.58/0.42 in mols by calculation) meets the range instant pgpub [0063] and the monomers of instant pgpub [0052-60] and [0081-83].
Yuan is silent on the claimed properties of hydrolysis degree, weight swelling rates measured in ethanol, water contact angle, and polarity of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10. The claimed properties are met by the same rationale of above ¶1.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (Chinese Journal of Chemistry, 2007, 25, 1581-1583).
As to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10, Zhu (abs., Preparation of copolyesters, Table 1) discloses a composition comprising a polyester having a Mn of 3.57-4.68k that meets the range of instant pgpub [0263] and a monomer ratio of 1,4-butanediol// adipic acid/ dimethylterephthalate (1.04/04/0.4=1.3//0.5/0.5) meets the range instant pgpub [0063] and the monomers of instant pgpub [0052-60] and [0081-83].
Zhu is silent on the claimed properties of biodegradability, hydrolysis degree, weight swelling rates measured in ethanol, water contact angle, and polarity of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10. The claimed properties are met by the same rationale of above ¶1.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alidedeoglu et al. (US 20130018130).
As to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10, Alidedeoglu (claims, abs., Table 1-2, Ex.1) discloses a composition comprising a biodegradable polyester having a Mn of 3.2k that meets the range of instant pgpub [0263] and a monomer ratio of 1,4-butanediol// adipic acid/ terephtahtlic acid (58g//36.5g/36.5g=1.28//0.5/0.5 in mols by calculation) meets the range instant pgpub [0063] and the monomers of instant pgpub [0052-60] and [0081-83].
Alidedeoglu is silent on the claimed properties of hydrolysis degree, weight swelling rates measured in ethanol, water contact angle, and polarity of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10. The claimed properties are met by the same rationale of above ¶1.
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is (are) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/320220. This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
‘220 (claims 1 and 12) meets instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 in an anticipatory manner, because it discloses a composition comprising a biodegradable polyester having the claimed degree of hydrolysis:
using the claimed method. The polyester:
meets the polyesters of instant pgpub [0081-83] and [0052-63]. ‘220 is silent on the claimed weight swelling rates measured in ethanol, water contact angle, and polarity of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9-10. However, one ordinary skill in the art would have expected the polyester of ‘220 to feature the same aforementioned properties, because ‘220obviously satisfy all of the material and chemical limitations (polymer/monomer structures, monomer molar ratio, biodegradability, and hydrolysis degree) of the instant invention-see MPEP 2112.01
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 is (are) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US 12098242.
‘242 (claim 1) meets instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 in an anticipatory manner, because it discloses a composition comprising a biodegradable polyester:
The disclosed Mn and monomer ratio of 1,4-butanediol// adipic acid/ terephtahtlic acid or dimethyl terephthalate meet those of instant [0263], [0063] , [0052-60], and [0081-83].
The claimed properties are met by the same rationale of above ¶8.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Randy Gulakowski can be reached on 571.572.1302. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHANE FANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766