DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 12, and 14-21 are pending in this application. Claims 16-20 have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 3/26/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 7, 9, 10, and 21 render moot each and every rejection made in the previous Office Action. These rejections are therefore withdrawn by the Examiner. New rejections are set forth in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govind et al. 2014, US 20140158616 A1 (referred to herein as Govind), in view of Sams et al. US 20200399735 A1 (referred to herein as Sams), Rhode et al. 2021, WO 2021099333 A1 (referred to herein as Rhode), and in further view of Grant et al. 2019, US 20190256987 A1 (referred to herein as Grant).
Regarding claim 1, Govind teaches a process (including apparatus) used to precipitate salts via the addition of an organic solvent (0057), comprising:
routing a loaded solvent stream to a solvent recovery unit (apparatus, 0013) that removes and recovers the organic solvent and a solvent stream (“remove the solvent from the water,” 0013; “organic solvent,” 0014);
returning the solvent stream to the contactor (Figure 3b (0066), Figure 6 (“organic solvent separated by the membrane unit 210 is simply recycled back to the settler,” 0127));
wherein the solvent recovery unit removes the organic solvent from the loaded solvent stream by evaporation (application of lowered pressure aids in the evaporation of the water miscible solvent from the slurry, 0077)
wherein the solvent recovery unit recovers the organic solvent by condensation (the organic solvent is condensed and collected via path 80 and condensed via condenser 84, 0077)
and wherein the solvent recovery unit removes residual organic solvent from the solid lithium-containing salts (“Salt slurry, that is, the underflow 74,” 0077) by heating the solid lithium-containing salts (jacketed area 66 surrounding vessel 54, 0077-0078)
under reduced pressure, 0077.
Govind does not teach:
contacting a solid salt deposit comprising lithium with an organic solvent comprising an alcohol in a contactor to selectively dissolve the lithium and form a loaded solvent stream;
yielding solid lithium-containing salts;
dissolving the solid lithium-containing salts in an aqueous medium to form a reclaimed lithium solution in a reclamation stage;
extracting lithium from the reclaimed lithium solution using an extraction process selective for the lithium to yield a lithium concentrate and a depleted aqueous material;
returning a portion of the depleted aqueous material to the reclamation stage to be used as the aqueous medium; and
monitoring a water balance to determine if water should be added or removed during any one or more of the extracting, dissolving, routing, or contacting;
and wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system configured to measure water flux.
However, regarding limitations I and II, Sams discloses known methods of extracting lithium (0005) including contacting a lithium-bearing brine with an organic solvent (0005) in a contactor (0028), and additionally discloses a method of recovering alkali metals from an aqueous source (0012) wherein contacting with an organic solvent yields a loaded solvent stream (0012) that is rich in lithium (0028). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the ion-rich solvent taught by Govind with a lithium loaded solvent stream formed by the process disclosed by Sams; this would be obvious to one skilled in the art because of the known solubility of monovalent cations including lithium and sodium, as Govind teaches (0006). See MPEP 2143 I (B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), regarding the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. One skilled in the art would be motivated to make this substitution in order to obtain lithium for commercial demand, with a scalable and economically advantageous process, as Sams teaches (0004, 0008). One skilled in the art would therefore obtain lithium-containing salts as required by the instant claim.
While the source of salt taught by Sams is a liquid brine and not a solid salt deposit as required by the instant claim, Grant teaches an integrated process for generating a purified lithium salt from a liquid resource (0037) wherein the liquid resource provided is a dissolved salt flat (0326) or is produced by leaching material with water, solvent, or other liquid (0326); it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the modification taught by Sams would operate equally effectively with a solid salt deposit as a starting material, by dissolving it, as Grant teaches, in order to create a solution that can be contacted with the organic solvent, as Sams teaches. While neither Sams nor Grant teaches a motivation for starting with a solid salt deposit as a raw material, it is prima facie obvious for one skilled in the art to combine known elements in the art (in this case, a leaching solvent with a solid salt deposit) according to known methods to yield predictable results; see MPEP 2143, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), regarding the obviousness of combining elements according to known methods. One skilled in the art would therefore reasonably contact a solid salt deposit with a leaching solvent and an organic solvent and have a reasonable expectation of success.
Sams does not teach that the organic solvent is an alcohol. However, Rhode teaches a process for the purification of lithium salts (title) wherein the lithium hydroxide solid is dissolved with methanol or ethanol (abstract). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the solvent CYANEX 936® taught by Sams (0028) with methanol or ethanol, as Rhode teaches; one would be motivated to do so to achieve good separation of lithium in high purity, as Rhode teaches (abstract).
Regarding limitations III and IV, Govind, Sams, Grant and Rhode teach the invention as discussed above. Grant also teaches an integrated process for generating a purified lithium salt from a liquid resource (0037) wherein the liquid resource provided is a dissolved salt flat (0326) or is produced by leaching material with water, solvent, or other liquid (0326). This meets the requirement of forming a reclaimed lithium solution in a reclamation stage as required by the instant claim. Grant further teaches an embodiment wherein the liquid resource is subjected to a lithium-selective ion exchange (0397) followed by stripping the lithiated ion exchange material (0419) to yield a lithium concentrate and a depleted aqueous material (“hydrogen-rich ion exchange material,” 0419; protonated acidified brine, 0096); this meets the requirement of extracting lithium from the reclaimed lithium solution using an extraction process selective for the lithium, as required by the instant claim. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to leach or dissolve the material provided by the invention of Govind, Sams, Grant and Rhode (lithium-containing salts) with water, solvent, or other liquid, as taught by Grant, and apply the lithium-selective extraction process as taught by Grant; one would be motivated to do so in order to obtain concentrated lithium in solution for use in the battery industry, as Grant teaches (0002, 0003).
Regarding limitation V, Grant further teaches that the liquid resource that is used to form the reclaimed lithium solution can be a liquid from an ion exchange or solvent extraction process (0326), teaches that the liquid resource can be produced from acidified solutions (“leaching materials using acid,” 0326), and teaches an embodiment where the liquid resource is a brine that is processed to remove lithium from a spent brine that is depleted of lithium (0327), which is interpreted to meet the limitation of a depleted aqueous material in the reclamation stage to be used as the aqueous medium required by the instant claim. Furthermore, Grant teaches that the ion exchange system may be recirculating and that the brine traverses the loop repeatedly (0291). It would therefore be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention of Govind and Sams and Grant to return a portion of the obtained depleted material to the step of a reclamation stage, to thus form a reclaimed lithium solution, as Grant teaches (0326); one would be motivated to do so in order to pass the brine repeatedly through the ion exchange system, in order to have “additional lithium uptake” as Grant teaches (0462).
Regarding limitations VI and VII, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the invention as discussed above. Grant further teaches a monitoring of pH (0306) and volumes or quantities of base added (0402) where the base added is aqueous and therefore includes water (“the pH of the brine is monitored before and after each mixing tank in the brine circuit to control the rate of addition of aqueous base solution,” 0444), and wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system (pH meters installed in components of the system, 0316) configured to measure water flux (pH modulating setup, comprising an inlet for adding base, 0401; “monitoring of volumes or quantities of the base,” 0402). This therefore meets the limitation of a monitoring a water balance, and wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system. The limitation of to determine if water should be added or removed during any one or more of the extracting, dissolving, routing, or contacting is therefore met by this teaching of Grant, since the monitoring of aqueous base necessarily monitors water as well, and the control system taught by Grant is configured to measure water flux (monitor volumes, rates, quantities of base added, 0402, 0444). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention of Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode with a monitoring pH setup as taught by Grant; one would be motivated to do so in order to maintain a thermodynamic equilibrium to favor lithium uptake (0096) and avoid precipitation of unwanted solids, which can cause problems with the efficiency of the invention, as Grant teaches (0097).
One skilled in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 2, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the invention as discussed for claim 1. Grant also teaches that the obtained concentrated lithium ion solution can be further processed into chemicals for the battery industry (0003).
Regarding claim 6, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the invention as discussed for claim 1. Sams also teaches an analogous extraction process to remove lithium from aqueous media (0028) wherein an aqueous salt deposit (divalent-depleted stream 116, 0028) is contacted with an organic solvent (organic solvent with entrained and dissolved aqueous material in the dehydrator 150, 0040) in a contacting vessel (dehydrator/stripper 150, 0040) and an impurity stream (aqueous brine stream 158, 0040) can be routed back to the contacting step (“the aqueous brine stream 158 may be combined with the lithium-depleted aqueous stream 128,” 0040); see Figure 1. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention of Govind modified by Sams and Grant by routing an impurity stream of the extraction process to the contacting vessel as Sams teaches; one would be motivated to do so to maximize solvent recovery, as Sams teaches (0040). One skilled in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the invention as discussed for claim 1. The extraction process taught by Grant does not teach a stream comprising an alcohol being produced from the extraction process. However, Sams teaches an analogous extraction process that yields a stream comprising an organic solvent (loaded solvent stream 126 is sent to dehydrator 150 to yield aqueous brine stream 158 that can be combined with stream 128, 0040, Figure 1). With the invention of Govind modified by Rhode as applied to claim 1, this organic solvent comprises an alcohol such as methanol or ethanol, thus meeting the limitations required of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the invention as discussed for claim 1. Grant further teaches that the spent brine may be disposed in one or more disposal wells after the brine is processed to recover lithium (0328), wherein the disposal wells are near the center of a geologic formation or near the bottom of a geologic formation (0328); this is interpreted to meet the instant limitation of the depleted aqueous material being depleted of lithium, and a portion of the depleted aqueous material being returned to the environment.
Regarding claim 12, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the invention as discussed for claim 1. Grant further teaches contacting the reclaimed lithium solution with a material selective for the lithium (ion exchange material, 0397) to remove the lithium from the reclaimed lithium solution and unloading the lithium from the selective material using a stripping material to form an intermediate (0419).
Regarding claim 14, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the invention as discussed for claim 1. Grant further teaches an embodiment of the dissolving (leaching to produce the liquid resource, 0326) comprising using acid with a concentration of greater than about 0.1 N and an embodiment comprising heating (0326); this meets the requirements of setting a composition, temperature, or both of the fluid, as required by the instant claim.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode, as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Featherstone 1984, US 4429535 A, referred to herein as Featherstone.
Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the method as applied to claim 9. They do not teach injecting the portion of the depleted aqueous material underground at a depth selected such that a temperature at the depth is above a precipitation temperature of the depleted aqueous material.
However, Featherstone teaches in analogous art a system for processing geothermal brine (paragraph 1) in which the clarified, spent brine is returned to the aquifer through a reinjection well (C10/L49-55). Featherstone teaches that the reinjection occurs at a temperature and depth (C10/L67) sufficient to bring the brine above a saturation point (C11/L1) in order to prevent scaling (C11/L1-3). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention taught by Govind, Sams, and Grant by adopting the reinjection at a temperature and depth taught by Featherstone, and thus arrive at the claimed invention before the effective filing date, motivated to also prevent impurities present in the depleted stream, which may comprise of silica, from precipitating and scaling, as Featherstone teaches (C11/L1-3).
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Wei et al. CN 109824067 A, referred to herein as Wei. The translation of the specification and translated Figure 1 as provided with the Office Action mailed on 01/08/2026 is cited herein.
Regarding claim 11, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the method as applied to claim 1. They do not teach that the solid salt deposit is a byproduct of an atmospheric evaporation recovery process that yields an evaporation concentrate. However, Wei discloses an analogous process (41) of obtaining lithium wherein the concentrate is an extraction concentrate (this [coarse ore M2 to concentrate M2] is the second lithium extraction path, 52); the salt deposit is a byproduct of an atmospheric evaporation (natural evaporation, see Pool #1 and Pool #2 in translated Figure 1) recovery process (see Pool #4 in translated Figure 1) that yields an evaporation concentrate (4#The pool is re-evaporated by X2% and the obtained sediment has more hetero salts, which is called the superior lithium coarse ore M2, 50); and converting target ions in the evaporation concentrate and the extraction concentrate to a product (waiting for CO2 to extract lithium after collection, 50; the CO2 transformation to create LiHCO3, translated Figure 1).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention of Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode by substituting the solid salt deposit starting material with a solid salt deposit obtained from the natural evaporation process taught by Wei (Pool #1 and #2, translated Figure 1) and further convert the lithium in the evaporation concentrate and extraction concentrate to a product, as Wei teaches; one would be motivated to do so in order to solve current constraints of effectively obtaining lithium from lithium-abundant salt lakes, as Wei teaches (13).
It is noted that the language of “wherein the lithium concentrate is an extraction concentrate” is not interpreted as a further limitation on claim 1, since the language of claim 1 reads “extracting lithium… using an extraction process… to yield a lithium concentrate,” and therefore the lithium concentrate yielded is necessarily an extraction concentrate.
Regarding claim 15, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the method as applied to claim 1. They do not teach that the solid salt deposit is a waste salt deposit from an evaporation process and the method is a part of a process to remediate the waste salt deposit. However, Wei teaches that the salt deposit is a waste salt deposit from an evaporation process (see pool #5 and pool #8, translated Figure 1, wherein the wastewater is recycled into pool #2 and pool #3 to yield lithium sediments, including lithium ore M2), and that the method is part of a process to remediate the waste salt deposit (“This patent … effectively solves the current constraints of lithium extraction from the salt and helps the salt lake in China,” 13).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention of Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode by substituting the solid salt deposit starting material with a waste salt deposit obtained from the natural evaporation process taught by Wei (Pool #2, translated Figure 1) and therefore necessarily include the process as part of a process to remediate the waste salt deposit, as Wei teaches; one would be motivated to do so in order to solve current constraints of effectively obtaining lithium from lithium-abundant salt lakes, as Wei teaches (13).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govind, in view of Sams, Rhode, Grant, and Featherstone, and in further view of Marcin et al. 2013, US 20130313199 A1, referred to herein as Marcin.
Govind, modified by Sams, Rhode, Grant, Featherstone, and Wei as discussed for claims 1, 2, 6, 7, and 9-15 above, teaches each and every limitation of claim 21 except the following:
Regarding claim 21, Govind teaches a process (including apparatus) used to precipitate salts via the addition of an organic solvent (0057), comprising:
routing a loaded solvent stream to a solvent recovery unit (apparatus, 0013) that removes and recovers the organic solvent and a solvent stream (“remove the solvent from the water,” 0013; “organic solvent,” 0014),
wherein the solvent recovery unit removes the organic solvent from the loaded solvent stream by evaporation (application of lowered pressure aids in the evaporation of the water miscible solvent from the slurry, 0077)
wherein the solvent recovery unit recovers the organic solvent by condensation (the organic solvent is condensed and collected via path 80 and condensed via condenser 84, 0077)
returning the solvent stream to the contactor (Figure 3b (0066), Figure 6 (“organic solvent separated by the membrane unit 210 is simply recycled back to the settler,” 0127));
removing residual organic solvent from the solid lithium-containing salts (“Salt slurry, that is, the underflow 74,” 0077) by heating the solid lithium-containing salts (jacketed area 66 surrounding vessel 54, 0077-0078)
under reduced pressure, 0077
Govind does not teach:
contacting a solid salt deposit comprising lithium with an organic solvent comprising an alcohol in a contactor to selectively dissolve the lithium and form a loaded solvent stream;
wherein contacting comprises controlling selectivity of the organic solvent for dissolving lithium by setting a composition, a temperature, or both, of the organic solvent;
yielding solid lithium-containing salts;
dissolving the solid lithium-containing salts in an aqueous medium to form a reclaimed lithium solution in a reclamation stage,
wherein the aqueous medium comprises an aqueous stream that comprises an impurity stream of the extraction process;
removing residual organic material from the reclaimed lithium solution by passing the reclaimed lithium solution through an activated carbon filter;
extracting lithium from the reclaimed lithium solution using an extraction process selective for the lithium to yield a lithium concentrate and a depleted aqueous material,
wherein extracting comprises contacting the reclaimed lithium solution with a lithium-selective material to remove lithium from the reclaimed lithium solution and unloading lithium from the lithium-selective material using a stripping material to form a lithium intermediate,
wherein the extraction process further comprises a purification process that removes water, impurities, or both to yield the lithium concentrate from the lithium intermediate,
returning a portion of the depleted aqueous material to the reclamation stage to be used as the aqueous medium;
returning a portion of the depleted aqueous material to the environment
by injecting the depleted aqueous material underground at a depth selected such that a temperature at the depth is above a precipitation temperature of the depleted aqueous material;
converting lithium in the lithium concentrate to a lithium product; and
monitoring a water balance to determine if water should be added or removed during any one or more of the extracting, dissolving, routing, or contacting,
wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system configured to measure water flux.
However, regarding limitations VIII and X, Sams discloses known methods of extracting lithium (0005) including contacting a lithium-bearing brine with an organic solvent (0005) in a contactor (0028), and additionally discloses a method of recovering alkali metals from an aqueous source (0012) wherein contacting with an organic solvent yields a loaded solvent stream (0012) that is rich in lithium (0028). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the ion-rich solvent taught by Govind with a lithium loaded solvent stream formed by the process disclosed by Sams; this would be obvious to one skilled in the art because of the known solubility of monovalent cations including lithium and sodium, as Govind teaches (0006). See MPEP 2143 I (B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), regarding the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. One skilled in the art would be motivated to make this substitution in order to obtain lithium for commercial demand, with a scalable and economically advantageous process, as Sams teaches (0004, 0008). One skilled in the art would therefore obtain lithium-containing salts as required by the instant claim.
While the source of salt taught by Sams is a liquid brine and not a solid salt deposit as required by the instant claim, Grant teaches an integrated process for generating a purified lithium salt from a liquid resource (0037) wherein the liquid resource provided is a dissolved salt flat (0326) or is produced by leaching material with water, solvent, or other liquid (0326); it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the modification taught by Sams would operate equally effectively with a solid salt deposit as a starting material, by dissolving it, as Grant teaches, in order to create a solution that can be contacted with the organic solvent, as Sams teaches. While neither Sams nor Grant teaches a motivation for starting with a solid salt deposit as a raw material, it is prima facie obvious for one skilled in the art to combine known elements in the art (in this case, a leaching solvent with a solid salt deposit) according to known methods to yield predictable results; see MPEP 2143, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), regarding the obviousness of combining elements according to known methods. One skilled in the art would therefore reasonably contact a solid salt deposit with a leaching solvent and an organic solvent and have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding limitation VIII, Sams does not teach that the organic solvent is an alcohol. However, Rhode teaches a process for the purification of lithium salts (title) wherein the lithium hydroxide solid is dissolved with methanol or ethanol (abstract). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the solvent CYANEX 936® taught by Sams (0028) with methanol or ethanol, as Rhode teaches; one would be motivated to do so to achieve good separation of lithium in high purity, as Rhode teaches (abstract).
Regarding limitations XI and XIV and XV and XVI, Govind, Sams, Grant and Rhode teach the invention as discussed above. Grant also teaches an integrated process for generating a purified lithium salt from a liquid resource (0037) wherein the liquid resource provided is a dissolved salt flat (0326) or is produced by leaching material with water, solvent, or other liquid (0326). This meets the requirement of dissolving a solid lithium-containing salt in an aqueous medium to form a reclaimed lithium solution in a reclamation stage as required by the instant claim. Grant further teaches an embodiment wherein the liquid resource is subjected to a lithium-selective ion exchange (0397) followed by stripping the lithiated ion exchange material (0419) to yield a lithium concentrate (“salt solution comprising lithium ions,” 0419) and a depleted aqueous material (“hydrogen-rich ion exchange material,” 0419; protonated acidified brine, 0096); this meets the requirement of extracting lithium from the reclaimed lithium solution using an extraction process selective for the lithium, as required by the instant claim. Grant further teaches contacting the reclaimed lithium solution with a material selective for the lithium (ion exchange material, 0397) to remove the lithium from the reclaimed lithium solution and unloading the lithium from the selective material using a stripping material to form a lithium intermediate (“salt solution comprising lithium ions,” 0419); this meets the limitation of contacting the reclaimed lithium solution with a lithium-selective material to remove lithium from the reclaimed lithium solution and unloading lithium from the lithium-selective material using a stripping material to form a lithium intermediate. Grant also teaches that the extraction process may further include a second stripping step prior to step (b) to strip volatile components such as water from the lithiated ion exchange material (0400) before it is sent to the step that produces the salt solution comprising lithium ions (0397); this meets the limitation of the purification process that removes water, impurities, or both to yield the lithium concentrate from the lithium intermediate, since with the inclusion of this step the concentrate would be separate in identity from the intermediate, and without this step the concentrate and the intermediate would have the same identity of being the “salt solution comprising lithium ions” (0419). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to leach or dissolve the material provided by the invention of Govind, Sams, Grant and Rhode (lithium-containing salts) with water, solvent, or other liquid, as taught by Grant, and apply the lithium-selective extraction process as taught by Grant; one would be motivated to do so in order to obtain concentrated lithium in solution for use in the battery industry, as Grant teaches (0002, 0003).
Regarding limitations XII and XVII, Grant further teaches that the liquid resource that is used to form the reclaimed lithium solution can be a liquid from an ion exchange or solvent extraction process (0326), teaches that the liquid resource can be produced from acidified solutions (“leaching materials using acid,” 0326), and teaches an embodiment where the liquid resource is a brine that is processed to remove lithium from a spent brine that is depleted of lithium (0327), which is interpreted to meet the limitation of a depleted aqueous material in the reclamation stage to be used as the aqueous medium required by the instant claim. Furthermore, Grant teaches that the ion exchange system may be recirculating and that the brine traverses the loop repeatedly (0291). It would therefore be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention of Govind and Sams and Grant to return a portion of the obtained depleted material to the step of a reclamation stage, to thus form a reclaimed lithium solution, as Grant teaches (0326); this is therefore interpreted to meet the limitation of an aqueous stream that comprises an impurity stream of the extraction process used to form a reclaimed lithium solution in the reclamation stage. One would be motivated to do so in order to pass the brine repeatedly through the ion exchange system, in order to have “additional lithium uptake” as Grant teaches (0462).
Regarding limitations XXI and XXII, Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode teach the invention as discussed above. Grant further teaches a monitoring of pH (0306) and volumes or quantities of base added (0402) where the base added is aqueous and therefore includes water (“the pH of the brine is monitored before and after each mixing tank in the brine circuit to control the rate of addition of aqueous base solution,” 0444), and wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system (pH meters installed in components of the system, 0316) configured to measure water flux (pH modulating setup, comprising an inlet for adding base, 0401; “monitoring of volumes or quantities of the base,” 0402). This therefore meets the limitation of a monitoring a water balance, and wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system. The limitation of to determine if water should be added or removed during any one or more of the extracting, dissolving, routing, or contacting is therefore met by this teaching of Grant, since the monitoring of aqueous base necessarily monitors water as well, and the control system taught by Grant is configured to measure water flux (monitor volumes, rates, quantities of base added, 0402, 0444). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention of Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode with a monitoring pH setup as taught by Grant; one would be motivated to do so in order to maintain a thermodynamic equilibrium to favor lithium uptake (0096) and avoid precipitation of unwanted solids, which can cause problems with the efficiency of the invention, as Grant teaches (0097).
Regarding limitation IX, Rhode teaches that the solubility of lithium is controlled by the alcohol:LiOH ratio added in the step (B) of combining LiOH with a lower alcohol (p. 2 line 31-37). It would therefore be obvious to one skilled in the art to control selectivity of the organic solvent used in Govind modified by Rhode by setting a composition of the organic solvent, motivated to control the solubility of lithium, as Rhode teaches (p. 2 line 31-37). This meets the limitation of controlling selectivity of the organic solvent for dissolving lithium by setting a composition, temperature, or both, of the organic solvent.
Regarding limitation XVIII and XIX, Grant further teaches that the spent brine may be disposed in one or more disposal wells after the brine is processed to recover lithium (0328), wherein the disposal wells are near the center of a geologic formation or near the bottom of a geologic formation (0328); this is interpreted to meet the instant limitation of the depleted aqueous material being depleted of lithium, and a portion of the depleted aqueous material being returned to the environment. Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode do not teach injecting the portion of the depleted aqueous material underground at a depth selected such that a temperature at the depth is above a precipitation temperature of the depleted aqueous material.
However, Featherstone teaches in analogous art a system for processing geothermal brine (paragraph 1) in which the clarified, spent brine is returned to the aquifer through a reinjection well (C10/L49-55). Featherstone teaches that the reinjection occurs at a temperature and depth (C10/L67) sufficient to bring the brine above a saturation point (C11/L1) in order to prevent scaling (C11/L1-3). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention taught by Govind, Sams, and Grant by adopting the reinjection at a temperature and depth taught by Featherstone, motivated to also prevent impurities present in the depleted stream, which may comprise of silica, from precipitating and scaling, as Featherstone teaches (C11/L1-3).
Regarding limitation XX, Grant also teaches that the obtained concentrated lithium ion solution can be further processed into chemicals for the battery industry (0003); this meets the instant limitation of converting lithium in the lithium concentrate to a lithium product. It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to modify the invention of Govind, Sams, Grant, Rhode, and Featherstone by producing the lithium product as Grant teaches; one would be motivated to do so in order convert the salts into higher value products to offset cost, as Govind teaches (0013).
Regarding limitation XIII, Govind, Sams, Grant, Rhode, and Featherstone teach the invention as discussed above. They do not teach removing residual organic material from the reclaimed lithium solution by passing the reclaimed lithium solution through an activated carbon filter. However, Marcin teaches a system and method for treatment of waters (title) analogous to the claimed invention, in which activated carbon is used (0085) to remove trace contaminants including organic substances (0085) from a water that has been passed through an organics removal step (0084). It would be obvious to combine the invention taught by Govind, Sams, Grant, Rhode, and Featherstone by passing the reclaimed lithium solution through an activated carbon filter; one would be motivated to do in order to remove any additional impurities including organic impurities, as Marcin teaches (0085). One skilled in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention before the effective filing date with reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the cited references regarding the rejection under U.S.C. 103 made over claim 1 do not disclose or suggest the features of amended claim 1. Specifically, applicant asserts, on page 9 PP. 1, that Govind, Sams, Grant, and Rhode do not disclose or suggest "returning the solvent stream to the contactor", "returning the depleted aqueous material to the reclamation stage to be used as the aqueous medium", or "monitoring a water balance to determine if water should be added or removed during any one or more of the extracting, dissolving, routing, or contacting [...] wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system configured to measure water flux" as recited in amended claim 1. However, these limitations are addressed in the rejections above, where the Examiner has found that Govind and Grant contain teachings or suggestions to combine these features to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applicant asserts, on page 9 PP. 4, that Featherstone does not disclose "returning the solvent stream to the contactor", "returning the depleted aqueous material to the reclamation stage to be used as the aqueous medium", or "monitoring a water balance to determine if water should be added or removed during any one or more of the extracting, dissolving, routing, or contacting [...] wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system configured to measure water flux" and does not overcome the deficiencies of Govind, Sams, and Grant. However, these limitations are addressed in the rejections above, where the Examiner has found that Govind and Grant contain teachings or suggestions to combine these features to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applicant asserts, on page 10 PP. 2, that Wei does not disclose "returning the solvent stream to the contactor", "returning the depleted aqueous material to the reclamation stage to be used as the aqueous medium", or "monitoring a water balance to determine if water should be added or removed during any one or more of the extracting, dissolving, routing, or contacting [...] wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system configured to measure water flux" and does not overcome the deficiencies of Govind, Sams, and Grant. However, these limitations are addressed in the rejections above, where the Examiner has found that Govind and Grant contain teachings or suggestions to combine these features to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applicant asserts, on page 10 PP. 6, that Marcin does not disclose "returning the solvent stream to the contactor", "returning the depleted aqueous material to the reclamation stage to be used as the aqueous medium", or "monitoring a water balance to determine if water should be added or removed during any one or more of the extracting, dissolving, routing, or contacting [...] wherein the monitoring is performed by a control system configured to measure water flux" and does not overcome the deficiencies of Govind, Sams, and Grant. However, these limitations are addressed in the rejections above, where the Examiner has found that Govind and Grant contain teachings or suggestions to combine these features to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Eileen Moudou/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738