DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 05/01/2026 is acknowledged with traverse. The traversal is on the ground(s) that "the subject matter of all group is sufficiently related that a thorough search for the subject matter of any one group would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining group. Thus, it is respectfully submitted that the search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden”. This is not found persuasive because there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: Inventions II and I are related as process of making and product made. The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (*US 20190318867 A1 *).
Regarding Claim 1:
Lee teaches that an electronic component comprising:
an element body (101, Fig. 2; para 0029-0054);
an electric element (120, Fig. 3) embedded inside the element body; and
an electrode terminal (181) connected to the electric element so as to be exposed to an outer surface (left or right bottom side of element 101 in Fig. 2)
of the element body;
wherein
the electrode terminal comprises a terminal body (181b) continuously and
integrally formed with a wire (not labeled; i.e. left or right straight downward part of 120 in Fig. 2) of the electric element embedded inside the element body and
extending in a planar shape along a main surface (i.e. bottom surface of 101
in Fig. 2) of the element body; and the wire is drawn out to an outside (i.e. the wire drawn outside through element 181 in Fig. 2) of the element body from the main surface of the element body to form the electrode terminal.
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Lee teaches that the terminal body has a thickness (not labeled; i.e. thickness of 181b in “T” direction in Fig. 2) smaller than that of the wire (construed from Fig. 2); and the terminal body has a width (not labeled; i.e. length of 181b in “L” direction in Fig. 2) larger than that of the wire.
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 2, Lee teaches that the terminal body extends in the planar shape along the main surface in a direction towards a center (not labeled; i.e. center of coil 120 in Fig. 1) of the electric element.
Regarding Claim 4-6:
As applied to claim 1, 2 and 3, Lee teaches that the electric element comprises a coil portion made of the wire (construed from Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7-9:
As applied to claim 1, 2 and 3, Lee teaches that wherein the element body comprises a resin (see para 0031).
Regarding Claim 16-18:
As applied to claim 1, 2 and 3, Lee teaches that a plating film (181c, Fig. 2; para 0037) is formed at an outer surface of the terminal body opposite an inner surface thereof in contact with the element body (construed from Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Yang (US 20210375529 A1).
Regarding Claim 10-12:
As applied to claim 1, 2 and 3, Lee does not teach that the element body further comprises a magnetic powder.
However, Yang teaches that the element body (100, Fig. 11; para 0051) further comprises a magnetic powder.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the element body further comprises a magnetic powder to increase the magnetic permeability of the device.
Regarding Claim 13-15:
As applied to claim 1, 2 and 3, Lee does not teach that at least an inner surface or a side surface of the terminal body in contact with the element body has surface roughness larger than that of an outer surface of the terminal body opposite the inner surface.
However, Yang teaches that at least {an inner surface or} a side surface (see Fig. 3; para 0075; claim 6) of the terminal body (410) in contact with the element body has surface roughness larger than (construed from Fig. 3) that of an outer surface of the terminal body opposite the inner surface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have at least an inner surface or a side surface of the terminal body in contact with the element body has surface roughness larger than that of an outer surface of the terminal body opposite the inner surface to reduce the phenomenon in which an insulating layer is not formed on an edge portion of a body (see para 0008).
,
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837