DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“adjustment structure” in claim 1;
“mechanism that adjusts a flow rate” in claim 2;
“mechanism that adjusts a separation distance” in claims 3 and 4;
“mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port” in claims 5-8; and
“mechanism that adjusts a flow rate” in claims 9-16
Factors that will support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent are:
(A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Kemco Sales, Inc. v. Control Papers Co., 208 F.3d 1352, 1364, 54 USPQ2d 1308, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (An internal adhesive sealing the inner surfaces of an envelope pocket was not held to be equivalent to an adhesive on a flap which attached to the outside of the pocket. Both the claimed invention and the accused device performed the same function of closing the envelope, but the accused device performed the function in a substantially different way (by an internal adhesive on the inside of the pocket) with a substantially different result (the adhesive attached the inner surfaces of both sides of the pocket)); Odetics Inc. v. Storage Tech. Corp., 185 F.3d 1259, 1267, 51 USPQ2d 1225, 1229-30 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977). The concepts of equivalents as set forth in Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products, 339 U.S. 605, 85 USPQ 328 (1950) are relevant to any "equivalents" determination. Polumbo v. Don-Joy Co., 762 F.2d 969, 975 n.4, 226 USPQ 5, 8-9 n.4 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
(B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Al-Site Corp. v. VSI Int’ l, Inc., 174 F.3d 1308, 1316, 50 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Chiuminatta Concrete Concepts, Inc. v. Cardinal Indus. Inc., 145 F.3d 1303, 1309, 46 USPQ2d 1752, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 1998); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977); Data Line Corp. v. Micro Technologies, Inc., 813 F.2d 1196, 1 USPQ2d 2052 (Fed. Cir. 1987).
(C) There are insubstantial differences between the prior art element and the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. IMS Technology, Inc. v. Haas Automation, Inc., 206 F.3d 1422, 1436, 54 USPQ2d 1129, 1138 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (1997); Valmont Industries, Inc. v. Reinke Mfg. Co., 983 F.2d 1039, 25 USPQ2d 1451 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See also Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (A structure lacking several components of the overall structure corresponding to the claimed function and also differing in the number and size of the parts may be insubstantially different from the disclosed structure. The limitation in a means- (or step-) plus-function claim is the overall structure corresponding to the claimed function. The individual components of an overall structure that corresponds to the claimed function are not claim limitations. Also, potential advantages of a structure that do not relate to the claimed function should not be considered in an equivalents determination under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara (JP 2019086189 A), hereinafter Ishihara, in view of Zhao (US 20200276551 A1), hereinafter Zhao, and further in view of Degenkolb (US 20170254534 A1), hereinafter Degenkolb.
Regarding claim 1, Ishihara discloses a combustion device comprising:
a burner including an ammonia injection nozzle having a tip portion provided with an injection port facing an internal space of a furnace (“The burner 4 includes an ammonia injection nozzle 41 and a pulverized coal injection nozzle 42, and is formed in a substantially cylindrical shape centering on the axis L of the ammonia injection nozzle 41 as a whole. The ammonia injection nozzle 41 has a rear end connected to the ammonia supply unit 6 and injects ammonia into the furnace 2 from the front end” all citations provided from machine translation appended to foreign reference).
Ishihara does not disclose:
a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the tip portion;
an adjustment structure that adjusts a temperature of the tip portion; and
a control device that controls an operation of the adjustment structure so that the temperature of the tip portion is equal to or lower than a reference temperature based on a detection result of the temperature sensor;
wherein the reference temperature is a temperature equal to or lower than a lower limit value of a nitriding temperature range that is a temperature range in which nitriding of the tip portion is likely to occur;
wherein the control device controls the operation of the adjustment structure such that the tip portion is more easily cooled or less likely to be heated as the temperature of the tip.
However, Zhao teaches:
a temperature sensor that detects a temperature (“The transmitter is provided at the inlet of the feed distributor, and configured to detect the initial temperature T.sub.0” paragraph [0123]);
an adjustment structure that adjusts a temperature of the tip portion; and
a control device that controls an operation of the adjustment structure so that the temperature of the tip portion is equal to or lower than a reference temperature based on a detection result of the temperature sensor;
wherein the reference temperature is a temperature equal to or lower than a lower limit value of a nitriding temperature range that is a temperature range in which nitriding of the tip portion is likely to occur;
wherein the control device controls the operation of the adjustment structure such that the tip portion is more easily cooled or less likely to be heated as the temperature of the tip (“the temperature T.sub.i of the propylene and ammonia mixed gas at any position in the feed distributor can be effectively controlled to be lower than the nitridation temperature of the feed distributor. For example, when the initial temperature T.sub.0 is determined, the temperature rise ΔT.sub.i can be controlled or adjusted to prevent the temperature Ti from exceeding the nitridation temperature; alternatively, when the temperature rise ΔT.sub.i is determined, the initial temperature T.sub.0 can also be controlled or adjusted to achieve effective control of the temperature T.sub.i so as to make the temperature T.sub.i lower than the nitridation temperature” paragraph [0074] and “in order to control the temperature of the gas mixture finally flowing out from nozzles, an initial temperature T.sub.0 of the gas mixture needs to be adjusted accordingly” paragraph [0097] and “in order to ensure that the final temperature of the gas mixture ejected from the nozzles does not exceed the corresponding nitridation temperature, the initial temperature T.sub.0 of the propylene and ammonia mixed gas should be 220° C. or lower. Moreover, when the reactor diameter is larger, for example, when the reactor diameter is 7.5-12 meters, the initial temperature T.sub.0 should be 200° C. or lower; when the reactor diameter is 8.5-12 meters, the initial temperature T.sub.0 should be 185° C. or lower” paragraph [0117]).
In view of Zhao’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the adjustment structure as is taught in Zhao, in the combustion device disclosed by Ishihara because Zhao states “When the temperature of the gas mixture is higher than a temperature (hereinafter sometimes referred to as nitridation temperature) at which ammonia decomposes into active nitrogen atoms, due to the continued presence of free ammonia in the gas mixture, part of the ammonia decomposes into active nitrogen atoms, which are bonded to metal atoms in the pipes to form a brittle metal nitride. The nitride is prone to brittle fractures under working conditions, causing fractures of the feed distributor” (paragraph [0004]). Therefore, including the structure of Zhao will prevent damage caused by nitridation.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, does not disclose the temperature sensor detects a temperature of the tip portion.
However, Degenkolb teaches the temperature sensor detects a temperature of the tip portion (“in the nozzle there may be arranged close to the burner tip, a sensor (10) for temperature monitoring, which allows conclusions to be drawn, both regarding the thermal load and the state of wear of the burner” paragraph [0031]).
In view of Degenkolb’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the temperature sensor detects a temperature of the tip portion as is taught in Degenkolb, in the combustion device as presently modified because Zhao states “in order to control the temperature of the gas mixture finally flowing out from nozzles, an initial temperature T.sub.0 of the gas mixture needs to be adjusted accordingly” (paragraph [0097]). Therefore, the temperature at the nozzle is of concern. Zhao uses a formula to predict a temperature at the nozzle for control. Degenkolb sates “By introducing temperature sensors at the burner nozzle parts in a position that is relatively protected in normal operation, conclusions can be drawn regarding the process conditions at the burner tip and the state of wear” (paragraph [0015]). Therefore, including a temperature sensor which detects a temperature of the tip portion will provide real time information on the process conditions at the burner tip.
Regarding claim 17, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, discloses a boiler comprising the combustion device according to claim 1 (“As shown in FIG. 1, the boiler 1 includes a furnace 2, a flue 3, a burner 4”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, and further in view of Tanazawa (EP 0562866 A1), hereinafter Tanazawa.
Regarding claim 2, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, discloses the combustion device according to claim 1.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of ammonia in the ammonia injection nozzle.
However, Tanazawa teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of solution in the solution injection nozzle (“By simultaneously supplying the aqueous solution of solid reducing agent and spray gas into the nozzle inner tube in order to increase the passing velocity of the solution through the nozzle inner tube under the effect of the spray gas, heat conduction to the solution is effectively prevented. This not only permits prevention of clogging of the nozzle tip portion, but also allows improvement of dispersion thereof into exhaust gas” page 6, line 13 and “The velocity of the aqueous solution of solid reducing agent passing through the nozzle inner tube is preferably at least 0.1 m/second. If the velocity is under this range, the nozzle may be clogged off because of crystallization or polymerization of the solid reducing agent in the nozzle inner tube under the effect of heat conduction from high-temperature exhaust gas” page 6, line 22).
In view of Tanazawa’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of solution in the solution injection nozzle as is taught in Tanazawa, in the combustion device as presently modified because Tanazawa states that adjusting the velocity of the solution prevents clogging of the nozzle tip.
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, and further in view of Vetterick (US 5315941 A), hereinafter Vetterick.
Regarding claim 3, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, discloses the combustion device according to claim 1.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a separation distance between the injection port and the internal space.
However, Vetterick teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a separation distance between the injection port and the internal space (“As the temperature transducer 26 monitors the flue gas temperature within the furnace chamber 16 or the convection pass 18, it relays the temperature reading to control means 30. Based on the temperature reading relayed from the temperature transducer 26 to the control means 30, the control means will activate a drive 28 which is responsible for moving and positioning the NOx inhibitor conduit 22 within the furnace chamber 16 or the convection pass 18 in order to move nozzle 24 to the location of the appropriate temperature window” column 3, line 17).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, does not teach the specific claimed adjustment structure. Vetterick teaches the claimed adjustment structure. The substitution of one known element (the initial temperature control of Zhao) for another (the actuator of Vetterick) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the actuator taught in Vetterick would have yielded predictable results, namely, structure for controlling the temperature experienced by the injector Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Regarding claim 18, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, discloses the combustion device according to claim 1.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, does not disclose wherein the temperature sensor is provided on an outer peripheral side of the tip portion.
However, Vetterick teaches wherein the temperature sensor (26) is provided on an outer peripheral side of the tip portion (24).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, does not disclose wherein the temperature is provided on an outer peripheral side of the tip portion. However, it is noted that there are a finite number of configurations available to one having ordinary skill in the art for placing a temperature sensor relative to a burner tip (on an outer side as in Vetterick, on an inner side as in Wang, or within as in Degenkolb). In this regard, it is noted that Vetterick teaches placing a temperature sensor on an outer peripheral side of the tip. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the combustion device as modified with an outer sensor since the configuration is known and therefore has a reasonable expectation of success see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Tanazawa, and further in view of Vetterick.
Regarding claim 4, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Tanazawa, discloses the combustion device according to claim 2.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Tanazawa, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a separation distance between the injection port and the internal space.
However, Vetterick teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a separation distance between the injection port and the internal space (“As the temperature transducer 26 monitors the flue gas temperature within the furnace chamber 16 or the convection pass 18, it relays the temperature reading to control means 30. Based on the temperature reading relayed from the temperature transducer 26 to the control means 30, the control means will activate a drive 28 which is responsible for moving and positioning the NOx inhibitor conduit 22 within the furnace chamber 16 or the convection pass 18 in order to move nozzle 24 to the location of the appropriate temperature window” column 3, line 17).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Tanazawa, does not teach the specific claimed adjustment structure. Vetterick teaches the claimed adjustment structure. The substitution of one known element (the initial temperature control of Zhao) for another (the actuator of Vetterick) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the actuator taught in Vetterick would have yielded predictable results, namely, structure for controlling the temperature experienced by the injector Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, and further in view of Daudish (US 20190336988 A1), hereinafter Daudish.
Regarding claim 5, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, discloses the combustion device according to claim 1.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port.
However, Daudish teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port (“The nozzle sprayer 112 comprises a rotary dial used to select spray patterns. The different spray patterns may also affect flow rates which affect the heating capacity of the heating elements. For example, lower flow rates may result in increased heating of water passing through the heating chamber 307, while higher flow rates may result in a lower temperature rise of water passing through the heating chamber 307” paragraph [0033]).
In view of the teachings of Daudish, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port as is taught in Daudish, in the combustion device as presently modified because Daudish shows that the opening area affects flow rate which affects residency which affects the temperature of the fluid. It is well known that denitration solutions can crystalize and clog nozzles at elevated temperatures (See Tanazawa and further references cited at the end of this action). Therefore, modifying the opening area to reduce a temperature of the fluid will minimize the risk of clogging in Ishihara.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Tanazawa, and further in view of Daudish.
Regarding claim 6, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Tanazawa, discloses the combustion device according to claim 2.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Tanazawa, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port.
However, Daudish teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port (“The nozzle sprayer 112 comprises a rotary dial used to select spray patterns. The different spray patterns may also affect flow rates which affect the heating capacity of the heating elements. For example, lower flow rates may result in increased heating of water passing through the heating chamber 307, while higher flow rates may result in a lower temperature rise of water passing through the heating chamber 307” paragraph [0033]).
In view of the teachings of Daudish, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port as is taught in Daudish, in the combustion device as presently modified because Daudish shows that the opening area affects flow rate which affects residency which affects the temperature of the fluid. It is well known that denitration solutions can crystalize and clog nozzles at elevated temperatures (See Tanazawa and further references cited at the end of this action). Therefore, modifying the opening area to reduce a temperature of the fluid will minimize the risk of clogging in Ishihara.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Vetterick, and further in view of Daudish.
Regarding claim 7, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb and Vetterick, discloses the combustion device according to claim 3.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb and Vetterick, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port.
However, Daudish teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port (“The nozzle sprayer 112 comprises a rotary dial used to select spray patterns. The different spray patterns may also affect flow rates which affect the heating capacity of the heating elements. For example, lower flow rates may result in increased heating of water passing through the heating chamber 307, while higher flow rates may result in a lower temperature rise of water passing through the heating chamber 307” paragraph [0033]).
In view of the teachings of Daudish, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port as is taught in Daudish, in the combustion device as presently modified because Daudish shows that the opening area affects flow rate which affects residency which affects the temperature of the fluid. It is well known that denitration solutions can crystalize and clog nozzles at elevated temperatures (See Tanazawa and further references cited at the end of this action). Therefore, modifying the opening area to reduce a temperature of the fluid will minimize the risk of clogging in Ishihara.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Tanazawa, in view of Vetterick, and further in view of Daudish.
Regarding claim 8, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Tanazawa, and Vetterick, discloses the combustion device according to claim 4.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Tanazawa, and Vetterick, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port.
However, Daudish teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port (“The nozzle sprayer 112 comprises a rotary dial used to select spray patterns. The different spray patterns may also affect flow rates which affect the heating capacity of the heating elements. For example, lower flow rates may result in increased heating of water passing through the heating chamber 307, while higher flow rates may result in a lower temperature rise of water passing through the heating chamber 307” paragraph [0033]).
In view of the teachings of Daudish, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts an opening area of the injection port as is taught in Daudish, in the combustion device as presently modified because Daudish shows that the opening area affects flow rate which affects residency which affects the temperature of the fluid. It is well known that denitration solutions can crystalize and clog nozzles at elevated temperatures (See Tanazawa and further references cited at the end of this action). Therefore, modifying the opening area to reduce a temperature of the fluid will minimize the risk of clogging in Ishihara.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, and further in view of Moberg (US 20040185399 A1), hereinafter Moberg.
Regarding claim 9, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, and Degenkolb, discloses the combustion device according to claim 1, comprising an air pipe disposed coaxially with the ammonia injection nozzle so as to surround the ammonia injection nozzle (Figure 2 shows that passage 42 comprises an annular passage formed of an inner and outer annular pipe. The translation [google translate] shows that the inner pipe forms an air pipe surrounding the ammonia nozzle).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, and Degenkolb, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe.
However, Moberg teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe (“an inner-middle duct 116. This duct is formed by the interior cylinder 126 of the outer-middle injector and exterior wall of the interior injector 118. A second gas is preferably injected through this duct. For example, cooling air to keep an injected urea solution cool prior to injection can be injected through this duct. The cooling air prevents urea decomposition prior to injection into the combustion furnace” paragraph [0040] and “The temperature of the cooling air was maintained below 100 degrees C. and the velocity was maintained above about 2 m/s to ensure that the urea solution was not boiling in the inner injector” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Moberg’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe as is taught in Moberg, in the combustion device as presently modified because Moberg states that controlling the air will prevent boiling of the solution in the inner injector. Therefore, including the teachings of Moberg will prevent boiling of the ammonia in the inner injector of Ishihara.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Tanazawa, and further in view of Moberg.
Regarding claim 10, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Tanazawa, discloses the combustion device according to claim 2, comprising an air pipe disposed coaxially with the ammonia injection nozzle so as to surround the ammonia injection nozzle (Figure 2 shows that passage 42 comprises an annular passage formed of an inner and outer annular pipe. The translation [google translate] shows that the inner pipe forms an air pipe surrounding the ammonia nozzle).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Tanazawa, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe.
However, Moberg teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe (“an inner-middle duct 116. This duct is formed by the interior cylinder 126 of the outer-middle injector and exterior wall of the interior injector 118. A second gas is preferably injected through this duct. For example, cooling air to keep an injected urea solution cool prior to injection can be injected through this duct. The cooling air prevents urea decomposition prior to injection into the combustion furnace” paragraph [0040] and “The temperature of the cooling air was maintained below 100 degrees C. and the velocity was maintained above about 2 m/s to ensure that the urea solution was not boiling in the inner injector” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Moberg’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe as is taught in Moberg, in the combustion device as presently modified because Moberg states that controlling the air will prevent boiling of the solution in the inner injector. Therefore, including the teachings of Moberg will prevent boiling of the ammonia in the inner injector of Ishihara.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Vetterick, and further in view of Moberg.
Regarding claim 11, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Vetterick, discloses the combustion device according to claim 3, comprising an air pipe disposed coaxially with the ammonia injection nozzle so as to surround the ammonia injection nozzle (Figure 2 shows that passage 42 comprises an annular passage formed of an inner and outer annular pipe. The translation [google translate] shows that the inner pipe forms an air pipe surrounding the ammonia nozzle).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Vetterick, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe.
However, Moberg teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe (“an inner-middle duct 116. This duct is formed by the interior cylinder 126 of the outer-middle injector and exterior wall of the interior injector 118. A second gas is preferably injected through this duct. For example, cooling air to keep an injected urea solution cool prior to injection can be injected through this duct. The cooling air prevents urea decomposition prior to injection into the combustion furnace” paragraph [0040] and “The temperature of the cooling air was maintained below 100 degrees C. and the velocity was maintained above about 2 m/s to ensure that the urea solution was not boiling in the inner injector” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Moberg’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe as is taught in Moberg, in the combustion device as presently modified because Moberg states that controlling the air will prevent boiling of the solution in the inner injector. Therefore, including the teachings of Moberg will prevent boiling of the ammonia in the inner injector of Ishihara.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Tanazawa, in view of Vetterick, and further in view of Moberg.
Regarding claim 12, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Tanazawa, and Vetterick, discloses the combustion device according to claim 4, comprising an air pipe disposed coaxially with the ammonia injection nozzle so as to surround the ammonia injection nozzle (Figure 2 shows that passage 42 comprises an annular passage formed of an inner and outer annular pipe. The translation [google translate] shows that the inner pipe forms an air pipe surrounding the ammonia nozzle).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Vetterick, and Tanazawa, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe.
However, Moberg teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe (“an inner-middle duct 116. This duct is formed by the interior cylinder 126 of the outer-middle injector and exterior wall of the interior injector 118. A second gas is preferably injected through this duct. For example, cooling air to keep an injected urea solution cool prior to injection can be injected through this duct. The cooling air prevents urea decomposition prior to injection into the combustion furnace” paragraph [0040] and “The temperature of the cooling air was maintained below 100 degrees C. and the velocity was maintained above about 2 m/s to ensure that the urea solution was not boiling in the inner injector” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Moberg’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe as is taught in Moberg, in the combustion device as presently modified because Moberg states that controlling the air will prevent boiling of the solution in the inner injector. Therefore, including the teachings of Moberg will prevent boiling of the ammonia in the inner injector of Ishihara.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Daudish, and further in view of Moberg.
Regarding claim 13, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Daudish, discloses the combustion device according to claim 5, comprising an air pipe disposed coaxially with the ammonia injection nozzle so as to surround the ammonia injection nozzle (Figure 2 shows that passage 42 comprises an annular passage formed of an inner and outer annular pipe. The translation [google translate] shows that the inner pipe forms an air pipe surrounding the ammonia nozzle).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, and Daudish, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe.
However, Moberg teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe (“an inner-middle duct 116. This duct is formed by the interior cylinder 126 of the outer-middle injector and exterior wall of the interior injector 118. A second gas is preferably injected through this duct. For example, cooling air to keep an injected urea solution cool prior to injection can be injected through this duct. The cooling air prevents urea decomposition prior to injection into the combustion furnace” paragraph [0040] and “The temperature of the cooling air was maintained below 100 degrees C. and the velocity was maintained above about 2 m/s to ensure that the urea solution was not boiling in the inner injector” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Moberg’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe as is taught in Moberg, in the combustion device as presently modified because Moberg states that controlling the air will prevent boiling of the solution in the inner injector. Therefore, including the teachings of Moberg will prevent boiling of the ammonia in the inner injector of Ishihara.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, Degenkolb, in view of Tanazawa, in view of Daudish, and further in view of Moberg.
Regarding claim 14, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Tanazawa, and Daudish, discloses the combustion device according to claim 6, comprising an air pipe disposed coaxially with the ammonia injection nozzle so as to surround the ammonia injection nozzle (Figure 2 shows that passage 42 comprises an annular passage formed of an inner and outer annular pipe. The translation [google translate] shows that the inner pipe forms an air pipe surrounding the ammonia nozzle).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Tanazawa, and Daudish, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe.
However, Moberg teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe (“an inner-middle duct 116. This duct is formed by the interior cylinder 126 of the outer-middle injector and exterior wall of the interior injector 118. A second gas is preferably injected through this duct. For example, cooling air to keep an injected urea solution cool prior to injection can be injected through this duct. The cooling air prevents urea decomposition prior to injection into the combustion furnace” paragraph [0040] and “The temperature of the cooling air was maintained below 100 degrees C. and the velocity was maintained above about 2 m/s to ensure that the urea solution was not boiling in the inner injector” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Moberg’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe as is taught in Moberg, in the combustion device as presently modified because Moberg states that controlling the air will prevent boiling of the solution in the inner injector. Therefore, including the teachings of Moberg will prevent boiling of the ammonia in the inner injector of Ishihara.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Vetterick, in view of Daudish, and further in view of Moberg.
Regarding claim 15, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Vetterick, and Daudish, discloses the combustion device according to claim 7, comprising an air pipe disposed coaxially with the ammonia injection nozzle so as to surround the ammonia injection nozzle (Figure 2 shows that passage 42 comprises an annular passage formed of an inner and outer annular pipe. The translation [google translate] shows that the inner pipe forms an air pipe surrounding the ammonia nozzle).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Vetterick, and Daudish, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe.
However, Moberg teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe (“an inner-middle duct 116. This duct is formed by the interior cylinder 126 of the outer-middle injector and exterior wall of the interior injector 118. A second gas is preferably injected through this duct. For example, cooling air to keep an injected urea solution cool prior to injection can be injected through this duct. The cooling air prevents urea decomposition prior to injection into the combustion furnace” paragraph [0040] and “The temperature of the cooling air was maintained below 100 degrees C. and the velocity was maintained above about 2 m/s to ensure that the urea solution was not boiling in the inner injector” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Moberg’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe as is taught in Moberg, in the combustion device as presently modified because Moberg states that controlling the air will prevent boiling of the solution in the inner injector. Therefore, including the teachings of Moberg will prevent boiling of the ammonia in the inner injector of Ishihara.
Claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, in view of Tanazawa, in view of Vetterick, in view of Daudish, and further in view of Moberg.
Regarding claim 16, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Tanazawa, Vetterick, and Daudish, discloses the combustion device according to claim 8, comprising an air pipe disposed coaxially with the ammonia injection nozzle so as to surround the ammonia injection nozzle (Figure 2 shows that passage 42 comprises an annular passage formed of an inner and outer annular pipe. The translation [google translate] shows that the inner pipe forms an air pipe surrounding the ammonia nozzle).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao, Degenkolb, Tanazawa, Vetterick, and Daudish, does not disclose wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe.
However, Moberg teaches wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe (“an inner-middle duct 116. This duct is formed by the interior cylinder 126 of the outer-middle injector and exterior wall of the interior injector 118. A second gas is preferably injected through this duct. For example, cooling air to keep an injected urea solution cool prior to injection can be injected through this duct. The cooling air prevents urea decomposition prior to injection into the combustion furnace” paragraph [0040] and “The temperature of the cooling air was maintained below 100 degrees C. and the velocity was maintained above about 2 m/s to ensure that the urea solution was not boiling in the inner injector” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Moberg’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the adjustment structure includes a mechanism that adjusts a flow rate of air in the air pipe as is taught in Moberg, in the combustion device as presently modified because Moberg states that controlling the air will prevent boiling of the solution in the inner injector. Therefore, including the teachings of Moberg will prevent boiling of the ammonia in the inner injector of Ishihara.
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara, in view of Zhao, in view of Degenkolb, and further in view of Wang (CN 108452660 A), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 19, Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, discloses the combustion device according to claim 1.
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, does not disclose wherein the temperature sensor is provided on an inner peripheral side of the tip portion.
However, Vetterick teaches wherein the temperature sensor (7) is provided on an outer peripheral side of the tip portion (Figure 1).
Ishihara, as modified by Zhao and Degenkolb, does not disclose wherein the temperature is provided on an inner peripheral side of the tip portion. However, it is noted that there are a finite number of configurations available to one having ordinary skill in the art for placing a temperature sensor relative to a burner tip (on an outer side as in Vetterick, on an inner side as in Wang, or within as in Degenkolb). In this regard, it is noted that Wang teaches placing a temperature sensor on an inner peripheral side of the tip. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the combustion device as modified with an inner sensor since the configuration is known and therefore has a reasonable expectation of success see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Janka (FI 87014 B) “The essential idea of the invention is that the location of the nozzles used for feeding lime in the firebox of the boiler is set in a suitable place according to the power of the boiler, so that the lime is fed to the temperature range optimal for calcination and desulphurisation. This can be done, for example, by measuring the temperature of the furnace and moving the nozzle towards the desired temperature range. The advantage of this solution is that, regardless of the boiler's 'load-bearing capacity, desulphurisation from flue gases can be carried out as efficiently as possible and, in addition, by boiler power • by changing the lime supply for desulphurisation”
Nakagawa (JP 2005000765 A) “In some cases, the ammonia water injection nozzle 10a is clogged because it reaches a temperature range in which acidic ammonium sulfate produced by the reaction of sulfur oxide and ammonia is deposited”
Frederiksen (CZ 369598 A3) “In preferred embodiments of this aspect of the invention, nitrogen-containing liquids, such as aqueous urea or ammonia, are injected into the gas stream by means of a two-phase nozzle using air at a pressure of about 300-300 kPa with the nozzle positioned in the middle of the gas stream… The minimum air flow through the nozzle protects the nozzle from overheating above 120 °. Higher nozzle temperatures can concentrate or decompose urea on the nozzle and cause clogging”
Bool (US 6254379 B1) “In another example it may be desired to provide ammonia or urea deep within a furnace to react with the NOx to form nitrogen gas”
Higgins (US 20100159406 A1) “The present invention also preferably includes a sliding injector embodiment. In this embodiment, the injectors can be slid toward or away from the reactor space for adjustment”
Xue (CN 103506000 A) “The invention is equipped with temperature measuring device at the nozzle end of the gun so as to precisely know the gun near temperature field situation, using PID control module, which can ensure when the gun position separated from the "temperature window" range in time when stopping spraying the reducing agent to prevent ammonia slip phenomenon”
Hamel (US 20140134086 A1) “The active component can be ammonia, urea or another nitrogen-containing compound which preferably at increased temperature releases ammonia and in this way can be used for selective non-catalytic reduction”
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762