Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 19 May 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein and lined through has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“or stepwise decreases” of claims 2-3;
“a difference between the diameter at the upstream end in the rotation direction and the diameter at the downstream portion is larger than the first engagement depth” of claim 3;
“or stepwise decreases” of claim 5;
“or stepwise decreases” of claim 6;
“a separatable body that is separably provided on the cylinder” of claim 7.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it merely consists of a run-on sentence without regard for proper grammatical form. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a rotator” in claim 1;
“a contact unit” in claim 1;
“a wound portion” in claim 4;
“a separatable body” of claim 7;
“a holding member” of claim 8;
“an image forming unit” of claim 11;
“an image forming unit” of claim 12;
“a rotator” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines a portion that comes into contact with the contact unit as a range from “an upstream end to a downstream end of the recessed portion” in the rotation direction. This is unclear in and of itself because it reads as if the range is defined as the recessed portion and defining the portion to be contacted being within the recessed portion. On the contrary, from the specification, it appears as though, in the rotation direction, the portion to be contacted is intended to range from the downstream end of the recessed portion to the upstream end of the recessed portion, following the rotation direction.
In addition, the claim then goes on to define the contact surface as “formed at an upstream end portion in the range in the rotation direction”. It is unclear what is meant by “an upstream end portion in the range” at least due to the indefiniteness of the initial range definition discussed above. It is also unclear because it does not positively define the “upstream end portion” as being an upstream end portion of the “a portion” that is contacted by the contact unit and the wording most closely aligns with the upstream end of the recessed portion. As such, this claim wording causes confusion and indefiniteness as to what structural relationships are particularly being claimed.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 defines a portion that comes into contact with the contact means as a range from “an upstream end to a downstream end of the recessed portion” in the rotation direction. This is unclear in and of itself because it reads as if the range is defined as the recessed portion and defining the portion to be contacted being within the recessed portion. On the contrary, from the specification, it appears as though, in the rotation direction, the portion to be contacted is intended to range from the downstream end of the recessed portion to the upstream end of the recessed portion, following the rotation direction.
In addition, the claim then goes on to define the contact surface as “formed at an upstream end portion in the range in the rotation direction”. It is unclear what is meant by “an upstream end portion in the range” at least due to the indefiniteness of the initial range definition discussed above. It is also unclear because it does not positively define the “upstream end portion” as being an upstream end portion of the “a portion” that is contacted by the contact means and the wording most closely aligns with the upstream end of the recessed portion. As such, this claim wording causes confusion and indefiniteness as to what structural relationships are particularly being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477).
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device (fig.1&5, #131) comprising: a rotator (fig.1, #3) that includes a recessed portion formed on an outer circumferential surface (fig.1, recess with #8 and #6 therein) and that rotates in a predetermined rotation direction (fig.1&5, direction #C); a contact unit that comes into contact with a portion of the outer circumferential surface (fig.5, #101 and/or #127) in a range from an upstream end to a downstream end of the recessed portion in the rotation direction at a predetermined engagement depth (fig.1, #101 from fig.5 would come in contact with #1/#2 from #B, clockwise to #A); and a contact surface (fig.1, portion of #1 below range indicator #A) that is formed at an upstream end portion in the range in the rotation direction (fig.1, #A is at the upstream end of #1/#2 and #B is the downstream end thereof) and that comes into contact with the contact unit at a second engagement depth less than a first engagement depth at a portion downstream of the upstream end portion (fig.1, portion of #1 below #A is at a slightly smaller diameter than at #1/#2 and therefore this limitation would be met since spacing between #101/#127 and #131 is maintained by fig.7, #139; col.5, ln.64-col.6, ln.6).
Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device wherein the contact surface is formed such that a diameter of the rotator from a rotation center gradually or stepwise decreases in a direction toward an upstream portion in the rotation direction (fig.1, see gradual change from #1/#2 to #1 on #8 in range #A).
Regarding claim 4, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device wherein the rotator includes a rotator body that includes the recessed portion formed on a cylindrical surface (fig.1, #3 with recess at #6/#8) and that rotates in the predetermined rotation direction (fig.1, #C direction), and a wound portion that is wound around the cylindrical surface in the range and that has the contact surface (fig.1, #1/#2).
Regarding claim 5, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device wherein as for the wound portion, a distance between an outer circumferential surface of the wound portion and the cylindrical surface gradually or stepwise decreases in a direction toward an upstream portion in the rotation direction in a region in which the contact surface is formed (fig.1, see distance change in region #A from #1 to #3).
Regarding claim 6, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device wherein a diameter of the rotator body gradually or stepwise decreases in a direction toward an upstream portion in the rotation direction in a region in which the contact surface is formed (fig.1, see distance change in region #A from #1 to #3).
Regarding claim 7, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device wherein the rotator body includes a cylinder that includes the recessed portion on a cylindrical surface (fig.1, #3 with recess at #6/#8) and that rotates in the predetermined rotation direction (fig.1, #C direction), and a separatable body that is separably provided on the cylinder in the region in which the contact surface is formed (fig.1, #8 in region #A), a part of the wound portion on which the contact surface is formed being mounted on the separatable body (fig.1, #1 on #8; col.6, ln.3-5).
Regarding claim 8, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device wherein the recessed portion contains a holding member that holds a recording medium (fig.1, #5/#6; col.5, ln.21-22).
Regarding claim 9, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device wherein the rotator transfers an image to the recording medium with the recording medium that is held by the holding member interposed between the rotator and the contact unit (fig.5, see #101ƒ col.5, ln.10-39).
Regarding claim 10, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device wherein the contact unit is a removing unit that removes a foreign substance that adheres to the outer circumferential surface (fig.5, #127).
Regarding claim 11, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.5) comprising: the rotation device according to claim 8 (see rejection herein); and an image forming unit that forms an image to be transferred to the recording medium (fig.5, #101, #103, & #104).
Regarding claim 12, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.5) comprising: the rotation device according to claim 9 (see rejection herein); and an image forming unit that forms an image to be transferred to the recording medium (fig.5, #101, #103, & #104).
Regarding claim 13, Takeuchi et al. (US 6,151,477) teach a rotation device (fig.1&5, #131) comprising: a rotator (fig.1, #3) that includes a recessed portion formed on an outer circumferential surface (fig.1, recess with #8 and #6 therein) and that rotates in a predetermined rotation direction (fig.1&5, direction #C); contact means for coming into contact with a portion of the outer circumferential surface (fig.5, #101) in a range from an upstream end to a downstream end of the recessed portion in the rotation direction at a predetermined engagement depth (fig.1, #101 from fig.5 would come in contact with #1/#2 from #B, clockwise to #A); and a contact surface (fig.1, portion of #1 below range indicator #A) that is formed at an upstream end portion in the range in the rotation direction (fig.1, #A is at the upstream end of #1/#2 and #B is the downstream end thereof) and that comes into contact with the contact means at a second engagement depth less than a first engagement depth at a portion downstream of the upstream end portion (fig.1, portion of #1 below #A is at a slightly smaller diameter than at #1/#2 and therefore this limitation would be met since spacing between #101 and #131 is maintained by fig.7, #139; col.5, ln.64-col.6, ln.6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “the contact surface is formed such that a difference between the diameter at the upstream end in the rotation direction and the diameter at the downstream portion is larger than the first engagement depth” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baba et al. (US Pub.2022/0097426) is a related case that comprises a separable member to which an end of the wound member is mounted.
Tanaka et al. (US Pub.2022/0075294) is a related case cited due to relational relevance.
Yoshioka et al. (US Pub.2022/0082979) is a related case that discloses a sloped contact surface on a downstream end of the contact area and a separable member with a wound portion affixed thereto.
Yoshioka et al. (US Pub.2023/0123692) is a related case that discloses a sloped contact surface on a downstream end of the contact area and a separable member with a wound portion affixed thereto.
Contact Information
/LKR/
1/22/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852