Continued Examination
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 15, 18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Katsaros et al. (US 2017/0288982).
Regarding claim 1, Katsaros discloses
A device, comprising:
a memory (FIG. 8 main memory 804, static memory 806, mass storage 816); and
one or more processors to (FIG. 8 processor 802):
access information identifying one or more tasks (paragraph [0027]: A Key Performance Indicator (KPI) of a cloud application 102 is a measurable parameter 302 that represents one aspect of the cloud application's 102 effectiveness and performance under variable operational conditions and workload; paragraph [0043]: The .DLL/.SO component 406 provides performance monitoring functionality) to be executed by a software application, the software application being associated with a plurality of modular applications (paragraph [0025]: The cloud application 102 is composed of one or more cloud application instances 104), each of the plurality of modular applications configured to perform a respective functionality of the software application (paragraph [0025]: Each cloud application instance 104 is composed of one or more cloud services, each of which may be a microservice … A cloud application instance 104 is the result of each of these cloud services 106, 108, 110 working together, and a cloud application 102 is the result of each cloud service type 116, 118, 120 working together);
determine an amount of resources for the software application (paragraph [0029]: In a cloud computing environment, it is possible to vary the number of compute resources available to a cloud application 102. To do this and still ensure that the cloud application stays within its acceptable performance range 306, two regions, referred to as “Adaption Regions,” 312, 314 may be defined. When the cloud application's 102 performance moves into one of these regions 312, 314, the cloud application 102 may take steps to adjust the compute resources available and maintain the cloud application's 102 KPIs within the acceptable range 306) based on resource utilization to execute the one or more tasks (paragraph [0027]: A Key Performance Indicator (KPI) of a cloud application 102 is a measurable parameter 302 that represents one aspect of the cloud application's 102 effectiveness and performance under variable operational conditions and workload); and
allocate a particular number of instances of one of the plurality of modular applications (paragraph [0046]: The scope of the adaption available at a Complete Service Instance Monitor 425 includes the ability to add or remove additional virtual machines to the set already executing the cloud service type (e.g., 116, 118, or 120); paragraph [0055]: upon the current value of the KPI being outside of an acceptable range 306 (or being within an adaptation region 312, 314), a first API is invoked to request a cloud service instance monitor 404 to adapt the cloud service instance 402 back into an acceptable KPI range 306; paragraph [0117]: In Example 36, the subject matter of Example 35 optionally includes wherein adapting includes at least one of the cloud service monitor and the application monitor initializing an additional virtual machine within the platform to execute a new cloud service instance) based on determining the amount of resources (paragraph [0029]: In a cloud computing environment, it is possible to vary the number of compute resources available to a cloud application 102. To do this and still ensure that the cloud application stays within its acceptable performance range 306, two regions, referred to as “Adaption Regions,” 312, 314 may be defined. When the cloud application's 102 performance moves into one of these regions 312, 314, the cloud application 102 may take steps to adjust the compute resources available and maintain the cloud application's 102 KPIs within the acceptable range 306).
Regarding claim 8 referring to claim 1, Katsaros discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, the instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first device, cause the one or more processors to (paragraph [0077]: The storage device 816 may include a machine-readable medium 822 on which is stored one or more sets of data structures or instructions 824 … The instructions 824 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 804, within static memory 806, or within the hardware processor 802 during execution thereof by the machine 800).
Regarding claim 15 referring to claim 1, Katsaros discloses A method comprising: ... (See the rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Katsaros discloses
where the software application is a microservices application (paragraph [0025]: Each cloud application instance 104 is composed of one or more cloud services, each of which may be a microservice).
Regarding claim 3, Katsaros discloses
where the one or more processors are further to: increase a number of the plurality of instances (paragraph [0046]: The scope of the adaption available at a Complete Service Instance Monitor 425 includes the ability to add or remove additional virtual machines to the set already executing the cloud service type (e.g., 116, 118, or 120); paragraph [0055]: upon the current value of the KPI being outside of an acceptable range 306 (or being within an adaptation region 312, 314), a first API is invoked to request a cloud service instance monitor 404 to adapt the cloud service instance 402 back into an acceptable KPI range 306; paragraph [0117]: In Example 36, the subject matter of Example 35 optionally includes wherein adapting includes at least one of the cloud service monitor and the application monitor initializing an additional virtual machine within the platform to execute a new cloud service instance) of the one of the plurality of modular applications (paragraph [0025]: Each cloud application instance 104 is composed of one or more cloud services, each of which may be a microservice … A cloud application instance 104 is the result of each of these cloud services 106, 108, 110 working together).
Regarding claim 5, Katsaros discloses
where the one or more processors are further to: allocate the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications (paragraph [0046]: The scope of the adaption available at a Complete Service Instance Monitor 425 includes the ability to add or remove additional virtual machines to the set already executing the cloud service type (e.g., 116, 118, or 120); paragraph [0055]: upon the current value of the KPI being outside of an acceptable range 306 (or being within an adaptation region 312, 314), a first API is invoked to request a cloud service instance monitor 404 to adapt the cloud service instance 402 back into an acceptable KPI range 306; paragraph [0117]: In Example 36, the subject matter of Example 35 optionally includes wherein adapting includes at least one of the cloud service monitor and the application monitor initializing an additional virtual machine within the platform to execute a new cloud service instance) based on a service level agreement (paragraph [0028]: The SLA to which the cloud application 102 should comply may be translated into a series of smaller SLAs (“sub-SLA”), each sub-SLA relating to a cloud service 106, 108, 110 of a cloud application instance 104. Thus, the cloud application 102 SLA may be decomposed and mapped to each of the cloud services 106, 108, 110 that comprise a cloud application instance 104. Each sub-SLA may be managed independently; thus the service and the defined KPIs may be assured for each cloud service 106, 108, 110 of the cloud application instance 104 as well as for the overall SLA for the cloud application 102).
Regarding claim 6, Katsaros discloses
where the one or more processors are further to: determine a quantity of the instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications (paragraph [0046]: The scope of the adaption available at a Complete Service Instance Monitor 425 includes the ability to add or remove additional virtual machines to the set already executing the cloud service type (e.g., 116, 118, or 120); paragraph [0055]: upon the current value of the KPI being outside of an acceptable range 306 (or being within an adaptation region 312, 314), a first API is invoked to request a cloud service instance monitor 404 to adapt the cloud service instance 402 back into an acceptable KPI range 306; paragraph [0117]: In Example 36, the subject matter of Example 35 optionally includes wherein adapting includes at least one of the cloud service monitor and the application monitor initializing an additional virtual machine within the platform to execute a new cloud service instance) based on one or more resources (paragraph [0029]: In a cloud computing environment, it is possible to vary the number of compute resources available to a cloud application 102. To do this and still ensure that the cloud application stays within its acceptable performance range 306, two regions, referred to as “Adaption Regions,” 312, 314 may be defined. When the cloud application's 102 performance moves into one of these regions 312, 314, the cloud application 102 may take steps to adjust the compute resources available and maintain the cloud application's 102 KPIs within the acceptable range 306).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Katsaros discloses
where each of the plurality of modular applications is configured to perform a respective functionality of the software application (paragraph [0025]: Each cloud application instance 104 is composed of one or more cloud services, each of which may be a microservice … A cloud application instance 104 is the result of each of these cloud services 106, 108, 110 working together, and a cloud application 102 is the result of each cloud service type 116, 118, 120 working together).
Regarding claim 11, Lawson discloses
where the one or more processors (FIG. 8 processor 802) are further to: provision a network device to execute the software application (paragraph [0025]: a cloud application 102 built on a three-tier model (e.g., a front end providing a user interface, a middle layer providing custom business logic, and a back end providing data storage and retrieval) may include three cloud services: a web server 106, a business logic layer 108, and a data store 110).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Lawson discloses
where each of the plurality of modular applications is independently deployable (paragraph [0024]: Elasticity is improved with microservices because each microservice type may scale independently of the others).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsaros et al. (US 2017/0288982) in view of Kumar (US 2018/0069806, hereinafter Kumar).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 17, Katsaros does not teach where the one or more processors are further to: selectively adjust the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications to increase resource utilization. Kumar teaches where the one or more processors are further to: selectively adjust the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications to increase resource utilization (paragraph [0065]: In the step 552, the resource allocation manager resets the cost of all edges of each microservice identified to MIC_min. At a next step 554, the resource allocation manager changes the status of the identified INACTIVE microservices (if any) to ACTIVE. At a step 556, the resource allocation manager then ascertains that dependency information is up to date in both MSD graph and microservice graph. In this way, the resource allocation manager supports the scale up of microservices. In embodiments, the resource allocation manager does not launch new microservices in the group when scale-up is needed but rather manages the existing, unused (e.g., dormant) microservices of the group in an efficient way; paragraph [0069]: The inactive microservice also relinquishes resources (e.g., file handlers, locks, database connections etc.), it has for processing requests). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the teaching of Katsaros by resetting the cost of all edges of each microservice identified to MIC_min to support the scale up (i.e., increasing resource utilization) of microservices for processing requests upon changing the status of the identified INACTIVE microservices to ACTIVE of Kumar. The motivation would have been to manage the existing, unused (e.g., dormant) microservices of the group in an efficient (Kumar paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 7, Katsaros does not teach where the one or more processors are further to: allocate the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications in a linear or an exponential manner. Kumar teaches where the one or more processors are further to: allocate the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications in a linear or an exponential manner (paragraph [0065]: In the step 552, the resource allocation manager resets the cost of all edges of each microservice identified to MIC_min. At a next step 554, the resource allocation manager changes the status of the identified INACTIVE microservices (if any) to ACTIVE. At a step 556, the resource allocation manager then ascertains that dependency information is up to date in both MSD graph and microservice graph. In this way, the resource allocation manager supports the scale up of microservices. In embodiments, the resource allocation manager does not launch new microservices in the group when scale-up is needed but rather manages the existing, unused (e.g., dormant) microservices of the group in an efficient way; paragraph [0069]: The inactive microservice also relinquishes resources (e.g., file handlers, locks, database connections etc.), it has for processing requests). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the teaching of Katsaros by resetting the cost of all edges of each microservice identified to MIC_min to support the scale up of microservices for processing requests upon changing the status of the identified INACTIVE microservices not being able to process the requests to ACTIVE (i.e., increasing the number of instances in a linear or an exponential manner) of Kumar. The motivation would have been to manage the existing, unused (e.g., dormant) microservices of the group in an efficient (Kumar paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claims 14, and 16, Katsaros does not teach where the one or more instructions, to allocate the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications, cause the one or more processors to: increase a number of the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications; and determine an execution time based on the increase number of the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications. Kumar teaches where the one or more instructions, to allocate the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications, cause the one or more processors to: increase a number of the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications; and determine an execution time based on the increase number of the plurality of instances of the one of the plurality of modular applications (paragraph [0065]: In the step 552, the resource allocation manager resets the cost of all edges of each microservice identified to MIC_min. At a next step 554, the resource allocation manager changes the status of the identified INACTIVE microservices (if any) to ACTIVE. At a step 556, the resource allocation manager then ascertains that dependency information is up to date in both MSD graph and microservice graph. In this way, the resource allocation manager supports the scale up of microservices. In embodiments, the resource allocation manager does not launch new microservices in the group when scale-up is needed but rather manages the existing, unused (e.g., dormant) microservices of the group in an efficient way; paragraph [0069]: The inactive microservice also relinquishes resources (e.g., file handlers, locks, database connections etc.), it has for processing requests), it has for processing requests). Execution time will be implicitly determined upon processing more requests. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the teaching of Katsaros by resetting the cost of all edges of each microservice identified to MIC_min to support the scale up of microservices for processing requests (i.e., increasing the number of instances) upon changing the status of the identified INACTIVE microservices to ACTIVE of Kumar. The motivation would have been to manage the existing, unused (e.g., dormant) microservices of the group in an efficient (Kumar paragraph [0065]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsaros et al. (US 2017/0288982) in view of Ming (US 2015/0262114, hereinafter Ming).
Regarding claim 10, Katsaros does not teach where the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: determine a percentage completion associated with the one or more tasks; and determine the execution time based on the percentage completion. Ming teaches where the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: determine a percentage completion associated with the one or more tasks; and determine the execution time based on the percentage completion (paragraph [0049]: The performance module 120 may generate the reports based on a comparison of estimated timing information for jobs (e.g., the timing information communicated to customers at a time a job work order is created) and actual timing information associated with the actual completion of the jobs. For example, the performance module 130 may generate reports that provide: an average amount of time to complete jobs of a particular type during a given time period (e.g., a day, five days, a month, etc.), a number of jobs of a particular type actually completed during the given time period, a total number of jobs actually completed during the given time period, a number or percentage of jobs actually completed within a threshold period time (e.g., five minutes) after the estimated duration of time to complete a job of a particular type expires, a number or percentage of jobs actually started before or within a threshold period time of an estimated start time (e.g., the estimated start time communicated to a customer), a number or percentage of jobs completed before or within a threshold period of time of the estimated complete time (e.g., the estimated complete time communicated to a customer). It is contemplated that other reports may be generated by the performance module 130 as well). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the teaching of Katsaros by generating reports that provide an average amount of time to complete jobs of a particular type during a given time period (e.g., a day, five days, a month, etc.), a number of jobs of a particular type actually completed during the given time period, a total number of jobs actually completed during the given time period, a number or percentage of jobs actually completed within a threshold period time (e.g., five minutes) after the estimated duration of time to complete a job of a particular type expires, a number or percentage of jobs actually started before or within a threshold period time of an estimated start time (e.g., the estimated start time communicated to a customer), a number or percentage of jobs completed before or within a threshold period of time of the estimated complete time (e.g., the estimated complete time communicated to a customer) of Ming. The motivation would have been to help an entity operating one or more service facilities manage the timing of service jobs across work stations (Ming paragraph [0022]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsaros et al. (US 2017/0288982) in view of Chung et al. (US 2018/0113742, hereinafter Chung).
Regarding claim 19, Katsaros does not disclose further comprising: implementing a machine learning technique to determine an execution time associated with execution of the one or more tasks. Chung discloses further comprising: implementing a machine learning technique to determine an execution time associated with execution of the one or more tasks (paragraph [0003]: The tuning server may include mathematical tuning algorithm (e.g., function minimization) and/or the machine learning methods (e.g., artificial neural network). The tuning server explores the resource allocation space and improves configuration suggested through time progresses with many job executions. The tuning /learning is based on historic data collected from previously executed jobs (job characteristics, resource used, performance measurements) and its tuning /learning mechanism. The output of the tuning server (which is a configuration) then used by the job scheduler to run the job and render guaranteed services for users. The job-associated information is then collected and stored into the historical data for future references). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the teaching of Katsaros by performing tuning /learning based on historic data collected from previously executed jobs (job characteristics, resource used, performance measurements) and its tuning /learning mechanism of Chung. The motivation would have been to an optimized configuration for a projected amount of resources based on machine learning (Chung paragraph [0001]).
Conclusion
/SISLEY KIM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196
1/19/2026