DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed on 10/21/2025.
Claims 1-9 were originally filed. Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-9 have been amended. Claims 10-15 have been newly added. Claims 1-15 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the new title of the invention.
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 10/21/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the independent claims, which have been amended to recite elements of previously filed claim 2, namely: “the indication including a reason code indicating the second multi-link device avoid using the second link at the start time point”, the cited Patil reference is believed to meet this limitation. Paragraphs 0125-0127 (amongst others) disclose a first multi-link device (MLD) transmitting a frame to a second MLD including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) indication for the second MLD to avoid using a second link at the start time, as seen in figures 17B and 18, for example. As also seen in paragraphs 0257-0260, a DNT indication can be based on a channel switch announcement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Patil et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0224939; hereinafter Patil).
Regarding claim 1 Patil discloses a communication method in a wireless local area network, the method comprising:
sending, by a first multi-link device, an indication to a second multi-link device through one or more links comprising a first link, the indication comprising a start time point and an identifier (paragraphs 0116-0119, 0159, 0231-0237; wherein an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) transmits a frame to a station multi-link device (STA MLD) including link attribute element, multi-link element comprising link ID and an offset value for the STA MLD to perform an operation indicated by a change sequence number (CSN)), the indication indicating the second multi-link device perform an operation related to a second link at the start time point, the identifier identifying the second link or identifying a band that the second link is on (paragraphs 0116-0119, 0159, 0231-0237; with the frame comprising a link ID and an offset value for the STA MLD to perform an operation indicated by the CSN), the indication including a reason code indicating the second multi-link device avoid using the second link at the start time point (paragraphs 0125-0127, 0257-0260; do not transmit indication for the STA MLD to avoid communicating in a second link).
Regarding claim 2 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 1, the reason code indicating the second multi-link device switch to another link and avoid using the second link (paragraphs 0257-0260; wherein the DNT indication can be based on a channel switch).
Regarding claim 3 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 1, the indication further comprising a duration for which the second multi-link device continuously performs the operation related to the second link (paragraphs 0284, 0303; the AP MLD may advertise a flag or update indicator value=1 in the change sequence field for a duration equal to the maximum of Listen interval for all associated STAs).
Regarding claim 4 Patil discloses a communication method in a wireless local area network, the method being applied to a second multi-link device that communicates with a first multi-link device, the method comprising: receiving, by the second multi-link device, an indication from the first multi-link device through one or more links comprising a first link, the indication comprising a start time point and an identifier (paragraphs 0116-0119, 0159, 0231-0237; wherein an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) transmits a frame to a station multi-link device (STA MLD) including link attribute element, multi-link element comprising link ID and an offset value for the STA MLD to perform an operation indicated by a change sequence number (CSN)); and performing, by the second multi-link device, an operation related to a second link at the start time point based on the indication, the identifier being of the second link or being of a band that the second link is on (paragraphs 0116-0119, 0159, 0231-0237; with the frame comprising a link ID and an offset value for the STA MLD to perform an operation indicated by the CSN), the indication including a reason code indicating the second multi-link device avoid using the second link at the start time point (paragraphs 0125-0127, 0257-0260; do not transmit indication for the STA MLD to avoid communicating in a second link).
Regarding claim 5 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 4, the reason code indicating to switch to another link and avoid using the second link (paragraphs 0257-0260; wherein the DNT indication can be based on a channel switch).
Regarding claim 6 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 4, wherein the performing, by the second multi-link device, the operation related to a second link at the start time point based on the indication comprises: changing, by the second multi-link device, an operating band of a radio frequency circuit at the start time point if the reason code indicates the second multi-link device avoid the second link (paragraphs 0213, 0226, 0227, 0232, 0258; link switching by the STA MLD), and the second multi-link device is a single radio frequency non-access point multi-link device (paragraphs 0232; such as a STA MLD with a single radio).
Regarding claim 7 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 4, the indication further comprising a duration for continuously performing the operation related to the second link (paragraphs 0284, 0303; the AP MLD may advertise a flag or update indicator value=1 in the change sequence field for a duration equal to the maximum of Listen interval for all associated STAs).
Regarding claim 8 Patil discloses a computer device (fig. 6A), comprising: a memory storing instructions (memory 640); and at least one processor in communication with the memory (processor 630), the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps:
sending, by a first multi-link device, an indication to a second multi-link device through one or more links comprising a first link, the indication comprising a start time point and an identifier (paragraphs 0116-0119, 0159, 0231-0237; wherein an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) transmits a frame to a station multi-link device (STA MLD) including link attribute element, multi-link element comprising link ID and an offset value for the STA MLD to perform an operation indicated by a change sequence number (CSN)), the indication indicating the second multi-link device perform an operation related to a second link at the start time point, and the identifier identifying the second link or identifying a band that the second link is on (paragraphs 0116-0119, 0159, 0231-0237; with the frame comprising a link ID and an offset value for the STA MLD to perform an operation indicated by the CSN), the indication including a reason code indicating the second multi-link device avoid using the second link at the start time point (paragraphs 0125-0127, 0257-0260; do not transmit indication for the STA MLD to avoid communicating in a second link).
Regarding claim 9 Patil discloses a computer device (fig. 6B), comprising: a memory storing instructions (memory 645); and at least one processor in communication with the memory (processor 635), the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps:
receiving, by the second multi-link device, an indication from the first multi-link device through one or more links comprising a first link (paragraphs 0116-0119, 0159, 0231-0237; wherein an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) transmits a frame to a station multi-link device (STA MLD) including link attribute element, multi-link element comprising link ID and an offset value for the STA MLD to perform an operation indicated by a change sequence number (CSN)), the indication comprising a start time point and an identifier; and performing, by the second multi-link device, an operation related to a second link at the start time point based on the indication, the identifier being of the second link or being of a band that the second link is on (paragraphs 0116-0119, 0159, 0231-0237; with the frame comprising a link ID and an offset value for the STA MLD to perform an operation indicated by the CSN), the indication including a reason code indicating the second multi-link device avoid using the second link at the start time point (paragraphs 0125-0127, 0257-0260; do not transmit indication for the STA MLD to avoid communicating in a second link).
Regarding claim 10 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 1, the reason code indicating the second multi-link device wake and switch to the another link (paragraphs 0284-0285; Power save STAs are expected to wake-up during transmission of the DTIM beacon, and therefore may receive the critical update indication, one or more operation parameters may include at least one of a channel switch announcement (CSA)).
Regarding claim 11 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 1, the reason code indicating the second multi-link device perform load balancing (paragraphs 0101, 0201-0203; certain conditions, such as if congestion on a first link is high, the MLDs may switch from communicating on the first link to communicating on a second link. Aspects of the present disclosure provide a single MLA context that can be shared between the MAC-SAP endpoints of the MLDs so that the MLDs may dynamically communicate over any link shared between the MLDs without disassociating or re-associating).
Regarding claim 12 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 1, the reason code including one or more of: a load balance field, a wake the corresponding link only field, an occupied already field, or a link recommendation field (paragraphs 0213, 0227-0228; the frame information providing a second or third link indication for dynamic switching (hereby interpreted as “link recommendation field”)).
Regarding claim 13 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 4, the reason code indicating the second multi-link device wake and switch to the another link (paragraphs 0284-0285; Power save STAs are expected to wake-up during transmission of the DTIM beacon, and therefore may receive the critical update indication, one or more operation parameters may include at least one of a channel switch announcement (CSA)).
Regarding claim 14 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 4, the reason code indicating the second multi-link device perform load balancing (paragraphs 0101, 0201-0203; certain conditions, such as if congestion on a first link is high, the MLDs may switch from communicating on the first link to communicating on a second link. Aspects of the present disclosure provide a single MLA context that can be shared between the MAC-SAP endpoints of the MLDs so that the MLDs may dynamically communicate over any link shared between the MLDs without disassociating or re-associating).
Regarding claim 15 Patil discloses the communication method according to claim 4, the reason code including one or more of: a load balance field, a wake the corresponding link only field, an occupied already field, or a link recommendation field (paragraphs 0213, 0227-0228; the frame information providing a second or third link indication for dynamic switching (hereby interpreted as “link recommendation field”)).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2019/0158413 to Patil et al. – which discloses systems, methods, and apparatuses for dynamically changing a primary communication link on which wireless devices contend for access to a shared wireless medium.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466