DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group 1/species 1 (claims 1-19, figures 1a-2d and 2f-2h) in the reply filed on 04/22/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that search and examination can be made for this entire application could be made without serios burden. This is not found persuasive because the figures to the different species recite mutually exclusive characteristics which are not obvious variants of each other and would be a serious search burden if a restriction was not implemented. Also independent 2 is withdrawn from consideration since the limitations “ an inward protrusion continuously and integrally formed with the terminal body and extending from the main surface into an inside of the element body” is taught in species 9; figures 5a-5e and not disclosed in species 1; figures 1a-2d and 2f-2h. Dependent claims 3, 5-6, 8, 10, 14 ,16 and 18 are also withdrawn from consideration since they directly or indirectly depend on independent claim 2. Also independent 15 is withdrawn from consideration since the limitations “ wherein the outward protrusion has a thickness thicker towards a tip of the outward protrusion” is taught in species 2; figure 2e and not disclosed in species 1; figures 1a-2d and 2f-2h.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the terminal body has a thickness smaller than that of the wire; and the terminal body has a width larger than that of the wire must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Note: para 0070 of the applicants pgpub teaches that theses limitations are true for an embodiment with a non-circular wire being used. Where in species chosen clearly show these limitations?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nakashima et al. (US 20210043364).
Regarding claim 1, Nakashima et al. (figures 1-7 and para 0020-0071) discloses an element body (see figures 1-7); and an electrode terminal (30/31); wherein the electrode terminal comprises a terminal body (31) extending in a planar shape along a main surface of the element body (see figures 3a-6), and an outward protrusion (31a) continuously and integrally formed with the terminal body and protruding outside the main surface (see figures 3a-3b/6 and para 0028-0031/0062).
Regarding claim 19, Nakashima et al. (figures 3a-6 and para 0027/0032) disclosing wherein a plating film (32) is formed at an outer surface of the terminal body opposite an inner surface thereof in contact with the element body
2 Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sekiguchi et al. (US 20180374621)
Regarding claim 1, Sekiguchi et al.(figures 1-4 and para 0029-0064) discloses an element body (see figures 1-4); and an electrode terminal (30/24); wherein the electrode terminal comprises a terminal body (30/242) extending in a planar shape along a main surface of the element body (see figure 2), and an outward protrusion (302/3061) continuously and integrally formed with the terminal body and protruding outside the main surface (para 0053-0060).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3 Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano (US 20060103262) in view of Sekiguchi et al. (US 20180374621)
Regarding claim 1, Sano (figures 1-5 and para 0037-0070) discloses an element body (see figures 1-4); and an electrode terminal (40); wherein the electrode terminal comprises a terminal body (see figure 5) extending in a planar shape along a main surface of the element body (see figure 5).
Sano does not expressly disclose an outward protrusion continuously and integrally formed with the terminal body and protruding outside the main surface.
Sekiguchi et al.(figures 1-4 and para 0029-0064) discloses an outward protrusion (302/3061) continuously and integrally formed with the terminal body and protruding outside the main surface (para 0053-0060).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed to design wherein an outward protrusion continuously and integrally formed with the terminal body and protruding outside the main surface as taught by Sekiguchi et al to the inductive device of Sano so as to remove weak points like seams or welds thereby allowing the terminal portion to handle higher mechanical stresses, vibrations, and repeated insertions without the risk of the protrusion snapping off or loosening while also saving to production cost since less parts are needed to make the inductive device.
Regarding claim 4, Sano (figures 1-5 and para 0037-0070) discloses wherein the terminal body is continuously and integrally formed with a wire of an electric element embedded inside the element body; the terminal body has a thickness smaller than that of the wire (see figure 5 showing a terminal portion/body 41 having a thickness smaller than that of the wire); and the terminal body has a width larger than that of the wire. (see figures 4-5 and para 0045-0051)Note:( also see figure 2 of Sekiguchi et al showing a terminal portion/body 302 having a thickness smaller than that of the wire 22; and figures 1/3 of Sekiguchi et al showing the terminal body has a width larger than that of the wire)
Regarding claim 7, Sano (figure 5) discloses wherein the terminal body extends in the planar shape along the main surface at least in a direction towards a center of the electric element.
Regarding claim 9, Sano (para 0021) discloses wherein the electric element comprises a coil portion made of the wire.
Regarding claim 11, Sano (para 0021) discloses wherein the element body comprises a magnetic powder.
Regarding claim 12, Sano (para 0024) discloses wherein the element body comprises a magnetic powder.
Regarding claim 13, the modified inductive device of Sano (figure 5) discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a protrusion length of the outward protrusion with respect to the terminal body is ½ or more of a thickness of the terminal body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design wherein a protrusion length of the outward protrusion with respect to the terminal body is ½ or more of a thickness of the terminal body, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.Such as to greatly enhances the physical and electrical reliability of the terminal; which allows for electrical contact resistance, reduces the risk of overheating from high currents, and ensures a stable voltage drop
Regarding claim 17, designing wherein at least one of an inner surface or a side surface of the terminal body in contact with the element body has surface roughness larger than that of an outer surface of the terminal body opposite the inner surface would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use Such as to ensure improved structural adhesion and prevents component delamination during thermal expansion.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837