DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the binding layer present between the coating and the housing (as recited in claim 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Note that specification [00142] discloses that “a binding layer is further provided on the surface of the foregoing coating that is provided on the outer surface of the electrode assembly. When the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing to form an electrochemical apparatus, the binding layer can bind a partial region of the housing” However, none of these features are shown in the figures.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 15 and 18, condition “h” is missing. Condition “i” should be labeled as “h”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5-8, 10-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 7 and 20 are indefinite because the recitation “a thickness of the coating” (in line 4 of said claims) is not clear. It is unclear whether “a thickness of the coating” is referring to the entire thickness of the coating or to any part of the thickness of said coating. Suggested correction: “a thickness of the coating” should read “the thickness of the coating. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is indefinite because the recitation “an average particle size” (in line 4 of said claim) is not clear. “An average particle size” is an inherent property and should be referred to correctly. Suggested correction: “an average particle size” should read “the average particle size”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7 and 20 are indefinite because the recitations “an elongation rate of the positive electrode current collector” (in lines 4-5 of both claims, “a strength of the positive electrode current collector” (in line 5 of both claims) and “a thickness of the positive electrode current collector” (in line 5 of both claims) are not clear. Elongation rate and strength are inherent properties of the positive electrode current collector, therefore recitation of “an elongation rate” and “a strength” are not clear, suggested correction is “an elongation rate” and “a strength” should read “the elongation rate” and “the strength” respectively. In addition, it is unclear whether “a thickness of the positive electrode current collector” is referring to the entire thickness of the positive electrode current collector or to any part of the thickness of the said positive electrode current collector. Suggested correction: “a thickness of the positive electrode current collector” should read the thickness “the thickness of the positive electrode current collector”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is indefinite because the recitations “a mass of the coating” (in line 9 of said claim) and “a mass percentage” (in lines 9 and 10 of said claim) are not clear. It is unclear whether “a mass of the coating” is referring to the entire mass of the coating or to a part of the mass of the coating. Accordingly, it is unclear whether a “mass percentage of the binder” is referring to the entire mass percentage or to a part of the mass percentage. Suggested correction: “a mass of the coating” should read “the mass of the coating” and “a mass percentage of the binder” should read “the mass percentage of the binder”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is indefinite because the recitation “a surface of the positive electrode current collector facing toward the coating” (line 1 of said claim) is not clear as there is only one surface of the positive electrode current collector facing toward the coating. Suggested correction: “a surface” should read “the surface”. Appropriate correction is required.
Additionally, dependent claims 6, 8 and 11 are rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claims 5, 7 and 10, respectively, as they include all the limitations of claims 5, 7 and 10, respectively, and as they do not resolve the issues identified in rejections set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(2) as being anticipated by Koseki (WO 2020162598 A1; see machine translation).
Regarding Claims 1, 13 and 16, Koseki discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0008], [0048] & Fig. 1), comprising: a positive electrode current collector (current collector 20, [0008], [0020] & Fig. 1); a positive electrode active material layer (electrode active material 30; [0008], [0022] & Fig. 1); a coating (insulating layer 40, [0008], [0022] & Fig. 1); an electrode assembly (lithium-ion secondary battery electrode 10 which is comprised of positive electrode 10; see [0047] -[0048]) and an electrochemical apparatus (lithium-ion secondary battery 1 which is comprised of lithium-ion secondary battery electrode 10; see [0046]-[0050]).
wherein the positive electrode active material layer (30) and the coating (40) are provided on a surface of the positive electrode current collector (20), Koseki discloses that the positive electrode active material 30 and insulating layer 40 are provided on a surface of the current collector 20 (see [0005] & Fig. 1).
and an adhesion between the coating (40) and the positive electrode current collector (20) is greater than or equal to 5 N/m, Koseki discloses the adhesive strength between the insulating layer 40 and current collector 20 is 5 N/m or more (see [0005]).
Regarding Claims 2, 14 and 17, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitation as set above and further discloses an edge of the positive electrode (end 31, see Figure 1 and [0008]), wherein the coating (40) is located on at least one of the following positions:
a. an end portion of the positive electrode current collector (20) in a length direction;
b. an edge of the positive electrode current collector (20) in a width direction; or
c. a gap of the positive electrode active material layer (30) in a length direction of the positive electrode current collector (20),
Koseki discloses that each insulating layer 40 is disposed adjacent to an end 31 of the positive electrode active material 30 and covers the end of the positive electrode active material 30 thus straddling the surface of the electrode active material layer 30 and the surface of the current collector 20 in both longitudinal and width directions (see Figure 1, [0008]) which reads on an end portion of the positive electrode current collector in the length direction and an edge portion of the positive electrode current collector in a width direction.
Regarding Claim 3, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses the positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0048]), wherein the coating (insulating layer 40, [0022]) comprises a binder (insulating layer binder, [0008], lines 12-13).
Regarding Claim 4, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the coating (insulating layer 40, [0022]) further comprises an insulation material (insulating fine particles, [0008], lines 12-13 & [0060]).
Regarding Claim 5, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses the insulation material (alumina particles as insulating fine particles, [0060]]); a thickness of the coating h (thickness of insulating layer D is 5 µm, [0060]) and average particle size T of the insulation material (average particle size R of insulating fine particles is 0.18 µm, [0060]).
wherein a relationship between the coating and the insulation material satisfies the following: h≥1.5×T, wherein h is a thickness of the coating, and T is an average particle size of the insulation material, Koseki discloses h as a thickness of the insulating layer as 5 µm and T as average particle size of alumina insulating fine particles as 0.18 µm:
h ≥ 1.5 × T
5 ≥ 1.5 × 0.18
5 ≥ 0.27
Accordingly, the relationship h≥1.5×T is satisfied.
Regarding Claim 6, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0048]);
wherein the average particle size T of the insulation material is 0.1 μm to 20 μm (Koseki discloses average particle size of the insulating fine particles between 0.15 μm to 5 μm; see [0005]) and the thickness h of the coating is greater than or equal to 0.5 μm (Koseki discloses a thickness of the insulating layer as 5 µm which is greater than 0.5 μm; see [0060]).
Regarding Claim 9, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses the positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0048]), wherein the binder (insulating layer binder, [0008], lines 12-13) comprises at least one selected from polyvinylidene fluoride, polytetrafluoroethylene, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, styrene-butadiene rubber, nitrile rubber, polyurethane, fluorinated rubber, polyvinyl alcohol, or sodium polyacrylate (Koseki discloses styrene-butadiene rubber, [0015], line 8)
Regarding Claim 10, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses the positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0048]) wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied:
d. the insulation material (insulating fine particles, [0008], lines 12-13) comprises at least one of an inorganic insulation material or an organic insulation material, wherein the inorganic insulation material comprises at least one element of Ba, Ca, Al, Si, Ti, Mg, Fe, or B, and the organic insulation material comprises at least one of a homopolymer or copolymer of the following compositions: ethylene, vinyl chloride, propylene, styrene, butadiene, vinylidene fluoride, tetrafluoroethylene, or hexafluoropropylene (Koseki discloses inorganic insulating fine particles such as silicon dioxide and alumina which read on Si and Al; see [0011]); or
e. based on a mass of the coating, a mass percentage of the binder is 2% to 100%, and a mass percentage of the insulation material is 0% to 98%.
Regarding Claim 11, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0048]), wherein the inorganic insulation material (inorganic insulating fine particles [0011]) comprises at least one selected from BaSO4, CaSiO3, CaSiO4, γ-AlOOH, Al2O3, TiO2, SiO2, SiC, SiN, MgO, Fe2O3, or BN (Koseki discloses SiO2; see [0011]).
Regarding Claim 12, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0048]); wherein a surface of the positive electrode current collector facing toward the coating is at least partially provided with the positive electrode active material layer, (Koseki discloses a surface of the current collector 20 facing toward the insulating layer 40 is covered with electrode active material 30 (see Figure 1)).
Regarding Claims 15 and 18, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an edge of the positive electrode (end 31, see Figure 1 and [0008]); wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied:
f. the coating is present on an outer surface of the electrode assembly;
g. the coating is present on an edge of the positive electrode in the width direction of the positive electrode current collector; or
i. the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode tab, and the coating is present on a surface of the positive electrode tab,
Koseki discloses that insulating layer 40 is disposed adjacent to an end 31 of the positive electrode active material 30 and covers the end of the positive electrode active material 30 thus straddling the surface of the electrode active material layer 30 and the surface of the current collector 20 in both longitudinal and width directions (see Figure 1 and [0008]) which reads on the coating is present on an edge of the positive electrode in the width direction of the positive electrode current collector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseki (WO 2020162598 A1; see machine translation) as applied to claims 1-6, 9-18 above, in view of Suzuki (JP 2012140702 A; see machine translation)
Regarding Claims 7, 8 and 20, Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0048]), a thickness of the coating h (thickness of insulating layer D is 5 μm, [0060]); thickness of positive electrode current collector H (thickness of aluminum foil positive electrode current collector is 15 μm, [0060]).
Koseki is silent on the strength of the positive electrode current collector p and elongation rate of the positive electrode current collector x and wherein a relationship between the coating and the positive electrode current collector satisfies the following: h≥H×p×x/k, wherein h is a thickness of the coating, x is an elongation rate of the positive electrode current collector, p is a strength of the positive electrode current collector, H is a thickness of the positive electrode current collector, and k is equal to 100 MPa (as required by Claims 7 and 20) and wherein the elongation rate x of the positive electrode current collector is in a range of 1.5% to 3.5%, the strength p of the positive electrode current collector is in a range of 100 MPa to 300 MPa (as required by Claim 8).
Suzuki teaches a positive electrode (abstract), positive electrode current collector (abstract), positive electrode active material ([0002]), and a lithium-ion battery (abstract). Suzuki further teaches an aluminum-alloy foil as a positive current collector in a lithium-ion battery with a tensile strength of 190 MPa or more and an elongation rate of 3% or more (see [0007]). Suzuki discloses that plain aluminum foil is disposed to softening and strength reduction in electrode manufacturing processes due to heating in the drying process and thus to prevent deformation of the aluminum foil, it is advantageous to use foils with excellent tensile strength and elongation rate such as an aluminum alloy foil containing Mn or Cu as a positive electrode current collector (see [0003], [0005]-[0006]). Suzuki teaches an aluminum alloy foil thickness preferably in the range of 12μm to 30μm (see [0019]) and further discloses that an aluminum alloy foil positive electrode current collector with tensile strength of 190 MPa or more and elongation rate of 3% is able to withstand breakage upon deformation by crushing and thus prevent short-circuit (see [0023]).
Koseki and Suzuki are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same filed of lithium-ion batteries. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the aluminum foil current collector or Koseki with aluminum alloy foil current collector, as taught by Suzuki for the purpose of having a current collector that is not disposed to softening and strength reduction in electrode manufacturing processes due to heating in the drying process and thus to prevent deformation of the current collector.
Therefore, modified Koseki has a positive electrode current collector with a thickness of coating h as 5μm (Koseki, [0060]), thickness of the positive electrode current collector H in the range of 12μm to 30μm (Suzuki, [0019]), strength of the positive electrode current collector p as 190 MPa (Suzuki, [0007]) which reads on the positive electrode current collector is in a range of 100 MPa to 300 MPa and elongation rate x of the positive electrode current collector as 3% (Suzuki, [0007]) which reads on the elongation rate x of the positive electrode current collector is in a range of 1.5% to 3.5%. Regarding the relationship between the coating and the positive electrode current collector, the above properties of the positive electrode current collector of modified Koseki is satisfied:
h ≥ H × p × x/k,
5μm ≥ 30μm × 190 MPa × 0.03/100 MPa
5μm ≥ 1.71μm
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseki (WO 2020162598 A1; see machine translation) as applied to claims 1-6, 9-18 above, in view of Yoshida (US 6291102 B1)
Regarding Claims 19, modified Koseki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a housing (housing 6 & 7, see [0047], [0050] and Figure 8 of Koseki).
Modified Koseki does not explicitly disclose a binding layer between the coating and the housing but discloses a separator disposed between the coating (40) and the housing (6 & 7) (see Figure 8 of Koseki) wherein the coating (40) provided on the positive electrode (10) may or may not be in contact with the separator, but it is preferably in contact with the separator ([see 0048] of Koseki). Further, while Koseki discloses that the adhesive strength between the coating (insulating layer 40) and current collector 20 is 5 N/m or more (see [0005]) the reference does not disclose the adhesion between the coating and the positive electrode current collector being greater than or equal to adhesion between the coating and the binding layer.
Yoshida teaches an electrochemical apparatus (a lithium-ion secondary battery - col 4,
lines 28-29); electrode assembly (electrode laminate 2 – col 4, line 31); positive electrode (positive electrode 3 - col 4, line 33), positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material particles 7a - col 4, line 47), positive electrode current collector (positive electrode current collector 6 - col 4, line 48).
Yoshida teaches that electrode active materials are joined to a separator with a binder resin (see lines 9-11 of abstract) and therefore teaches a binding layer. Yoshida further discloses that adding a binder layer between the active material of electrode and the separator improves the battery by ensuring that electrical connection is maintained between the active material and separator without adding an outer force (see col 2, lines 4-8). Yoshida teaches that it is necessary that the separator and the active material are joined with sufficient strength and in such a manner that secures satisfactory battery characteristics (see col 2, lines 57-61) and further teaches that a firm and intimate contact between the separator and electrode is established without the use of a firm battery case upon adhesion via a binder resin and thus results in a battery having increased energy density, reduced thickness, a plurality of electrode laminates in an arbitrary shape and thus excellent charge and discharge characteristics (see col 2 lines 62-67 to col 3 lines 1-6). Yoshida further teaches that the joint strength between the separator and the positive electrode active material is equal to the joint strength between the positive electrode active material layer and the respective positive electrode current collector thus resulting in a structure that does not require a firm housing and ultimately reduces the weight and thickness of the battery (see col 3, lines 21-28).
Koseki and Yoshida are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of lithium-ion batteries. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adhere the positive electrode active material and the separator of Koseki using the binding layer of Yoshida such that the joint strength between the separator and the positive electrode active material is equal to the joint strength between the positive electrode active material layer and the respective positive electrode current collector while establishing a firm and intimate contact between the separator and the positive electrode without the use of a firm battery case which results in a battery having increased energy density, reduced thickness a plurality of electrode laminates in an arbitrary shape and thus excellent charge and discharge characteristics. Accordingly, adding this binding layer of Yoshida would ensure contact between the positive electrode active material and the separator as preferred in Koseki. Additionally, since the coating of Koseki is between the positive electrode active material and the separator (see Figure 9), it would have been obvious to extend the binding layer of Yoshida to adhere the coating layer of Koseki to the separator having a joint strength which is equal to the joint strength between the coating and the positive electrode current collector for the same purpose of improving the strength of the battery.
Conclusion
/F.V.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725