DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt of the Response and Amendment after Non-Final Office Action filed 02/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant has overcome the following rejections by virtue of the amendment or cancellation of the claims: (1) the objections to the claims have been withdrawn; (2) the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections of claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 22 have been withdrawn; (3) the 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-3, 6-7, and 9-11 over Prakash has been withdrawn; (4) the 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1 and 3-4 over Chakraborty has been withdrawn; and (5) the 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 3, and 22 over Karaköse has been withdrawn.
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1, 3-4, 6-11, 22
Withdrawn claims: None
Previously cancelled claims: 5, 21
Newly cancelled claims: 2, 5, 12-20
Amended claims: 1, 6-11, 22
New claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 1, 3-4, 6-11, 22
Currently rejected claims: 1, 3-4, 6-11, 22
Allowed claims: None
Claim Interpretation
The present specification states in [0039] that the term “Maillard reaction” is used unconventionally since the term is used in the present invention to refer to the use of non-reducing sweetening agents as substrates. Therefore, the Maillard reaction products (MRPs) recited in claim 1 are considered to be any compound produced by a non-enzymatic reaction or a chain of non-enzymatic reactions, wherein the reactants comprise an amino acid-containing component (e.g., protein, peptide, free amino acid); and at least one of stevia extract, glycosylated stevia extract, stevia glycoside, glycosylated stevia glycoside, sweet tea extract, glycosylated sweet tea extract, sweet tea glycoside, glycosylated sweet tea glycoside, monk fruit glycoside, and glycosylated monk fruit glycoside; wherein the reaction or at least one reaction in the chain of reactions results in at least a portion of the amino-acid containing component being attached to at least a portion of the at least one of stevia extract, glycosylated stevia extract, stevia glycoside, glycosylated stevia glycoside, sweet tea extract, glycosylated sweet tea extract, sweet tea glycoside, glycosylated sweet tea glycoside, monk fruit glycoside, and glycosylated monk fruit glycoside.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because “stevia extract-MRPs” should be written as “stevia extract Maillard Reaction Products (MRPs)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 6-9, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that the flavor/taste modifying agent is an MRP of at least one of stevia extract, glycosylated stevia extract, stevia glycoside, glycosylated stevia glycoside, sweet tea extract, glycosylated sweet tea extract, sweet tea glycoside, glycosylated sweet tea glycoside, monk fruit glycoside, and glycosylated monk fruit glycoside. However, claims 3-4, 6-11, and 22 recite different components for the flavor/taste modifying agent. As such, it is unclear as to whether the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises both the MRP and the component recited in each of claims 3-4, 6-9, and 22; or comprises either the MRP or the component recited in each of claims 3-4, 6-9, and 22. Therefore, claims 3-4, 6-9, and 22 are indefinite.
For the purpose of this examination, claims 3-4, 6-9, and 22 are interpreted as meaning that the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises the MRP and the component recited in each of claims 3-4, 6-9, and 22.
Claim 4 recites that the flavor/taste modifying agent is at least one of the recited Stevia-derived volatile substances. However, it is unclear as to whether these substances are meant to correspond to the stevia extract (SE) recited in present claim 3. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
For the purpose of this examination, the extracts recited in claim 4 will be considered to correspond to the SE recited in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudgal (US 2018/0255816).
Regarding claim 1, Mudgal teaches a composition comprising a sweetener that is bound to a protein and the same type of sweetener which is not bound to the same type of protein (corresponding to an inclusion complex comprising bound and unbound sweetener) to a protein, wherein the bound and unbound sweetener may be glycosides extracted from stevia or a glycoside extracted from a sweet tea plant (corresponding to rubusoside from Rubus chingii) [0007], [0044], [0057]. Since the inclusion complex of Mudgal (corresponding to the sweetener bound to the protein) is a compound produced by a non-enzymatic reaction or a chain of non-enzymatic reactions, wherein the reactants comprise an amino acid-containing component (i.e., protein) and a stevia extract, stevia glycoside, sweet tea extract, or sweet tea glycoside, wherein the resulting compound comprises at least a portion of the amino-containing component attached to the stevia extract, stevia glycoside, sweet tea extract, or sweet tea glycoside, the inclusion complex of Mudgal is considered to be a stevia extract-MRP (SE-MRP), stevia glycoside-MRP (SG-MRP), sweet tea extract-MRP (ST-MRP), or sweet tea glycoside-MRP (STG-MRP) as recited in present claim 1.
Mudgal teaches that the MRPs (i.e., bound glycosides) may be used to adjust the organoleptic taste properties of any consumable food product; and that the MRPs mask the off-flavors associated with steviol glycosides [0060], [0066]. Therefore, the MRPs are considered to be flavor/taste modifying agents are recited in present claim 1. Since the composition further comprises unbound glycosides (corresponding to sweetener not bound to a protein), the composition further comprises a high intensity sweetener (HIS) wherein amount of the MRP (corresponding to bound sweetener) in the composition may be from 20-80 wt.% [0057]-[0058] which is considered to be an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS as recited in present claim 1. Furthermore, this amount of MRP means that the composition may comprise the HIS in amount of 20-80 wt.%, which falls within the claimed HIS range.
Regarding claim 6, Mudgal teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the composition comprises unreacted glycoside extracted from a sweet tea plant (corresponding to rubusoside from Rubus chingii) [0041], [0044], [0057] which is considered to be a HIS in the composition. However, this glycoside comprising the HIS may also be considered to be another flavor/modifying agent as presently claimed, thereby rendering the present claim obvious.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Mudgal teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the composition comprises unreacted rubusoside extracted from a sweet tea plant [0041], [0044], [0057] which is considered to be a HIS in the composition. However, this glycoside comprising the HIS may also be considered to be another flavor/modifying agent as presently claimed, thereby rendering present claim 7 obvious. Mudgal also teaches that the amount of the MRP (corresponding to bound sweetener) in the composition may be from 20-80 wt.% [0057]-[0058] which means that the amount of HIS may be 20-80 wt.%. The present specification defines “RU20” as a composition comprising 15-25 wt.% rubusoside; and defines “RU90” as a composition comprising 85-95 wt.% rubusoside in [0034]. Therefore, the amount of rubusoside suggested by Mudgal encompasses amounts wherein the rubusoside is present in an amount of 15-25 wt.% (i.e., RU20); and 85-95 wt.% (i.e., RU90) as recited in present claim 8. The selection of a value within the encompassing range renders claim 8 obvious. MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding claim 10, Mudgal teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the composition comprises HIS in the form of unreacted glycosides from stevia or a sweet tea plant [0041]-[0042], [0044], [0057]. These types of HIS are natural HIS selected from the group recited in present claim 10, thereby rendering the claim obvious.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudgal (US 2018/0255816) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chakraborty (US 2017/0055548; previously cited).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Mudgal teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the composition may be in the form of a solid comprising flavorants and that its composition may be added to any consumable food product such as a fruit juice to provide the desired organoleptic taste properties [0056], [0060]-[0061].
Mudgal does not teach that the flavor/taste modifying agent is an SE as recited in present claim 3; or that the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises at least one substance selected from the list recited in present claim 4.
However, Chakraborty teaches a composition (corresponding to a flavor system) comprising: a flavor/taste modifying agent comprising steviol glycosides; a HIS; and a flavorant comprising benzaldehyde and/or decanal [0051], [0060], [0069]. Chakraborty teaches that these flavorants provide a cherry, almond, orange, or lemon taste to a composition [0060]; therefore, the flavorant is considered to a flavor/taste modifying agent. Chakraborty does not explicitly disclose that the benzaldehyde and decanal are extracted from stevia. However, these compounds have the same chemical composition no matter their source. Therefore, the benzaldehyde and decanal disclosed by Chakraborty is considered to meet the limitations recited in present claims 3 and 4.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the flavorant of Mudgal to be benzaldehyde and/or decanal as taught by Chakraborty. Since Mudgal teaches that its composition may be in the form of a solid comprising flavorants and that its composition may be added to any consumable food product such as fruit juice to provide the desired organoleptic taste properties [0056], [0060]-[0061], but Mudgal does not disclose a flavorant, a skilled practitioner would have been motivated to consult an additional reference such as Chakraborty in order to determine a suitable flavorant for a consumable food product wherein the flavorant is combined with a flavor/taste modifying agent comprising steviol glycoside and HIS. Therefore, the claimed SE recited in present claims 3 and 4 is rendered obvious.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudgal (US 2018/0255816) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Iwaki (US 2020/0224235).
Regarding claim 9, Mudgal teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the composition may further comprise other natural HIS [0065]; and that the composition may be added to any consumable food product [0060].
Mudgal does not disclose that the composition comprises a mogroside or a glycosylated mogroside.
However, Iwaki teaches a composition (corresponding to sweetener composition or flavor enhancer) for a food or beverage [0054] comprising: (1) a flavor/taste modifying agent in the form of novel steviol glycoside [0009]; and a HIS, wherein the HIS may be a natural HIS comprising mogroside (corresponding to Lo Han Kuo powder and extract) as a HIS [0052]. This mogroside comprising the HIS may also be considered to be another flavor/modifying agent as presently claimed.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the natural HIS of Mudgal to be mogroside as taught by Iwaki. Since Mudgal teaches that the composition may further comprise other natural HIS than those used to produce the MRPs [0065]; and that the composition may be added to any consumable food product [0060], but does not disclose a natural HIS outside of that used to produce the MRPs, a skilled practitioner would have been motivated to consult an additional reference such as Iwaki in order to determine a suitable natural HIS in which to include in a composition for a consumable food product, wherein the composition also includes a steviol glycoside as a flavor-modifying agent. Therefore, the claimed mogroside is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 11, Mudgal teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the composition may further comprise other compounds [0065]; and that the composition may be added to any consumable food product [0060].
Mudgal does not disclose that the composition comprises a synthetic HIS selected from the list recited in present claim 11.
However, Iwaki teaches a composition (corresponding to sweetener composition or flavor enhancer) for a food or beverage [0054] comprising: (1) a flavor/taste modifying agent in the form of novel steviol glycoside [0009]; and an additional component comprising a synthetic HIS, wherein the synthetic HIS may be acesulfame-K, neotame, sucralose, aspartame, and saccharin [0052] as recited in present claim 11. This synthetic HIS may also be considered to be another flavor/modifying agent as presently claimed.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the additional component of Mudgal to be at least one of the presently claimed synthetic HIS as taught by Iwaki. Since Mudgal teaches that the composition may further comprise other compounds [0065]; and that the composition may be added to any consumable food product [0060]; while Iwaki discloses that a synthetic HIS may be used in a composition comprising a steviol glycoside as a taste-flavor modifying agent wherein the composition is to be added to a consumable food product [0054], a skilled practitioner would readily understand that a synthetic HIS may be used in the composition of Mudgal, especially wherein the incorporation of such synthetic HIS into foods and beverages is well-known and practiced in the art. Therefore, the claim is rendered obvious.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudgal (US 2018/0255816) in view of Chakraborty (US 2017/0055548; previously cited) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Karaköse (Karaköse, H., “Phytochemical Characterization of Stevia rebaudiana”, 2012, Jacobs University; previously cited).
Regarding claim 22, modified Mudgal teaches the invention as described above in claim 3, including the composition may further comprise anti-oxidants to preserve the flavor of the composition (Chakraborty [0064], [0068]).
Modified Mudgal does not teach that the flavor/taste modifying agent comprises at least one of the compounds recited in present claim 22.
However, Karaköse teaches a composition (corresponding to Stevia rebaudiana extract) comprising: a flavor/taste modifying agent comprising SEs selected from the group consisting of quercetin pentoside, kaempferol-xylosyl-glucoside; quercetin-diglucoside-rhamnoside, and quercetin-dirhamnoside; and (2) a HIS (corresponding to steviol glycosides) (page 48, Fig. 22 and Table 4) as recited in present claims 1 and 22. Karaköse teaches that quercetin pentoside, kaempferol-xylosyl-glucoside; quercetin-diglucoside-rhamnoside, and quercetin-dirhamnoside are also flavonoids and that flavonoids have high antioxidant capacity (page 20, 3rd paragraph; page 48, Table 4).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the antioxidant of Chakraborty to be at least one of quercetin pentoside, kaempferol-xylosyl-glucoside; quercetin-diglucoside-rhamnoside, and quercetin-dirhamnoside as taught by Karaköse. Since Chakraborty teaches the composition may further comprise anti-oxidants to preserve the flavor of the composition [0064], [0068], but does not disclose specific types of anti-oxidants, a skilled practitioner would have been motivated to consult an additional reference such as Karaköse in order to determine a suitable antioxidant for combining with HIS in a composition. Therefore, the claimed compounds are rendered obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,102,996. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 10-11 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 6, and 7. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS; or for the HIS to be present in an amount of 20-80 wt.%. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims and encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.%. Therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent and an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,425,923. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS; or for the HIS to be present in an amount of 20-80 wt.%. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims and encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.%. Therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent and an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,324,237. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 7, 13, and 19. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS; or for the HIS to be present in an amount of 20-80 wt.%. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims and encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.%. Therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent and an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,849,742. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1-16. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS; or for the HIS to be present in an amount of 20-80 wt.%. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims and encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.%. Therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent and an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, 11-16, and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,252,978. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS and the same effect of the flavor/taste modifying agent on the HIS as patented claims 1, 9, and 24. The patented claims do not require the HIS to be present in an amount of 20-80 wt.%. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of HIS so that the amount of HIS may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.% recited in the instant claims. Therefore, the selection of an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-10, and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,079. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18, 19, and 20. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS; or for the HIS to be present in an amount of 20-80 wt.%. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims and encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.%. Therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent and an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 15, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,369,127. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 6, 15, and 20. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be between 1-15,000 ppm, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of HIS so that the amount of HIS may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.% recited in the instant claims. Therefore, the selection of an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 10, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,147,295. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 3, 10, and 12. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be 1-100 wt. or 1-99 wt.%, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of HIS so that the amount of HIS may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.% recited in the instant claims. Therefore, the selection of an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,266,170. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 6, and 10. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be 0.0001-50 wt.% wt.%, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of HIS so that the amount of HIS may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.% recited in the instant claims. Therefore, the selection of an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 10, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,284,634. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 6-7 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 5, 10, and 16. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be 0.0001-10 wt.% wt.%, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of HIS so that the amount of HIS may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.% recited in the instant claims. Therefore, the selection of an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 11, and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,304,431. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1, 5-6, 11, and 15-16. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS; or for the HIS to be present in an amount of 20-80 wt.%. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of flavor/taste modifying agent or HIS so that the amounts of each ingredient may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims and encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.%. Therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent and an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,793,218. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS as patented claims 1 and 10. The patented claims do not require the flavor/taste modifying agent to be present in an amount sufficient to enhance a flavor and/or taste profile of the HIS. However, the patented claims require the amount of flavor/taste modifying agent to be 0.001-1 wt.% wt.% or 1-2,000 ppm, which is considered to at least overlap the amount considered to be “sufficient” in the instant claims; therefore, the selection of an amount of flavor/taste modifying agent in the composition of the patented claims within the overlapping range renders the instant claims obvious. However, the patented claims do not require any particular amount of HIS so that the amount of HIS may be from greater than 0 wt.% to less than 100 wt.%, which encompasses the HIS content of 20-80 wt.% recited in the instant claims. Therefore, the selection of an amount of HIS in the composition of the patented claims within the encompassing ranges renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,048,316. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS and the same effect of the flavor/taste modifying agent on the HIS as patented claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7.
Claims 1. 6-7, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 14-16, 18, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,593. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1, 6-7, and 22 require the same flavor/taste modifying agent and HIS and the same effect of the flavor/taste modifying agent on the HIS as patented claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 16, 18, and 21.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections: Applicant amended the claims to fully address the rejections. Therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §101 of claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 22: Applicant canceled claim 2 and amended the remaining claims to fully address the rejections. Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) of claims 1-3, 6-7, and 9-11 over Prakash: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, and 9-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §102/103 of claims 1 and 3-4 over Chakraborty: Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered are considered to overcome the rejection as recited in the previous Office Action. However, claim 1 currently stands rejected as being obvious in view of Mudgal and claims 3-4 currently stand rejected as being obvious in view of the combination of Mudgal and Chakraborty.
Applicant argued that Chakraborty does not teach the MRP and the HIS content as now recited by amended claim 1 (Applicant’s Remarks, page 9, 1st-5th paragraphs).
However, as described above in the rejection of present claim 1, Mudgal teaches a composition comprising the claimed MRP and the claimed HIS content as presently claimed. Since Applicant’s arguments are directed toward Chakraborty not teaching the features of amended claim 1, Applicant’s arguments are moot and the rejections stand as written herein.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §102/103 of claims 1, 3, and 22 over Karaköse: Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered are considered to overcome the rejection as recited in the previous Office Action. However, claim 1 currently stands rejected as being obvious in view of Mudgal; claim 3 currently stands rejected as being obvious in view of the combination of Mudgal and Chakraborty; and claim 22 currently stands rejected as being obvious in view of the combination of Mudgal, Chakraborty, and Karaköse.
Applicant argued that Karaköse does not teach the MRP and the HIS content as now recited by amended claim 1 (Applicant’s Remarks, page 9, 6th paragraph – page 10, 2nd paragraph).
However, as described above in the rejection of present claim 1, Mudgal teaches a composition comprising the claimed MRP and the claimed HIS content as presently claimed. Since Applicant’s arguments are directed toward Karaköse not teaching the features of amended claim 1, Applicant’s arguments are moot and the rejections stand as written herein.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103 of claim 8 over Prakash: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that Examples 3 and 4 of the present specification demonstrate that the composition defined by amended claim 1 can significantly improve the flavor and taste profile of HIS, thereby aching an unexpected technical effect (Applicant’s Remarks, page 12, 5th paragraph – page 13, 3rd paragraph).
However, claim 1 does not limit the MRP to being GRU90-MRP and/or GSG-MRP; or limit the HIS to being sucralose as was used in Examples 3 and 4. Claim 1 allows for the HIS to be any HIS; and for the MRP to be any one of the ten listed options. Claim 8 is the only claim which recites GRU90 and claim 11 is the only claim which recites sucralose. Claim 8 and claim 11 do not depend on one another; and even if they did, there are other options recited in these claims in addition to GRU90 and sucralose. As such, there is no combination of the present claims which requires the combination of an MRP and HIS wherein the MRP is GRU90-MRP and/or GSG-MRP and the HIS is sucralose. As such, the scope of the claims is not commensurate with the cited examples.
The rejection of claim 8 stands as written herein.
Double Patenting Rejections: Applicant will address the rejections at such a time that the present claims are deemed otherwise allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791