DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 23 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 23 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Base claim 1 requires a monomer of formula (1) having CZ1Z2 adjacent to the moiety -COOM. Formula (2) of claim 2 includes the structure Rf adjacent to -COOM which is defined as a fluorine containing alkylene group that does not necessarily include the CZ1Z2 adjacent to -COOM. As such, claim 2 does not include all the limitations of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/100835 A1 (“Yamanaka”).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier publication date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A); or (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The citations below are to US 2022/0282007, presumed to be a translation of WO 2021/100835 A1.
As to claims 1, 2, and 4, Yamanaka teaches obtaining an aqueous dispersion of a fluorine containing elastomer in an aqueous dispersion (paras. 1098-1099). Yamanaka teaches polymerizing fluorine containing monomers in water (para. 1094-1095) in the presence of a polymer QA in solution QA-2. As shown at paras. 1090-1091, this polymer QA is a homopolymer, thus having 50 mol % of more as required by claim 4, of monomer CF2=CFOCF2CF2COOH, which meets formula (1) where R is a linking group, Z1 and Z2 are each F, M is H. This monomer also meets formula (2) of claim 2 where Rf is a perfluoroalkylene group having 2 carbon atoms, and M is H.
As to claim 3, Yamanaka teaches polymer QA has Mw in the recited range (para. 1091).
As to claim 5, Yamanaka teaches adding polymer QA in an amount calculated as approximately 0.05 wt % based on the aqueous medium (paras. 1094).
As to claim 6, the example of Yamanaka teaches addition of APS, an initiator, in an amount calculated as approximately 0.37 % of the fluorine containing monomers (paras. 1095-1096).
As to claim 7, Yamanaka teaches no fluorine surfactants added (paras. 0005, 1094-1097).
As to claims 8-10, Yamanaka teaches the elastomer is a copolymer of tetrafluoroethylene, and vinylidene fluoride (para. 1095), and thus has -CH2- units due to the presence of vinylidene fluoride.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/100836 A1 (“Nanba”).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier publication date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A); or (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The citations below are to US 2022/0282008, presumed to be a translation of WO 2021/100836 A1.
As to claims 1, 2, and 4, Nanba teaches obtaining an aqueous dispersion of a fluorine containing elastomer in an aqueous dispersion (para. 1255). Nanba teaches polymerizing fluorine containing monomers in water (para. 1250-1251) in the presence of a polymer QA in solution QA-2. As shown at paras. 1246-1247, this polymer QA is a homopolymer, thus having 50 mol % of more as required by claim 4, of monomer CF2=CFOCF2CF2COOH, which meets formula (1) where R is a linking group, Z1 and Z2 are each F, M is H. This monomer also meets formula (2) of claim 2 where Rf is a perfluoroalkylene group having 2 carbon atoms, and M is H.
As to claim 3, Nanba teaches polymer QA has Mw in the recited range (para. 1247).
As to claim 5, Nanba teaches adding polymer QA in an amount calculated as approximately 0.05 wt % based on the aqueous medium (paras. 1250).
As to claim 6, the example of Nanba teaches addition of APS, an initiator, in an amount calculated as approximately 0.37 % of the fluorine containing monomers (paras. 1251-1253).
As to claim 7, Nanba teaches no fluorine surfactants added (paras. 0179, 1250-1253).
As to claims 8-10, Nanba teaches the elastomer is a copolymer of tetrafluoroethylene, and vinylidene fluoride (para. 1250), and thus has -CH2- units due to the presence of vinylidene fluoride.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0303732 (“Tsuchiya”).
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
As to claims 1, 2, and 4, Tsuchiya teaches a preparation of a fluoroelastomer in aqueous dispersion (paras. 0594-0598),by polymerizing fluorine monomer (para. 0594) in aqueous medium in the presence of a polymer A. Polymer A is a homopolymer of CF2=CFOCF2CF2COOH (para. 0591), which meets formula (1) of claim 1 where R is -OCF2-, Z1 and Z2 are each F, M is H, and meets formula (2) of claim 2 where Rf is fluoroalkylene containing 2 carbon atoms and M is H. The homopolymer meets the recitation of claim 4.
As to claim 3, Tsuchiya teaches polymer A having weight average molecular weight in the recited range (para. 0591).
As to claim 5, Tsuchiya teaches adding the polymer in an amount calculated as approximately 1 wt% of the aqueous medium (paras. 0594-0596).
As to claim 6, Tsuchiya teaches the use of initiator APS, in an amount calculated as approximately 1.7 % of the monomers used ((paras. 0594-0595).
As to claim 7, Tsuchiya teaches polymerizing without fluorinated surfactant (para. 0235, 0594-0595, showing no fluorinated surfactants added).
As to claim 8, Tsuchiya teaches polymerizing tetrafluoroethylene (para. 0594).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/218620 A1 (“Yoneda”).
The citations below are to US 2022/0259337, presumed to be a translation of WO 2020/218620 A1.
As to claims 1 and 2, Yoneda teaches a method for producing an aqueous dispersion of a fluoropolymer (abstract) by polymerizing fluoromonomers in an aqueous medium in the presence of a polymer (I) (para. 0448).
Specfically, Yoneda teaches forming a fluoroelastomer by this method (para. 0844).
Yoneda teaches the polymer (I) is formed from a monomer of general formula (I)
(paras. 0093-0094), which formula includes the recited formula (1). While not exemplified, Yoneda teaches that preferred embodiments of the polymer formed from monomer (I) include monomer (2a)
where A is an anionic group (para. 0236, 0237, specifically monomers such as CF2=CF-O-CFF2COOM and other similar compounds (paras. 0243-0247), where M is the same as defined the same as recited (para. 0209). These compounds meet formula (1) and formula (2) of claims 1 and 2. Given that Yoneda teaches the polymer having the recited monomer is a preferred polymer for use in polymerizing fluoropolymers, it would be an obvious modification to employ this polymer as suggested by Yoneda.
As to claim 3, Yoneda teaches the recited weight average molecular weight (para. 0300).
As to claim 4, Yoneda teaches the recited content of monomer (I) as a preferred amount, in particular homopolymers of the monomer (Para. 0298).
As to claim 5, Yoneda teaches the use of polymer (I) in the range of 0.0001 to 2 % by weight based on the dispersion (para. 0849), which includes the recited range.
As to claim 6, Yoneda teaches the recited amount of initiator in forming fluroelastomer (para. 0851).
As to claim 7, Yoneda teaches polymerizing in the absence of fluorine containing surfactant (para. 0449).
As to claims 8-10, Yoneda teaches a preferred fluoroelastomer of vinylidene fluoride, tetrafluoroethylene, and hexafluoropropylene (para. 0848), which has -CH2- in the main chain due to the presence of vinylidene fluoride.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/319,177 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claims 2 and 4 include all of the limitations required by claims 1 and 2, respectively, where a perfluoroelastomer is a fluorine containing elastomer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 3-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/319,177 in view of WO 2020/218620 A1 (“Yoneda”).
The discussion of copending claim 2 is incorporated by reference. Copending claim 2 does not recite the further features of claims 3-8. However, Yoneda teaches similar method of preparing an aqueous dispersion of a fluoroelastomer (para. 0844) in the presence of a polymer having monomers of the type including the monomer of claim 2 (abstract). Yoneda teaches the recited weight average molecular weight of the polymer as required by claim 3 (para. 0300), the recited content of monomer (I) as a preferred amount, in particular homopolymers of the monomer as required by claim 4 (Para. 0298), the use of polymer (I) in the range of 0.0001 to 2 % by weight based on the dispersion (para. 0849) as required by claim 5, the recited amount of initiator in forming fluoroelastomer (para. 0851) as required by claim 6, and polymerizing in the absence of fluorine containing surfactant (para. 0449) as required bv claim 7. Yoneda teaches forming perfluoroelastomer using tetrafluoroethylene as required by claim 8 (para. 0868). As such, the further limitations of claims 3-8 are obvious modifications given that Yoneda teaches these parameter for forming elastomers using the same type of polymer dispersant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,492,171 in view of WO 2020/218620 A1 (“Yoneda”).
As to claims 1 and 2, patented claim 7 teaches a method for producing a fluoropolymer by polymerizing fluoromonomers in aqueous medium in the presence of a polymer (I) formed of monomers having a formula meeting formula (1) and (2) of claims 1 and 2.
Patented claim 7 does not state the fluoropolymer is a fluorine containing elastomer, or that the product is an aqueous dispersion thereof. However, Yoneda teaches similar method of preparing an aqueous dispersion of a fluoroelastomer (para. 0844, teaching latex of a fluoroelastomer) by polymerizing fluorinated monomers in the presence of a polymer having monomers of the type including the monomer of claim 7 (abstract, para. 0844). Given the similarity in the process of patented claim 7 and that of Yoneda, it is an obvious modification to obtain a fluorinated elastomer aqueous dispersion as Yoneda teaches the same method can be used to produce such a dispersion.
Patented claim 7 does not recite the further features of claims 3-10. However, Yoneda teaches similar method of preparing an aqueous dispersion of a fluoroelastomer (para. 0844) in the presence of a polymer having monomers of the type including the monomer of patented claim 7 (abstract). Yoneda teaches the recited weight average molecular weight of the polymer as required by claim 3 (para. 0300), the recited content of monomer (I) as a preferred amount, in particular homopolymers of the monomer as required by claim 4 (Para. 0298), the use of polymer (I) in the range of 0.0001 to 2 % by weight based on the dispersion (para. 0849) as required by claim 5, the recited amount of initiator in forming fluoroelastomer (para. 0851) as required by claim 6, and polymerizing in the absence of fluorine containing surfactant (para. 0449) as required by claim 7. Yoneda further teaches a preferred fluoroelastomer of vinylidene fluoride, tetrafluoroethylene, and hexafluoropropylene (para. 0848), which has -CH2- in the main chain due to the presence of vinylidene fluoride as required by claims 8-10.
As such, the additional limitations of claims 3-10 are an obvious modification suggested by Yoneda on variants on a method similar to patented claim 7.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,527 in view of WO 2020/218620 A1 (“Yoneda”).
As to claims 1 and 2, patented claim 3 teaches a method for producing a fluoropolymer by polymerizing fluoromonomers in aqueous medium in the presence of a polymer (I) formed of monomers having a formula meeting formula (1) and (2) of claims 1 and 2.
Patented claim 3 does not state the fluoropolymer is a fluorine containing elastomer, or that the product is an aqueous dispersion thereof. However, Yoneda teaches similar method of preparing an aqueous dispersion of a fluoroelastomer (para. 0844, teaching latex of a fluoroelastomer) by polymerizing fluorinated monomers in the presence of a polymer having monomers of the type including the monomer of claim 7 (abstract, para. 0844). Given the similarity in the process of patented claim 3 and that of Yoneda, it is an obvious modification to obtain a fluorinated elastomer aqueous dispersion as Yoneda teaches the same method can be used to produce such a dispersion.
Patented claim 3 does not recite the further features of claims 3-10. However, Yoneda teaches similar method of preparing an aqueous dispersion of a fluoroelastomer (para. 0844) in the presence of a polymer having monomers of the type including the monomer of patented claim 3 (abstract). Yoneda teaches the recited weight average molecular weight of the polymer as required by claim 3 (para. 0300), the recited content of monomer (I) as a preferred amount, in particular homopolymers of the monomer as required by claim 4 (Para. 0298), the use of polymer (I) in the range of 0.0001 to 2 % by weight based on the dispersion (para. 0849) as required by claim 5, the recited amount of initiator in forming fluoroelastomer (para. 0851) as required by claim 6, and polymerizing in the absence of fluorine containing surfactant (para. 0449) as required by claim 7. Yoneda further teaches a preferred fluoroelastomer of vinylidene fluoride, tetrafluoroethylene, and hexafluoropropylene (para. 0848), which has -CH2- in the main chain due to the presence of vinylidene fluoride, and thus teaches the structures of claims 8-10.
As such, the additional limitations of claims 3-10 are an obvious modification suggested by Yoneda on variants on a method similar to patented claim 3.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764