DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment dated 22 May 2026 is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1 and 3-21 as amended are pending, with claims 11-21 withdrawn. All outstanding objections and rejections made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on 22 May 2026. For this reason, the present action is properly made final.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 22 May 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent Nos. 12,492,271 and 12,503,527 and the patent issuing on US Patent App. Ser. No. 18/319,177 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/218620 A1 (“Yoneda”).
The citations below are to US 2022/0259337, presumed to be a translation of WO 2020/218620 A1.
As to claim 1, Yoneda teaches a method for producing an aqueous dispersion of a fluoropolymer (abstract) by polymerizing fluoromonomers in an aqueous medium in the presence of a polymer (I) (para. 0448).
Specifically, Yoneda teaches forming a fluoroelastomer by this method (para. 0844).
Yoneda teaches the polymer (I) is formed from a monomer of general formula (I)
(paras. 0093-0094), which formula includes the recited formula (1). While not exemplified, Yoneda teaches that preferred embodiments of the polymer formed from monomer (I) include monomer (2a)
where A is an anionic group (para. 0236, 0237, specifically monomers such as CF2=CF-O-CFF2COOM and other similar compounds (paras. 0243-0247), where M is the same as defined the same as recited (para. 0209). These compounds meet formula (1) and formula (2) of claim 1. Given that Yoneda teaches the polymer having the recited monomer is a preferred polymer for use in polymerizing fluoropolymers, it would be an obvious modification to employ this polymer as suggested by Yoneda.
As to claim 3, Yoneda teaches the recited weight average molecular weight (para. 0300).
As to claim 4, Yoneda teaches the recited content of monomer (I) as a preferred amount, in particular homopolymers of the monomer (Para. 0298).
As to claim 5, Yoneda teaches the use of polymer (I) in the range of 0.0001 to 2 % by weight based on the dispersion (para. 0849), which includes the recited range.
As to claim 6, Yoneda teaches the recited amount of initiator in forming fluoroelastomer (para. 0851).
As to claim 7, Yoneda teaches polymerizing in the absence of fluorine containing surfactant (para. 0449).
As to claims 8-10, Yoneda teaches a preferred fluoroelastomer of vinylidene fluoride, tetrafluoroethylene, and hexafluoropropylene (para. 0848), which has -CH2- in the main chain due to the presence of vinylidene fluoride.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the use of the polymer having the specific structure provides advantages in adhesion and polymerization rate, and number of particles, supported by a comparative example presented in a supporting declaration of Sota Yuasa.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the evidence provided is not sufficient evidence of unexpected results to overcome a prima facie finding of obviousness, especially where Yoneda specifically sets forth the recited polymer as a preferred medium for synthesis. See MPEP 716.02(d). The claims broadly cover any fluoroelastomer, with a broadly defined monomer that is present in any amount in the polymer. The recited monomer and polymer is known in the art, specifically used in synthesis of fluoropolymers (see JP H11-181009). None of the evidence, furthermore, suggests any unexpected result arising from the combination of the polymer of the specific monomer and fluoroelastomers in general. The evidence only shows that one specific embodiment had advantages over a specific comparative example.
The rejections under 35 USC 102 have been withdrawn pursuant to the submission of the certified translation of JP application JP 2020-192858 and the common ownership statements with respect to the cited references. The nonstatutory double patenting rejections are withdrawn pursuant to applicant’s terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764