DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected battery and method of making a battery, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/18/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 3/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-11, 13, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al., US 2014017576.
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al., teaches a composite solid electrolyte (0082) for a secondary battery (0122), wherein the secondary battery comprises an anode (0019-0021), wherein the composite solid electrolyte (0069-0071) comprises a first solid electrolyte (0069-0071) comprising a first compound represented by Formula 1 (0011-0016), and a second solid electrolyte comprising a second compound represented by Formula 2, and wherein the first solid electrolyte is disposed adjacent to the anode: Formula 1 Li1+x+2yAlxMgyM12-x-y(PO4)3wherein, in Formula 1, M1 is germanium (Ge), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), tin (Sn), or a combination thereof, and 0<x<0.6 and 0<y<0.2, Formula 2 Li1+x+2yAlxMgyM22-x-y(PO4)3wherein, in Formula 2 (0161), M2 is titanium (Ti), germanium (Ge), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), tin (Sn), or a combination thereof, and 0<x<0.6 and 0≤y<0.2 (0161-0163).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al., teaches wherein in Formula 1, M1 is germanium (Ge) (0011-0012; 0027; 0048).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al., teaches wherein in Formula 1, 0.1≤x≤0.5 and 0.01≤y≤0.1 (0011-0016).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al., teaches wherein in Formula 2, M2 is hafnium (Hf) (0011; 0027; 0048; 0061) or tin (Sn) (0011; 0027; 0048; 0061).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al., teaches wherein in Formula 2, y>0, or 0.1≤x≤0.5 and 0.01≤y≤0.1 (0011-0016).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al., teaches wherein in Formula 2, M2 is titanium (Ti) (0011-0016).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al., teaches wherein particles of each of the first solid electrolyte and the second solid electrolyte are in contact with each other, and interlayer particles at a boundary between the first solid electrolyte and the second solid electrolyte are in contact with each other (0041; 0069-0071; 0077; 0102; 0163).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al., teaches wherein the first compound represented by Formula 1 is Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Ge1.85(PO4)3, Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Ge1.75(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Ge1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Ge1.7(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Zr1.85(PO4)3, Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Zr1.75(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Zr1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Zr1.7(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Hf1.85(PO4)3, Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Hf1.75(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Hf1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Hf1.7(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Sn1.85(PO4)3, Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Sn1.75(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Sn1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Sn1.7(PO4)3, or a combination thereof (0009-0020; 0027).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al., teaches wherein the second compound represented by Formula 2 is Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Ti1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Ti1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Ti1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Ti1.7(PO4)3,Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Ge1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Ge1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Ge1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Ge1.7(PO4)3,Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Zr1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Zr1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Zr1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Zr1.7(PO4)3,Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Hf1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Hf1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Hf1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Hf1.7(PO4)3,Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Sn1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Sn1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Sn1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Sn1.7(PO4)3,Li1.5Al0.5Ge1.5(PO4)3, Li1.5Al0.5Ti1.5(PO4)3, Li1.5Al0.5Zr1.5(PO4)3, Li1.5Al0.5Hf1.5(PO4)3, Li1.5Al0.5Sn1.5(PO4)3, or a combination thereof (0027).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al., teaches wherein the composite solid electrolyte further comprises a third electrolyte comprising a third compound represented by Formula 1, wherein the third solid electrolyte is disposed adjacent to the cathode: Formula 1 Li1+x+2yAlxMgyM12-x-y(PO4)3wherein in Formula 1, M1 is germanium (Ge), zirconium (Zr), hafnium (Hf), tin (Sn), or a combination thereof, and 0<x<0.6 and 0<y<0.2.
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al., teaches wherein the anode is an oxide anode.
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al., teaches wherein in the composite solid electrolyte, the first solid electrolyte comprises Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Ge1.85(PO4)3, Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Ge1.75(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Ge1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Ge1.7(PO4)3, or a combination thereof, and the second solid electrolyte comprises Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Ti1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Ti1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Ti1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Ti1.7(PO4)3,Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Hf1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Hf1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Hf1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Hf1.7(PO4)3,Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Zr1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Zr1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Zr1.65(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Zr1.7(PO4)3,Li1.3Al0.2Mg0.05Sn1.75(PO4)3, Li1.2Al0.1Mg0.05Sn1.85(PO4)3, Li1.4Al0.3Mg0.05Sn1.65(PO4)3,
Li1.4Al0.2Mg0.1Sn1.7(PO4)3,Li1.5Al0.5Ge1.5(PO4)3, or a combination thereof (0009-0016; 0027; 0048-0060).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 2014017576.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al., does not teach wherein a ratio of a thickness of the first solid electrolyte and a thickness of the second solid electrolyte is 1:5 to 1:100.
However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al., does not teach wherein a thickness of the first solid electrolyte is 1 micrometer to 30 micrometers, and a thickness of the second solid electrolyte is 50 micrometers to 500 micrometers.
However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al., teaches wherein the composite solid electrolyte has an ionic conductivity of 10-5 Siemens per centimeter or greater at 25°C (0033-0034; Fig. 5).
Kim does not teach a degree of densification of 70% to 99%.
However, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al., teaches, wherein the third solid electrolyte is present in an amount of 1 part by weight to 30 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of a total weight of the composite solid electrolyte.
Kim et al., teaches that “It will be understood that, although the terms "first," "second," "third" etc. may be used herein to describe various elements, components, regions, layers and/or sections, these elements, components, regions, layers and/or sections should not be limited by these terms. These terms are only used to distinguish one element, component, region, layer or section from another element, component, region, layer or section. Thus, "a first element," "component," "region," "layer" or "section" discussed below could be termed a second element, component, region, layer or section without departing from the teachings herein.” (0041).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727