Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant arguments/remarks, filed 07/29/2025, with respect to the previous claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant arguments/remarks, filed 07/29/2025, with respect to the previous 112 rejections, except for claim 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 112 rejections, except for claim 4 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection of claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: missing colon after preamble. A colon should be placed after the term “comprising” to separate the preamble from the body of the claim limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “a turn of the coil” should be amended to “a turn of the two or more turns of the RF coil” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “a turn” should be amended to “a turn of the two or more turns” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “a turn of the coil” should be amended to “a turn of the two or more turns of the RF coil” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “identical” should be amended to “substantially identical” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “adjacent points on adjacent turns” is still considered indefinite. It is not clear if the “adjacent points” refer to two adjacent points on a first turn and two adjacent points on second turn, or if the a first point on a first turn and a corresponding second point on the second turn at identical geometric positions.
Regarding claim 5, the term “coil segment” is unclear. There is no context on what the coil segments refer to and therefore, the claim is considered indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, it is not clear if “one coil turn” is part of or different from the “two or more turns” disclosed in claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Regarding claim 6, it is not clear if “one coil turn” is part of or different from the “two or more turns” disclosed in claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “wherein each one specific point along a turn of the coil has a corresponding point at a corresponding geometric position in the multi-turn coil” is unclear. The examiner believes there should be a corresponding geometric position “on the adjacent turn” not in the multi-turn coil. Therefore, the claim is considered indefinite.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “adjacent points” is still indefinite. It is not clear if the “adjacent points” refer to two adjacent points on a first turn and two adjacent points on second turn, or if the a first point on a first turn and a corresponding second point on the second turn at identical geometric positions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boskamp (US 4,839,595).
Regarding claim 1, Boskamp teaches a multi-turn magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) radiofrequency (RF) coil comprising two or more turns, wherein the RF coil has an overall geometry such that each respective turn is substantially mirrored by an adjacent turn, such that the overall geometry is substantially identical between the each respective coil turn [Fig. 2a, wherein the coil has two windings 50/52 that are mirrored along axes 54/56. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 2, Boskamp further teaches wherein each one specific point along a turn of the coil has a substantially corresponding point at an identical geometric position of the adjacent turn [Fig. 2a, wherein the coil has two windings 50/52 that are mirrored along axes 54/56. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 3, Boskamp further teaches wherein potential at each one specific point along a turn is substantially identical to potential at each corresponding specific point on the adjacent turn [Fig. 2a, wherein the coil has two windings 50/52 that are mirrored along axes 54/56. Col. 2, lines 51-68 discloses that the current in each loop is equal and opposite so that the flux that is generated in one turn is compensated by the flux generated in the adjacent turn. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 5, Boskamp further teaches wherein each respective one coil segment mirrors each respective other coil segment such that the overall geometry is identical between a respective one coil turn of a first coil segment and a corresponding respective one coil turn of a second coil segment [Fig. 2a, wherein each segment of winding 50 has a mirrored segment of winding 52. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 6, Boskamp further teaches wherein potential at each one specific point along a respective one coil turn of a first coil segment is substantially identical to potential at a corresponding one specific point along a corresponding respective one coil turn of a second coil segment [Fig. 2a, wherein the coil has two windings 50/52 that are mirrored along axes 54/56. Col. 2, lines 51-68 discloses that the current in each loop is equal and opposite so that the flux that is generated in one turn is compensated by the flux generated in the adjacent turn. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 7, Boskamp further teaches wherein each one specific point along a turn of the coil has a corresponding point at a corresponding geometric position in the multi-turn coil [Fig. 2a, wherein each segment of winding 50 has a mirrored segment of winding 52. See also rest of reference.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Boskamp, in view of Sambandamurthy (US 2014/0167758).
Regarding claim 4, Boskamp teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends from.
Boskamp further teaches wherein the substantially identical potential between adjacent points on adjacent turns is achieved by using capacitors of substantially equal value and/or using substantially equal lengths of trace between breaks [Fig. 2a and Col. 2, lines 51-68, wherein equal lengths of trace are used so that the current in each winding 50/52 is equal and opposite. See also rest reference.].
Boskamp is silent in teaching copper trace.
Sambandamurthy, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches copper trace [¶0022]. Sambandamurthy also teaches wherein the substantially identical potential between adjacent points on adjacent turns is achieved by using capacitors of substantially equal value [Fig. 3 and ¶0022, wherein capacitors 18 and 20 have equal values and capacitors 22 and 24 have equal values. See also rest of reference.] and/or using substantially equal lengths of copper trace between breaks [Fig. 3 and ¶0022, wherein the copper trace in outer loops 12 are equal in length. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boskamp and Sambandamurthy because both references are in the field of RF coils in MRI and because Sambandamurthy teaches it is known in the art to use copper as the material for forming traces of RF coils [Sambandamurthy - ¶0022].
Regarding claim 8, Boskamp teaches the limitations of claim 6, which this claim depends from.
Boskamp further teaches wherein the identical potential between adjacent points is achieved by using capacitors of equal value within 5% tolerance and/or using lengths of conductor trace within a few millimeters of conductor length tolerance between breaks [Fig. 2a and Col. 2, lines 51-68, wherein equal lengths of trace are used so that the current in each winding 50/52 is equal and opposite. See also rest reference.].
Boskamp is silent in teaching copper trace.
Sambandamurthy, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches copper trace [¶0022]. Sambandamurthy also teaches wherein the identical potential between adjacent points is achieved by using capacitors of equal value within 5% tolerance [Fig. 3 and ¶0022, wherein capacitors 18 and 20 have equal values and capacitors 22 and 24 have equal values. See also rest of reference.] and/or using lengths of copper trace within a few millimeters of copper length tolerance between breaks [Fig. 3 and ¶0022, wherein the copper trace in outer loops 12 are equal in length. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boskamp and Sambandamurthy because both references are in the field of RF coils in MRI and because Sambandamurthy teaches it is known in the art to use copper as the material for forming traces of RF coils [Sambandamurthy - ¶0022].
Conclusion
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896