DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 22-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0279817 A1 (herein “Sibbach”).
Regarding claim 1. Sibbach discloses a heat exchange process comprising:
gaining heat using a working fluid in a first zone, wherein the working fluid is provided within a pumped loop ([0045] to [0047]); wherein the working fluid comprises a mixture of two or more supercritical fluids in a supercritical state within the pumped loop ([0102] pressure and temperature above cricondenbar and cricondentherm); and wherein the mixture adapted to meet requirements of a heat dissipation temperature from extremely low to very high temperatures; and
dissipating the heat as a wave from the working fluid to ambient in a second zone ([0048] mechanical-compression refrigeration system 214 includes at least some heat dissipation via thermal radiation from the condenser),
wherein the two or more supercritical fluids comprise carbon monoxide and argon ([0042] examples of suitable fluids, and combinations thereof, include carbon monoxide and argon).
Regarding claim 2. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, further comprising providing the two or more supercritical fluids in a supercritical gaseous state ([0102]).
Regarding claim 3. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 2, further comprising providing the two or more supercritical fluids having a critical temperature below about 25 degrees C ([0042]).
Regarding claim 4. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the two or more supercritical fluids further comprise neon ([0042] examples of suitable fluids, and combinations thereof, include carbon monoxide, argon, and neon).
Regarding claim 5. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the second supercritical fluid further comprises neon ([0042] examples of suitable fluids, and combinations thereof, include carbon monoxide, argon, and neon).
Regarding claim 6. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the first supercritical fluid comprises carbon monoxide and the second supercritical fluid comprises argon ([0042] examples of suitable fluids, and combinations thereof, include carbon monoxide and argon).
Regarding claim 8. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the second supercritical fluid comprises nitrogen ([0042] examples of suitable fluids, and combinations thereof, include carbon monoxide, argon, and nitrogen).
Regarding claim 9. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the two or more supercritical fluids are above a critical pressure, a critical temperature, a cricondenbar, and a cricondentherm of the two or more supercritical fluids ([0102]).
Regarding claim 10. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the extremely low temperature is about 5 K and the very high temperature is about 373 K ([0042]).
Regarding claims 22. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, further comprising dissipating heat as the wave at a heat dissipater in the second zone ([0048] mechanical-compression refrigeration system 214 includes at least some heat dissipation via thermal radiation from the condenser).
Regarding claim 23. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, further comprising radiating heat as the wave in the second zone ([0048] mechanical-compression refrigeration system 214 includes at least some heat dissipation via thermal radiation from the condenser).
Regarding claim 25. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, further comprising extracting heat as radiation ([0048] mechanical-compression refrigeration system 214 includes at least some heat dissipation via thermal radiation from the condenser).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibbach in view of official notice.
Regarding claims 24. Sibbach does not explicitly disclose the use of a radiator heat exchanger. However, the examiner takes official notice that the use of a radiator as an effective way to dissipate heat from a heat exchange system is old and well known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Sibbach with a radiator heat exchanger that dissipates heat as a wave as claimed. It is noted that the well-known in the art statement has not been traversed. This statement is taken to be admitted prior art because Applicant did not traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is allowed.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 27 are persuasive. Claim 27 is allowed.
Applicant’s additional arguments have been considered, however, they are made with respect to limitations added by amendment. In response, Applicant is directed to the rejection above which addresses the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763