DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 26 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/158639 A1 (herein “Malta”).
Regarding claim 1. Malta discloses (Figs. 2 and 7) a heat exchange process comprising:
gaining heat using a working fluid in a first zone (at 4)), wherein the working fluid is provided within a pumped loop (20); wherein the working fluid comprises a mixture of two or more supercritical fluids ([0063] super critical carbon dioxide and argon) within the pumped loop; and wherein the mixture is adapted to meet requirements of a heat dissipation temperature from extremely low to very high temperatures (carbon dioxide and argon is adapted as such) ([0085]); and
dissipating the heat from the working fluid to ambient in a second zone ([0106] heat dissipated by heat radiators).
Regarding claim 2. Malta discloses providing the two supercritical fluids in a supercritical gaseous state ([0063]).
Regarding claim 3. Malta discloses providing the two supercritical fluids having a critical temperature below about 25 C (carbon dioxide and argon).
Regarding claim 4. Malta discloses that the two supercritical fluids comprise carbon dioxide and argon.
Regarding claim 5, Malta discloses that the two or more supercritical fluids comprise carbon dioxide and argon.
Regarding claim 6. Malta discloses that the two supercritical fluids comprise carbon dioxide and argon.
Regarding claim 8. Malta discloses that the two supercritical fluids comprise carbon dioxide and nitrogen ([0126).
Regarding claim 9. Malta discloses that the two or more supercritical fluid are above a critical pressure, a critical temperature, a cricondenbar, and a cricondentherm of the fluids (the supercritical state range overlaps with the claimed ranges).
Regarding claim 10. A supercritical carbon dioxide and argon mixture is adapted as claimed.
Regarding claim 21. Malta discloses dissipating heat as a wave (radiation) at the second zone ([0106] at the radiator).
Regarding claim 22. Malta discloses dissipating heat as a wave (radiation) at a heat dissipater (the radiator) in the second zone ([0106] at the radiator).
Regarding claim 23. Malta discloses radiating heat as a wave (via the radiator) in the second zone ([0106] at the radiator).
Regarding claim 24. Malta discloses radiating heat as a wave at a radiator in the second zone ([0106] at the radiator).
Regarding claim 25. Malta discloses extracting heat as radiator ([0106] at the radiator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malta in view of – Experimental study on transcritical Rankine cycle (TRC) using CO2/R134a mixtures with various composition ratios for waste heat recovery from diesel engines (herein “Study”).
Regarding claim 7. Malta does not disclose using a combination of supercritical carbon dioxide and 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane (R134). However, Study discloses investigating carbon dioxide based mixtures to improve system performance (abstract) including mixtures of CO2 and R134a. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the supercritical fluids of Malta with the teachings of Study in an attempt to improve system performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763