DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0279817 A1 (herein “Sibbach”).
Regarding claim 1. Sibbach discloses a heat exchange process comprising:
gaining heat using a working fluid in a first zone, wherein the working fluid is provided within a pumped loop ([0045] to [0047]); wherein the working fluid comprises a mixture of two or more supercritical fluids in a supercritical state within the pumped loop ([0102] pressure and temperature above cricondenbar and cricondentherm); and wherein the mixture adapted to meet requirements of a heat dissipation temperature from extremely low to very high temperatures; and
dissipating the heat from the working fluid to ambient in a second zone (214).
Regarding claim 2. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, further comprising providing the two or more supercritical fluids in a supercritical gaseous state ([0102]).
Regarding claim 3. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 2, further comprising providing the two or more supercritical fluids having a critical temperature below about 25 degrees C ([0042]).
Regarding claim 4. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the two or more supercritical fluids comprise helium, hydrogen, neon, nitrogen, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, fluorine, air, argon, oxygen, methane, krypton, xenon, 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane, or any combination thereof ([0042]).
Regarding claim 5. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the two or more supercritical fluids comprise a first supercritical fluid and a second supercritical fluid, and the first supercritical fluid comprises carbon dioxide and the second supercritical fluid comprises neon, helium, argon, or a combination thereof ([0042]).
Regarding claim 6. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the two or more supercritical fluids comprise a first supercritical fluid and a second supercritical fluid, and the first supercritical fluid comprises carbon dioxide or carbon monoxide and the second supercritical fluid comprises argon ([0042]).
Regarding claim 7. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the two or more supercritical fluids comprise a first supercritical fluid and a second supercritical fluid, and the first supercritical fluid comprises carbon dioxide and the second supercritical fluid comprises 1,1,1,2- tetrafluoroethane ([0042]).
Regarding claim 8. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the two or more supercritical fluids comprise a first supercritical fluid and a second supercritical fluid, and the first supercritical fluid comprises carbon dioxide and the second supercritical fluid comprises nitrogen ([0042]).
Regarding claim 9. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the two or more supercritical fluids are above a critical pressure, a critical temperature, a cricondenbar, and a cricondentherm of the two or more supercritical fluids ([0102]).
Regarding claim 10. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process of claim 1, wherein the extremely low temperature is about 5 K and the very high temperature is about 373 K ([0042]).
Regarding claim 27. Sibbach discloses the heat exchange process comprising:
gaining heat using a working fluid in a first zone, wherein the working fluid is provided within a pumped loop ([0045] to [0047]); wherein the working fluid comprises a mixture of two or more supercritical fluids within the pumped loop ([0102]); and wherein the mixture adapted to meet requirements of a heat dissipation temperature from extremely low to very high temperatures; and
dissipating the heat from the working fluid to ambient in a second zone (214),
wherein the two or more supercritical fluids comprise a first supercritical fluid and a second supercritical fluid, and the first supercritical fluid comprises carbon dioxide and the second supercritical fluid comprises 1,1,1,2- tetrafluoroethane ([0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibbach in view of official notice.
Regarding claims 21-25. Sibbach does not explicitly disclose the use of a radiator heat exchanger. However, the examiner takes official notice that the use of a radiator as an effective way to dissipate heat from a heat exchange system is old and well known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Sibbach with a radiator heat exchanger that dissipates heat as a wave as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763