The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on January 21, 2026 is acknowledged. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 5 -6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Freeman (U 3,649,464) , Studer (US 4,090,920 ) , Cottingham (US 5,858,693) or Taunk (US 2014/0271408) . In figures 5-6 and their associated discussion Freeman teaches with respect to claim 5 a well plate lid (see column 2, lines 34-37, figure 5 is a cross-sectional view of another form of the lid or cover provided with well-sealing means ) comprising a base (a substantially flat wall 21 ) and a plurality of wells extending outwardly therefrom (see column 3, lines 68-75, integrally molded well seals 27, which extend downwardly from the lid wall 21 ) , said plurality of wells receivable in correspondingly configured wells of a cell-culture p late (see column 3, lines 68-75, well seals 27, . . . in a number matching the number of cups or wells, and positioned so as to engage the mouth portion 19 of the wells by penetrating into the well openings . . . the well seal walls 28 are tapered so that they wedge into the well, providing a positive seal ) . With respect to claim 6, Freeman teaches that the plurality of wells of said lid are releasably securable in said wells of said cell-culture plate via interference fit(see column 3, lines 68-75, well seals 27, . . . in a number matching the number of cups or wells, and positioned so as to engage the mouth portion 19 of the wells by penetrating into the well openings . . . the well seal walls 28 are tapered so that they wedge into the well, providing a positive seal and column 4, lines 1-16, the form of well seal shown in figure 6 is intended to be used as the sealing means for a given row of wells, or to be used in conjunction with the form of lid shown in figure 4. It comprises a strip 30 of a transparent plastic material having integrally molded therein a set of 12 or 8 individual well seals 31 which are adapted to extend into the mouths 19 of the individual wells. The well seals 31 advantageously have tapering walls of the type described in connection with the embodiment of figure 5. The strip may be utilized so that the 8 rows of 12 wells can be sealed individually, or conversely, if an 8-seal strip is used, so that the 12 rows of 8 each can be thus sealed. In this way the user can remove the sealing strip from one row at a time without unsealing the remaining 7 or 11 rows of wells). With respect to claim 9, Freeman teaches a centrifugation system comprising the well plate lid of claim 5 (see the description related to claim 5 above), and a correspondingly configured cell-culture well plate (see the title and abstract in combination with column 3, lines 68-75, well seals 27, . . . in a number matching the number of cups or wells, and positioned so as to engage the mouth portion 19 of the wells by penetrating into the well openings . . . the well seal walls 28 are tapered so that they wedge into the well, providing a positive seal ). With respect to claim 5 , figures 6-13 of Studer and their associated description teach a well plate lid (see column 4, lines 18-45, well snap covers 34) comprising a base (thin sheet 35 of flexible plastic) and a plurality of wells extending outwardly therefrom (see column 4, lines 18-45, a series of rectangular well seals 36 depending therefrom), said plurality of wells receivable in correspondingly configured wells of a cell-culture plate. With respect to claim 6, figures 6 and 10-13 show that the plurality of wells of said lid are releasably securable in said wells of said cell-culture plate via interference fit (also see column 4, lines 18-45, well seals are conveniently hollow and extend part way into the well in assembled position. The rims 37 conveniently are an easy press fit into the rectangular well 13 so that the snap cover 34 may be easily removed and replaced). With respect to claim 9, figures 6-13 and their associated discussion teach a centrifugation system comprising the well plate lid of claim 5 (see the description related to claim 5 above), and a correspondingly configured cell-culture well plate (see abstract in combination with the brief description of figure 6, a sectional view of a culture test plate with a plastic snap cover closing the individual wells). In the patent, with respect to claim 5, Cottingham teaches a well plate lid (cap strip assembly 20) comprising a base (molded plastic strip 22) and a plurality of wells extending outwardly therefrom (see at least figures 2-4 and column 4, lines 20-49, integral stopper-type caps 28, which are spaced apart by a distance corresponding to the spacing between successive sample wells 12), said plurality of wells receivable in correspondingly configured wells of a cell-culture plate. With respect to claim 6, the plurality of wells of said lid are releasably securable in said wells of said cell-culture plate via interference fit (see column 4, lines 20-49, caps 28 are tightly receivable in the open tops 14 of the sample wells 12 by means for a friction or interference fit, and serve to seal the sample wells 12 during use of the apparatus). With respect to claim 9, figures 2-3, 6 and 7A-7D and their associated discussion teach a centrifugation system comprising the well plate lid of claim 5 (see the description related to claim 5 above), and a correspondingly configured cell-culture well plate. In the patent publication, with respect to claims 5, figures 6-8 of Taunk with their associated discussion show/teach a well plate lid (plate cap 600 or microtube cap strips 700 or 800) comprising a base ( element 602) and a plurality of wells extending outwardly therefrom (protrusion called plug 112), said plurality of wells receivable in correspondingly configured wells of a cell-culture plate. With respect to claim 6, the plurality of wells of said lid are releasably securable in said wells of said cell-culture plate via interference fit (see at least paragraph [0026], close the cap and also open the cap). With respect to claim 9, figures 6-8 and figure 7 in particular show/teach a centrifugation system comprising the well plate lid of claim 5 (see the description related to claim 5 above), and a correspondingly configured cell-culture well plate. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taunk as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Perlman (US 5,620,662) . In the patent publication Taunk describes/teaches a microtube with a novel recessed concave top. The recessed top is at least 20-80% of the area of the entire cap and has a thickness from 0.025 mm to 1.0 mm. The recessed portion is smooth in structure and is optically transparent to allow all instrumental reading based on optical value reliable and accurate. The cap also has a unique plug design that has two parts. One part is the lower part that is a bit broader than the upper part. The upper part is a bit smaller than the opening. This structure allows the tube not to lose shape or allows the liquid to come out when the microtube undergoes lab conditions such as heating, cooling, spinning, boiling etc. Paragraph [0021] teaches that the invention is directed to a microtube product that has a special structural change at the cap. This cap design may be applied to other formats such as strip or grid formats. More specifically the change in the design of the cap enables the optical reading to be more accurate. In one embodiment, the microtube has a distal end and a proximal end. Figure 1 shows the front view of the microtube 100. The microtube 100 has a distal end 102 and a proximal end 104. The distal end 102 is conical at the bottom which is closed and wider on the top that is open. The proximal end 104 has an opening 114 to house the inward protrusion called plug 112 to seal the microtube. The proximal end has a ridge like structure 116 that strengthens the opening structure and allows the microtube to withstand the process depended effects such as heating, cooling, boiling, centrifugation and storing. Paragraphs [0031]-[0032] describe figures 6-7. Figure 6 shows a plate cap 600. The plate cap may be in form of films, strips or individual caps. The figure shows a composition of 8 X 4 strips that may be used on a limited number of microtubes or a partial PCR plate. Figure 7 shows a single 8 microtube cap strip 700 for microtube 100. The strip of tubes may be secured using this embodiment. The novel feature inner second ring 204 is shown to exist in both configurations and helps secure and stop cross contamination of the samples as well. The extra extension 602 (figure 6)allows the user to hold the strip before loading in on to the microtube or plate. Paragraph [0034] teaches that the specification and drawings are to be regarded in an illustrative rather than a restrictive sense. Taunk does not teach at least one well of said plurality of wells of said lid comprises a retaining member extending outwardly from an interior sidewall of said well, wherein said retaining member extends between opposing surfaces of said interior sidewall or that the retaining member has a generally cross-shaped configuration. In the patent Perlman teaches a centrifuge tube with temporary liquid storage cavities. The centrifuge tube has an upper opening and defines a specimen enclosure therein. The tube includes a lid for sealably covering the upper opening. Temporary liquid holding cavities are formed upon the underside of the lid so as to extend outwardly from the underside and terminate in open distal ends. One or more liquid components or reagents can be inserted directly into the open distal ends of the cavities so as to reside inside the cavities on the lid. The cavities are sufficiently narrow so that the walls of each cavity are disposed in frictional engagement with the liquid to increase the surface tension and adherence of the liquid within the cavity. The lid can be snapped shut over the opening of the tube without discharging the liquid components from the cavities, so that the liquid components hang in open suspension above the bottom of the tube. The liquid components are dislodged from the cavities and fall to the bottom of the tube upon centrifugation of the tube. Figures 3-4 show temporary liquid storage cavities formed on the lid through retaining member extending between opposing surfaces of said interior sidewall in a generally cross-shaped configuration. Column 3, lines 26-53 describe figure 3 describe a container 14 having lid 20 which is attached to the container 14 by a lid hinge 22. Container 14 is formed with an upper perimeter wall surface 16 (defining an upper opening 18) adapted to mate with lid 20. The means of storing liquid (also used with other lid structures such as screw cap lids) involves providing at least two liquid-holding cavities 31 formed on, or in the underside, i.e., the bottom wall surface 36 of lid 20. Each cavity 31 is defined by an outer perimeter edge 38 generally representing the outer limit and maximum volume for a liquid component stored in the cavity 31. In the case of hinged lid 20 which includes an annular lid seal 26, it is convenient to fabricate multiple liquid-holding cavities 31 in the form of sectored walled compartments within this annular structure. The geometry of such liquid-holding cavities may vary from lid to lid depending upon the structure of a particular lid. In figure 3, four such walled cavities or compartments 31, formed using either injection-molded polypropylene or polyethylene thermoplastic resin, are shown. To avoid altering the elasticity and sealing properties of the annular lid seal 26, the radial walls 42 do not abut or otherwise contact this lid seal 26, but rather abut a concentric inner ring wall 44 to form closed-walled sectored compartments. Column 4 lines 3-30 describe figure 4 as showing a centrifuge tube designated generally at 100. The tube 100 includes a tube body or container 102 defining a specimen enclosure 104 therein and having an open end 106 and an opposing closed end 108. A suitable lid means, such as a cap or lid 110 having opposing upper and lower surfaces 111a and 111b respectively, is provided for removably covering the open end 106 of the tube body 102. A suitable liquid-holding cell means, such as a hollow holding cell 112, extends outwardly from the lid 110 and terminates in an open distal end 114. The cell 112 is provided for receiving and holding a liquid component or reagent 162 (see figure 5) therein such that gravitational force is insufficient to induce passage of the liquid component 162 from the cell 112 even when the open distal end 114 is facing downwardly. The cell 112 is disposed such that the open distal end 114 extends into the tube body 102 when the lid 110 is covering the open end 106 of the tube body. The hollow holding cell 112 may comprise a single cell, but preferably comprises a plurality of temporary liquid storage cavities or cell sectors 116 formed by side walls 118a-b. The sectors 116 thus each have their own open distal end as part of the open distal end 114 of the cell 112. The sectors 116 are configured and dimensioned to receive the liquid component 162 through the open distal end 114. Each cell sector 116 is sufficiently narrow such that surface tension of the liquid component 162 is enhanced when the liquid component is disposed in frictional engagement against the side walls 118a-b of the sector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the Taunk plate lid by adding the cross-shaped retaining member taught by Perlman to create liquid retaining cavities in least one well of said plurality of wells of the Taunk lid because the Taunk in particular was modifying the lid and the lid/multiwall plate is intended for processing steps such as centrifugation and Perlman is directed to creating liquid containing cavities in a cap that release liquids such as reagents during centrifugation steps. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art is directed toward different lids for single containers and multiwell plates as well as US 2019/0151862 directed toward centrifuge inserts for sample carriers including microplates, microtiter plate (MTP), PCR-plates and deep well plates (DWP) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Arlen Soderquist whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1265 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 1st week Monday-Thursday, 2nd week Monday-Friday . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Lyle Alexander can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1254 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ARLEN SODERQUIST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797