DETAILED ACTION
The present application and its arguments have been reviewed and currently claims 9 and 16 are rejected, claims 10-14 are objected to, claims 19-20 are withdrawn, and claims 1-8, 15, and 17-18 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants arguments on page 7 that Bertoldo does not disclose a lip that is extending radially outward and downwardly in a direction away from the male portion, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the annotated fig. 2 below shows that the sloped radially outward portion creates a cavity similar to the present invention (ex., see annotated figure of the present invention which extends radially outward and downward at the same time similarly to the annotated fig. 2 of the prior art).
In response to applicants arguments on page 7 that Bertoldo does not disclose a cavity receiving area to assist in receiving, aligning, and stacking an adaptive tile, the examiner respectfully disagrees as shown in the annotated figure above that if a male portion of another coupling was inserted into the lip then the lip would “assist in receiving, aligning, and stacking the adaptive tile coupling” as that all it is required is “assisting”. In other words, the ramp portions (ex., the lips that form a cavity like structure as shown in annotated fig. 2 above) at the end of the axially extending arms would “assist” in accepting another adaptive tile coupling, thus meeting the functional limitation of the claim.
In response to applicants arguments on page on 8 that withdrawn claims should be allowed, the examiner respectfully disagrees as withdrawn claims would require to be cancelled.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bertoldo (EP-1653583).
Claim 9, Bertoldo discloses:
An adaptive tile coupling (see fig. 2 hereinafter) comprising:
a male portion (20, fig. 4) including a generally cylindrical section and an outwardly extending flange (17, fig. 1) extending from the generally cylindrical section; and
a female portion (18) being attached to or integrally formed with the male portion (see fig. 4),
the female portion including at least a first section, a second section and a third section (see annotated fig. 2 below),
the first section and the second section being connected by a first hinge (30),
the second section and the third section being connected by a second hinge (see annotated fig. 2),
the first section having at least one fastening mechanism (see annotated fig. 2),
the third section having at least one fastening mechanism (see annotated fig. 2),
wherein at least one of the first and third sections of the female portion are configured to move from an open position to a closed position to form a generally cylindrical shape (ex., compare figs. 2 and 3),
the at least one fastening mechanism of the first section and the at least one fastening mechanism of the third section assist in securing and maintaining the female portion in a closed position (ex., see fig. 3),
wherein the generally cylindrical section of the male portion has a first diameter (ex., see near 20 in fig. 4), and
the first, second and third sections of the female portion in the closed position has a second diameter (ex., see fig. 3),
the second diameter being larger than the first diameter (see fig. 3),
wherein an edge of the female portion includes an offset lip extending radially outward and downwardly in a direction away from the male portion (see annotated fig. 2) so as to form a cavity-receiving area (ex., as shown in response to arguments above) to assist in receiving, aligning and stacking the adaptive tile coupling. (ex., see annotated fig. 2, where every lip extends radially outward; ex., stacking another tile coupling and causing the lip to contact the tile coupling would meet the functional limitation of the claim).
Claim 16, Bertoldo discloses:
The adaptive tile coupling of claim 9, wherein one of the first and third portions of the female portion includes an adjustable latch (see 36 in annotated fig. 2 above hereinafter; ex., a flexible latch would be considered an adjustable latch as the latch can change positions due to its flexibility) to assist in holding the adaptive tile coupling in the closed position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claims 10-14, Bertoldo is currently the best prior art but does not disclose the limitations of claims 10-14 (ex., loops as fastening mechanisms; ex., flange including recess; ex., cylindrical section forms a plurality of upwardly extending tabs; ex., the second section comprising ribs; ex., flap/recess engagement of first/third sections).
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Bertoldo to meet the limitations of claims 10-14 as such modification would require impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679