DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on May 19, 2023. Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FR2205309, filed on June 2, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on November 15, 2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forster et al., (US 2013/0307968 A1) referred to as Forster hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Forster discloses an indirect time-of-flight measurement sensor (Fig. 1, Par. [0025], a TOF camera 20 having a receiving optical system 25 and a photosensor 22), comprising:
a photosensitive pixel array (Par. [0025], The photosensor 22 has at least one pixel, preferably, however, a pixel array, and it is especially configured as a PMD sensor) configured to acquire a succession of images of a scene (Fig. 1, Par. [0027], The light b reflected off the object 40 strikes the photosensor 22, i.e. acquires images of the scene. The charges are typically collected or integrated over several modulation periods (i.e. succession of images) during a given exposure time (Par. [0022], within a prescribed measuring interval, the charges at the accumulation gate of the photosensor are sequentially integrated multiple times with the specified integration time, and the electric quantity that corresponds to the charge is read out and added up); and
a control unit configured to control an acquisition of a succession of images by the pixel array (Par. [0030] FIG. 3a also shows a readout unit 400 (i.e. control uni) that can likewise be an integral part of a PMD photosensor configured as a CMOS. The accumulation gates Ga, Gb, which are configured as capacitors, integrate the photonically generated charges over a plurality of modulation periods. In a known manner, the voltage that is then present at the gates Ga, Gb can be tapped at a high impedance via the readout unit 400) and to define an exposure time for the acquisition according to a pixel saturation rate of the array (Par. [0030], The integration times (i.e. exposure time) should be preferably selected in such a way that the photosensor or the accumulation gates and/or the light-sensitive areas do not reach saturation for the amount of light (i.e. saturation rate) that can be expected. Also, Par. [0036], the integration time is preferably set in such a way that the reference photosensor 280 can be operated in an optimal working range just below its saturation or a saturation limit), distances between the sensor and elements of the scene (Fig. 1, length 1, Par. [0024], an optical distance measurement with a time-of-flight camera), and a standard deviation of the distances between the sensor and the elements of the scene (Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit should preferably be below saturation).
Regarding Claim 2, Forster discloses Claim 1. Forster further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to define the exposure time for the acquisition from the pixel saturation rate of the array (Par. [0030], The integration times (i.e. exposure time) should be preferably selected in such a way that the photosensor or the accumulation gates and/or the light-sensitive areas do not reach saturation for the amount of light (i.e. saturation rate) that can be expected. Also, Par. [0036], the integration time is preferably set in such a way that the reference photosensor 280 can be operated in an optimal working range just below its saturation or a saturation limit) and a precision of the sensor corresponding to a ratio between the distances between the sensor and elements of the scene and the standard deviation of the distances between the sensor and the elements of the scene (Par. [0027], On the basis of the ratio of the charges qa, qb collected in the first and second gates Ga, Gb, the phase shift and thus a distance of the object can be determined. Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error (i.e. precision) to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit should preferably be below saturation).
Regarding Claim 7, Forster discloses a method, comprising:
acquiring a succession of images of a scene (Fig. 1, Par. [0027], The light b reflected off the object 40 strikes the photosensor 22, i.e. acquires images of the scene. The charges are typically collected or integrated over several modulation periods (i.e. succession of images) with pixels of a photosensitive pixel array (Par. [0025], The photosensor 22 has at least one pixel, preferably, however, a pixel array, and it is especially configured as a PMD sensor) of an indirect (Par. [0041], the reference photosensor 280 can receive light from the illumination source 12 either directly or, if applicable, indirectly via reflections, without using a light guide) time-of-flight measurement sensor (Fig. 1, Par. [0025], a TOF camera 20 having a receiving optical system 25 and a photosensor 22) during a given exposure time (Par. [0022], within a prescribed measuring interval, the charges at the accumulation gate of the photosensor are sequentially integrated multiple times with the specified integration time, and the electric quantity that corresponds to the charge is read out and added up); and
defining the exposure time for the acquisition based on a pixel saturation rate of the array (Par. [0030], The integration times (i.e. exposure time) should be preferably selected in such a way that the photosensor or the accumulation gates and/or the light-sensitive areas do not reach saturation for the amount of light (i.e. saturation rate) that can be expected. Also, Par. [0036], the integration time is preferably set in such a way that the reference photosensor 280 can be operated in an optimal working range just below its saturation or a saturation limit), distances between the sensor and elements of the scene (Fig. 1, length 1, Par. [0024], an optical distance measurement with a time-of-flight camera), and a standard deviation of the distances between the sensor and the elements of the scene (Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit should preferably be below saturation).
Regarding Claim 8, Forster discloses Claim 7. Forster further discloses defining the exposure time for the acquisition based on the pixel saturation rate of the array (Par. [0030], The integration times (i.e. exposure time) should be preferably selected in such a way that the photosensor or the accumulation gates and/or the light-sensitive areas do not reach saturation for the amount of light (i.e. saturation rate) that can be expected. Also, Par. [0036], the integration time is preferably set in such a way that the reference photosensor 280 can be operated in an optimal working range just below its saturation or a saturation limit) and a precision of the sensor corresponding to a ratio between the distances between the sensor and elements of the scene and the standard deviation of the distances between the sensor and the elements of the scene (Par. [0027], On the basis of the ratio of the charges qa, qb collected in the first and second gates Ga, Gb, the phase shift and thus a distance of the object can be determined. Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error (i.e. precision) to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit should preferably be below saturation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 - 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forster et al., (US 2013/0307968 A1), and in view of Yang et al. (US 2017/0353649 A1) referred to as Yang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 13, Forster discloses a method, comprising:
sensing, a distance between a sensor and the object (Fig. 1, object 40, distance 1, photosensor 22, Par. [0016], distance measurements of a time-of-flight camera (i.e. sensor));
calculating a standard deviation of the distances (Par. [0032], signal-to-noise ratio, as is shown by the broken curve of the standard deviation in FIG. 4, the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit should preferably be below saturation);
selecting, with a control unit of the sensor (Par. [0030] FIG. 3a also shows a readout unit 400 (i.e. control uni) that can likewise be an integral part of a PMD photosensor configured as a CMOS. The accumulation gates Ga, Gb, which are configured as capacitors, integrate the photonically generated charges over a plurality of modulation periods. In a known manner, the voltage that is then present at the gates Ga, Gb can be tapped at a high impedance via the readout unit 400), an exposure time based on a pixel saturation rate of a photosensitive pixel array of the sensor (Par. [0030], The integration times (i.e. exposure time) should be preferably selected in such a way that the photosensor or the accumulation gates and/or the light-sensitive areas do not reach saturation for the amount of light (i.e. saturation rate) that can be expected. Also, Par. [0036], the integration time is preferably set in such a way that the reference photosensor 280 can be operated in an optimal working range just below its saturation or a saturation limit) and on the standard deviation of the distance (Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit should preferably be below saturation);
acquiring, with a photosensitive pixel array of a sensor, a plurality of images of the objects (Fig. 1, Par. [0027], The light b reflected off the object 40 strikes the photosensor 22, i.e. acquires images of the scene. The charges are typically collected or integrated over several modulation periods (i.e. succession of images) with the selected exposure time (Par. [0022], within a prescribed measuring interval, the charges at the accumulation gate of the photosensor are sequentially integrated multiple times with the specified integration time, and the electric quantity that corresponds to the charge is read out and added up).
Forster does not specifically teach a plurality of objects. Therefore, Forster fails to explicitly teach sensing, for each of a plurality of objects, a distance between a sensor and the object.
However, Yang teaches sensing, for each of a plurality of objects, a distance between a sensor and the object (Abstract, a time-of-flight ranging sensor configured to sense distances to a plurality of objects within an overall field of view of the time-of-flight ranging sensor).
References Forster and Yang are considered to be analogous art because they both time of flight sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying a plurality of objects as suggested by Yang in the invention of Forster in order to determine an average of the plurality of distances and to adjust control parameters (See Yang, Par. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 14, Forster in view of Yang teaches Claim 13. Forster further teaches comprising selecting the exposure time based on a precision of the sensor (Par. [0027], On the basis of the ratio of the charges qa, qb collected in the first and second gates Ga, Gb, the phase shift and thus a distance of the object can be determined. Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error (i.e. precision) to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit should preferably be below saturation).
Regarding Claim 15, Forster in view of Yang teaches Claim 14. Forster further teaches wherein the precision of the sensor corresponds to a ratio between the distances and the standard deviation of the distances (Par. [0027], On the basis of the ratio of the charges qa, qb collected in the first and second gates Ga, Gb, the phase shift and thus a distance of the object can be determined. Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error (i.e. precision) to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit should preferably be below saturation).
Regarding Claim 16, Forster in view of Yang teaches Claim 15. Forster further teaches comprising comparing, with the control unit, the pixel saturation rate with a saturation rate threshold (Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected in such a way that any distance error to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation, whereby the upper limit (i.e. saturation rate threshold) should preferably be below saturation).
Regarding Claim 17, Forster in view of Yang teaches Claim 16. Forster further teaches comprising reducing the exposure time if the pixel saturation rate is greater than the saturation rate threshold (Par. [0032], the lower limit of the working range of the integration time should be selected (i.e. reduced exposure time) in such a way that any distance error to be expected still falls within a permissible tolerance or standard deviation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 - 6, 9 - 12 and 18 - 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 3, 9 and 18 specifically defines compare the pixel saturation rate with a saturation rate threshold, and to: if the pixel saturation rate is greater than the saturation rate threshold, reduce the exposure time, otherwise compare the precision to a precision threshold, and if the precision is greater than the precision threshold, reduce the exposure time, otherwise, increase the exposure time that is not readily taught or suggested by the prior art uncovered during search or made of record. Claims 4-6, 10-12, 19 and 20 are allowed for the reasons above by virtue of their respective dependencies.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) 272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425