Response to Arguments
The remarks filed on 12/3/25 have been considered. Please see newly incorporated references Yi (20190073524) and Trautwein (20210174503) that teach selecting and functional movement of the human.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanaujia (article titled “Part Segmentation of Visual Hull for 3D Human Pose Estimation.”) in view of Yi (20190073524) and Trautwein (20210174503) that
Regarding claim 1, Kanaujia teaches an image segmentation method for analyzing digital image data and detecting a location of a joint center of a human subject, the method comprising the steps of: capturing a digital image using an image capture device (abstract);
detecting a visual hull segmentation of the digital image, the visual hull segmentation including one or more proxy spheres (abstract and section 3);
selecting an initial segmentation algorithm based on a context of the visual hull segmentation (sections 4-5);
identifying a set of initial joint center coordinates using the initial segmentation algorithm (section 4.1, mean shift clustering);
capturing a functional movement of the human subject (section 7, joint localization accuracy);
to select an updated segmentation algorithm (section 7, SVM);
identifying a set of updated joint center coordinates using the updated segmentation algorithm (figure 1e, updating each frame);
and generating an updated segmentation model based on the set of updated joint center coordinates (figure 1 and section 6, LM model).
Yi teaches using a DNN for determining the functional movement of the human (pars. 20-33 and 47-54)
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Kanaujia the ability to use a DNN for determingin the functional movement as taught by Yi. The reason is to have a refined movement determination of a movement.
Trautwein teaches selecting different algorithms based on what is optimal in pars. 30-33 and 56-58.
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Kanaujia and Yi the ability to select an algorithm as taught by Trautwein. The reason is to be able to pick an optimal algorithm for each specific movement.
Regarding claim 2, see the abstract of Kanaujia, streams.
Regarding claim 5, see section 7 of Kanaujia.
Regarding claim 6, see par. 47-54 of Yi.
Regarding claim 7, see figure 1 of Kanaujia.
Regarding claim 8, see pars. 19-23 of Yi.
Regarding claim 16, see the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, see section 7 of Kanaujia.
Regarding claim 19, see the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection of claim 7.
Claim(s) 3-4, 9-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanaujia (article titled “Part Segmentation of Visual Hull for 3D Human Pose Estimation.”) in view of Yi in view of Trautwein in further view of Hasler (20140072175).
Regarding claim 3, Hasler teaches a markerless system in pars. 68 and 72.
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Kanaujia the ability to use a markerless motion capture system as taught by Hasler in order to add more flexibility to the system.
Regarding claim 4, see par. 62 (blob) of Hasler and section 3 of Kanaujia.
Regarding claim 9, see the rejection of claim 1, pars. 24-26 and 61 of Hasler and and figure 1 of Kanaujia.
Regarding claim 10, see pars. 19 and 33-34 of Hasler.
Regarding claim 11, see the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 12-13, see the rejection of 4 and section 7 of Kanaujia.
Regarding claim 14, see pars. 28-37 of Hasler.
Regarding claim 15, see the rejection of claim 1 an pars. 24-26 and 61 of Halser.
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection of claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HADI AKHAVANNIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676