DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Claims 1-3, 7-14, and 18-20) in the reply filed on 1/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6, 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/22/2026.
Claims 1-3, 7-14, and 18-20 are under examination
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 1 recites “material coupled to an exterior of the casing” on line 5. Although the limitation is clear and not indefinite, please amend the limitation to recite “a material coupled to an exterior of the casing” to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 12 is objected to for the same informality as claim 1. Claim 12 recites “material coupled to an exterior of the casing” on line 5. Although the limitation is clear and not indefinite, please amend the limitation to recite “a material coupled to an exterior of the casing” to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claim 20 is objected to for the same informality as claim 1. Claim 20 recites “material coupled to an exterior of the casing” on line 5. Although the limitation is clear and not indefinite, please amend the limitation to recite “a material coupled to an exterior of the casing” to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. It is indefinite because the claim is written to depend on a withdrawn claim, claim 6, which is not proper. It would require an assumption by one reading the claim to determine the scope of the claim, creating indefiniteness. Additionally, “the non-red color” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Interpretation
The term “matter from the at least one battery cell”, appearing in claims 1, 12, and 20 is interpreted to mean acid or electrolyte material, because that is the only supported definition in the specification.
The term “battery acid or other matter from inside the battery cell” is interpreted to mean acid or electrolyte material because that is the only definition supported by the specification.
In claim 10, the examiner is choosing to assume that “Claim 6” is meant to read “Claim 9” for the reasons stated in the above rejection of Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-14, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20120148888-A1, Yun.
Regarding claim 1, Yun teaches an apparatus (100), comprising:
a battery (110), the battery comprising: at least one battery cell (111, 112, 113 taken together);
a casing (120) housing the at least one battery cell; and
material (150c) coupled to an exterior (124) of the casing, the material configured to change color based on interaction with matter (Paragraph 57, “electrolytic solution”) from the at least one battery cell based on the matter leaking from inside the casing (Paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 2, Yun teaches the material is paper-based (Paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 3, Yun teaches the material is impregnated with a litmus (Paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 11, Yun teaches the material is non-toxic (Paragraph 57). While this is not explicitly stated in the reference, Yun teaches the same materials (paper and litmus) that the instant lists in its specification as being non-toxic (Instant Paragraph 68), therefore paper and litmus must be non-toxic.
Regarding claim 12, Yun teaches an apparatus (100), comprising:
a casing (120) for at least one battery cell (111, 112, 113 taken together); and
material (150c) coupled to the casing, the material configured to change color based on contact with matter (Paragraph 57, “electrolyte solution”) from the at least one battery cell based on the matter being released external to the casing from inside the casing (Paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 13, Yun teaches the material is paper-based (Paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 14, Yun teaches the material is impregnated with a litmus (Paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 18, Yun teaches a surface of the material (121a3) facing away from the casing is laminated with nylon (Paragraph 47). The examiner has interpreted the language “and/or nitrile” to mean that the limitation is optional, and will not address this limitation.
Regarding claim 20, Yun teaches a method, comprising:
providing at least one battery cell (110, Paragraph 43, “FIG. 1 shows the electrode assembly 110 having a jelly roll structure formed by rolling the positive plate 111, the separator 113, and the negative plate 112”);
providing a casing (120) housing the at least one battery cell (Paragraph 44, “Referring to FIG. 1, the first case 121 and the second case 122 may be (initially) connected to each other on one side.”); and
providing material (151c) coupled to an exterior (124) of the casing (Paragraph 57, “may be disposed), the material configured to change color based on interaction with matter from the at least one battery cell based on the matter being released from inside the casing (Paragraph 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20120148888-A1, Yunin view of US-4220695-A, Ishida.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the teachings of Yun are explained in the 102 rejections.
Yun does not teach a surface of the material facing away from the casing is laminated with nylon that dissolves based on contact with battery acid or other matter from inside the battery cell.
Yun does not teach a surface of the material facing away from the casing is laminated with nitrile that dissolves based on contact with battery acid or other matter from inside the battery cell.
However, Ishida teaches a leak-proof alkaline cell (Fig. 1) comprising a gasket (7) comprising a sealing material taken from list of materials including nylons (Paragraph 8, Nylon 6, Nylon 66, Nylon 610, Nylon 11, Nylon 12) and nitrile rubber (Paragraph 8). Ishida teaches the sealing material enhances the leak-proof property.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to combine the sealing material of Ishida with the battery of Yun by putting the sealing material at the openings in 151 of Yun in order to improve the seal and prevent electrolyte leaks.
Claim 7 recites “the casing is laminated with nylon,” and does not impart any additional requirements on the nylon laminate to achieve the claimed function (“dissolves based on contact with battery acid or other matter”). Additionally, the specification of the instant does not provide any additional structural requirements to the nylon (Paragraph 52-53). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim 8 recites “the casing is laminated with nitrile,” and does not impart any additional requirements on the nitrile laminate to achieve the claimed function (“dissolves based on contact with battery acid or other matter”). Additionally, the specification of the instant does not provide any additional structural requirements to the nitrile (Paragraph 52-53). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claims 9, 10, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20120148888-A1, Yun, in view of JP-2005251597-A, Kazunori.
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 19, Yun teaches the litmus changes color as a result of the acidity of the leaked electrolytic solution.
Yun does not the material changes to a red color from a non-red color.
However, red litmus is a known pH indicator in the art for use in a battery malfunction indicator, as taught in Kazunori as well as that litmus changes from blue to red when the electrolyte is acidic (“Best Mode”, Paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to use red litmus as the litmus in Yun because it would amount to no more than selecting a known option for litmus in the field of battery malfunction detectors to achieve an expected outcome of the litmus changing from blue to red when exposed to the acidic battery electrolytic solution with a reasonable chance of success. Blue is a non-red color therefore claims 9 and 19 are unpatentable.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of copending Application No. 18320902 (Reference Application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons listed in the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Bold and underlined text indicates differences in the claims between the instant and reference applications.
Instant
Reference Application
Claim 1
Claim 1
An apparatus, comprising: a battery, the battery comprising: at least one battery cell; a casing housing the at least one battery cell; and material coupled to an exterior of the casing,
An apparatus, comprising: a battery, the battery comprising: at least one battery cell; a casing housing the at least one battery cell; and material coupled to an exterior of the casing,
the material configured to change color based on interaction with matter from the at least one battery cell based on the matter leaking from inside the casing.
the material configured to dissolve based on interaction with matter from the at least one battery cell based on the matter leaking from inside the casing.
Claim 9
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the material has one or more first colors, and wherein the material dissolves to reveal a second color that is different from the one or more first colors.
The result of the interaction of the material and the battery in both applications is a color change. Claim 1 of the instant is simply a broader version of claims 1 and 9 of the reference application. Therefore, claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 9 of the reference application.
Conclusion
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721