DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 4/23/2026 has been considered by examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 8-10 and 16-20 are cancelled, and claims 21-28 are added. Claims 1-7, 11-15, and 21-28 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuuchi et al. (US 2018/0294118, hereinafter "Furuuchi") in view of Cregut et al. (US 2022/0399618, hereinafter "Cregut").
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Furuuchi teaches a battery system (“apparatus”) comprising a switch device (“fuse”) capable of opening or short-circuiting an electrical circuit (“electrical discharge path”) in response to wetting with a liquid leaking from a battery [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Furuuchi teaches that the switch device comprises a reaction part including an insulating material (“material”) which changes state on contact with a liquid, such as by dissolving [Abstract, 0010]. Furuuchi teaches that when the insulating material changes state, a first conductor and a second conductor to which the switch device is connected may be opened, thus breaking the circuit [0011]. Furuuchi further discloses that the switch device may be incorporated in a battery cell with a positive electrode of the battery cell forming the first and second conductors [0168]. Furuuchi teaches that the battery cell and the switch device may be installed within a battery holder (“casing”) [0168-0169]. Furuuchi does not specifically teach one or more electrical lines that run from a positive terminal of a battery cell to a negative terminal of the battery cell.
Cregut teaches analogous art of a storage battery (“battery”) comprising an electrochemical cell (“battery cell”) equipped with a protective fuse (“fuse”) [0031]. Cregut teaches that the electrochemical cell (20) comprises a casing (29) housing electrochemical components (21) such as electrodes immersed in a lithium ion-based electrolyte, a negative terminal (22), and a positive terminal (23) [Cregut Fig. 2, 0059]. Cregut discloses that the fuse (25) and a switch (26) are housed inside the casing [Cregut Fig. 2, 0062]. The fuse is connected to the positive terminal and to the corresponding electrode of the electrochemical components [Cregut Fig. 2, 0065]. As shown in Fig. 2 of Cregut, the negative terminal and positive terminal are connected by electrical lines that run from the terminals to the electrochemical components to form a circuit (“electrical discharge path”), and the fuse is placed within this circuit. Cregut teaches that in the event of a battery malfunction, the fuse may be blown and the circuit may be opened [0065].
Furuuchi and Cregut both teach an element (Furuuchi’s switch device, Cregut’s fuse) for breaking an electrical discharge path (Furuuchi’s circuit, Cregut’s circuit) in response to a battery malfunction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the known electrical discharge path of Cregut, which comprises electrical lines running from a positive terminal to a negative terminal of a battery cell, for that of Furuuchi, and the results of the substitution, i.e. the blowing of a fuse to break an electrical discharge path, would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Further regarding claim 12, as described in the rejection of instant claim 11 above, Furuuchi teaches a battery cell incorporating the switch device [0168].
Claims 2, 3, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuuchi (US 2018/0294118) in view of Cregut (US 2022/0399618) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Ueda et al. (US 2007/0275296, hereinafter "Ueda").
Regarding claim 2, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above. Furuuchi further teaches that the switch device comprises a first conductor and second conductor connected to an external circuit (“device”), and that when the insulating material changes state, such as by dissolving on contact with a liquid, the first and second conductors are irreversibly separated [0008]. Furuuchi discloses that the first and second conductors may be metal terminal pieces [0061]. Furuuchi is silent regarding the switch device comprising aluminum.
Ueda teaches analogous art of an acid liquid leakage sensor which can detect liquid leakage from a battery [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Ueda teaches that the liquid leakage sensor includes a first conductive member, a second conductive member, and an electrically insulating material [Abstract]. Ueda teaches that the first and second conductive members may be made from an electrically conductive material, such as aluminum [0037].
Ueda teaches that a change of conductive state occurs between the first and second conductive members upon leakage of liquid from a battery [Abstract, “It is possible to detect leakage of acid liquid, such as battery fluid, by detecting the change of conductive state between the first conductive member and the second conductive member”]. Furuuchi’s first and second conductors also undergo a change in conductive state in response to liquid leakage from a battery [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the metal terminal pieces of the first and second conductors of modified Furuuchi with the known electrically conductive aluminum of the first and second conductive members taught by Ueda, in order to obtain the predictable result of a device whose conductive state can change in response to liquid leakage from a battery [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 3, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 2, as described in the rejection of instant claim 2 above. Furuuchi is silent regarding the liquid leaking from the battery comprising sulfuric acid.
Ueda teaches that sulfuric acid is used to test the dissolution of the electrically insulating material of the acid liquid leakage sensor [0158].
Ueda teaches that dilute sulfuric acid is filled into batteries used as power supplies for various types of devices [0002].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by modified Furuuchi to include sulfuric acid in the battery cell, as taught by Ueda. It would have been obvious to combine the sulfuric acid in batteries taught by Ueda with the battery cell taught by modified Furuuchi to obtain the predictable result of a battery cell that supplies power to a device [see MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
Regarding claim 14, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as described in the rejection of instant claim 12.
Furuuchi is silent regarding the switch device comprising a carbonate.
Ueda teaches analogous art of an acid liquid leakage sensor which can detect liquid leakage from a battery [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Ueda teaches that the liquid leakage sensor includes a first conductive member, a second conductive member, and an electrically insulating material [Abstract]. Ueda teaches that the electrically insulating material dissolves upon reaction with the battery fluid [0040, “it is desirable for the electrically insulating material to be one which dissolves upon reaction with the battery fluid”]. Ueda teaches that the electrically insulating material may further comprise an extender [0014], and that the extender may be a metallic carbonate [0015].
Ueda teaches that when the electrically insulating material includes a metallic carbonate in the extender, the electrically insulating material’s resistance to acid liquid becomes weak, making it possible to detect leakage of the acid liquid quickly [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch device taught by modified Furuuchi to include a metallic carbonate extender as taught by Ueda, in order to detect liquid leaking from the battery more quickly.
Further regarding claim 15, Furuuchi teaches that the liquid leaking from the battery cell may comprise an electrolyte solution such as ethylene carbonate [0066], which comprises carbon, hydrogen, and oxygen.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuuchi (US 2018/0294118) in view of Cregut (US 2022/0399618) and Ueda (US 2007/0275296) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Binder et al. (US 4,751,155, hereinafter "Binder").
Regarding claim 4, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 2, as described in the rejection of instant claim 2. Furuuchi is silent regarding the switch device comprising one or more of a nylon and a nitrite.
Binder teaches analogous art of an storage battery comprising a compressed material contained by a releasable binder (“material”) that dissolves upon contact with battery electrolyte [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Binder teaches that the compressed material may be contained by a mesh or net made of a material such as nylon, which is soluble in sulfuric acid and dissolves shortly after coming into contact with electrolyte [col. 6, “retained in compression by a mesh or net 32 of suitable material, such as nylon”, “The nylon net 32 is soluble in sulfuric acid and will dissolve in a short time after the battery is filled with electrolyte”].
Both Binder and Furuuchi teach a material that dissolves upon contact with battery electrolyte (Furuuchi’s insulating material, Binder’s nylon net).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insulating material taught by modified Furuuchi to further include nylon as taught by Binder, and the results of the substitution, i.e. providing a material that dissolves upon contact with electrolyte, would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 5, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 4, as described in the rejection of instant claim 4. Furuuchi further teaches that the insulating material may include cellulose [0065].
Regarding claim 6, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 5, as described in the rejection of instant claim 5. Furuuchi is silent regarding the material comprising a first, second, third, and fourth layer.
As described above, Ueda teaches a liquid leakage sensor includes a first conductive member, a second conductive member, and an electrically insulating material [Abstract]. Ueda teaches an embodiment of the liquid leakage sensor comprising a covering layer (45) (“first layer”), a first conductive layer member (42) (“second layer”), an adhesive layer (44) (“third layer”), and a second conductive layer member (43) (“fourth layer”) which are all different from each other [0064, Ueda Fig. 2]. Ueda teaches that the first and second conductive layer members may be made from aluminum [0065]. Ueda teaches that the adhesive layer utilizes an electrically insulating material which dissolves upon reaction with battery fluid [0069]. Ueda also teaches that the covering layer may be made from an electrically insulating material that dissolves upon reaction with battery fluid [0061, “The battery fluid 12 which has dripped down reacts with the covering layer 24 of the battery liquid leakage sensor 20 and dissolves it”, 0072, “The covering layer 45 is made as … an electrically insulating material … The same electrically insulating material as described with reference to the first embodiment may be used”].
Both Furuuchi and Ueda teach a fuse whose conductive state changes in response to liquid leakage from a battery (Furuuchi’s switch device, Ueda’s liquid leakage sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the switch device, or fuse, taught by modified Furuuchi by substituting the known layered structure taught by Ueda for that of Furuuchi and the results, i.e. creating a fuse, would be predictable [see MPEP2143(I)(B)]. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to include the nylon taught by modified Furuuchi in the covering layer, or first layer, and the cellulose taught by modified Furuuchi in the adhesive layer, or third layer, since modified Furuuchi teaches that the nylon and cellulose dissolve upon contact with battery liquid/electrolyte, and the first and third layers dissolve upon contact with battery liquid/electrolyte [see MPEP2143(I)(A)].
Regarding claim 7, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 6, as described in the rejection of instant claim 6.
Ueda teaches that the covering layer is an external layer, wherein the first conductive layer member is adjacent to and between the covering layer and the adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer is adjacent to and between the first conductive layer member and the second conductive layer member, and wherein the second conductive layer member is adjacent to the adhesive layer and spaced from the first conductive layer member by the adhesive layer [Ueda Fig. 2].
Both Furuuchi and Ueda teach a fuse whose conductive state changes in response to liquid leakage from a battery (Furuuchi’s switch device, Ueda’s liquid leakage sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the switch device, or fuse, taught by modified Furuuchi by substituting the known layered structure taught by Ueda for that of Furuuchi and the results, i.e. creating a fuse, would be predictable [see MPEP2143(I)(B)].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuuchi (US 2018/0294118) in view of Cregut (US 2022/0399618) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0083333, hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding claim 13, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 12, as described in the rejection of claim 12. Furuuchi further teaches that the activation condition of the switch device can be adjusted by selecting the thickness of the insulating material [0086]. Furuuchi is silent regarding the thickness of the switch device being between 10 microns and 10 microns.
Lee teaches analogous art of a washer for a secondary battery including an indicator component which can identify leakage of gas from the secondary battery [0011]. Lee teaches that the thickness of the washer is preferably 0.05 mm to 2 mm, or 50 microns to 2000 microns, which overlaps the recited range [0045]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [see MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Lee teaches that the thickness of the washer affects the mechanical stiffness and elasticity [0045]. If the washer is too small, the washer may not have sufficient mechanical stiffness and may be destroyed by weak external impact, but if the washer is too thick, the size of the battery is significantly increased, which is not desirable [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch device taught by modified Furuuchi to have a thickness within the range disclosed by Lee. It would have been obvious to discover an optimum range of the thickness through routine experimentation in order to prevent the switch device from having insufficient mechanical stiffness while also avoiding an increase in battery size [see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)].
Claims 21, 24, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuuchi (US 2018/0294118) in view of Cregut (US 2022/0399618) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hisano et al. (US 2004/0161642, hereinafter "Hisano").
Regarding claims 21 and 25, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claims 11 and 1, as described in the rejection of claims 11 and 1. Furuuchi is silent regarding a processor, storage, and GUI.
Hisano teaches analogous art of electronic equipment (“apparatus”) comprising a detection part to detect leakage of fluid from the electronic equipment [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Hisano teaches that the electronic equipment may be provided with a controller unit such as a CPU (“processor”) and a storage unit such as a memory (“storage”) directed by the CPU to record a time when the leakage occurs and announce to a user that a leakage has occurred via an announcement unit (“GUI”) [0039-0040]. Hisano teaches that the announcement unit may be a display unit (“display”) displaying an alarm message (“prompt”)[0040].
Hisano teaches that by providing a CPU, storage unit, and display unit, a record of the time at which the leakage occurred is kept, which is beneficial for maintenance of the electronic equipment [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by modified Furuuchi to include a CPU, storage unit, and display unit that can warn a user that a battery is leaking and record the time at which the leakage occurred as taught by Hisano, in order to make maintenance easier.
Regarding claims 24 and 28, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claims 21 and 25, as described in the rejection of claims 21 and 25 above.
As described above, Hisano teaches a display unit (“display”) which may display an alarm message to notify a user that a leakage has occurred.
Hisano teaches that in order to provide proper maintenance of the electronic equipment, it is important to detect where leakage has occurred [0010]. By providing a display unit which may display an alarm message that a leakage has occurred, it may be easier to determine when and where the leakage has occurred.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by modified Furuuchi to include a display unit as taught by Hisano, in order to provide proper maintenance to the apparatus.
Claims 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuuchi (US 2018/0294118) in view of Cregut (US 2022/0399618) and Hisano (US 2004/0161642) as applied to claims 21 and 25 above, and further in view of Qi et al. (CN 108808134, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Qi") in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0227934, hereinafter "Zhang").
Regarding claims 22 and 26, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claims 21 and 25, as described in the rejection of claims 21 and 25 above. Modified Furuuchi is silent regarding the GUI comprising a countdown timer dynamically counting down from a predetermined time until a device in which the battery cell is disposed shuts down.
Qi teaches analogous art of an apparatus comprising a leakage detection system which can detect when battery electrolyte leaks out of the battery [0024]. Qi teaches that when leakage is detected, the leakage detection system relays that information through a battery management system’s CAN intranet, and after a predetermined delay time of 3 seconds a device to which the battery is providing power to may be shut down [0023].
Qi teaches that by automatically shutting down the device when leakage is detected, major safety accidents caused by battery leakage may be prevented [0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by modified Furuuchi to include a timer which automatically shuts down a device in which a battery cell is disposed when leakage occurs as taught by Qi, in order to prevent major safety accidents.
Zhang teaches analogous art of a battery with a battery management system comprising a user interface unit (GUI) [0061]. Zhang teaches that when a battery enters a voltage protection mode, a timer may be set by a user through the user interface, and upon expiration of the timer, the battery management system will shutdown the battery so that the battery cells will not be damaged [0061]. Zhang further teaches that the user can check the status of the battery on a status display unit [0061].
Zhang teaches that the timer can avoid causing damage to the battery cells [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by modified Furuuchi to further include displaying a timer on a user interface as taught by Zhang, in order to avoid causing damage to the battery cells.
Claims 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuuchi (US 2018/0294118) in view of Cregut (US 2022/0399618) and Hisano (US 2004/0161642) as applied to claims 21 and 25 above, and further in view of Kawai et al. (US 2013/0116860, hereinafter "Kawai").
Regarding claim 23, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 21, as described in the rejection of claim 21 above. Modified Furuuchi is silent regarding the GUI comprising a selector being selectable to command the device to a predetermined website.
Kawai teaches analogous art of a wireless communication system configured to transmit information including a vehicle state [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. The apparatus comprises a terminal controller showing a vehicle state on a display (“GUI”) [0037]. The display may further include a touch sensor (“selector”) which is selectable to command the display to navigate to a webpage (“website”) [0037]. Kawai teaches that different predetermined webpages may be navigated to based on the vehicle state, such as a webpage for procedures for replacing a battery [0038].
Kawai teaches that by providing a link to a webpage according to vehicle states, information can be accessed without needing a large amount of storage and the user can properly cope with the vehicle state [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by modified Furuuchi to further include a selector on a GUI that can navigate to a webpage indicating instructions for replacing a battery as taught by Kawai, in order for the user to properly cope with the battery replacement.
Regarding claim 27, modified Furuuchi teaches the apparatus of claim 21, as described in the rejection of claim 21 above. Modified Furuuchi is silent regarding the GUI comprising a selector being selectable to command the device to a predetermined website.
Kawai teaches analogous art of a wireless communication system configured to transmit information including a vehicle state [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. The apparatus comprises a terminal controller showing a vehicle state on a display (“GUI”) [0037]. The display may further include a touch sensor (“selector”) which is selectable to command the display to navigate to a uniform resource location (“URL”) [0037]. Kawai teaches that different predetermined URLs may be navigated to based on the vehicle state, such as a URL for procedures for replacing a battery [0038]. Kawai teaches that the URL may be navigated to through the Internet (“internet browser”) [0058].
Kawai teaches that by providing a link to a URL according to vehicle states, information can be accessed without needing a large amount of storage and the user can properly cope with the vehicle state [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by modified Furuuchi to further include a selector on a GUI that can navigate to a URL indicating instructions for replacing a battery through the Internet as taught by Kawai, in order for the user to properly cope with the battery replacement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 11-15, and 21-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729