DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings received on 5/22/2023 are accepted for examination purposes.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mashiko (US-2022/0299922).
As to Claim 1, Mashiko teaches ‘An information processing apparatus comprising: a processor configured to: acquire inspection results on a print product that has been printed in response to a plurality of print jobs [par 0051, 0097, 0151 – receiving inspection results of printed sheets by a printer]; and generate on each of page groups a reprint job used to print a page indicated as being disqualified by the inspection results, the page group sequentially printed and having an attribute common to the print jobs [Fig 15, par 0098, 0115, 0137, 0162, 0170, 0183 – when a defect is determined of a printed image sheet, generating slip sheet request information indicating the determination result for re-formation including the total number of pages in which the defect is detected, the job ID, the copy ID, the page ID, the defect detection page location of each defect detection page]’.
Further, in regards to claim 13 the information processing apparatus and processor of claim 1 performs the means for function of the information processing apparatus of claim 13.
Further, in regards to claim 14, the information processing apparatus of claim 1 performs the program on the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14.
As to Claim 2, Mashiko teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to acquire the inspection results by comparing a first image of the print product that is obtained by rasterizing the print job with a second image of the print product that is obtained by printing the print job [par 0111-0115, 0143-0148 – comparing master image data based on rasterized image data with read image data printed]’.
As to Claim 6, Mashiko teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to perform reprinting on a per page group basis if the reprinting is to be performed in response to the reprint job and a pending page of the page group in the print job is difficult to replace [Figs 9, 15, par 0133-0139, 0184-0187 – a setting screen to re-form a defective page (i.e. page 30 out of 200 pages of 3rd copy, making it difficult to replace) after a “separation of job” or “separation of copy” in addition to a slip sheet before re-formation]’.
As to Claim 10, Mashiko teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to set reprint jobs into a single reprint job if no fault occurs in a page order when reprint jobs to be sequentially performed are performed in bulk printing [par 0098, 0137, 0170 – when “separation of job” is selected re-forming after the last page of a job (i.e., bulk printing)]’.
As to Claim 11, Mashiko teaches ‘wherein the common attribute is a value indicating a cycle number, and wherein the processor is configured to generate a reprint job on each of the page groups having a common cycle number [par 0098, 0137, 0170 – when “separation of copy” is selected and the print job includes a plurality of copies, re-forming after the last page of a copy (i.e., cycle number)]’.
As to Claim 12, Mashiko teaches ‘wherein the common attribute is a value indicating a page number, and wherein the processor is configured to generate a reprint job on each of the page groups having a common page number [par 0098, 0137-0138, 0170 – when “page interval designation” is selected (i.e. common page number), the stop control unit determines whether the page count is a multiple of the page count designated in the page count input field in the print job being printed or the last page of the print job]’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashiko in view of Fujita (US-2023/0074128).
As to Claim 3, Mashiko teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in independent claim 1. Mashiko does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the processor is configured to display the first image and the second image side by side if the second image has a fault’.
Fujita teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to display the first image and the second image side by side if the second image has a fault [Fig 9 (902, 903), par 0151-0152, 0159-0162 – displaying reference image and print result/scanned image]’.
Mashiko and Fujita are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing and inspection systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include displaying reference and scanned images, as taught by Fujita. The motivation for doing so would have been to preventing unnecessary abnormality determination on a printed matter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Fujita with Mashiko to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
As to Claim 4, Fujita teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to display the second image with a portion of the fault emphasized [Fig 9 (903), par 0160 – a place where the difference has been detected is indicated by a broken-line rectangle, for easy visual recognition]’.
Mashiko and Fujita are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing and inspection systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include displaying abnormality, as taught by Fujita. The motivation for doing so would have been to preventing unnecessary abnormality determination on a printed matter with easy visual recognition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Fujita with Mashiko to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashiko in view of Fujita and further in view of Komazawa (US-2023/0114012).
As to Claim 5, Mashiko in view of Fujita teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in independent claim 1. Mashiko in view of Fujita does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the processor is configured to: in response to displaying of the first image and the second image, receive an instruction as to whether to perform reprinting; and if the received instruction instructs the reprinting to be performed, perform the reprint job’.
Komazawa teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to: in response to displaying of the first image and the second image, receive an instruction as to whether to perform reprinting; and if the received instruction instructs the reprinting to be performed, perform the reprint job [par 0080, 0083, 0093-0094, 0104-0105 – receiving a reprinting instruction including a rasterized image based on an abnormal image difference and performing reprinting]’.
Mashiko in view of Fujita are analogous art with Komazawa because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing and inspection systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a reprinting instruction, as taught by Komazawa. The motivation for doing so would have been to improving inspection accuracy quality required for different print mediums. Therefore, it would have bene obvious to combine Komazawa with Mashiko in view of Fujita to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashiko in view of Miyahara (US-2023/0068383).
As to Claim 7, Mashiko teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in independent claim 1. Mashiko does not disclose expressly ‘wherein a case that the pending page of the page group in the print job is difficult to replace indicates that the print job is a stapling job’, although Mashiko teaches a setting screen to re-form a defective page (i.e. page 30 out of 200 pages of 3rd copy, making it difficult to replace) after a “separation of job” or “separation of copy” in addition to a slip sheet before re-formation [Figs 9, 15, par 0133-0139, 0184-0187].
Miyahara in the proposed combination teaches ‘wherein a case that the pending page of the page group in the print job is difficult to replace indicates that the print job is a stapling job [par 0031, 0049, 0058, 0069-0075 – post-processing settings for printing and reprinting include stapling]’.
Mashiko and Miyahara are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing and inspection systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a stapling as print finishing settings, as taught by Miyahara. The motivation for doing so would have been to enabling a user to execute a reprint job even with a change in print settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Miyahara with Mashiko to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
As to Claim 8, Miyahara teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to, if the reprint job is to be performed and a setting for the reprint job is modified, suspend execution of the reprint job or indicate that the setting is modified [par 0007, 0069-0076 – when it is determined a change in print settings of the held print job, recreating a reference image for inspection to pause reprinting]’.
Mashiko and Miyahara are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing and inspection systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a change in print settings, as taught by Miyahara. The motivation for doing so would have been to enabling a user to execute a reprint job even with a change in print settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Miyahara with Mashiko to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
As to Claim 9, Miyahara teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to: save a setting during execution of the print job; and if the reprint job is to be performed a setting for the reprint job is modified, perform the reprint job with the saved setting applied [par 0007, 0060-0061, 0064-0076 – when it is determined a change in print settings of the held print job, recreating a reference image for inspection and performing reprinting based on the changed print setting]’.
Mashiko and Miyahara are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing and inspection systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a change in print settings, as taught by Miyahara. The motivation for doing so would have been to enabling a user to execute a reprint job even with a change in print settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Miyahara with Mashiko to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record
a. US Publication No. 2022/0299922
b. US Publication No. 2023/0074128
c. US Publication No. 2023/0114012
d. US Publication No. 2023/0068383
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
e. US Publication No. 2022/0083294
f. US Publication No. 2011/0179961
g. US Publication No. 2025/0181282
h. US Publication No. 2023/0082522
/MIYA J CATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681