The instant application having Application No. 18/321,051 filed on 5/22/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed 3/3/2026.
The amendment to claim 1, filed 3/3/2026, is acknowledged and accepted.
The cancellation of claim 6, filed 3/3/2026, is acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17, 18, and 20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-13, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (CN 112867953 A)(Embodiment 7)(see attached machine translation), in view of Abe (CN 113031235 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Uehara (CN 112867953 A)(Embodiment 3)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Uehara (Embodiment 7) discloses a zoom lens, in at least Figure 13, consisting of, in order from an object side to an image side, a front lens unit (G1 “first lens group”, page 14, paragraph 6 of translation), an intermediate group (G2 “second lens group”, page 14, paragraph 6 of translation), and a rear group (G3 “third lens group”, G4 “fourth lens group”, G5 “fifth lens group”, G6 “sixth lens group”, page 14, paragraph 6 of translation),
wherein the front lens unit (G1 “first lens group”) has positive refractive power (page 14, paragraph 6 of translation states "first lens group G1 having a positive focal power"),
wherein the intermediate group (G2 “second lens group”) includes two or more lens units (page 14, paragraph 6 of translation states “The second lens group G2 is composed of a negative meniscus lens L21, a biconcave negative lens L22, a positive meniscus lens L23 with a convex surface facing the object side, and a negative meniscus lens L24 with a concave surface facing the object side”) and has a negative combined focal length at a wide-angle end (page 14, paragraph 6 of translation states "second lens group G2 having a negative focal power"),
wherein the rear group (G3 “third lens group”, G4 “fourth lens group”, G5 “fifth lens group”, G6 “sixth lens group”) includes, in order from the object side to the image side, a first rear lens unit (G3 “third lens group”) having positive refractive power (page 14, paragraph 6 of translation states "third lens group G3 having a positive focal power"), a second rear lens unit (G4 “fourth lens group”) having negative refractive power (page 14, paragraph 6 of translation states "fourth lens group G4 having a negative focal power"), and a third rear lens unit (G5 “fifth lens group”) having positive refractive power (page 14, paragraph 6 of translation states "fifth lens group G5 with positive focal power"), and a fourth rear lens unit (G6 “sixth lens group”) having negative refractive power (page 14, paragraph 6 of translation states "sixth lens group G6 with negative focal power"),
wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming (table in paragraph 0494 of the original document shows the distances between the lens groups during zooming, Figure 13),
…, and
wherein during focusing, the second rear lens unit (G4 “fourth lens group”) moves relative to the image plane (page 15, paragraph 2 of translation states "the 4 lens group G4 is equivalent to the 1 focusing lens group", Figure 13), and
wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
0.290 < DLR1/fw (table in paragraphs 0481, 0482 of the original document, DLR1 = 50.612, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, fw = 71.479, so therefore DLR1/fw = 0.708),
0.001 < TLR4/fw (table in paragraph 0482 of the original document, TLR4 = 1.9, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, fw = 71.479, so therefore TLR4/fw = 0.0266)
where DLR1 is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to an object in the first rear lens unit (G3 “third lens group”) to a lens surface closest to the image plane of the first rear lens unit (G3 “third lens group”), TLR4 is a sum of thicknesses on an optical axis of all lenses of the fourth rear lens unit (G6 “sixth lens group”), and fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Thus Uehara (Embodiment 7) discloses the claimed invention except for satisfying 0.290 < DLR1/fw < 0.647. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the placement of the lenses within the first rear lens unit in order to satisfy 0.290 < DLR1/fw < 0.647, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the current instance, DLR1/fw is an art recognized results effective variable in that it can minimize the lens system as well as correct aberrations. Thus, one would have been motivated to optimize DLR1/fw because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Uehara (Embodiment 7) gives a result of DLR1/fw = 0.708 which is only 9.4% away from the upper limit of the claimed range.
Further, Uehara (Embodiment 7) discloses the claimed invention except for 0.001 < TLR4/fw < 0.020. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TLR4 or fw such that 0.001 < TLR4/fw < 0.020, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the current instance, TLR4 is an art recognized results effective variable in that it limits the thickness of the fourth lens unit. Thus, one would have been motivated to optimize TLR4/fw because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because the value 0.0266 is very close to 0.020 and routine experimentation would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to modify TLR4/fw such that it equals 0.020.
Additionally, Uehara (Embodiment 7) does not disclose wherein during zooming, the front lens unit, the first rear lens unit, the third rear lens unit are fixed relative to an image plane, and 0.294 < DMRw/fw ≤ 0.486 where DMRw is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to an image plane in the intermediate group at the wide-angle end to a lens surface closest to an object of the rear group, and fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Abe teaches wherein during zooming, the front lens unit (G1 “first lens group”), the first rear lens unit (G3 “third lens group”), and the third rear lens unit (G5 “fifth lens group”) are fixed relative to an image plane (page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "the first lens group and the third lens group with positive focal power are fixed relative to the image surface when zooming" and "not only the first lens group with positive focal power and the third lens group, but also the fifth lens group with positive focal power is fixed relative to the image surface").
Abe states in page 3, paragraph 10 of translation that these lenses are held fixed so that “the zoom function is concentrated on the second lens group; the imaging position is corrected by the fourth lens group.” Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the front lens unit, the first rear lens unit, and the third rear lens unit fixed relative to an image plane, as taught by Abe, in order to concentrate the zoom function only on the fourth lens group and increase miniaturization (page 3, paragraph 10 of translation).
Uehara (Embodiment 3) teaches 0.294 < DMRw/fw ≤ 0.486 (Table on paragraph 0278, DMRw = D13(wide) = 29.53764, fw = 71.48828, so therefore DMRw/fw = 0.41318, which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where DMRw is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface (L23) closest to an image plane (I “image surface”, Figure 5) in the intermediate group (G2 “second lens group”, Figure 5) at the wide-angle end to a lens surface (L31) closest to an object of the rear group (G3 “third lens group”, G4 “fourth lens group”, G5 “fifth lens group”, G6 “sixth lens group”, G7 “seventh lens group”, G8 “eighth lens group”, G9 “ninth lens group”, G10 “tenth lens group”), and fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the zoom lens of Uehara (Embodiment 7) modified by 0.294 < DMRw/fw ≤ 0.486 where DMRw is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to an image plane in the intermediate group at the wide-angle end to a lens surface closest to an object of the rear group, and fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end, as taught by Uehara (Embodiment 3), in order to constrain the movement of the intermediate group relative to the rear group and to correct aberration as well as maintain zoom ratio (last paragraph of page 5 of translation – first paragraph of page 6 of translation).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.414 < fLF1/ft < 1.434 (table in paragraph 0491 of the original document, fLF1 = 145.20607, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, ft = 196.00001, so therefore fLF1/ft = 0.741 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where fLF1 is a focal length of the front lens unit, and ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at a telephoto end.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.177 < DFMt/fLF1 < 0.466 (table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, DFMt = 53.372, table in paragraph 0491 of the original document, fLF1 = 145.20607, so therefore DFMt/fLF1 = 0.368 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where DFMt is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the image plane in the front lens unit (G1 “first lens group”) at a telephoto end to a lens surface closest to an object in the intermediate group (G2 “second lens group”), and fLF1 is a focal length of the front lens unit (G1 “first lens group”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.050 < fLR1/ft < 0.461 (table in paragraph 0491 of the original document, fLR1 = 59.76284, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, ft = 196.0001, so therefore fLR1/ft = 0.305 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where fLR1 is a focal length of the first rear lens unit (G3 “third lens group”), and ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at a telephoto end.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -0.632 < fLR2/ft < -0.060 (table in paragraph 0491 of the original document, fLR2 = -100.34191, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, ft = 196.0001, so therefore fLR2/ft = -0.512 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where fLR2 is a focal length of the second rear lens unit (G4 “fourth lens group”), and ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at a telephoto end.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.149 < fLR3/ft < 0.405 (table in paragraph 0491 of the original document, fLR3 = 76.29409, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, ft = 196.0001, so therefore fLR3/ft = 0.389 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where fLR3 is a focal length of the third rear lens unit (G5 “fifth lens group”), and ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at a telephoto end.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.14 < fLR4/ft < -0.04 (table in paragraph 0491 of the original document, fLR4 = -125.96848, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, ft = 196.0001, so therefore fLR4/ft = -0.643 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where fLR4 is a focal length of the fourth rear lens unit (G6 “sixth lens group”), and ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at a telephoto end.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.100 < skw/fw < 0.755 (table in paragraph 0479 of the original document, BF = skw = 31.14475, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, fw = 71.479, so therefore skw/fw = 0.436 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where skw is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to the image plane of the rear group (G3 “third lens group”, G4 “fourth lens group”, G5 “fifth lens group”, G6 “sixth lens group”) at the wide-angle end to the image plane, and fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.639 < Lt/ft < 1.764 (table in paragraph 0479 of the original document, TL = Lt = 208.41341, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, ft = 196.0001, so therefore Lt/ft = 1.06 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where Lt is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to an object in the front lens unit (G1 “first lens group”) at a telephoto end to the image plane, and ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at the telephoto end.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.028 < TLR2/fw < 0.074 (table in paragraphs 0481, 0482 of the original document, TLR2 = 3.45, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, fw = 71.479, so therefore TLR2/fw = 0.0483 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where TLR2 is a sum of thicknesses on an optical axis of all lenses of the second rear lens unit (G4 “fourth lens group”), and fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Uehara (Embodiment 7) further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.014 < DLR3/fw < 0.166 (table in paragraphs 0481, 0482 of the original document, DLR3 = 4.75, table in paragraph 0494 of the original document, fw = 71.479, so therefore DLR3/fw = 0.0665 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where DLR3 is a distance on an optical axis from a lens surface closest to an object in the third rear lens unit (G5 “fifth lens group”) to a lens surface closest to the image plane in the third rear lens unit (G5 “fifth lens group”), and fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Uehara (Embodiment 7) does not disclose an image pickup apparatus comprising: the zoom lens according to claim 1; and an image sensor configured to receive an image formed by the zoom lens.
Abe teaches an image pickup apparatus (page 8, paragraph 3 of translation states "The image pickup device of the invention is suitable for digital camera") comprising:
the zoom lens according to claim 1 (page 8, paragraph 3 of translation); and
an image sensor (page 8, paragraph 3 of translation states "can use CCD (Charge Coupled Device: charge coupled device) sensor, CMOS (Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor: complementary metal oxide semiconductor) sensor and other solid image pickup elements") configured to receive an image formed by the zoom lens (page 8, paragraph 3 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an image pickup apparatus and an image sensor as taught by Abe in order to have a device to place the zoom lens into to make it functional (page 8, paragraph 3 of translation).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (CN 112867953 A)(Embodiment 7)(see attached machine translation), in view of Abe (CN 113031235 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Eguchi (US 20140002714 A1)(Embodiment 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Uehara (Embodiment 7) does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.158 <βLMw < -0.285 where βLMw is a combined imaging lateral magnification of the intermediate group at the wide-angle end.
Eguchi (Embodiment 1) teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.158 <βLMw < -0.285 (Figure 1A, table 2, βw2 = βLMw = -0.300 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where βLMw is a combined imaging lateral magnification of the intermediate group at the wide-angle end.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an intermediate lens unit with a magnification between -1.158 and -0.285 at the wide-angle end in order to share the magnification burden among the lens groups and achieve the same magnification ratio while allowing for smaller movements of the lens groups which improves miniaturization (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Uehara (Embodiment 7) does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -4.158 <βLMt < -1.200 where βLMt is a combined imaging lateral magnification of the intermediate group at a telephoto end.
Eguchi (Embodiment 1) teaches herein the following inequality is satisfied: -4.158 <βLMt < -1.200 (Figure 1A, table 2, βt2 = βLMt = -3.188 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where βLMt is a combined imaging lateral magnification of the intermediate group at a telephoto end.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an intermediate lens unit with a magnification between -4.158 and -1.200 at the telephoto end in order to share the magnification burden among the lens groups and achieve the same magnification ratio while allowing for smaller movements of the lens groups which improves miniaturization (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Uehara (Embodiment 7) does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.966 <βLR4t/βLR4w < 1.064 where βLR4t is an imaging lateral magnification of the fourth rear lens unit at a telephoto end, and βLR4w is an imaging lateral magnification of the fourth rear lens unit at the wide-angle end.
Eguchi (Embodiment 1) teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.966 <βLR4t/βLR4w < 1.064 (table 2, βt6 = βLR4t = 0.218 and βw6 = ΒLR4w = 0.218, so therefore ΒLR4t/βLR4w = 1.0 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where βLR4t is an imaging lateral magnification of the fourth rear lens unit (L6 “sixth lens group”, paragraph 0040, Figure 1A) at a telephoto end, and βLR4w is an imaging lateral magnification of the fourth rear lens unit (L6 “sixth lens group”, paragraph 0040, Figure 1A) at the wide-angle end.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a fourth rear lens unit which satisfies the conditional expression 0.966 <βLR4t/βLR4w < 1.064 in order to share the magnification burden among the lens groups and achieve the same magnification ratio while allowing for smaller movements of the lens groups which improves miniaturization (paragraph 0037).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (CN 112867953 A)(Embodiment 7)(see attached machine translation), in view of Abe (CN 113031235 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Kato (US 20140354857 A1)(Embodiment 1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Uehara (Embodiment 7) does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -2.140 < (1-βLR2w2)*βLR2Rw2/Fnow < -0.351 where βLR2w is an imaging lateral magnification of the second rear lens unit at the wide-angle end, βLR2Rw is a combined imaging lateral magnification of all lens units disposed on the image side of the second rear lens unit at the wide-angle end, and Fnow is an F-number of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Kato (Embodiment 1) teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -2.140 < (1-βLR2w2)*βLR2Rw2/Fnow < -0.351 (table 25, β4_w = βLR2w = 1.918, β5_w = ΒLR2Rw = 0.563, and Fno_w = Fnow = 1.817, so therefore (1-βLR2w2)*βLR2Rw2/Fnow = -0.467 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where βLR2w is an imaging lateral magnification of the second rear lens unit (G4 “fourth lens group”, paragraph 0189, Figure 1) at the wide-angle end, βLR2Rw is a combined imaging lateral magnification of all lens units (G5 “fifth lens group”, paragraph 0189, Figure 1) disposed on the image side of the second rear lens unit (G4 “fourth lens group”, paragraph 0189, Figure 1) at the wide-angle end, and Fnow is an F-number of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a second rear lens unit and other lens units on the image side of the second rear lens unit having magnifications satisfying the conditional expression -2.140 < (1-βLR2w2)*βLR2Rw2/Fnow < -0.351 as taught by Kato (Embodiment 1) in order to shorten the movement during focusing and allow for high resolution (paragraph 0341).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (CN 112867953 A)(Embodiment 7)(see attached machine translation), in view of Abe (CN 113031235 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Saito (JP 2015132637 A)(Embodiment 3)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Uehara (Embodiment 7), Abe, and Uehara (Embodiment 3) discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Uehara (Embodiment 7) does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.010 < (1-βLR4w2)*βLR4Rw2/Fnow < -0.115 where βLR4w is an imaging lateral magnification of the fourth rear lens unit at the wide-angle end, βLR4Rw is a combined imaging lateral magnification of all lens units disposed on the image side of the fourth rear lens unit at the wide-angle end, and Fnow is an F-number of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Saito (Embodiment 3) teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.010 < (1-βLR4w2)*βLR4Rw2/Fnow < -0.115 (table on page 20 of the original document, β6w = ΒLR4w = -3.153 and β7w = ΒLR4R2 = -0.324, table on line 20 of page 17 of the original document, Fnow = 3.38, so therefore (1-βLR4w2)*βLR4Rw2/Fnow = -0.278 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range) where βLR4w is an imaging lateral magnification of the fourth rear lens unit (L6 “sixth lens group”, page 3, paragraph 7 of translation, Figure 7) at the wide-angle end, βLR4Rw is a combined imaging lateral magnification of all lens units (L7 “seventh lens unit”, page 3, paragraph 7 of translation, Figure 7) disposed on the image side of the fourth rear lens unit (L6 “sixth lens group”, page 3, paragraph 7 of translation, Figure 7) at the wide-angle end, and Fnow is an F-number of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a fourth rear lens unit and other lens units on the image side of the fourth rear lens unit having magnifications satisfying the conditional expression -1.010 < (1-βLR4w2)*βLR4Rw2/Fnow < -0.115 in order to suppress the variation in distortion and reduce the size of the system (page 5, paragraph 3 of translation).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872