DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/28/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 5/22/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (5062273).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a refrigeration system (figs. 1-2) comprising: a vapor compression loop (22, 24, 265, 18); a purge system (38, 40, 44, 42, 48) in communication with the vapor compression loop (42), the purge system comprising: a separator (36) configured for separating contaminants from a purge gas (50) provided from the vapor compression loop to the separator (fig. 1); and a movement mechanism (28) operable to increase a pressure of the purge gas (Col. 5, lines 43-58), wherein the pressure of the purge gas drives the purge gas through the separator (Col. 5, lines 43-58) the movement mechanism being arranged upstream from the separator relative to a flow of the purse gas (28 arranged relative to 36).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the pressure of the purge gas downstream from the movement mechanism is greater than 40 psia (100 psia, col. 6-7, lines 68-1).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the pressure of the purge gas downstream from the movement mechanism is greater than 60 psia (100 psia, col. 6-7, lines 68-1).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the movement mechanism is a compressor (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches a phase separator (32) fluidly coupled to the movement mechanism and to the separator (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the phase separator includes a first outlet (44) in fluid communication with the separator and a second outlet (42) in fluid communication with the vapor compression system.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches liquid refrigerant within the phase separator is returned to the vapor compression system via the second outlet (42 to 16).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the separator further comprises a separating material (semipermeable membrane, Col. 5, lines 20-32) operable to separate the contaminants from the purge gas provided from the vapor compression system (Col. 5, lines 20-32).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the separating material further comprises at least one membrane (semipermeable membrane, Col. 5, lines 20-32).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the at least one membrane includes a porous material having pores (porous, Col. 6, lines 38-44) sized to allow the contaminants to pass through the at least one membrane (Col. 6, lines 14-45) and restrict a flow of a refrigerant through the at least one membrane (Col. 6, lines 14-45).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches wherein a first side of the at least one membrane is fluidly coupled to the first outlet of the phase separator (44, 46).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the separating material includes a sorbent material (Col. 6, lines 14-45).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the purge system further comprises a heat exchanger (30) arranged downstream from the movement mechanism and upstream from the phase separator.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the heat exchanger is a condenser (30) operable to cool the purge gas therein.
Regarding claims 15-20, it is noted that although the preamble of claims is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763