Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 1. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. 2. It is unclear in claim 3 what the Applicant means by “ charging the electrochemical cell at a charging rate over a first state of charge range having breadth of at least 2%, discharging the electrochemical cell at a discharging rate over a second state of charge range having a breadth of at least 2%, wherein the discharging rate is at least 2 times the charging rate ”. 3. This is unclear because in claim 3 if first state of charge range having breadth = 2% and the discharging the electrochemical cell at a discharging rate over a second state of charge range having a breadth = 2%, then it appears the discharging rate will be 1 times the charging rate, rather than at least 2 times the charging rate as claimed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 4 . Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 28, 33, 34, 35, 52, 58, 62, 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yushin et al. ( US20190081359 ) in view of Viner et al. ( US 20210057753 published 2/25/2021 ). 5 . Regarding claim s 1 , 3, 4, Yushin teaches a n electrochemical system (Figure 1) , the system comprising: an electrochemical cell (battery 100 [0020]), comprising: a first electrode comprising a base electrode material layer comprising a first active electrode species (negative anode 102 [0020], Figure 1), wherein the first active electrode species comprises lithium (anodes may comprise metal oxides (including lithium oxide [0027] ; it will be appreciated that various aspects may be applicable to Li-containing electrodes and active materials [0017] ); a second electrode comprising a second active electrode species (cathode 103 [0020]), wherein the second active electrode species comprises nickel, cobalt, and manganese (Some high-voltage intercalation-type cathodes may comprise nickel (Ni). Some high-voltage intercalation-type cathodes may comprise manganese (Mn). Some high-voltage intercalation-type cathodes may comprise cobalt (Co) [0031]) , and wherein the second electrode comprises a binder comprising a fluorinated compound and conductive carbon (Electrodes utilized in Li-ion batteries are typically produced by (i) formation of a slurry comprising active materials, conductive additives, binder solutions [0023] ; Polyvinylidene fluoride, or polyvinylidene difluoride (PVDF), and carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) are the two most common binders … Carbon black is the most common conductive additive [0024] ) ; a separator; and an electrolyte (an electrolyte (shown implicitly) impregnating the separator 104 [0020]) , wherein the electrolyte comprises: a first solvent comprising a fluorinated carbonate (In some designs, it may be preferred for the electrolyte to comprise a fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) [0055]) ; a second solvent comprising a carbonate (In some designs, it may also be advantageous for the electrolyte to comprise other cyclic carbonates in addition to FEC (or other fluorinated cyclic carbonates) [0055]) , wherein a ratio of the fluorinated carbonate to the carbonate is greater than or equal to 5:95 and less than or equal to 95:1 (Furthermore, the vol. ratio of FEC (or other fluorinated cyclic carbonates) to other cyclic carbonates may preferably be in the range from about 9:1 [0055] ; In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05) ) ; and a lithium salt (it may be advantageous for at least one of the salts to comprise LiPF 6 (in the case of rechargeable Li or Li-ion batteries) [0054]) , The Examiner notes the limitation “ wherein an anisotropic force is applied to the electrochemical cell, the anisotropic force comprising a component normal to a surface of the first electrode, and wherein the component normal defines a pressure of at least about 4.9 N/cm 2 ” is an intended use limitation because “ anisotropic force is applied to the electrochemical cell during at least one period of time during charge and/or discharge of the electrochemical cell ”. Since p roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties , and Yushin’s electrochemical cell appears to have substantially the same composition as the clamed electrochemical cell in claim 3, then Yushin’s electrochemical will have the characteristics of charging rate and discharging rate as claimed. Yushin is silent an anisotropic force is applied to the electrochemical cell , and where the first electrode comprises a protective layer adjacent to the base electrode material layer, wherein the protective layer comprises pores and has a thickness of less than 5 microns . Viner teaches wherein the first electrode comprises a protective layer adjacent to the base electrode material layer, wherein the protective layer comprises pores (The anode comprises an electroactive material comprising lithium metal and a protective layer disposed on the electroactive material. The protective layer comprises a polymer comprising a first type of thiol group-containing monomer and a second type of thiol group-containing monomer. The protective layer comprises a plurality of pores [0005]) and has a thickness of less than 5 microns (For example, the protective layer may have a thickness substantially similar to that of the particles therein [0043]; The average maximum cross-sectional dimension of the plurality of particles less than or equal to 2 microns, less than or equal to 1 micron, less than or equal to 750 nm [0073]); an anisotropic force is applied to the electrochemical cell (an anisotropic force is applied to the electrochemical cell (e.g., during charge and/or discharge of the cell) during charge and/or discharge. In certain embodiments, the anisotropic force applied to the electrode and/or to the electrochemical cell [0157]) , the anisotropic force comprising a component normal to a surface of the first electrode, and wherein the component normal defines a pressure of at least about 4.9 N/cm 2 (In certain embodiments, the component of the anisotropic force that is normal to the active surface of the electrode defines a pressure of greater than or equal to 1 kg/cm 2 (9.81 N/cm 2 ) [0157]) , wherein the discharging rate is at least 2 times the charging rate (When cycled at the fast rate, the electrochemical cells were charged at C/4 to the maximum voltage and then discharged at C to 3.2 V [0184]) for the benefit of an applied anisotropic force (e.g., a force applied to enhance the morphology of an electrode within the cell) while maintaining their structural integrity [0152]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yushin with Viner’s teachings for the benefit of an applied anisotropic force (e.g., a force applied to enhance the morphology of an electrode within the cell) while maintaining their structural integrity . 6 . Regarding claim 11 , Viner teaches further comprising a protective layer (The anode comprises an electroactive material comprising lithium metal and a protective layer disposed on the electroactive material [0005]) , and wherein the protective layer comprises a ceramic material (In some embodiments, protective layers described herein comprise a plurality of particles. The plurality of particles may comprise a variety of suitable types of particles, non-limiting examples of which include ceramic particles, graphite particles (e.g., lithiated graphite particles), and boron particles [0071]) . 7 . Regarding claim 12 , Viner teaches further comprising a protective layer, and wherein the protective layer comprises a plurality of particles (In some embodiments, protective layers described herein comprise a plurality of particles. The plurality of particles may comprise a variety of suitable types of particles, non-limiting examples of which include ceramic particles, graphite particles (e.g., lithiated graphite particles), and boron particles [0071]) . 8 . Regarding claim 14 , Viner teaches further comprising a protective layer, and wherein the protective layer comprises ionically conductive and ionically non-ionically conductive particles (In some embodiments, a protective layer comprises a plurality of particles. The protective layer may comprise both a plurality of particles and a polymer (e.g., a polymer comprising one or more thiol group-containing monomers and/or one or more alkene group-containing monomers) [0043]) . 9 . Regarding claim 15 , Viner teaches further comprising a protective layer, and wherein the protective layer comprises a compound comprising Li 22 (In some embodiments, a plurality of particles that are at least partially fused together and/or that have a structure indicative of particles deposited by aerosol deposition comprises Li.sub.xMP.sub.yS.sub.z . For such inorganic materials, x, y, and z may be integers (e.g., integers less than 32) and/or M may comprise Sn, Ge, and/or Si. By way of example, the inorganic material may comprise Li.sub.22SiP.sub.2S.sub.18 [0090]) . 1 0 . Regarding claim 17 , Viner teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of particles are fused to one another such that at least a portion of an original surface of the particles can no longer be discerned in the portion of the plurality of particles fused to one another (In some embodiments, a plurality of particles that are at least partially fused together and/or that have a structure indicative of particles deposited by aerosol deposition comprises Li.sub.xMP.sub.yS.sub.z . For such inorganic materials, x, y, and z may be integers (e.g., integers less than 32) and/or M may comprise Sn, Ge, and/or Si. By way of example, the inorganic material may comprise Li.sub.22SiP.sub.2S.sub.18 [0090]) . 1 1 . Regarding claim 18 , Viner teaches wherein a polymeric material is present in at least a portion of spaces between the fused particles (Such gaps and/or discontinuities may be filled by another component of the protective layer and/or sublayer thereof, such as a reaction product of a species comprising a thiol group, a polymer comprising a thiol group, and/or a polymer comprising a disulfide group [0080]) . 1 2 . Regarding claim 19 , Viner teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of particles of the protective layer are embedded in the lithium of the first electrode (The anode comprises an electroactive material comprising lithium metal and a protective layer disposed on the electroactive material [0005]) . 13 . Regarding claim 20 , Viner teaches further comprising a protective layer, and wherein the protective layer comprises a compound of formula (I): Li x M y Q w P z S u X t (I) wherein: M is Fe Q is absent or selected from the group consisting of Cr, B, Sn, Si, Ta, Nb, V, P, Fe, Ga, A1, As, and combinations thereof, and wherein Q, when present, is different than M, X is absent or selected from the group consisting of halide and pseudohalide, where x is 8-22, y is 0.1-3, w is 0-3, z is 0.1-3, u is 7-20, and t is 0-8 (In some embodiments, a plurality of particles that are at least partially fused together and/or that have a structure indicative of particles deposited by aerosol deposition comprises Li.sub.xMP.sub.yS.sub.z [0090] ; For example, the protective layer may reduce loss of some metals from cathodes (e.g., transition metals, such as nickel, manganese, iron, and/or cobalt, from cathodes comprising these metals) [0103] ) . 14 . Regarding claim 21 , Viner teaches further comprising a protective layer, and wherein the protective layer comprises a compound of formula (B): Li 2x S x+w−5z M y P 2z (I) wherein: M is selected from the group consisting of Lanthanides, Group 3, Group 4, Group 5, Group 6, Group 7, Group 8, Group 9, Group 12, Group 13, and Group 14 atoms, and combinations thereof; x is 8-16, y is 0.1-6, w is 0.1-15, and z is 0.1-3 (In some embodiments, a plurality of particles that are at least partially fused together and/or that have a structure indicative of particles deposited by aerosol deposition comprises Li.sub.xMP.sub.yS.sub.z [0090] ; For example, the protective layer may reduce loss of some metals from cathodes (e.g., transition metals, such as nickel, manganese, iron, and/or cobalt, from cathodes comprising these metals) [0103] ) . 15 . Regarding claim 28 , Viner teaches wherein the second active electrode species comprises a lithium intercalation compound having a nickel content of greater than or equal to 70 mol % relative to other transition metals of the second active electrode species (For example, a non-limiting example of a suitable NCA compound is LiNi.sub.0.8Co.sub.0.5Al.sub.0.05O.sub.2 [0103]) . 16 . Regarding claim 3 3 , Yushin teaches wherein the lithium salt comprises LiPF 6 (Furthermore, in the case of the electrolyte comprising both LiPF 6 salt [0054]) . 17. Regarding claim 34 , Yushin teaches wherein the lithium salt comprises LiBOB (lithium bis( oxalato )borate ( LiB (C 2 O 4 ) 2 [0022]) . 18 . Regarding claim 35 , Viner teaches wherein the lithium salt comprises LiTOP (lithium tris( oxalato )phosphate (e.g., at a concentration between 1 wt % and 6 wt % in the electrolyte) [0141]) . 19 . Regarding claim 52 , Viner teaches comprising a release layer adjacent to the first electrode and/or the second electrode (The reservoir may be located, for instance, in a separator, in an electroactive material present in the electrochemical cell, and/or in a protective layer (and/or sublayer thereof). As another example, the species comprising the thiol group may be encapsulated and may be released into the electrolyte upon breaking of the encapsulant [0027]) . 20 . Regarding claim 58 , Viner teaches wherein the anisotropic force is applied to the electrochemical cell during at least one period of time during charge and/or discharge of the electrochemical cell (an anisotropic force is applied to the electrochemical cell (e.g., during charge and/or discharge of the cell) during charge and/or discharge. In certain embodiments, the anisotropic force applied to the electrode and/or to the electrochemical cell [0157]) , . 21 . Regarding claim 62 , Yushin teaches further comprising a solid electrolyte interphase layer disposed between the first electrode and the electrolyte (For most applications though that the average diffusion distance from the solid-electrolyte interphase (e.g., from the surface of the composite particles) to the inner core of composite the particles may be smaller than 10 micron for the optimal performance [0077]) , wherein the solid electrolyte interphase layer comprises an inorganic material comprising LiF and Li 2 CO 3 (such as a mixture of LiF [0017]; (lithium cobalt oxide, LCO, in this example [0061]) . 22 . Regarding claim 63 , Yushin teaches wherein a first ratio of fluorine atoms to oxygen atoms adjacent the electrolyte is higher than a second ratio of fluorine atoms to oxygen atoms adjacent the anode in the solid electrolyte interphase layer. (In the case of electron withdrawing material(s), replacement of selected hydrogen atoms in such solvents or co-solvents by fluorine atoms (e.g., by using various fluorination reactions or other mechanisms) may be particularly advantageous in some designs [0046]) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT OLATUNJI GODO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3104 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8:00 am - 5:30 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas Smith can be reached on 571-272-8760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OLATUNJI A GODO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752