Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Amendment filed on 07/09/2026.
Claims 4, 6, 11, 15-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-14 are withdrawn from consideration.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Amended claims 4, 6, 11, 15-19 are now dependent on the elected composition invention of claim 20 and are rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph
Claims 4, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 does not recited units for “58,000, 60,000 and 3,200”.
Claim 20 recites “polyactic acid”. It’s unclear what compound is “polyactic acid”. Is this a typographical error for polylactic acid?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 11, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POUL et al (US 2016/0136304).
POUL teaches a composition for diagnostic monitoring of oncology patients (see abstract) comprised of: inorganic nanoparticles (see abstract), such as tantalum (see [0043]); and “covered with a biocompatible coating” (see abstract), such as chitosan and polyvinylpyrrolidone (see [0061]). Additional disclosures include: nanoparticle size of about 150 nm (see [0028])
Note, claims 11, 15-19 are drawn to product-by-process claims, wherein Applicant’s claims are directed to a composition. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this instance, the prior art’s composition has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant.
Claim(s) 6, 11, 15--20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHAKRAVARTY et al (US 2022/0048788).
CHAKRAVARTY teaches a composition comprised of: tantalum nanoparticle (see title and abstract); coated with poly(vinylpyrrolidone) (see [0112]), chitosan or polylactic acid (see [0118]), wherein the nanoparticle has a diameter of about 100nm (see [0113]).
Note, claims 11, 15-19 are drawn to product-by-process claims, wherein Applicant’s claims are directed to a composition. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this instance, the prior art’s composition has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Poul exemplifies only one kind of nanoparticles, namely biocompatible hafnium oxide (Hf02) nanoparticles or nanoparticle aggregates with sodium hexametaphosphate as the coating agent. In addition to the only one type of Hf02 nanoparticle mentioned above, Poul does not provide any experimental data to prove which inorganic materials such as metal elements, metal oxides or sulfide can form stable structures with which biocompatible materials such as agents displaying a steric group or agents allowing interaction with a biological target, and achieve the functions described in Poul. While Poul mentions irradiating said nanoparticles or nanoparticles aggregates using ionizing radiation beam(s), thereby treating the subject, there is no supporting data or other evidence regarding such an irradiation. None of polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), tween 20, polylactic acid, or chitosan are disclosed in Poul as a biocompatible coating. Poul describes the use of PVP to form a biocompatible gel matrix. Therefore, Poul fails to teach or suggest a nanoparticle or nanoparticle aggregate covered with a biocompatible coating, wherein the nanoparticle is pure tantalum and a biosurfactant coating comprising one or more of polyvinyl pyrrolidone, tween 20, polyactic acid, and chitosan. Accordingly, Poul does not teach or suggest to a person of skill in the art to select an easily oxidized elemental metal (Ta) and a non-disclosed bio-surfactant (polyvinylpyrrolidone, tween 20, polyactic acid, and chitosan) and arrive at the claimed invention.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive, because the teaching of POUL is not limited to the examples, similar to Applicant’s claims are not limited to Applicant’s examples.
Applicant argues that Poul discloses the use of sodium hexametaphospate as the only coating agent for its biocompatible hafnium oxide (HfO2) nanoparticles or nanoparticle aggregates. This coating relates to coordination chemical adsorption. The tantalum nanocomposite of amended claim 20 is prepared through physisorption, i.e., a wet-process ball milling in-situ coating modification (see paragraphs [0059]-[0062] of the specification). Therefore, the coating method of Poul is different from the present invention.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive, because Applicant’s claims are directed to a composition, wherein claim 20 does not recite any method steps. Additionally, as discussed in the rejection, claims 11, 15-19 are drawn to product-by-process claims, wherein Applicant’s claims are directed to a composition. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this instance, the prior art’s composition has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant.
Applicant argues that the biocompatible gel of Poul comprises nanoparticles and/or nanoparticles aggregates covered with a biocompatible coating that is for use in medical diagnostic and patient monitoring and allows for improved post-surgery tumor bed delineation. Poul does not teach or suggest that its nanoparticles and/or nanoparticles aggregates covered with a biocompatible coating drain through the interstitium into regional lymphatic vessels and lymph nodes. Poul does not teach or suggest to a person of skill in the art to use its nanoparticles and/or nanoparticles aggregates covered with a biocompatible coating as lymph tracers. Poul also does not provide clonogenic assay to verify sensitizing effects of its nanoparticles and/or nanoparticles aggregates covered with a biocompatible coating. Therefore, Poul does not teach or suggest to a person of skill in the art to use its nanoparticles and/or nanoparticles aggregates covered with a biocompatible coating as radiosensitizers. In contrast, the tantalum nanocomposite of amended claim 20 is used as a lymph tracer and/or a radiosensitizer. As discussed above, the claimed lymph tracer and/or radiosensitizer shows a significant technical effect that is not taught or suggested by Poul.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive, because Applicant’s claims are directed to a composition, not a method of use. Additionally, POUL’s composition would be capable of the same intended use, because POUL’s composition has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618