DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to pending claims 1-10, 12-16, 18-22 filed 4/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-16, 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The 35 U.S.C. 101 subject matter eligibility analysis first asks whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories (Step 1). It next asks whether the claim is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A), via Prong 1, whether an abstract idea (e.g., mathematical concept, mental process, certain methods of organizing human activity) is recited, and Prong 2, whether it is integrated into a practical application. It finally asks whether the claim as a whole includes additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B). See MPEP 2106.
STEP 1: The claims falls within one of the four statutory categories:
All claims are directed to hardware systems, methods, and non-transitory computer media and hence fall within one of the four statutory categories.
STEP 2A PRONG 1: The claims recite a judicial exception:
Claim 1 is directed to a technique for evaluating data logs, such as ACARS data, to derive an estimate of fuel flow. Such an evaluation model is trained or compared to a ground truth fuel flow data as derive from gross weight values. As such, it is directed to a mental process, that of estimating fuel flow based on various readings based on various heuristics and adjusting such estimates and heuristics based on feedback from a different source. In particular (additional elements are underlined below):
For claim 1: a system comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and
one or more processors configured to:
receive a plurality of Aircraft Communication Addressing and Reporting System (“ACARS”) data packages that include a gross weight value for an aircraft (receiving data for evaluation is a mental process);
generate a first fuel flow estimate based at least on a comparison of a plurality of gross weight values for the aircraft (Evaluating differences may be performed mentally);
generate training data based on the plurality of ACARS data reports (considering the parameters of data in order to form heuristics, such as against a ground truth, may be performed mentally), wherein to generate the training data, the one or more processors are configured to:
identify a plurality of fields associated with the training data (identifying of relevant data from a pool of data may be performed mentally); and
remove from the training data a particular ACARS report in response to the particular ACARS report omitting a data value associated with one or more of the plurality of data fields (evaluating data for relevancy and discarding irrelevant data may be performed mentally);
provide the training data as input to a machine learning model to generate a second fuel flow estimate (Generating, via heuristics, fuel flow estimates based on updated data is a mental process);
compare the first and second fuel flow estimates to generate a fuel flow error value (comparing generated estimates with derived ground truth data in order to determine error is a mental process); and
modify the machine learning model to reduce the fuel flow error value (updating model heuristics, etc. is a mental process) to enable the machine learning model to account for changes to an expected fuel consumption of the aircraft due to changes in performance of the aircraft over time (a mental model of evaluating factors that influence fuel consumption, updating heuristics based on new data, etc. would be adequate to account for changes in expected fuel consumption such as caused by performance over time).
For claim 3: The system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to modify the machine learning model by modifying a network weight associated with one or more nodes of the neural network (Modifying neural network weights via optimization algorithms, such as backpropagation, is a mathematic concept).
For claim 4: The system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to modify the machine learning model by back propagation (Modifying neural network weights via optimization algorithms, such as backpropagation, is a mathematic concept).
For claim 5: The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, after modifying the machine learning model to reduce the fuel flow error value, provide the training data as input to the machine learning model to generate a third fuel flow estimate (Generating additional inferences such as via an updated heuristic model is a mental process).
For claim 6: The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more aircraft traffic management parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate (Generating additional parameters, such as for air traffic management, is a mental process).
For claim 7: The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more fuel planning parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate (Generating additional parameters, such as for air traffic management, is a mental process).
For claim 8: The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more aircraft maintenance parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate (Generating additional parameters, such as for air traffic management, is a mental process).
For claim 9: The system of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is tail-specific (Generating tail-specific data-based heuristics is a mental process).
For claim 10: The system of claim 1, wherein each of the ACARS reports comprises flight time data, altitude data, temperature data, location data, or a combination thereof (Evaluating these parameters may be performed in the mind).
For claim 12: The system of claim 1, wherein one or more processors are further configured to receive a superset of ACARS reports and determining whether each of the superset of ACARS reports includes the gross weight value (Evaluating and selecting data for relevancy is a mental process).
For claim 13: The system of claim 1, wherein the ACARS reports do not include fuel flow data (Evaluating ACARS package data is a mental process).
Claims 14-16, 18-20 recite similar limitations and are hence similarly analyzed.
For claim 21: The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the machine learning model is tail-specific (Forming tail-specific mental models or heuristics may be performed in the mind).
For claim 21: The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of data fields includes a gross weight field, an altitude field, and a flight time field (The consideration of these particular factors in forming and updating mental heuristics may be performed in the mind).
STEP 2A PRONG 2: The claims do not integrate the exception into a practical application:
The additional elements in claim 1-20 comprise the use of computer memory-and processor configurations and the use of machine learning models in place of mental heuristics.
However, these comprise mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or via machine learning models and hence do not comprise an integration into a practical application.
For claim 2. The additional elements comprise: wherein the machine learning model is a neural network.
However, these comprise mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a neural network and hence do not comprise an integration into a practical application.
STEP 2B: The claim as a whole do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional elements in claim 1-20 comprise the use of computer memory-and processor configurations and the use of machine learning models in place of mental heuristics.
However, the use of general purpose processing configuration and machine learning models is well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) and hence does not constitute significantly more.
For claim 2. The additional elements comprise: wherein the machine learning model is a neural network.
However, the use of neural networks is well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) and hence does not constitute significantly more.
Claim Objections
The objections to the claims are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9-10, 14-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 208188885 U) in view of Chatterji ("Fuel burn estimation using real track data", published 2011).
For claim 1, Zhang discloses: a system comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and
one or more processors configured to (p.4: STM32F40S is an integrated chip containing a processor and a memory, see informational reference “STM32F405/415 documentation” p.1: Cortex processor, flash memory, etc.):
receive a plurality of Aircraft Communication Addressing and Reporting System (“ACARS”) reports that include a gross weight value for an aircraft (p.5 “Principle”: real-time ACARS data packages are received, including real time weight readings, hence, gross weight, for entry into fuel prediction model; the data packets being converted to plain text, hence, plain text parameter reports);
generate a first fuel flow estimate (ibid: a first fuel flow estimate is generated based on processing the ACARS packets);
generate training data based on the plurality of ACARS reports (ibid: as fuel flow estimate from ACARS is used to correct fuel prediction model, this data package constitutes training data), wherein to generate the training data, the one or more processors are configured to:
identify a plurality of data fields associated with the training data (ibid: relevant data for the fuel prediction model, such as fuel flow, altitude, ground speed, etc. are identified for training and inference);
provide the training data as input to a machine learning model to generate a second fuel flow estimate (ibid: live fuel flow readings are provided as corrective input to a machine prediction model in order to adjust and refine the model, hence, machine learning model, the machine learning model generating additional fuel flow estimates);
compare the first and second fuel flow estimates to generate a fuel flow error value (ibid: Error values are generated based on comparison); and
modify the machine learning model to reduce the fuel flow error value (ibid: fuel model is corrected dynamically) to enable the machine learning model to account for changes to an expected fuel consumption of the aircraft due to changes in performance of the aircraft over time (ibid: expected fuel consumption is estimated over time based on the updated received parameters, e.g., ACARS, ADS-B and on adjusted model over time, such as caused by varying performance).
Zhang does not disclose: wherein the generate is based at least on a comparison of a plurality of gross weight values for the aircraft.
Chatterji discloses: wherein the generate is based at least on a comparison of a plurality of gross weight values for the aircraft (§II disclose an overall procedure for estimating fuel flow rate, the fuel flow rate based on gross weight, the calculated fuel flow rate then being fed back and subtracted from the gross weight in an iterative process; see also p.11 last ¶ describing iterative or momentary fuel flow calculation based on iterative gross weight from initial weight readings).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang by incorporating the fuel flow estimation technique of Chatterji. Both concern the art of fuel flow estimation, and the incorporation would have, according to Chatterji, establish a model for momentary fuel flow, especially when weight estimations are not available (abstract), develop better fuel estimation with fewer simplifications (p.2 ¶2), or when weight data is unavailable (p.2 ¶2), i.e., spans of time when momentary data is unavailable; to provide fuel estimates using live communicated sources (p.15: “Fuel Estimation Using ASDI Data”).
Zhang modified by Chatterji does not disclose: remove from the training data a particular ACARS report in response to the particular ACARS report omitting a data value associated with one or more of the plurality of data fields.
Zakariah discloses: remove from the training data a particular report in response to the particular report omitting a data value associated with one or more of the plurality of data fields (fig.3, 0042: removing from data to be used for prediction or inference reports that have missing information relevant to the inference or training, see fig.2, 0038: training data; hence, combination with Zhang modified by Chatterji disclosing removal of reports associated with data fields relevant to the fuel flow inference task).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the data pre-processing technique of Zakariah. Both concern the art of machine learning and inference, and the incorporation would have, according to Zakariah, remove irrelevant from remote sources not useful for inference (0042).
For claim 5, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Zhang further discloses: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, after modifying the machine learning model to reduce the fuel flow error value, provide the training data as input to the machine learning model to generate a third fuel flow estimate (Zhang p.5 “Principle”: as the modification occurs iteratively, based on intermittent labeling data, further iterations are performed after modifications, hence, additional portions of the training data are input to the model to generate additional fuel flow estimates and corrections).
For claim 9, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Zhang further discloses: wherein the machine learning model is tail-specific (Zhang p.5: as live ACAR readings are used to generate the machine learning model, the model is tail specific).
For claim 10, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Zhang further discloses: wherein each of the ACARS reports comprises flight time data, altitude data, temperature data, location data, or a combination thereof (Zhang p.5: altitude).
Claims 14, 19 recite analogous methods and computer readable media as the above systems and are hence likewise rejected. Furthermore, claims 14, 19 differ from claim 1 in reciting remove from the training data a particular ACARS report in response to the particular ACARS report omitting a data value associated with each of the plurality of data fields.
Zakariah discloses: remove from the training data a particular report in response to the particular report omitting a data value associated with each of the plurality of data fields (fig.3, 0042: removing from data to be used for prediction or inference reports that have missing information relevant to the inference or training, see fig.2, 0038: training data; hence, combination with Zhang modified by Chatterji disclosing removal of reports associated with each of the data fields relevant to the fuel flow inference task).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the data pre-processing technique of Zakariah. Both concern the art of machine learning and inference, and the incorporation would have, according to Zakariah, remove irrelevant from remote sources not useful for inference (0042).
Claims 15-16, 20-21 recite analogous methods and computer readable media as the above systems and are hence likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 2-4, 11-13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 208188885 U) in view of Chatterji ("Fuel burn estimation using real track data", published 2011) in view of Di ("A hybrid deep neural network based on multi-time window convolutional bidirectional LSTM for civil aircraft APU hazard identification", published 2022).
For claim 2, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Zhang does not disclose: wherein the machine learning model is a neural network.
Di discloses: wherein the machine learning model is a neural network (p.346 fig.1 gives overview of using a neural network to process ACARS data).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the neural network technique of Di. Both concern the art of processing ACARS data, and the incorporation would have, according to Di, use an effective data-driven technique to extract and form predictions from data (p.345 col.2, §3.1 ¶1).
For claim 3, Zhang modified by Chatterji modified by Di discloses the system of claim 2, as described above. Zhang modified by Chatterji modified by Di further discloses: wherein the one or more processors are configured to modify the machine learning model by modifying a network weight associated with one or more nodes of the neural network (Di §5.1 gives overview of HDNN training via a loss function and the Adam optimizer with default optimizers, hence, adjusting weights via backpropagation with a loss function).
For claim 4, Zhang modified by Chatterji modified by Di discloses the system of claim 2, as described above. Zhang modified by Chatterji modified by Di further disclose: wherein the one or more processors are configured to modify the machine learning model by back propagation (§5.1 gives overview of HDNN training via a loss function and the Adam optimizer with default optimizers, hence, adjusting weights via backpropagation with a loss function).
For claim 11, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Zhang does not disclose: wherein one or more processors are configured to generate training data by removing an ACARS data package from the training data if the ACARS data package does not include a data set required for the training data.
Di discloses: generate training data by removing an ACARS data package from the training data if the ACARS data package does not include a data set required for the training data (p.350 §4.1 “Data Description” discloses data preprocessing and filtering of ACARS data for a particular machine learning task, including selecting the A13 report from a large volume a ACARS data and removing irrelevant data such as ACW1, ACW2, NA, etc. Hence, training data is generated by removing data not including relevant data for training the data).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the data preprocessing of Di. Both concern the art of processing ACARS data, and the incorporation would have, according to Di, effectively obtain data related to aircraft safety and monitoring by obtaining more focused data, such as to reduce computer analysis time (p.345 col.2 ¶2, §4.1 ¶1-3).
For claim 12, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Zhang does not disclose: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a superset of ACARS reports and determining whether each of the superset of ACARS reports includes the gross weight value.
Di discloses: receive a superset of ACARS reports and determining whether each of the superset of ACARS reports includes target value (§4.1 ¶1-3: Di contemplates data preprocessing from a superset to determine whether a target A13 report is present and whether target values (see Table 2) are present relevant to a particular inference task, hence combination with Zhang yielding application to values relevant to the fuel flow task including gross weight value).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the data preprocessing of Di. Both concern the art of processing ACARS data, and the incorporation would have, according to Di, effectively obtain data related to aircraft safety and monitoring by obtaining more focused data, such as to reduce computer analysis time (p.345 col.2 ¶2, §4.1 ¶1-3).
For claim 13, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Zhang does not disclose: wherein the ACARS reports do not include fuel flow data.
Di discloses: wherein the ACARS reports do not include fuel flow data (§4.1 ¶1-3 discloses ACARS as sampling arbitrary and customized QAR data, hence, depending on application, ACARS data may not include fuel flow data based on manually and flexibly set parameter acquisition criteria, such as that shown in Table 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the data preprocessing of Di. Both concern the art of processing ACARS data, and the incorporation would have, according to Di, effectively obtain data related to aircraft safety and monitoring by obtaining more focused data, such as to reduce computer analysis time (p.345 col.2 ¶2, §4.1 ¶1-3).
For claim 22, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Zhang modified by Chatterji further discloses: wherein the plurality of data fields includes a gross weight field, an altitude field, and a flight time field (Zhang p.5 “Principle” discloses a technique where ACARS data is supplemented with higher-frequency ADS-B data in order to generate fuel-flow inferences and tune a fuel-flow model, with Chatterji §2 (as described above above) disclosing the framework for momentarily predictions of the fuel consumption based on factors including weight, altitude, etc., these factors integrated over time, see §2, p.3, eq.4, would be tied to less frequent know readings ; hence, the combination would yield a system where altitude, gross weight, sand flight time would be input into the model to generate and validate inferences).
Claims 17-18 recite analogous methods and computer readable media as the above systems and are hence likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 208188885 U) in view of Chatterji ("Fuel burn estimation using real track data", published 2011) in view of Baumann ("Using machine learning for data-based assessing of the aircraft fuel economy", published 2019).
For claim 6, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 5, as described above. Zhang modified by Chatterji does not disclose: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more aircraft traffic management parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate.
Baumann discloses: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more aircraft traffic management parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate (fig.1 shows dynamic fuel performance assessment being fed into recommendations for operation and maintenance, see also p.4 col.1-col.2 ¶1: using such assessments for flight planning, hence, generating flight or fuel planning parameters based on the fuel parameters; see also p.3 ¶3: using performance models for trajectory planning in air traffic management; §3 ¶2: addressing anomalies in operational flight procedures).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the flight planning parameter generation of Baumann. Both concern the art of generating dynamic fuel flow estimates, and the incorporation would have, according to Baumann, generate a data-based and aircraft specific model for more accurate diagnoses and forecasting (p.4 col.1).
For claim 7, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 5, as described above. Zhang modified by Chatterji does not discloses: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more fuel planning parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate.
Baumann discloses: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more fuel planning parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate (fig.1 shows dynamic fuel performance assessment being fed into recommendations for operation and maintenance, see also p.4 col.1: using such assessments for flight planning, hence, generating flight or fuel planning parameters based on the fuel parameters).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the flight planning parameter generation of Baumann. Both concern the art of generating dynamic fuel flow estimates, and the incorporation would have, according to Baumann, generate a data-based and aircraft specific model for more accurate diagnoses and forecasting (p.4 col.1).
For claim 8, Zhang modified by Chatterji discloses the system of claim 5, as described above. Zhang modified by Chatterji further discloses: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more aircraft maintenance parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate.
Baumann discloses: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to generate one or more aircraft traffic management parameters based at least on the third fuel flow estimate (fig.1 shows dynamic fuel performance estimate being fed into recommendations for operation and maintenance, see also p.4 col.1 ¶1: using data driven models to evaluate retrofits or modifications, p.2 col.1 ¶1: optimize performance-based modifications based on dynamic fuel consumption model).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang modified by Chatterji by incorporating the flight planning parameter generation of Baumann. Both concern the art of generating dynamic fuel flow estimates, and the incorporation would have, according to Baumann, generate a data-based and aircraft specific model for more accurate diagnoses and forecasting (p.4 col.1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. In the remarks, Applicant argued:
1. The claims overcome the 101 rejection as modifying a machine learning model based on training data cannot be practically performed in the mind.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. At present, the claims are directed to a process of examining data to form and update heuristics, a mental process. “Machine learning” spans a broad field of processes, many of which model mental processes and may be performed in the mind. Furthermore, machine learning is incorporated as an additional element that serves merely to instantiate the mental process in a computer environment and hence does not impose meaningful limitations on the mental process, see the 101 rejection above.
2. Claims are comparable to ex.39 of the Subject Matter Eligibility examples.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Example 39 is directed to modifying training data in order to make a more robust neural network. The process finds no analog in mental processes; for example, a person would have no reason to perform a process of considering transformed images. In contrast, the current claim set finds analog in a mental process of evaluating data to arrive at inferences regarding fuel consumption.
3. Claims are integrated into a practical application as it allows accounting for changes in fuel consumption over time.
Examiner submits that evaluating factors to determine airplane condition, such as fuel consumption, is performed mentally and analogous to evaluating maintenance logs, such as by a mechanic. Hence, the mental process is not integrated, as a whole, into a practical application, since the practical application already resides in the mental process.
4. The newly added limitation overcomes the art of record.
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of newly cited art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lopez (US 20220139232 A1) discloses a fight data prediction system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG LI/
Primary examiner AU 2143