DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
During a telephone conversation with Bob Curcio on 9/10/25 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-18. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 19-23 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 19-23 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward 4,026,801 in view of Chen et al. CN 111847586.
Claims 1 and 6, Ward teaches a container comprising: a container housing (15) comprising a base with vertically extending sidewalls forming a sump, and a tank retainer disposed on the base within the sump, the tank retainer comprising a tank platform (portion within 24) and a plurality of raised circumferential sidewalls (24) surrounding the tank platform and connected at a lower end to the tank platform, the tank retainer is asymmetrically positioned about the base and adjacent one of the vertically extending sidewalls such that the tank retainer limits movement of a media bottle (23) within the sump, and each of the plurality of raised circumferential sidewalls extends from the base a height, the raised sidewalls are not adjacent to the one of the vertically extending sidewalls of the container housing, such that one of the plurality of raised circumferential sidewalls is sufficiently low as to not contact a sidewall of the media bottle upon insertion (fig. 1-6). Ward does not teach the circumferential sidewalls include a arched section extending between coping sections.
Chen teaches a container comprising: a container housing (1) comprising a base with vertically extending sidewalls forming a sump, and a tank retainer disposed on the base within the sump (see below), the tank retainer comprising a tank platform and a plurality of raised circumferential sidewalls surrounding the tank platform and connected at a lower end to the tank platform, wherein each of the plurality of raised circumferential sidewalls further include an arched section extending between coping sections of the plurality of raised circumferential sidewalls (see below), the tank retainer is asymmetrically positioned about the base and adjacent one of the vertically extending sidewalls such that the tank retainer is capable of limiting movement of a media bottle (3) within the sump, and wherein one of the plurality of raised circumferential sidewalls extends from the base to a first height and another of the plurality of raised circumferential sidewalls extending from the base to a second height and a third raised sidewall extending from the base to a third height (fig. 1-10). The recitation of arched sections between coping sections of the raised circumferential sidewalls is a recitation of the use of a tank retainer shape of Chen in place of the tank retainer of Ward. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Each tank retainer is used to hold the bottle in place within the container and substituting one for the other would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Ward clearly teaches that the height of the circumferential sidewalls do not need to contact a sidewall of the media bottle in order to provide support to the media bottle within the container.
Chen does not teach the 1st, 2nd and 3rd heights being different. The recitation of the heights being different is a recitation of the relative dimensions of the apparatus. [W]here the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 220 USPQ 777 (1984). The presently filed specification does not teach or suggest that the recited difference in heights of the circumferential sidewalls provides any benefit or advantage and is rather an optional feature as detailed in the previous office action.
Claims 2-3, Chen further teaches the tank retainer is sized to receive a bottom end of the media bottle and comprises a convex structure complementary to the media bottle bottom end (fig. 1, 7-8, pg. 3 last paragraph); the tank platform includes an opening and a bottom end of the media bottle extends into a portion of the opening of the tank platform (1, 7-8, pg. 5 last paragraph).
Claim 7, Ward further teaches the tank retainer is made of the same material as the container which is plastic (abstract) and therefore the tank retainer would be made of a plastic material which is inherently resilient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10-11, 13, 15-18 and 24 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 8 has been amended to recite subject matter similar to the previously indicated allowable subject matter of claim 14 and is allowable for the same reasons as indicated in the previous office action of 9/15/25.
Claim 11 has been amended to incorporate the previously indicated allowable subject matter of claim 14 with all intervening claims and is allowable for the same reasons as indicated in the previous office action of 9/15/25.
New claim 24 includes the previously indicated allowable subject matter of claim 8 and is allowable for the same reasons as claim 8.
The additional claims are allowable as depending from one of the above claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779