DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-42 remain pending in the
application. Claims 25-42 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Becerra teaches wherein the valve comprises of a plurality of resilient clamps, in which the clamps are configured to engage the structural cardiac valve (see paragraph [0321], see also Figures 14 and 15 showing that there can be four anchors (clamps), see Figures 69 and 70 for the embodiment of the anchor 498 that clamps a leaflet against the device, see also paragraph [0196] denoting even more than 4 anchors/clamps can be connected to the device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include wherein the valve comprises of a plurality of resilient clamps, in which the clamps are configured to engage the structural cardiac valve, as by doing so would enable the device to clamp a leaflet between the anchor 498 and the device to secure a leaflet between the anchor and the device (see paragraph [0321]).
Jansen teaches wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, further comprises a plurality of spurs, the plurality of spurs configured to engage at least one of: the portion of the structural cardiac valve (see paragraph [0051], see also spurs in Figure 3b below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a plurality of spurs, each spur extending in the apical direction, the plurality of spurs operable to engage at least one of: the portion of the structural cardiac valve, as by doing so would enable the device to grip into the natural vessel wall (see FIG. 3a, 3b) are proposed for secure anchoring of the valve stent in the vessel, as taught by Jansen (see paragraph [0051]).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the argument that there would be no reason to combine the device with two different types of anchoring mechanism (clamps and spurs), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The two anchoring mechanisms (spurs and clamps) are both known within the art to further ensure that the valve is anchored into the heart. Furthermore, the two anchoring mechanisms target differing areas of the heart, as the clamps can clamp the leaflets or cusps for stability and anchoring, and the spurs connect with the vessel wall for further stability or anchoring. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner has combined an excessive number of references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210015609 A1 (hereafter --Dumontelle--), in view of US 20250099232 A1 (hereafter –Becerra--), in even further view of US 20120101567 A1 (hereafter –Jansen--).
Regarding Claim 1, Dumontelle discloses a system for preventing paravalvular leak (PVL) associated with a replacement structural cardiac valve, comprising: a ring (100), operably coupled to a tissue annulus of a structural cardiac valve (see Abstract), the ring operable to actively couple the tissue to the ring, and prevent axial translation of the ring relative to the tissue annulus (see paragraph [0103]).
This embodiment of Dumontelle fails to disclose a resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, enclosed within, and coupled to the ring operable to engage both the ring and a portion of the structural cardiac valve, wherein the system is operable to prevent axial translation between the ring and the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, and comprising at least one spur and a plurality of resilient clamps, and the at least one spur and the plurality of resilient clamps are configured to engage the structural cardiac valve.
Another embodiment of a ring of Dumontelle discloses a resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, enclosed within (see annotated resilient prosthetic valve scaffold enclosed in a ring in Figure 23A below), and coupled to the ring operable to engage both the ring and a portion of the structural cardiac valve (see paragraphs [0221] and [0222] denoting that the valve 2310 is within the ring, and then coupled to a two or three leaflet valve), wherein the system is operable to prevent axial translation between the ring and the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold (see paragraph [0221] denoting that the ring and scaffold 2310 are in continuous contact).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the first embodiment to have a resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, enclosed within, and coupled to the ring operable to engage both the ring and a portion of the structural cardiac valve, wherein the system is operable to prevent axial translation between the ring and the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, as it is disclosed that combinations of different deployed anchor configurations may also be used without departing from the scope of the present disclosure (see paragraph [0108]).
Dumontelle further fails to disclose comprising at least one spur and a plurality of resilient clamps, and the at least one spur and the plurality of resilient clamps are configured to engage the structural cardiac valve.
Becerra discloses a prosthetic valve designed to anchor into the heart for improved deployment, sealing, and anchoring into the implantation site (see Abstract). Becerra teaches wherein the valve comprises of a plurality of resilient clamps, in which the clamps are configured to engage the structural cardiac valve (see paragraph [0321], see also Figures 14 and 15 showing that there can be four anchors (clamps), see Figures 69 and 70 for the embodiment of the anchor 498 that clamps a leaflet against the device, see also paragraph [0196] denoting even more than 4 anchors/clamps can be connected to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include wherein the valve comprises of a plurality of resilient clamps, in which the clamps are configured to engage the structural cardiac valve, as by doing so would enable the device to clamp a leaflet between the anchor 498 and the device to secure a leaflet between the anchor and the device (see paragraph [0321]).
Jansen discloses a resilient prosthetic valve scaffold for anchoring into the heart (see Figure 3, see also Abstract). Jansen teaches wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, further comprises a plurality of spurs, the plurality of spurs configured to engage at least one of: the portion of the structural cardiac valve (see paragraph [0051], see also spurs in Figure 3b below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a plurality of spurs, each spur extending in the apical direction, the plurality of spurs operable to engage at least one of: the portion of the structural cardiac valve, as by doing so would enable the device to grip into the natural vessel wall (see FIG. 3a, 3b) are proposed for secure anchoring of the valve stent in the vessel, as taught by Jansen (see paragraph [0051]).
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210015609 A1 (hereafter --Dumontelle--) in view of Becerra and Jansen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20190167425 A1 (hereafter –Reich--).
Regarding Claim 2, Dumontelle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the ring (113) comprises: a hollow tube (see paragraph [0098]) comprising:
i. a first end; and
ii. a second end (see annotated ends in Figure 1B below);
i. a first end; and
ii. a second end (see annotated ends in Figure 1B below);
c. at least one snap mechanism configured to connect the first end and the second end together, forming a ring with a predetermined internal circumference (see paragraph [0110]);
d. a plurality of anchor deployment zones (650a,b,c); and
e. a plurality of zone-specific, strained and resilient anchors (104), each zone-specific, strained and resilient anchor configured to transition between insertion configuration within the ring and deployment configuration, wherein each of the zone-specific strained anchors are configured to engage the annulus tissue of the structural cardiac valve, continuously bias the tissue toward the ring, and prevent axial translation of the ring relative to the annulus (see paragraph [0143]).
Dumontelle fails to disclose a mesh fabric sleeve having a plurality of openings defined therein.
Reich discloses a ring structure with anchors that is implanted into the body to repair a mitral valve (see paragraph [0418], see also Figure 2I below). Reich teaches a mesh fabric sleeve having a plurality of openings defined therein (see paragraph [0400]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a mesh fabric sleeve having a plurality of openings defined therein, as by doing so would promote tissue growth into the braid of the sleeve as taught by Reich (see paragraph [0400]).
Regarding Claim 3, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 2.
The limitation “wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold is operable to transition from an insertion configuration to an operative configuration” is treated as functional language, that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the prosthetic valve scaffold being made from a flexible material that can expand and contract (see paragraph [0222] and Figures 23C and 23A showing that the scaffold can expand and constrict), the valve scaffold is able to transition from an insertion configuration to an operative configuration.
Regarding Claim 4, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 3, wherein, in the operative configuration the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold forms a hyperboloid of one sheet (see annotated scaffold in Figure 23A above), having a basal end and an apical end defining a longitudinal axis, wherein the ring is sized and configured to accommodate the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold (see annotated ring, axis, basal and apical ends in Figure 23A above).
Regarding Claim 5, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4.
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein the plurality of resilient clamps are operable, upon transition from the insertion configuration to the operative configuration, to engage a native cusp of the structural cardiac valve.
Becerra discloses a prosthetic valve designed to anchor into the heart for improved deployment, sealing, and anchoring into the implantation site (see Abstract). Becerra teaches wherein the plurality of resilient clamps are operable, upon transition from the insertion configuration to the operative configuration, to engage a native cusp of the structural cardiac valve (see paragraph [0321], see also Figures 14 and 15 showing that there can be four anchors (clamps), see Figures 69 and 70 for the embodiment of the anchor 498 that clamps a leaflet against the device, see also paragraph [0196] denoting even more than 4 anchors/clamps can be connected to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include wherein the plurality of resilient clamps are operable, upon transition from the insertion configuration to the operative configuration, to engage a native cusp of the structural cardiac valve, as by doing so would enable the device to clamp a leaflet between the anchor 498 and the device to secure a leaflet between the anchor and the device (see paragraph [0321]).
Regarding Claim 7, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4.
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein at least one spur extends in the apical direction.
Jansen discloses a resilient prosthetic valve scaffold for anchoring into the heart (see Figure 3, see also Abstract). Jansen teaches wherein at least one spur extends in the apical direction (see paragraph [0051], see also spurs in Figure 3b below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include wherein at least one spur extends in the apical direction, as by doing so would enable the device to grip into the natural vessel wall (see FIG. 3a, 3b) are proposed for secure anchoring of the valve stent in the vessel, as taught by Jansen (see paragraph [0051]).
Regarding Claim 9, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold is accommodated within the ring at a vertex of the hyperboloid of one sheet (see annotated valve and ring in Figure 23A above). The limitation “vertex” is being defined as “a point that terminates a line or curve” (see Merriam Webster online definition 2b).
Regarding Claim 10, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 9, in the operable configuration, an external circumference of the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold at the vertex is larger than the internal circumference of the ring (see annotated cross section that is D-shaped in Figure 23A, which is bigger than the inside of the ring). The limitation “vertex” is being defined as “a point that terminates a line or curve” (see Merriam Webster online definition 2b).
Regarding Claim 11, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the ring has a D-shape having a major axis and a minor axis (see annotated D-shaped ring and axis’s in Figure 1B above); and wherein, in the operable configuration, the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold has a cross section, transverse to the longitudinal axis having a D-shape, defining a major axis that is longer than the major axis of the D-shaped ring and a minor axis that is larger than the minor axis of the D-shaped ring (see annotated cross section that is D-shaped in Figure 23A, which is bigger than the inside of the ring), the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold configured to bias the ring radially (see annotated prosthetic valve and ring in Figure 23A above).
Regarding Claim 12, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the mesh fabric sleeve comprises a woven fabric with a thread density configured to allow ingrowth of portion of the structural cardiac valve into the ring, and provide a seal between the tissue annulus and the ring (see claim 2 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 14, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the structural cardiac valve is a mitral valve (see paragraphs [0221] and [0222] denoting that the valve 2310 is within the ring, and then coupled to a two or three leaflet valve).
Dumontelle fails to disclose wherein the plurality of resilient clamps includes a resilient anterior clamp and a resilient posterior clamp, the resilient anterior clamp sized to engage a native anterior leaflet of the mitral valve, and wherein the resilient posterior resilient clamp is configured to engage a native posterior leaflet of the mitral valve.
Becerra discloses a prosthetic valve designed to anchor into the heart for improved deployment, sealing, and anchoring into the implantation site (see Abstract). Becerra teaches wherein the plurality of resilient clamps includes a resilient anterior clamp and a resilient posterior clamp (see paragraph [0321], see also Figures 14 and 15 showing that there can be four anchors (clamps), see Figures 69 and 70 for the embodiment of the anchor 498 that clamps a leaflet against the device, see also paragraph [0196] denoting even more than 4 anchors/clamps can be connected to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a resilient anterior clamp and a resilient posterior clamp, as by doing so would enable the device to clamp a leaflet between the clamps and the device to secure a leaflet between the anchor and the device (see paragraph [0321]).
The limitation “the resilient anterior clamp sized to engage a native anterior leaflet of the mitral valve, and wherein the resilient posterior resilient clamp is configured to engage a native posterior leaflet of the mitral valve” is treated as functional language, that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the modified device comprising of a plurality of resilient clamps, operable, upon transition from the insertion configuration to the operative configuration, to engage a native leaflet (see claim 5 above, one of the anchors being “the posterior clamp” another being the ”anterior clamp”), the modified device would be capable of having a resilient anterior clamp sized to engage a native anterior leaflet of the mitral valve, and wherein the resilient posterior resilient clamp is configured to engage a native posterior leaflet of the mitral valve.
Regarding Claim 15, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the structural cardiac valve is a tricuspid valve (see paragraphs [0221] and [0222] denoting that the valve 2310 is within the ring, and then coupled to a two or three leaflet valve).
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose plurality of resilient clamps includes a first resilient clamp, a second resilient clamp, and a third resilient clamp.
Becerra discloses a prosthetic valve designed to anchor into the heart for improved deployment, sealing, and anchoring into the implantation site (see Abstract). Becerra teaches wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold comprises a resilient anterior clamp, a resilient septal clamp, and a resilient posterior clamp (see paragraph [0321], see also Figures 14 and 15 showing that there can be four anchors (clamps), see Figures 69 and 70 for the embodiment of the anchor 498 that clamps a leaflet against the device, see also paragraph [0196] denoting even more than 4 anchors/clamps can be connected to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a resilient anterior clamp, a resilient septal clamp, and a resilient posterior clamp, as by doing so would enable the device to clamp a leaflet between the clamps and the device to secure a leaflet between the anchor and the device (see paragraph [0321]).
The limitation “the resilient anterior clamp is sized to engage to a native anterior cusp of the tricuspid valve, wherein the resilient septal clamp is sized to engage to a native septal cusp of the tricuspid valve, and wherein the resilient posterior clamp is sized to engage to a native posterior cusp of the tricuspid valve” is treated as functional language, that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the modified device comprising of a plurality of resilient clamps, operable, upon transition from the insertion configuration to the operative configuration, to engage a native leaflet (see rejection above, one of the anchors being “the posterior clamp”, another being the ”anterior clamp”, and another being the “septal clamp”), the modified device would be capable of having a resilient anterior clamp, a resilient septal clamp, and a resilient posterior clamp, the resilient anterior clamp is sized to engage to a native anterior cusp of the tricuspid valve, wherein the resilient septal clamp is sized to engage to a native septal cusp of the tricuspid valve, and wherein the resilient posterior clamp is sized to engage to a native posterior cusp of the tricuspid valve.
Regarding Claim 16, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the structural cardiac valve is an aortic valve (see paragraphs [0221] and [0222] denoting that the valve 2310 is within the ring, and then coupled to a two or three leaflet valve).
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein plurality of resilient clamps includes a first resilient clamp, a second resilient clamp, and a third resilient clamp.
Becerra discloses a prosthetic valve designed to anchor into the heart for improved deployment, sealing, and anchoring into the implantation site (see Abstract). Becerra teaches wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold comprises a first resilient clamp, a second resilient clamp, and a third resilient clamp (see paragraph [0321], see also Figures 14 and 15 showing that there can be four anchors (clamps), see Figures 69 and 70 for the embodiment of the anchor 498 that clamps a leaflet against the device, see also paragraph [0196] denoting even more than 4 anchors/clamps can be connected to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a first resilient clamp, a second resilient clamp, and a third resilient clamp, as by doing so would enable the device to clamp a leaflet between the clamps and the device to secure a leaflet between the anchor and the device (see paragraph [0321]).
The limitation “the first resilient clamp is sized to engage a native right coronary cusp (RCC) of the aortic valve, wherein the second resilient clamp is sized to engage a native left coronary (LCC) cusp of the aortic valve, and wherein the third resilient clamp is sized to engage a native non-coronary cusp (NCC) of the aortic valve” is treated as functional language, that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the modified device comprising of a plurality of resilient clamps, operable, upon transition from the insertion configuration to the operative configuration, to engage a native leaflet (see rejection above, one of the anchors being “the first clamp”, another being the ”second clamp”, and another being the “third clamp”), the modified device would be capable of having a first resilient clamp, a second resilient clamp, and a third resilient clamp, the first resilient clamp is sized to engage a native right coronary cusp (RCC) of the aortic valve, wherein the second resilient clamp is sized to engage a native left coronary (LCC) cusp of the aortic valve, and wherein the third resilient clamp is sized to engage a native non-coronary cusp (NCC) of the aortic valve.
Regarding Claim 18, system of claim 4, wherein the hyperboloid of one sheet is asymmetric (see annotated prosthetic valve in Figure 23A above).
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein the longitudinal axis of the apical end is shorter than the longitudinal axis of the basal end. However, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. As well known in the art, the anatomy of a patient’s heart varies widely due to age, race, height, weight, health, injuries, birth defects, etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the longitudinal axis of the apical end be shorter than the longitudinal axis of the basal end for the purpose of accommodating a particular patient’s anatomy.” Additionally, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210015609 A1 (hereafter --Dumontelle--) in view of Becerra, Jansen and Reich, as applied to claim 12 above, in further view of US 6258122 B1 (hereafter --Tweden--).
Regarding Claim 13, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 12.
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein the sleeve is coated with an agent configured to promote neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth into the mesh fabric sleeve.
Tweden discloses heart valve annuloplasty devices to improve heart valve function (see Abstract). Tweden teaches wherein the device is coated with an agent configured to promote tissue ingrowth into the mesh fabric sleeve, such as platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include wherein the device is coated with an agent configured to promote tissue ingrowth into the mesh fabric sleeve, such as platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF), as by doing so would promote more tissue growth, as it may be further facilitated through use of growth factors as taught by Tweden (see column 7, lines 24-39).
The intended use recited in the claim (“neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth”) has been considered but deemed not to impose any structural difference between the claimed invention and Tweden’s device. Tweden’s device is structured as claimed and is therefore capable of being used for supporting neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth, as it’s capable of supporting general tissue ingrowth (see column 7, lines 24-39).
Regarding Claim 19, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the agent configured to promote tissue ingrowth into the mesh fabric sleeve is at least one of: insulin-like growth factor 1 (IGF-1), neuregulin, and platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF), or a composition comprising the foregoing (see claim 13 rejection above).
The intended use recited in the claim (“neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth”) has been considered but deemed not to impose any structural difference between the claimed invention and Tweden’s device. Tweden’s device is structured as claimed and is therefore capable of being used for supporting neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth, as it’s capable of supporting general tissue ingrowth (see column 7, lines 24-39).
Claims 6, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210015609 A1 (hereafter --Dumontelle--), in view of US 20250099232 A1 (hereafter –Becerra--), in further view of US 20120101567 A1 (hereafter –Jansen--), in even further view view of US 20190167425 A1 (hereafter –Reich--), as applied to claim 4 above, in even further view of US 20170189177 A1 (hereafter –Schweich--).
Regarding Claim 6, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4.
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, further comprises a plurality of apical fiducials, configured to orient the resilient prosthetic scaffold within the ring, relative to the structural cardiac valve.
Schweich discloses a resilient prosthetic valve scaffold for anchoring into the heart (see Figure 14, see also Abstract). Schweich teaches wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold, further comprises a plurality of apical fiducials (226) (see annotated fiducials in Figure 20 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a plurality of apical fiducials, as by doing so would enable the device to be capable of holding radiopaque marker material, attachment points for suture loops or other elements which are additional control points for delivery and retrieval of the assembly, locations to secure a positional delivery frame, and the like (see paragraph [0161]).
The limitation “configured to orient the resilient prosthetic scaffold within the ring, relative to the structural cardiac valve” is treated as functional language, that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the modified device having fiducials at the apical point that are able to act as control points for delivery and retrieval of the assembly (see paragraph [0161]), the fiducials are capable of orienting the resilient prosthetic scaffold within the ring, relative to the structural cardiac valve.
Regarding Claim 8, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4.
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold further comprises a plurality of apertures defined at a vertex of the hyperboloid.
Schweich teaches wherein the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold further comprises a plurality of apertures defined at the vertex (see annotated apertures in Figure 20 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a plurality of apertures defined at the hyperboloid vertex, as by doing so would enable the device to be capable of holding radiopaque marker material, attachment points for suture loops or other elements which are additional control points for delivery and retrieval of the assembly, locations to secure a positional delivery frame, and the like (see paragraph [0161]).
Regarding Claim 17, Dumontelle as modified discloses wherein the structural cardiac valve is a mitral valve (see paragraphs [0221] and [0222] denoting that the valve 2310 is within the ring, and then coupled to a two or three leaflet valve), the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold comprising a pair of spaced apart anterior fiducials and a single posterior fiducial (see claim 6 rejection above, one of the fiducials being anterior, another being posterior).
The limitation “configured to orient the resilient prosthetic scaffold within the ring such that the pair of spaced apart anterior fiducials are adjacent a left trigon and a right trigon” is treated as functional language, that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the modified device having fiducials at the apical point that are able to act as control points for delivery and retrieval of the assembly (see paragraph [0161]), the fiducials are capable of orienting the resilient prosthetic scaffold within the ring such that the pair of spaced apart anterior fiducials are adjacent the left trigon and the right trigon.
Claims 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210015609 A1 (hereafter --Dumontelle--), in view of US 20250099232 A1 (hereafter –Becerra--), in further view of US 20120101567 A1 (hereafter –Jansen--), in even further view of US 20190167425 A1 (hereafter –Reich--), as applied to claim 4 above, in even further view of US 20230028375 A1 (hereafter –Senesh--).
Regarding Claim 20, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 4.
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein the exterior of the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold is covered with the mesh fabric forming a continuous skirt, the continuous skirt comprises a woven fabric with a thread density configured to allow ingrowth of portion of the structural cardiac valve into the skirt, and provide a seal between the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold and the ring.
Senesh discloses a resilient prosthetic valve scaffold (100, see Abstract). Senesh teaches wherein the exterior of the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold is covered with the mesh fabric forming a continuous skirt, the continuous skirt comprises a woven fabric with a thread density configured to allow ingrowth of portion of the structural cardiac valve into the skirt, and provide a seal between the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold and the ring (see paragraph [0071], [0115], and [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold be covered with the mesh fabric forming a continuous skirt, the continuous skirt comprises a woven fabric with a thread density configured to allow ingrowth of portion of the structural cardiac valve into the skirt, and provide a seal between the resilient prosthetic valve scaffold and the ring, as by doing so would promote tissue growth for sealing of the valve against the native tissue (see paragraph [0070]).
Regarding Claim 22, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 20, further comprising a plurality of leaflets operably coupled to at least one of: the apertures, and the continuous skirt, the leaflets operable as the replacement structural cardiac valve (see paragraphs [0221] and [0222] denoting that the valve 2310 is within the ring, and then coupled to a two or three leaflet valve).
Regarding Claim 23, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 22, comprising four leaflets operable as replacement for a mitral valve (see paragraph [0214] denoting that there can be up to four valve leaflets within the valve prosthesis).
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210015609 A1 (hereafter --Dumontelle--), in view of US 20250099232 A1 (hereafter –Becerra--), in further view of US 20120101567 A1 (hereafter –Jansen--), in even further view of US 20190167425 A1 (hereafter –Reich--), in even further view of US 20230028375 A1 (hereafter –Senesh--), as applied to claim 20 above, in even further view of US 6258122 B1 (hereafter --Tweden--).
Regarding Claim 21, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 20.
Dumontelle as modified fails to disclose wherein the woven fabric is impregnated with an agent configured to promote neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth into the mesh fabric sleeve.
Tweden discloses heart valve annuloplasty devices to improve heart valve function (see Abstract). Tweden teaches wherein the device is coated with an agent configured to promote tissue ingrowth into the mesh fabric sleeve, such as platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the fabric be impregnated with an agent configured to promote tissue ingrowth into the mesh fabric sleeve, such as platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF), as by doing so would promote more tissue growth, as it may be further facilitated through use of growth factors as taught by Tweden (see column 7, lines 24-39).
The intended use recited in the claim (“neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth”) has been considered but deemed not to impose any structural difference between the claimed invention and Tweden’s device. Tweden’s device is structured as claimed and is therefore capable of being used for supporting neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth, as it’s capable of supporting general tissue ingrowth (see column 7, lines 24-39).
Regarding Claim 24, Dumontelle as modified discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the agent configured to promote neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth into the skirt is at least one of: insulin-like growth factor 1 (IGF-1), neuregulin, and platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF), or a composition comprising the foregoing (see claim 21 rejection above).
The intended use recited in the claim (“neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth”) has been considered but deemed not to impose any structural difference between the claimed invention and Tweden’s device. Tweden’s device is structured as claimed and is therefore capable of being used for supporting neo-endocardial tissue ingrowth, as it’s capable of supporting general tissue ingrowth (see column 7, lines 24-39).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774