Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0055 currently states “the filter 120 may have a frustoconical portion ad a proximal cylindrical portion”. This phrase contains a typo “ad”. Examiner suggests rephrasing as “the filter 120 may have a frustoconical portion 154 and a proximal cylindrical portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walvekar (WO 2021236941 A1) in view of Stephenson (US 20120247477 A1) and Weaver (US 20160220777 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Walvekar teaches a tracheal tube inner cannula comprising: a proximal segment (Fig. 4 where head 216 is analogous to a proximal segment) comprising: a proximal opening; and a proximal inner lumen having a first diameter (Fig. 4 where 221 is an opening on the head 216; paragraph 0083 “In one embodiment, the head 216 comprise a cross-sectional diameter of about 15 mm”); a distal segment comprising: a distal opening (Fig. 4 where the body 210 is analogous to a distal segment with a bottom opening); and an inner distal lumen having a second diameter that is smaller than the first diameter (paragraph 0087 “In one embodiment, the cross sectional diameter of the body 210 of the internal cannula is about 6.5 mm”).
Walvekar is silent on a tapered segment attached to the proximal segment and the distal segment, the tapered segment comprising: a tapered lumen having a proximal diameter that is substantially the same as the first diameter and a distal diameter that is substantially the same as the second diameter.
However, Stephenson teaches a tapered segment attached to the proximal and distal segments with a tapered lumen having a proximal diameter that is substantially the same as the first diameter and a distal diameter that is substantially the same as the second diameter (Fig. 2; paragraph 0022 "The cannula itself has a proximal end 58 which forms a tapered upper section 60 configured to fit against the inner surface of the connector body as described below. A lower tapered section 62 also contacts and interfaces with the inner surface of the connector body to retain the cannula in place within the connector").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include a tapered segment with the tapered diameters. The tapered segment creates a more secure connection between the proximal and distal segments or other connections (paragraph 0022 “A lower tapered section 62 also contacts and interfaces with the inner surface of the connector body to retain the cannula in place within the connector”).
Walvekar is silent on an integrated filter having a proximal filter diameter and a distal filter diameter, wherein the proximal filter diameter is greater than the distal filter diameter and the second diameter.
However, Weaver teaches an integrated filter with a proximal diameter greater than the distal diameter (Fig. 12 where filter assembly 460 is integrated within the cannula and has a proximal filter diameter larger than the distal filter diameter and second diameter 454).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include an integrated filter with proximal and distal diameters in a tapered shape. The filter can remove unwanted particles within the cannula and improve the air quality within the cannula (paragraph 0083 “The hydrophobic filter element 462 is such that it prevents saliva and mucus from being drawn into the channel, such as channel 454, and/or otherwise blocking or impeding the desired flow of sample gas”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 1.
Modified Walvekar is silent wherein the integrated filter is permanently affixed to a tube wall of the tapered lumen.
However, Weaver teaches an integrated filter permanently affixed to a tube wall of the tapered lumen (claim 6 “The oral cannula of claim 3 wherein the cap includes a body and a funnel that is housed within the body, and the filter housing is mounted to the funnel”; paragraph 0056 “Body 16 may be integrally formed with the tubing, or body 16 may be a unitary (that is, stand-alone) piece that has openings into which oxygen supply tubing 76 and ETCO2 sampling tubing 86 fit and are attached”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to permanently affix the filter to the tube wall. The affixation of the filter allows the filter to remain stationary within the cannula and maintain its orientation.
Regarding claim 3, Walvekar teaches wherein the first diameter is at least 1.5 times greater than the second diameter (paragraph 0084 " In alternate embodiments, the head 216 comprise a diameter of less than about 5 mm. The head 216 can comprise a diameter of greater than 15 mm. In embodiments, the diameter of the head 216 ranges from about 5 mm to about 25 mm"; paragraph 0087 "In alternate embodiments, the body 210 comprise a diameter of less than about 1 mm. The body 210 can comprise a diameter of greater than 6.5 mm. In embodiments, the diameter of the body 210 ranges from about 1 mm to about 15 mm").
Claim 4-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walvekar (WO 2021236941 A1) in view of Stephenson (US 20120247477 A1) and Weaver (US 20160220777 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Kilbride (WO 2017027754 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 1.
Modified Walvekar is silent wherein the integrated filter is a helical filter including a ramped filtering surface that wraps around a central axis.
However, Kilbride teaches a helical filter with a ramped filtering surface that wraps around a central axis (Fig. 20c; paragraph 0037 “FIGS.20A-20C illustrate solid cylindrical filtration devices having an opening at a distal planar end and another opening at the proximal planar end connected via a channel. The outer walls of the devices include a plurality of indentations that traverse from the distal planar end to the proximal planar end along a helical path”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include a helical filter with a ramped filtering surface that wraps around a central axis. The particular shape of the filter allows for defined channels for flow through the filter (paragraph 0052 “In certain embodiments, the outer wall of the filtration device may include indentations that allow for blood to traverse through an area between the outer wall of the filtration device and inner wall of the blood vessel. The indentations may be placed uniformly, for example, separated by a defined distance. The indentations may extend between the distal end and the proximal end of the filtration device in a straight line or a curved line”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 4.
Kilbride further teaches wherein the helical filter included at least one spiral turn (Fig. 20c shows multiple spiral turns).
Regarding claim 8, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 1.
Modified Walvekar is silent wherein the integrated filter further comprises: a distal cylindrical portion that extends into the distal inner lumen, the distal cylindrical portion having a substantially constant diameter; and a frustoconical portion positioned proximally from the distal cylindrical portion.
However, Kilbride teaches a filter with a distal cylindrical portion that extends into the distal inner lumen with a substantially constant diameter and a frustoconical portion positioned proximally from the cylindrical portion (paragraph 0063 "Figs.1A-1B illustrate a filtration device that include a solid cylindrical member comprising a tapered edge (a frustoconical leading edge)"; Fig. 1A shows the cylindrical portion has a constant diameter).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar include a filter with a distal cylindrical portion that extends into the distal inner lumen with a substantially constant diameter and a frustoconical portion positioned proximally from the cylindrical portion. The frustoconical shape better facilitates flow both through and around the filter (paragraph 0063 “Figs. 1A-1B illustrate a filtration device that include a solid cylindrical member comprising a tapered edge (a frustoconical leading edge) opposite a planar edge; paragraph 0070 “As is evident from the various filtration devices described herein, the filtration devices have a configuration to facilitate blood flow through and/or around the filtration device maximizing the surface area which is exposed to blood while minimizing the amount of resistance to the flow of blood”).
Claim 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walvekar (WO 2021236941 A1) in view of Stephenson (US 20120247477 A1), Weaver (US 20160220777 A1), and Kilbride (WO 2017027754 A1) as applied to claim 4 and in further view of Zhu (CN 110681017 A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 4.
Modified Walvekar is silent on further comprising a membrane filter positioned distally from the helical filter.
However, Zhu teaches a membrane filter positioned distally from the helical filter (page 6 paragraph 6 “As shown in FIG. 5, preferably, the pipe 102 away from the base 101 of one end is provided with a first filter screen 107; one end of pipe 102 connected with the base 101 is provided with a second filter screen 108. a first filter screen 107 and the second screen 108”; The filters 107 and 108 could be membrane filters and they are each positioned distally and proximally from each other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar include a membrane filter positioned distally from a helical filter. The additional filter allows for additional removal of foreign particles and reduce the harm of these particles to a patient’s health (page 6 paragraph 6 “it can achieve the function of filtrating the pipe, the pipe 102 in the passage to prevent foreign particles from the tube device 10 into the patient lumen, harm to patient health”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 4.
Modified Walvekar is silent on further comprising a membrane filter positioned proximally from the helical filter.
However, Zhu teaches a membrane filter positioned proximally from the helical filter (page 6 paragraph 6 “As shown in FIG. 5, preferably, the pipe 102 away from the base 101 of one end is provided with a first filter screen 107; one end of pipe 102 connected with the base 101 is provided with a second filter screen 108. a first filter screen 107 and the second screen 108”; The filters 107 and 108 could be membrane filters and they are each positioned distally and proximally from each other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar include a membrane filter positioned proximally from a helical filter. The additional filter allows for additional removal of foreign particles and reduce the harm of these particles to a patient’s health (page 6 paragraph 6 “it can achieve the function of filtrating the pipe, the pipe 102 in the passage to prevent foreign particles from the tube device 10 into the patient lumen, harm to patient health”).
Claims 9-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walvekar (WO 2021236941 A1) in view of Stephenson (US 20120247477 A1), Weaver (US 20160220777 A1), Kilbride (WO 2017027754 A1), and Anukhin (WO 2010077966 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Walvekar teaches a tracheal tube inner cannula comprising: a proximal segment (Fig. 4 where head 216 is analogous to a proximal segment); a distal segment (Fig. 4 where the body 210 is analogous to a distal segment).
Walvekar is silent on a tapered segment attached to the proximal segment and the distal segment, the tapered segment comprising: a tapered lumen.
However, Stephenson teaches a tapered segment attached to the proximal and distal segments with a tapered lumen (Fig. 2; paragraph 0022 "The cannula itself has a proximal end 58 which forms a tapered upper section 60 configured to fit against the inner surface of the connector body as described below. A lower tapered section 62 also contacts and interfaces with the inner surface of the connector body to retain the cannula in place within the connector").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include a tapered segment. The tapered segment creates a more secure connection between the proximal and distal segments or other connections (paragraph 0022 “A lower tapered section 62 also contacts and interfaces with the inner surface of the connector body to retain the cannula in place within the connector”).
Walvekar is silent on an integrated filter having a proximal filter diameter and a distal filter diameter, wherein the proximal filter diameter is greater than the distal filter diameter.
However, Weaver teaches an integrated filter with a proximal diameter greater than the distal diameter (Fig. 12 where filter assembly 460 is integrated within the cannula and has a proximal diameter at the top that is larger than the distal diameter at the bottom and larger than a distal segment diameter 454; claim 6 “The oral cannula of claim 3 wherein the cap includes a body and a funnel that is housed within the body, and the filter housing is mounted to the funnel” where the filter being mounted to the funnel is analogous to being integrated).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include an integrated filter with proximal and distal diameters in a tapered shape. The filter can remove unwanted particles within the cannula and improve the air quality within the cannula (paragraph 0083 “The hydrophobic filter element 462 is such that it prevents saliva and mucus from being drawn into the channel, such as channel 454, and/or otherwise blocking or impeding the desired flow of sample gas”).
Walvekar is silent on the integrated filter being a helical filter and the integrated helical filter having a ramped surface that wraps around a central axis at an angle such that the ramped surface extends distally through the integrated helical filter.
However, Kilbride teaches a helical filter with a ramped filtering surface that wraps around a central axis such that the ramped surface extended distally throughout the filter (Fig. 20c; paragraph 0037 “FIGS.20A-20C illustrate solid cylindrical filtration devices having an opening at a distal planar end and another opening at the proximal planar end connected via a channel. The outer walls of the devices include a plurality of indentations that traverse from the distal planar end to the proximal planar end along a helical path”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include a helical filter with a ramped filtering surface that wraps around a central axis that extends distally. The particular shape of the filter allows for defined channels for flow through the filter (paragraph 0052 “In certain embodiments, the outer wall of the filtration device may include indentations that allow for blood to traverse through an area between the outer wall of the filtration device and inner wall of the blood vessel. The indentations may be placed uniformly, for example, separated by a defined distance. The indentations may extend between the distal end and the proximal end of the filtration device in a straight line or a curved line”).
Walvekar is silent on the ramped surface including a coating to trap particulates as air flows through the integrated helical filter.
However, Anukhin teaches a coating to help trap particulates through the filter (page 9 paragraph 1 "Various beneficial agents may be applied to the filter material or the body 111 of the filter 100 to facilitate lysing of particulates and/or to facilitate a reduction in body lumen growth around the filter 100 while in place for long periods of time").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include a coating on the ramped surface to trap particulates. The coating promotes further removal of particulates, especially if the tube is in use for an extended period of time (page 9 paragraph 1 "Various beneficial agents may be applied to the filter material or the body 111 of the filter 100 to facilitate lysing of particulates and/or to facilitate a reduction in body lumen growth around the filter 100 while in place for long periods of time").
Regarding claim 10, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 9.
Walvekar further teaches the proximal segment includes a proximal inner lumen having a first diameter (paragraph 0083 “In one embodiment, the head 216 comprise a cross-sectional diameter of about 15 mm”); the distal segment includes an inner distal lumen having a second diameter that is smaller than the first diameter (paragraph 0087 “In one embodiment, the cross sectional diameter of the body 210 of the internal cannula is about 6.5 mm”).
Stephenson further teaches wherein the tapered segment has a proximal diameter that is substantially the same as the first diameter and a distal diameter that is substantially the same as the second diameter (paragraph 0022 "The cannula itself has a proximal end 58 which forms a tapered upper section 60 configured to fit against the inner surface of the connector body as described below. A lower tapered section 62 also contacts and interfaces with the inner surface of the connector body to retain the cannula in place within the connector”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 9.
Weaver further teaches wherein an outer surface of the filter contacts an interior surface (paragraph 0086 “filter assembly 460 is located on cap insert 440 such that circular flange 466 is in contact with a proximal rim of cap insert distal body 442, an outboard surface of filter skirt 468 is in contact with or within the inboard surface of distal portion 442 of insert body 440, and an outboard surface of insert channel 454 is in contact with or within an inboard surface of filter skirt 468”).
Modified Walvekar is silent wherein the surface is conical of the helical filter and the filter contacts the interior surface of the tapered segment.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar so that the outer conical surface of the helical filter contacts an interior surface of the tapered segment. It would have been obvious to have placed the helical filter of modified Walvekar in the tapered segment as they have a similar shape and would therefore fit together in a way that spans the entire cross section of the tube while still filtering in a position preceding the distal inner lumen. The filter can still achieve its intended purpose to remove unwanted particles within the cannula and improve the air quality within the cannula.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walvekar (WO 2021236941 A1) in view of Stephenson (US 20120247477 A1), Weaver (US 20160220777 A1), Kilbride (WO 2017027754 A1), and Anukhin (WO 2010077966 A1) as applied to claim 9 and in further view of Zhu (CN 110681017 A).
Regarding claim 11, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 9.
Modified Walvekar is silent on further comprising a membrane filter positioned in the proximal segment.
However, Zhu teaches a membrane filter positioned proximally (page 6 paragraph 6 “As shown in FIG. 5, preferably, the pipe 102 away from the base 101 of one end is provided with a first filter screen 107; one end of pipe 102 connected with the base 101 is provided with a second filter screen 108. a first filter screen 107 and the second screen 108”; The filters 107 and 108 could be membrane filters and they are each positioned distally and proximally from each other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar include a membrane filter positioned proximally. The additional filter allows for additional removal of foreign particles and reduce the harm of these particles to a patient’s health (page 6 paragraph 6 “it can achieve the function of filtrating the pipe, the pipe 102 in the passage to prevent foreign particles from the tube device 10 into the patient lumen, harm to patient health”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Walvekar teaches the cannula of claim 9.
Modified Walvekar is silent on further comprising a membrane filter positioned in the distal segment.
However, Zhu teaches a membrane filter positioned distally (page 6 paragraph 6 “As shown in FIG. 5, preferably, the pipe 102 away from the base 101 of one end is provided with a first filter screen 107; one end of pipe 102 connected with the base 101 is provided with a second filter screen 108. a first filter screen 107 and the second screen 108”; The filters 107 and 108 could be membrane filters and they are each positioned distally and proximally from each other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar include a membrane filter positioned distally. The additional filter allows for additional removal of foreign particles and reduce the harm of these particles to a patient’s health (page 6 paragraph 6 “it can achieve the function of filtrating the pipe, the pipe 102 in the passage to prevent foreign particles from the tube device 10 into the patient lumen, harm to patient health”).
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walvekar (WO 2021236941 A1) in view of Stephenson (US 20120247477 A1), Tupper (US 20240216637 A1), and Kilbride (WO 2017027754 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Walvekar teaches a tracheal tube assembly having an outer cannula and an inner cannula configured to be inserted into the outer cannula (paragraph 0070 “The outer cannula further comprises a lumen [more clearly seen at 321 of Figure 5], which is configured to receive and hold at least a portion of the inner cannula body 210”), the inner cannula comprising: a proximal segment (Fig. 4 where head 216 is analogous to a proximal segment) comprising: a proximal opening; and a proximal inner lumen having a first diameter (Fig. 4 where 221 is an opening on the head 216; paragraph 0083 “In one embodiment, the head 216 comprise a cross-sectional diameter of about 15 mm”); a distal segment comprising: a distal opening (Fig. 4 where the body 210 is analogous to a distal segment with a bottom opening); and an inner distal lumen having a second diameter that is smaller than the first diameter (paragraph 0087 “In one embodiment, the cross sectional diameter of the body 210 of the internal cannula is about 6.5 mm”).
Walvekar is silent on a tapered segment attached to the proximal segment and the distal segment, the tapered segment comprising: a tapered lumen having a proximal diameter that is substantially the same as the first diameter and a distal diameter that is substantially the same as the second diameter.
However, Stephenson teaches a tapered segment attached to the proximal and distal segments with a tapered lumen having a proximal diameter that is substantially the same as the first diameter and a distal diameter that is substantially the same as the second diameter (Fig. 2; paragraph 0022 "The cannula itself has a proximal end 58 which forms a tapered upper section 60 configured to fit against the inner surface of the connector body as described below. A lower tapered section 62 also contacts and interfaces with the inner surface of the connector body to retain the cannula in place within the connector").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include a tapered segment with the tapered diameters. The tapered segment creates a more secure connection between the proximal and distal segments or other connections (paragraph 0022 “A lower tapered section 62 also contacts and interfaces with the inner surface of the connector body to retain the cannula in place within the connector”).
Walvekar is silent on an integrated filter positioned in at least one of the proximal segment, the distal segment, or the tapered segment.
However, Tupper teaches an integrated filter positioned in the proximal segment (Fig. 2; paragraph 0019 “The HME element 23 could include a filter, such as in the enlarged machine end portion 34”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include an integrated filter positioned in the proximal segment, distal segment, or the tapered segment. The filter positioned in the proximal segment allows for immediate contact and filtration of the inspired air (paragraph 0020 “When the patient inhales air is drawn in through the HME element 23, through the HME device 2 and connector 13 and into the bore of the tracheostomy tube 1”).
Walvekar is silent on the integrated filter being a helical filter and the integrated helical filter having a ramped surface that wraps around a central axis at an angle such that the ramped surface extends distally through the integrated helical filter.
However, Kilbride teaches a helical filter with a ramped filtering surface that wraps around a central axis such that the ramped surface extended distally throughout the filter (Fig. 20c; paragraph 0037 “FIGS.20A-20C illustrate solid cylindrical filtration devices having an opening at a distal planar end and another opening at the proximal planar end connected via a channel. The outer walls of the devices include a plurality of indentations that traverse from the distal planar end to the proximal planar end along a helical path”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include a helical filter with a ramped filtering surface that wraps around a central axis that extends distally. The particular shape of the filter allows for defined channels for flow through the filter (paragraph 0052 “In certain embodiments, the outer wall of the filtration device may include indentations that allow for blood to traverse through an area between the outer wall of the filtration device and inner wall of the blood vessel. The indentations may be placed uniformly, for example, separated by a defined distance. The indentations may extend between the distal end and the proximal end of the filtration device in a straight line or a curved line”).
Regarding claim 17, modified Walvekar teaches the assembly of claim 16.
Modified Walvekar is silent wherein the integrated helical filter is positioned in the tapered segment.
However, the product disclosed by the prior art is identical to the claimed product, even though it is arranged differently. The prior art shows the filter being arranged before the distal inner lumen while still serving the same purpose as the claimed filter. There is no evidence to show that the claimed arrangement and location of parts imparts any patentable distinction between the claimed product and that of the prior art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7. See also MPEP § 2144.
Regarding claim 19, modified Walvekar teaches the assembly of claim 16.
Modified Walvekar is silent wherein the integrated helical filter includes a frustoconical portion, positioned in the tapered segment, and a distal cylindrical portion positioned in the distal segment.
However, Kilbride teaches a filter with a frustoconical portion and distal cylindrical portion (paragraph 0063 "Figs.1A-1B illustrate a filtration device that include a solid cylindrical member comprising a tapered edge (a frustoconical leading edge)"; Fig. 1A shows the cylindrical and frustoconical portions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar include a filter with a frustoconical portion and distal cylindrical portion. The frustoconical shape better facilitates flow both through and around the filter (paragraph 0063 “Figs. 1A-1B illustrate a filtration device that include a solid cylindrical member comprising a tapered edge (a frustoconical leading edge) opposite a planar edge; paragraph 0070 “As is evident from the various filtration devices described herein, the filtration devices have a configuration to facilitate blood flow through and/or around the filtration device maximizing the surface area which is exposed to blood while minimizing the amount of resistance to the flow of blood”). It would have been obvious to position the frustoconical portion in the tapered segment and cylindrical portion in the distal segment as the frustoconical shape is designed to fit in a similarly shaped segment and the cylindrical must therefore be positioned distally from frustoconical portion based on the shape of the filter. The filter would only fit in the cannula if the frustoconical portion is positioned in the tapered segment and the cylindrical portion is positioned in the distal segment.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walvekar (WO 2021236941 A1) in view of Stephenson (US 20120247477 A1), Tupper (US 20240216637 A1), and Kilbride (WO 2017027754 A1) as applied to claim 16 and in further view of Weaver (US 20160220777 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Walvekar teaches the assembly of claim 16.
Tupper further teaches wherein the filter is positioned in at least one of the proximal segment or the distal segment (Fig. 2 shows where 34 is positioned in an area analogous to a proximal segment; paragraph 0019 “The HME element 23 could include a filter, such as in the enlarged machine end portion 34”).
Modified Walvekar is silent on wherein the integrated helical filter has a diameter that is greater than the second diameter, and the integrated helical filter is positioned in at least one of the proximal segment or the distal segment.
However, Weaver teaches an integrated filter with a diameter greater than a distal diameter (Fig. 12 where filter assembly 460 is integrated within the cannula and has a distal diameter at the bottom and larger than a distal segment diameter 454).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include an integrated filter with a diameter greater than a second diameter in a distal segment. The larger diameter in the filter can occupy more airflow and thereby filter more air before narrowing the flow into a smaller diameter, creating an efficient airflow path.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walvekar (WO 2021236941 A1) in view of Stephenson (US 20120247477 A1), Tupper (US 20240216637 A1), and Kilbride (WO 2017027754 A1) as applied to claim 16 and in further view of Anukhin (WO 2010077966 A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Walvekar teaches the assembly of claim 16.
Modified Walvekar is silent wherein the ramped surface of the integrated helical filter includes a coating that traps particulates of air flowing through the integrated helical filter.
However, Anukhin teaches a coating to help trap particulates through the filter (page 9 paragraph 1 "Various beneficial agents may be applied to the filter material or the body 111 of the filter 100 to facilitate lysing of particulates and/or to facilitate a reduction in body lumen growth around the filter 100 while in place for long periods of time").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Walvekar to include a coating on the ramped surface to trap particulates. The coating promotes further removal of particulates, especially if the tube is in use for an extended period of time (page 9 paragraph 1 "Various beneficial agents may be applied to the filter material or the body 111 of the filter 100 to facilitate lysing of particulates and/or to facilitate a reduction in body lumen growth around the filter 100 while in place for long periods of time").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 12 and 14, the closest prior art of record is Zhu (CN 110681017 A) and Haley (US 20100152765 A1).
The prior art does not specifically teach where a membrane filter is configured to filter a size of particulates greater than or less than a second size of particulates filtered by the helical filter. While the prior art does show these filters being positioned appropriately from each other as mentioned above, there is no mention about these filters configured for different sized particulates relative to each other.
Conclusion
/AKHIL A JAYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785