DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Communication is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the Amendments, Remarks, and Arguments filed on the 14th day of March, 2024. Currently Claims 1-20 are pending. No claims are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) with no practical application and without significantly more.
Under MPEP 2106, when considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (step 1). If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (step 2A prong 1), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is integrated into a practical application (step 2A prong 2). If an abstract idea is present in the claim without integration into a practical application, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (step 2B).
In the instant case, claims 1-20 are directed to a system and method. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (step 1). However, the claims also fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea (step 2). While claims 1, 8, and 20, are directed to different categories, the language and scope are substantially the same and have been addressed together below.
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the test is to identify whether the claims are “directed to” a judicial exception. Examiner notes that the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea in that the instant application is directed to certain methods of organizing human activity specifically commercial interactions and behaviors and managing personal behavior and/or interactions between people (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)) and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 1. A computing system for facilitating an assertion of virtual rights associated with a real property for an assertive entity, the computing system comprising: a processing element configured to: maintain a database of virtual rights associated with real properties including the real property; create a user account corresponding to the assertive entity; associate the user account with the real property; and generate a notice representing the assertion of virtual rights by the assertive entity of the real property; and a communications element configured to: receive, via a network, a signal representative of an instruction to create the user account and a signal representative of data for creating the user account; and transmit the notice over the network.
Claim 8. A computer-implemented method of facilitating an assertion of virtual rights associated with a real property for an assertive entity, the computer-implemented method comprising steps of: maintaining a database of virtual rights associated with real properties including the real property; creating a user account corresponding to the assertive entity; associating the user account with the real property; and generating a notice representing the assertion of virtual rights by the assertive entity of the real property.
Claim 20. A computer-implemented method of facilitating an assertion of virtual rights associated with a real property for an assertive entity, the computer-implemented method comprising steps of: maintaining a database of virtual rights associated with real properties including the real property; assigning a unique identifier to the real property creating a user account corresponding to the assertive entity; associating the user account with the real property by linking the unique identifier to the user account; generating a publicly-accessible computer record including a notice representing the assertion of virtual rights by the assertive entity of the real property; generating a downloadable public notice document recordable in a government record; retaining a copy of the public notice document in recorded form in the database as verification the public notice form has been recorded; directing a mobile computing device query of a physical sign present at the real property to a database entry associated with the real property; providing the notice to a third party upon receiving a fee and verifying consent of the assertive entity; tokenizing the notice into a nonfungible token; and presenting a decentralized marketplace for the nonfungible token for leasing, licensing, and selling the virtual rights.
Examiner notes that claims 1-20 recite a method and system for receiving records related digital assets and their associated rights, storing a copy of the asserted right, maintaining a database of virtual rights, and presenting for display a decentralized marketplace of digital assets which is directed to concepts that are performed mentally and a product of human mental work. Because the limitations above closely follow the steps of maintaining a database of virtual rights associated with real properties including the real property; creating a user account corresponding to the assertive entity; associating the user account with the real property; and generating a notice representing the assertion of virtual rights by the assertive entity of the real property, and the steps involved human judgments, observations and evaluations that can be practically or reasonably performed in the human mind, the claim recites an abstract idea consistent with the “mental process” grouping set forth in the see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Alternatively, Examiner notes that claims 1-20 recite a method and system directed to managing accounts and transactions related to digital assets, and is similar to the abstract idea identified in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) in grouping “II” in that the claims recite certain methods of organizing human activity such as business and legal interactions and fundamental economic principles. This is merely further embellishments of the abstract idea and does not further limit the claimed invention to render the claims patentable subject matter. The limitations, substantially comprising the body of the claim, recite standard processes found in standard practice in property transactions. Assets and ownership data is store and presented in a record. This is common practice when purchasing any form of property. A substantiated record is stored related to properties, the information is presented to potential prospective buyers, and then a transaction is implemented. Because the limitations above closely follow the steps standard in interactions between people and businesses such as property transactions or assets transactions, and the steps of the claims involve organizing human activity, the claim recites an abstract idea consistent with the “organizing human activity” grouping set forth in the see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II).
The conclusion that the claim recites an abstract idea within the groupings of the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) remains grounded in the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the description of the invention in the specification. For example, [App. Spec 3], “providing systems and methods for facilitating claiming, verifying, recording, asserting, and enforcing virtual rights associated with a real property”. Accordingly, the Examiner submits claims 1-20, recite an abstract idea based on the language identified in claims 1, 8 and 20, and the abstract ideas previously identified based on that language that remains consistent with the groupings of Step 2A Prong 1 of the MPEP 2106.04(a)(1).
If the claims are directed toward the judicial exception of an abstract idea, it must then be determined under Step 2A Prong 2 whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. Examiner notes that considerations under Step 2A Prong 2 comprise most the consideration previously evaluated in the context of Step 2B. The Examiner submits that the considerations discussed previously determined that the claim does not recite “significantly more” at Step 2B would be evaluated the same under Step 2A Prong 1 and result in the determination that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The instant application fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the instant application merely recites words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea. The instant application is directed to a method instructing the reader to implement the identified method of organizing human activity of business legal interactions, risk management, and fundamental business practices (i.e., transacting digital assets) on generically claimed computer structure. For instance, the additional elements or combination of elements other than the abstract idea itself include the elements such as “processor”, “decentralized marketplace” recited at a high level of generality. These elements do not themselves amount to an improvement to the interface or computer, to a technology or another technical field. This is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure which states that the computing device comprises of “The memory 104 may be any computer-readable non-transitory medium that can store a program for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device. The computer-readable medium can be, for example, but not limited to, an electronic, magnetic, optical, electro-magnetic, infrared, or semi-conductor system, apparatus, or device. More specific, although not inclusive, examples of the computer-readable medium would include the following: an electrical connection having one or more wires, a portable computer diskette, a random access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an erasable, programmable, read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), an optical fiber, and a portable compact disk read-only memory (CDROM).”. (App. Spec. ¶ 18).
Accordingly, the claimed “system” read in light of the specification employs any wide range of possible devices comprising a number of components that are “well-known” and included in an indiscriminate “computer”, “processor”, “database”, and “website” (e.g., processing device, modules). Thus, the claimed structure amounts to appending generic computer elements to abstract idea comprising the body of the claim. The computing elements are only involved at a general, high level, and do not have the particular role within any of the functions but to be an computer-implemented method using a generically claimed “computer”, “processor”, “database”, and “website” and even basic, generic recitations that imply use of the computer such as storing information via servers would add little if anything to the abstract idea.
Similarly, reciting the abstract idea as software functions used to program a generic computer is not significant or meaningful: generic computers are programmed with software to perform various functions every day. A programmed generic computer is not a particular machine and by itself does not amount to an inventive concept because, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a), adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or more instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, as discussed in Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)), is not enough to integrate the exception into a practical application. Further, it is not relevant that a human may perform a task differently from a computer. It is necessarily true that a human might apply an abstract idea in a different manner from a computer. What matters is the application, “stating an abstract idea while adding the words ‘apply it with a computer’” will not render an abstract idea non-abstract. Tranxition v. Lenovo, Nos. 2015-1907, -1941, -1958 (Fed. Cir. Nov. 16, 2016), slip op. at 7-8.
Here, the instructions entirely comprise the abstract idea, leaving little if any aspects of the claim for further consideration under Step 2A Prong 2. In short, the role of the generic computing elements recited in claims 1-20, is the same as the role of the computer in the claims considered by the Supreme Court in Alice, and the claim as whole amounts merely to an instruction to apply the abstract idea on the generic computerised system. Therefore, the claims have failed to integrate a practical application (2106.04(d)). Under the MPEP 2106.05, this supports the conclusion that the claim is directed to an abstract idea, and the analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
While many considerations in Step 2A need not be reevaluated in Step 2B because the outcome will be the same. Here, on the basis of the additional elements other than the abstract idea, considered individually and in combination as discussed above, the Examiner respectfully submits that the claims 1-20, does not contain any additional elements that individually or as an ordered combination amount to an inventive concept and the claims are ineligible.
With respect to the dependent claims do not recite anything that is found to render the abstract idea as being transformed into a patent eligible invention. The dependent claims are merely reciting further embellishments of the abstract idea and do not claim anything that amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 2-7 and 9-19 are directed to further embellishments of the abstract idea in that they are directed to aspects of the domain registration process and ownership validation of domain names which is the central theme of the abstract idea identified above, as well as being directed to data processing and transmission which the courts have recognized as insignificant extra-solution activities (see at least M.P.E.P. 2106.05(g)). Data transmission is one of the most basic and fundamental uses there are for a generic computing device is not sufficient to amount to significantly more. The examiner takes the position that simply appending the judicial exception with such a well understood step of data transmission is not going to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220198562 A1 to Cella et al. (hereinafter Cella).
Referring to Claim 1, Cella discloses a computing system for facilitating an assertion of virtual rights associated with a real property for an assertive entity (see at least Cella: Abstract), the computing system comprising:
a processing element (see at least Cella: ¶ 222) configured to:
maintain a database of virtual rights associated with real properties including the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 921 “account management system 16846 may be configured to, together with the ledger management system 16910, facilitate intake of data from registered users of the distributed ledger 16808, such as name, address, company affiliation, financial account information (e.g., bank account numbers and/or routing numbers), digital identifiers (e.g., IP addresses, MAC addresses, and the like), and any other suitable information related to the registered users.”; see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081; see also Cella: ¶ 1086; see also Cella: ¶ 1000 “knowledge token 17038 is a non-fungible token. Non-fungible token or NFT represents a digital knowledge asset that is unique, or one-of-a-kind and has at least a unique identifier, and/or other distinguishable asset-specific information”; see also Cella: ¶ 1170 “where the data is intended to be tagged to the asset, such as where the data relates uniquely to the particular asset (e.g., to a unique identifier for the individual asset)… the IoT devices in a geofence can collectively validate location and identity of a fixed asset that is tagged by a virtual asset tag, such as where peers or neighbors validate other peers or neighbors as being in a given location, thereby validating the unique identity and location of the asset. Validation can use voting protocols, consensus protocols, or the like. In embodiments, identity of the financial entities that are tagged can be maintained in a blockchain. In embodiments, an asset tag may include information that is related to a digital thread 3484, such as historical information about an asset, its components, its history, and the like.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1482 “a method 7300 for automated smart contract creation and collateral assignment is depicted. The method 7300 may include receiving first and second collateral data regarding an item of collateral 7302, creating a smart lending contract 7304, associating the collateral data with a unique identifier for the item of collateral 7308, and storing the unique identifier and the collateral in a blockchain structure 7310. The method may further include interpreting a condition of the collateral based on the collateral data 7312, identifying a collateral event 7314, reporting a collateral event 7318, and performing an action in response to the collateral 7320.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1713);
create a user account corresponding to the assertive entity (see at least Cella: ¶ 921 “account management system 16846 may be configured to, together with the ledger management system 16910, facilitate intake of data from registered users of the distributed ledger 16808, such as name, address, company affiliation, financial account information (e.g., bank account numbers and/or routing numbers), digital identifiers (e.g., IP addresses, MAC addresses, and the like), and any other suitable information related to the registered users.”; see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081; see also Cella: ¶ 1086);
associate the user account with the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081 “the method may further include creating a user account 19424, receiving a request from a user account to display data related to an instance of the digital knowledge 19428, confirming access to the instance of the digital knowledge allowed for the user account 19430, and presenting a user interface configured to display the data related to an instance of the digital knowledge 19432.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1086; see also Cella: ¶ 226, 249-250, 261-262, : discussing how the items and services include real estate property); and
generate a notice representing the assertion of virtual rights by the assertive entity of the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 1044 “Referring to FIG. 175, knowledge distribution system 17500 for controlling rights related to digital knowledge is depicted. The knowledge distribution system 17500 may include an input system 17802, a tokenization system 17812, a ledger management system 17818, and a smart contract system 17824. In some embodiments the knowledge distribution system 17500 may further include a smart contract generator 17858, an execution system 17510, a reporting system 17514, and a crowdsourcing module 17516.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1070-1072 “In embodiments, and with reference to FIG. 186 through FIG. 188, a computer-implemented method 18600 for controlling rights related to digital knowledge is depicted. The computer-implemented method 18600 may include crowdsourcing information regarding the digital knowledge (step 18602) where the crowdsourced information may include: an element of the instance of the digital knowledge 18702, information regarding an element of the instance of the digital knowledge 18704, information regarding the knowledge provider 18708, information regarding the knowledge recipient 18710, and the like.”); and
a communications element configured to: receive, via a network, a signal representative of an instruction to create the user account and a signal representative of data for creating the user account (see at least Cella: ¶ 921 “account management system 16846 may be configured to, together with the ledger management system 16910, facilitate intake of data from registered users of the distributed ledger 16808, such as name, address, company affiliation, financial account information (e.g., bank account numbers and/or routing numbers), digital identifiers (e.g., IP addresses, MAC addresses, and the like), and any other suitable information related to the registered users.”; see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081; see also Cella: ¶ 1086); and
transmit the notice over the network (see at least Cella: ¶ 1044 “Referring to FIG. 175, knowledge distribution system 17500 for controlling rights related to digital knowledge is depicted. The knowledge distribution system 17500 may include an input system 17802, a tokenization system 17812, a ledger management system 17818, and a smart contract system 17824. In some embodiments the knowledge distribution system 17500 may further include a smart contract generator 17858, an execution system 17510, a reporting system 17514, and a crowdsourcing module 17516.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1070-1072 “In embodiments, and with reference to FIG. 186 through FIG. 188, a computer-implemented method 18600 for controlling rights related to digital knowledge is depicted. The computer-implemented method 18600 may include crowdsourcing information regarding the digital knowledge (step 18602) where the crowdsourced information may include: an element of the instance of the digital knowledge 18702, information regarding an element of the instance of the digital knowledge 18704, information regarding the knowledge provider 18708, information regarding the knowledge recipient 18710, and the like.”).
Referring to Claim 2, Cella discloses the system of claim 1, including the processing element being further configured to assign a unique identifier to the real property and link the unique identifier to the user account to associate the user account with the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 921 “account management system 16846 may be configured to, together with the ledger management system 16910, facilitate intake of data from registered users of the distributed ledger 16808, such as name, address, company affiliation, financial account information (e.g., bank account numbers and/or routing numbers), digital identifiers (e.g., IP addresses, MAC addresses, and the like), and any other suitable information related to the registered users.”; see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081; see also Cella: ¶ 1086; see also Cella: ¶ 1000 “knowledge token 17038 is a non-fungible token. Non-fungible token or NFT represents a digital knowledge asset that is unique, or one-of-a-kind and has at least a unique identifier, and/or other distinguishable asset-specific information”; see also Cella: ¶ 1170 “where the data is intended to be tagged to the asset, such as where the data relates uniquely to the particular asset (e.g., to a unique identifier for the individual asset)… the IoT devices in a geofence can collectively validate location and identity of a fixed asset that is tagged by a virtual asset tag, such as where peers or neighbors validate other peers or neighbors as being in a given location, thereby validating the unique identity and location of the asset. Validation can use voting protocols, consensus protocols, or the like. In embodiments, identity of the financial entities that are tagged can be maintained in a blockchain. In embodiments, an asset tag may include information that is related to a digital thread 3484, such as historical information about an asset, its components, its history, and the like.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1482 “a method 7300 for automated smart contract creation and collateral assignment is depicted. The method 7300 may include receiving first and second collateral data regarding an item of collateral 7302, creating a smart lending contract 7304, associating the collateral data with a unique identifier for the item of collateral 7308, and storing the unique identifier and the collateral in a blockchain structure 7310. The method may further include interpreting a condition of the collateral based on the collateral data 7312, identifying a collateral event 7314, reporting a collateral event 7318, and performing an action in response to the collateral 7320.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1713).
Referring to Claim 3, Cella discloses the system of claim 1, including the processing element being further configured to generate a publicly-accessible computer record (see at least Cella: ¶ 327 “verify ownership may include reference to bills of sale, government documentation of transfer of ownership, a legal will transferring ownership, documentation of retirement of liens on the item of property, verification of assignment of Intellectual Property to the proposed borrower in the appropriate jurisdiction, and the like. For real-estate property validation may include a review of deeds and records at a courthouse of a country, a state, a county, or a district in which a building, a home, real estate property, undeveloped land, a farm, a crop, a municipal facility, a vehicle, a ship, a plane, or a warehouse is located or registered”).
Referring to Claim 4, Cella discloses the system of claim 3, including the publicly-accessible computer record including a downloadable public notice document recordable in a government record (see at least Cella: ¶ 327 “verify ownership may include reference to bills of sale, government documentation of transfer of ownership, a legal will transferring ownership, documentation of retirement of liens on the item of property, verification of assignment of Intellectual Property to the proposed borrower in the appropriate jurisdiction, and the like. For real-estate property validation may include a review of deeds and records at a courthouse of a country, a state, a county, or a district in which a building, a home, real estate property, undeveloped land, a farm, a crop, a municipal facility, a vehicle, a ship, a plane, or a warehouse is located or registered”).
Referring to Claim 5, Cella discloses the system of claim 1, including the communications element being further configured to receive a signal representative of a mobile computing device query of a physical sign present at the real property, the processing element being further configured direct the query to a database entry associated with the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 359).
Referring to Claim 6, Cella discloses the system of claim 1, including the processing element being configured to transmit, via the communications element, a signal representative of the assertion of virtual rights to a third party website (see at least Cella: ¶ 327 “verify ownership may include reference to bills of sale, government documentation of transfer of ownership, a legal will transferring ownership, documentation of retirement of liens on the item of property, verification of assignment of Intellectual Property to the proposed borrower in the appropriate jurisdiction, and the like. For real-estate property validation may include a review of deeds and records at a courthouse of a country, a state, a county, or a district in which a building, a home, real estate property, undeveloped land, a farm, a crop, a municipal facility, a vehicle, a ship, a plane, or a warehouse is located or registered”).
Referring to Claim 7, Cella discloses the system of claim 1, including the processing element being further configured to tokenize the notice into a nonfungible token (see at least Cella: ¶ 913, 948, 998, 1044-1045, 1062, 1072 and 1082: tokenization system; see also Cella: ¶ 1000-1009: discussing the use of NFTs).
Referring to Claim 8, Cella discloses a computer-implemented method of facilitating an assertion of virtual rights associated with a real property for an assertive entity (see at least Cella: Abstract), the computer-implemented method comprising steps of:
maintaining a database of virtual rights associated with real properties including the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 921 “account management system 16846 may be configured to, together with the ledger management system 16910, facilitate intake of data from registered users of the distributed ledger 16808, such as name, address, company affiliation, financial account information (e.g., bank account numbers and/or routing numbers), digital identifiers (e.g., IP addresses, MAC addresses, and the like), and any other suitable information related to the registered users.”; see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081; see also Cella: ¶ 1086; see also Cella: ¶ 1000 “knowledge token 17038 is a non-fungible token. Non-fungible token or NFT represents a digital knowledge asset that is unique, or one-of-a-kind and has at least a unique identifier, and/or other distinguishable asset-specific information”; see also Cella: ¶ 1170 “where the data is intended to be tagged to the asset, such as where the data relates uniquely to the particular asset (e.g., to a unique identifier for the individual asset)… the IoT devices in a geofence can collectively validate location and identity of a fixed asset that is tagged by a virtual asset tag, such as where peers or neighbors validate other peers or neighbors as being in a given location, thereby validating the unique identity and location of the asset. Validation can use voting protocols, consensus protocols, or the like. In embodiments, identity of the financial entities that are tagged can be maintained in a blockchain. In embodiments, an asset tag may include information that is related to a digital thread 3484, such as historical information about an asset, its components, its history, and the like.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1482 “a method 7300 for automated smart contract creation and collateral assignment is depicted. The method 7300 may include receiving first and second collateral data regarding an item of collateral 7302, creating a smart lending contract 7304, associating the collateral data with a unique identifier for the item of collateral 7308, and storing the unique identifier and the collateral in a blockchain structure 7310. The method may further include interpreting a condition of the collateral based on the collateral data 7312, identifying a collateral event 7314, reporting a collateral event 7318, and performing an action in response to the collateral 7320.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1713);
creating a user account corresponding to the assertive entity(see at least Cella: ¶ 921 “account management system 16846 may be configured to, together with the ledger management system 16910, facilitate intake of data from registered users of the distributed ledger 16808, such as name, address, company affiliation, financial account information (e.g., bank account numbers and/or routing numbers), digital identifiers (e.g., IP addresses, MAC addresses, and the like), and any other suitable information related to the registered users.”; see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081; see also Cella: ¶ 1086);
associating the user account with the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081 “the method may further include creating a user account 19424, receiving a request from a user account to display data related to an instance of the digital knowledge 19428, confirming access to the instance of the digital knowledge allowed for the user account 19430, and presenting a user interface configured to display the data related to an instance of the digital knowledge 19432.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1086; see also Cella: ¶ 226, 249-250, 261-262, : discussing how the items and services include real estate property); and
generating a notice representing the assertion of virtual rights by the assertive entity of the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 1044 “Referring to FIG. 175, knowledge distribution system 17500 for controlling rights related to digital knowledge is depicted. The knowledge distribution system 17500 may include an input system 17802, a tokenization system 17812, a ledger management system 17818, and a smart contract system 17824. In some embodiments the knowledge distribution system 17500 may further include a smart contract generator 17858, an execution system 17510, a reporting system 17514, and a crowdsourcing module 17516.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1070-1072 “In embodiments, and with reference to FIG. 186 through FIG. 188, a computer-implemented method 18600 for controlling rights related to digital knowledge is depicted. The computer-implemented method 18600 may include crowdsourcing information regarding the digital knowledge (step 18602) where the crowdsourced information may include: an element of the instance of the digital knowledge 18702, information regarding an element of the instance of the digital knowledge 18704, information regarding the knowledge provider 18708, information regarding the knowledge recipient 18710, and the like.”).
Referring to Claim 9, Cella discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising a step of assigning a unique identifier to the real property, the step of associating the user account with the real property including linking the unique identifier to the user account (see at least Cella: ¶ 921 “account management system 16846 may be configured to, together with the ledger management system 16910, facilitate intake of data from registered users of the distributed ledger 16808, such as name, address, company affiliation, financial account information (e.g., bank account numbers and/or routing numbers), digital identifiers (e.g., IP addresses, MAC addresses, and the like), and any other suitable information related to the registered users.”; see at least Cella: ¶ 92-922 “the knowledge distribution system 16802 may include an account management system. In embodiments, the account management system 16846 may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808. For example, the account management system 16846 may be configured to facilitate registration of one or more of the knowledge providers 16806, the knowledge recipients 16818, the crowdsourcers 16836, and/or other third parties that may be associated with the knowledge distribution system 16802, the knowledge distribution system 16802, and/or the distributed ledger 16808.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1055, 1076, and 1081; see also Cella: ¶ 1086; see also Cella: ¶ 1000 “knowledge token 17038 is a non-fungible token. Non-fungible token or NFT represents a digital knowledge asset that is unique, or one-of-a-kind and has at least a unique identifier, and/or other distinguishable asset-specific information”; see also Cella: ¶ 1170 “where the data is intended to be tagged to the asset, such as where the data relates uniquely to the particular asset (e.g., to a unique identifier for the individual asset)… the IoT devices in a geofence can collectively validate location and identity of a fixed asset that is tagged by a virtual asset tag, such as where peers or neighbors validate other peers or neighbors as being in a given location, thereby validating the unique identity and location of the asset. Validation can use voting protocols, consensus protocols, or the like. In embodiments, identity of the financial entities that are tagged can be maintained in a blockchain. In embodiments, an asset tag may include information that is related to a digital thread 3484, such as historical information about an asset, its components, its history, and the like.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1482 “a method 7300 for automated smart contract creation and collateral assignment is depicted. The method 7300 may include receiving first and second collateral data regarding an item of collateral 7302, creating a smart lending contract 7304, associating the collateral data with a unique identifier for the item of collateral 7308, and storing the unique identifier and the collateral in a blockchain structure 7310. The method may further include interpreting a condition of the collateral based on the collateral data 7312, identifying a collateral event 7314, reporting a collateral event 7318, and performing an action in response to the collateral 7320.”; see also Cella: ¶ 1713).
Referring to Claim 10, Cella discloses the method of claim 1, the step of generating a notice including generating a publicly-accessible computer record including the notice (see at least Cella: ¶ 327 “verify ownership may include reference to bills of sale, government documentation of transfer of ownership, a legal will transferring ownership, documentation of retirement of liens on the item of property, verification of assignment of Intellectual Property to the proposed borrower in the appropriate jurisdiction, and the like. For real-estate property validation may include a review of deeds and records at a courthouse of a country, a state, a county, or a district in which a building, a home, real estate property, undeveloped land, a farm, a crop, a municipal facility, a vehicle, a ship, a plane, or a warehouse is located or registered”).
Referring to Claim 11, Cella discloses the method of claim 10, the publicly-accessible computer record being a website (see at least Cella: ¶ 1334: “The blockchain and smart contract platform 5200 may include a crowdsourcing interface 5220, which may be included in or provided in coordination with a website, application, dashboard, communications system (such as for sending emails, texts, voice messages, advertisements, broadcast messages, or other messages), by which a message may be presented in the interface 5220 or sent to relevant individuals (whether targeted, such as in the case of a request to a particular individual, or broadcast, such as to individuals in a given location, company, organization, or the like) with an appropriate link to the smart contract 3431 and associated blockchain 3422, such that a reply message submitting information 4418, with relevant attachments, links, or other information, can be automatically associated (such as via an API or data integration system) with the blockchain 3422, such that the blockchain 3422, and any optionally associated distributed ledger, maintains a secure, definitive record of information 17862 submitted in response to the request”; see also Cella: ¶ 1338 “a component 5312 the blockchain 3422 and smart contract 3431 may be deployed in the platform-operated marketplace 5201, external marketplace 5204 or other site or environment, such as for interaction by one or more submitters or other users, who may, such as in a crowdsourcing interface 5220, such as a website, application, or the like, enter into the smart contract 3431”; see at least Cella: ¶ 1257 “the blockchain and smart contract platform 4400 may include a dashboard 4414 for configuration of the specification, requirements or other conditions 4410, the reward 4412, timing and other parameters 4408 (such as any required qualifications, formats, geographical requirements, certifications, credentials, or the like that may be required of a submission or a submitter), and the blockchain and smart contract platform 4400 may automatically configure a blockchain 3422 to store the parameters 4408 and a smart contract 3431 to operate, such as in coordination with a website, application, or other marketplace environments, to offer the reward 4412, receive and record submissions 4418 (such as on the blockchain 3422), allocate rewards 4412, and the like, with events, transactions, and activities being recorded in blockchain, optionally using a distributed ledger”).
Referring to Claim 12, Cella discloses the method of claim 10, the step of generating a notice including generating a downloadable public notice document recordable in a government record (see at least Cella: ¶ 327 “verify ownership may include reference to bills of sale, government documentation of transfer of ownership, a legal will transferring ownership, documentation of retirement of liens on the item of property, verification of assignment of Intellectual Property to the proposed borrower in the appropriate jurisdiction, and the like. For real-estate property validation may include a review of deeds and records at a courthouse of a country, a state, a county, or a district in which a building, a home, real estate property, undeveloped land, a farm, a crop, a municipal facility, a vehicle, a ship, a plane, or a warehouse is located or registered”).
Referring to Claim 13, Cella discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising a step of retaining a copy of the public notice document in recorded form in the database as verification the public notice form has been recorded (see at least Cella: ¶ 327 “verify ownership may include reference to bills of sale, government documentation of transfer of ownership, a legal will transferring ownership, documentation of retirement of liens on the item of property, verification of assignment of Intellectual Property to the proposed borrower in the appropriate jurisdiction, and the like. For real-estate property validation may include a review of deeds and records at a courthouse of a country, a state, a county, or a district in which a building, a home, real estate property, undeveloped land, a farm, a crop, a municipal facility, a vehicle, a ship, a plane, or a warehouse is located or registered”).
Referring to Claim 14, Cella discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising directing a mobile computing device query of a physical sign present at the real property to a database entry associated with the real property (see at least Cella: ¶ 359).
Referring to Claim 15, Cella discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising a step of publicizing the assertion of virtual rights via a third party website (see at least Cella: ¶ 327 “verify ownership may include reference to bills of sale, government documentation of transfer of ownership, a legal will transferring ownership, documentation of retirement of liens on the item of property, verification of assignment of Intellectual Property to the proposed borrower in the appropriate jurisdiction, and the like. For real-estate property validation may include a review of deeds and records at a courthouse of a cou