DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/2023 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 5/22/2023 are acceptable for examination by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MIYAMOTO et al. (US 2022/0229384 A1).
MIYAMOTO teaches regarding claim 1, an image forming apparatus (figures 7, 8, 18) comprising: a transport unit 15 that transports a recording medium P and that includes a grip portion 54 that grips the recording medium P on which a toner image is formed, and a movement unit that moves the grip portion 54; a heating unit 70 (or 70 and 90) that heats the recording medium P that is transported by the transport unit 15; and a controller that exerts control such that the transport unit 15 stops transport after the recording medium is retracted to a position downstream of the heating unit 70 in a case where the transport unit 15 stops the transport (figures 6-10 and 18; [0065, 0067, 0069; 0078, also 0109-0111]; MIYAMOTO teaches in paragraph [0069 or 0078] that the fixing device is stopped after the toner image is fixed and the trailing end portion has passed through making the recording medium easier to remove. Figures 14-17 also teach similar process).
Regarding claim 2, the image forming apparatus further comprising: a rotation member 52 that is disposed upstream of the heating unit 70 in a direction in which the recording medium P is transported and that rotates along with movement of the movement unit; and a transfer member 27 that transfers the toner image to the recording medium P while rotating with the recording medium P interposed between the transfer member 27 and the rotation member 52, wherein the controller exerts control such that the transport of the transport unit 15 and rotation of the transfer member 27 are stopped after the recording medium is retracted to the position downstream of the heating unit (figures 9-10, [0105-0106]).
Regarding claim 3, the image forming apparatus, further comprising: a rotation member 54 or 52 that is disposed upstream of the heating unit 70 in a direction in which the recording medium P is transported and that rotates along with movement of the movement unit; and a transfer member 27 that transfers the toner image to the recording medium while rotating with the recording medium P interposed between the transfer member 27 and the rotation member 54 or 52, wherein the controller exerts control such that the transfer member 27 is separated from the rotation member before the transport of the transport unit 15 is stopped (figure 10, [0103-0106; 0069]).
Regarding claim 4, the controller exerts control such that the transfer member 27 that rotates is stopped after the transfer member is separated from the rotation member 54 ([0069]; after fixing which is after the transfer member is separated).
Regarding claim 5, the heating unit 90 includes a heat member 68 that rotates and transports the recording medium P with the recording medium P interposed therein and that heats the recording medium P, and wherein the controller exerts control such that the transport unit 15 is stopped ([0098-0099]; after a heat operation of the heat member is stopped).
Regarding claim 6, the heating unit 70 includes a pre-heat member that is disposed upstream of the heat member 90 and that heats the recording medium P that is transported in a contactless manner, and wherein the controller exerts control such that the transport unit 15 is stopped after a heat operation of the pre-heat member 70 is stopped (pre-heating end before stopping after the fixing means completes its process; [0098-0099]).
MIYAMOTO teaches regarding claim 7, an image forming apparatus (figures 7-8 and 18) comprising: transporting means 15 for transporting a recording medium P, for griping the recording medium on which a toner image is formed, and for moving the grip portion 54; heating means 70 for heating the recording medium P that is transported by the transporting means 15; and means for exerting control such that the transporting means stops transport after the recording medium P is retracted to a position downstream of the heating means in a case where the transporting means 15 stops the transport (figure 7-8 and 18; [0109]).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. YAMADA (US 11,550,242) teaches a transfer mechanism having a chain gripper transport unit for an image forming apparatus.
Contact Information
/QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
QG