DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MIYAMOTO et al. (US 2022/0229384 A1).
MIYAMOTO teaches regarding claim 1, an image forming apparatus (figures 7, 8, 18) comprising: a transport unit 15 that transports a recording medium P and that includes a grip portion 54 that grips the recording medium P on which a toner image is formed, and a movement unit that moves the grip portion 54; a heating unit 70 (or 70 and 90) that heats the recording medium P that is transported by the transport unit 15; and a controller that exerts control such that the transport unit 15 stops transport after the recording medium is retracted to a position downstream of the heating unit 70 in a case where the transport unit 15 stops the transport (figures 6-10 and 18; [0065, 0067, 0069; 0078, also 0109-0111]; MIYAMOTO teaches in paragraph [0069 or 0078] that the fixing device is stopped after the toner image is fixed and the trailing end portion has passed through making the recording medium easier to remove. Figures 14-17 also teach similar process).
Regarding claim 2, the image forming apparatus further comprising: a rotation member 52 that is disposed upstream of the heating unit 70 in a direction in which the recording medium P is transported and that rotates along with movement of the movement unit; and a transfer member 27 that transfers the toner image to the recording medium P while rotating with the recording medium P interposed between the transfer member 27 and the rotation member 52, wherein the controller exerts control such that the transport of the transport unit 15 and rotation of the transfer member 27 are stopped after the recording medium is retracted to the position downstream of the heating unit (figures 9-10, [0105-0106]).
Regarding claim 3, the image forming apparatus, further comprising: a rotation member 54 or 52 that is disposed upstream of the heating unit 70 in a direction in which the recording medium P is transported and that rotates along with movement of the movement unit; and a transfer member 27 that transfers the toner image to the recording medium while rotating with the recording medium P interposed between the transfer member 27 and the rotation member 54 or 52, wherein the controller exerts control such that the transfer member 27 is separated from the rotation member before the transport of the transport unit 15 is stopped (figure 10, [0103-0106; 0069]).
Regarding claim 4, the controller exerts control such that the transfer member 27 that rotates is stopped after the transfer member is separated from the rotation member 54 ([0069]; after fixing which is after the transfer member is separated).
Regarding claim 6, the heating unit 70 includes a pre-heat member that is disposed upstream of the heat member 90 and that heats the recording medium P that is transported in a contactless manner, and wherein the controller exerts control such that the transport unit 15 is stopped after a heat operation of the pre-heat member 70 is stopped (pre-heating end before stopping after the fixing means completes its process; [0098-0099]).
MIYAMOTO teaches regarding claim 7, an image forming apparatus (figures 7-8 and 18) comprising: transporting means 15 for transporting a recording medium P, for griping the recording medium on which a toner image is formed, and for moving the grip portion 54; heating means 70 for heating the recording medium P that is transported by the transporting means 15; and means for exerting control such that the transporting means stops transport after the recording medium P is retracted to a position downstream of the heating means in a case where the transporting means 15 stops the transport (figure 7-8 and 18; [0109]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAMOTO in view of HASE et al. (US 2013/0209115 A1).
MIYAMOTO teaches a control method but does not teach how the controller responds to anomaly in the image forming process.
HASE teaches regarding claim 8, an image forming apparatus, wherein in the case where the transport unit stops the transport, the transport unit is controlled to stop the transport due to detection of an anomaly in a process of forming an image on the recording medium (figure 7, [0077]).
Regarding claim 9, in the case where the transport means stops the transport, the transport means is controlled to stop the transport due to detection of an anomaly in a process of forming an image on the recording medium (figure 7; [0077]).
MIYAMOTO and HASE are concerned with handling anomalies in an image forming apparatus. The rationale for combining the teachings of HASE with the teachings of MIYAMOTO relates to the rationale of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of HASE with the teaching of MIYAMOTO to obtain an image forming apparatus that does not cause the breakage and the like of the fixing member even if an overheating occurs in the fixing member when the fixing device suddenly stops due to the occurrence of the abnormality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argues that paragraphs [0098]-[0099] of Miyamoto, while they discuss a transport body for transporting a recording medium P, do not disclose a heat member or a controller exerting control to stop a transport unit after a heat operation of the heat member is stopped.
However, recording medium is heat and applied with pressure on the transport belt. The flash and heating roller 68 are a part of the fixing device. The controller controls all the systems of the image forming apparatus.
Applicant also argues that a "controller exert[ing] control such that the transport unit is stopped after a heat operation of the heat member is stopped," where the heat member "rotates and transports the recording medium with the recording medium interposed therein." See Miyamoto at para. [0198].
However, this operation of stopping order is shown in figure 7. The operations are not performed at the same time, but may be performed at the same time according to [0198].
The claims remain rejected as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
QG