DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second parallel connection structure" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The applicant has not positively claimed that there is a second parallel structure.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the third parallel connection structure" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The applicant has not positively claimed that there is a third parallel structure.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the IGBT" in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Which one?
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the IGBT and the diode device in each" in line 21. This limitation is vague. Is the applicant claiming a specific IGBT and then each diode device in each structure, or is the applicant trying to claim each IGBT in each structure AND each diode in each structure?
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the reverse conducting IGBT" in line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Which one?
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the second parallel connection structure" in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The applicant has not positively claimed a second parallel structure.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the third parallel connection structure" in line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The applicant has not positively claimed a second parallel structure.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the IGBT" in line 25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Which one?
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the IGBT and the diode device in each" in line 21. This limitation is vague. Is the applicant claiming a specific IGBT and then each diode device in each structure, or is the applicant trying to claim each IGBT in each structure AND each diode in each structure?
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the reverse conducting IGBT" in line 29. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Which one?
Claims 3-9 inherit the same through dependency.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "each of the plurality of the parallel connection structures include the reverse conducting IGBT". This is vague, confusing and indefinite. If this is true, then how can there possibly be non-reverse conducting IGBT and diode devices formed on separate chips as claimed in claim 1??
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bijlendga (US 6480403) in view of Eckel (US 20140362628 – previously cited).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 7; Bijlenga disclose a semiconductor module (figure 3) comprising: a converter circuit configured to generate an alternating-current (AC) voltage (16) from a direct-current (DC) voltage input (5, 6), by receiving a first potential that is positive (5), a second potential that is negative,(6) and a third potential (9) lower than the first potential and higher than the second potential, wherein the converter circuit includes a plurality of parallel connection structures (e.g. 1, 2, 3, 4, 20/22, 21/23) each parallel connection structure including an insulated gate bipolar transistors (IGBT) and a diode device connected in parallel, and the plurality of parallel connection structures includes: first, [second, third] and fourth parallel connection structures connected in series (e.g. 1, 2, 3, 4), with two ends of the serially-connected first, [second, third] and fourth parallel connection structures respectively connected to the first potential (5) and the second potential (6), a fifth parallel (20/22) connection structure that is connected between the third potential (9) and a connection between the first and second parallel connection structures (1, 2), and a sixth parallel (21/23) connection structure that is connected between the third potential and a connection between the third and fourth parallel connection structures (3, 4).
However, Bijlenga does not disclose whether at least two of the parallel connection structures each includes a reverse conducting IGBT that is switched with a cycle shorter than that of the AC voltage, or parallel connection structures including the reverse conducting IGBT are formed on a same chip, and parallel connection structures not including the reverse conducting IGBT are formed on separate chips.
Eckel teaches four parallel connection structures that are connected in series with each having IGBT switches and parallel diodes therewith. Wherein at least two of the parallel connection structures each includes a reverse conducting IGBT that is switched with a cycle shorter than that of the AC voltage (see figure 9 and para [0010]) so that, compared to non-reverse conductive power semiconductor switches, reverse conductive power semiconductor switches have the advantage that a lower forward voltage drops across them during normal operation, so losses are reduced compared with non-reverse conductive power semiconductor switches. Also, Eckel teaches the reverse conducting IGBT are formed on a same chip (figure 4), and the parallel connection structures not including the reverse conducting IGBT can be formed on separate chips (figure 3) in order to take advantage of the reverse conductive IGBT having lower passage voltage than a correspondingly designed power semiconductor switch without reverse conductivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Bijlenga to include at least two of the parallel connection structures each includes a reverse conducting IGBT that is switched with a cycle shorter than that of the AC voltage; in order to take advantage of the lower forward voltage drops across them during normal operation, so losses are reduced; and it would have been obvious to include parallel connection structures including the reverse conducting IGBT being are formed on a same chip, and parallel connection structures not including the reverse conducting IGBT are formed on separate chips in order to take advantage of the reverse conductive IGBT having lower passage voltage than a correspondingly designed power semiconductor switch without reverse conductivity as taught by Eckel.
Claim 3; figure 7 of Eckel teach that the RC IGBT and the non iGBT can be switched around. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Bijlenga to include providing the first and fourth structure as the RC IGBT in order to take advantage of the lower forward voltage drops across them during normal operation.
Claim 5; If all of the switches are RC IGBTs then there can be no non RC IGBTs yet claim 1 claims non RC IGBTs on separate chips. Impossible.
Claims 8 and 9; Bijlenga discloses the claimed subject matter in regards to claims 1 and 2 supra, except for the fifth and sixth parallel connection structures including the reverse conducting IGBT.
Eckel teaches replacing non RC IGBTs with reverse conducting IGBTs since compared to non-reverse conductive power semiconductor switches, reverse conductive power semiconductor switches have the advantage that a lower forward voltage drops across them during normal operation, so losses are reduced compared with non-reverse conductive power semiconductor switches.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Bijlenga to include the fifth and sixth parallel connection structures including the reverse conducting IGBT, since compared to non-reverse conductive power semiconductor switches, reverse conductive power semiconductor switches have the advantage that a lower forward voltage drops across them during normal operation, so losses are reduced compared with non-reverse conductive power semiconductor switches as taught by Eckel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230006571 Masuda teaches a semiconductor device with RC IGBT.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY L LAXTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 2/23/2026