Detailed Notice
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 1 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 2 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 3 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 4 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 5 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 6 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which the U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claim is a species of.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 8 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 9 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 10 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 11 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 12 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 and Claim 13 of US10300454B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim is the genus in which both the US10300454B2 and U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2 claims are separately a species of.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 11-17 of prior U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. US11697103B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hur et al (US 20040036034 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hur et al teaches a system comprising: a first chamber being a pipe comprising an inlet (Fig. 1 part 12, para. 0010); a second chamber adjacent the first chamber, the second chamber (Fig. 1 part 16) including an outlet and a waveguide (Fig. 1 parts 14 and 22, para. 0010); an ultraviolet light source residing within the waveguide of the second chamber (Fig. 1 parts 20, para. 0010); and a microwave source configured to radiate microwave energy into the first chamber (Fig. 1 part 24, para. 0010). As the instant claim bears to an apparatus, the material being worked upon is understood to be non-patentably distinct from Hurr (see MPEP 2114 I). Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Hur et al teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the microwave source is further configured to radiate the microwave energy into the waveguide of the second chamber such that the microwave energy contacts the ultraviolet light source, the ultraviolet light source including an internal gas that generates ultraviolet light upon contact with the microwave energy. (Fig. 1 parts 20, para. 0010). Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Hur et al teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the waveguide includes an end configured such that the microwave energy forms a standing wave within the waveguide. (definition of a waveguide, para. 0010, Fig. 1 parts 22). Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Hur et al teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a tube assembly within the waveguide and containing the ultraviolet light source, a wall of the tube assembly transparent to ultraviolet light and microwave energy. 44 Attorney Docket No. 51367-506001US (Fig. 1 part 18, para. 0010) Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Hur et al teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first chamber is located between the microwave source and the second chamber such that the microwave energy is generated by the microwave source and passes through the first chamber to the second chamber. (Fig. 1 parts 18, 22, and 24, para. 0010) Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, Hur et al teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the ultraviolet light source radiates the ultraviolet light having a wavelength ranges from about 280 nm to 300 nm. (i.e. Hg lamp, Fig. 1 part 20, para. 0010) Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 9.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hur et al (US 20040036034 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Hur et al teaches a system comprising: a first chamber including an inlet (Fig. 1 part 16, para. 0010); a second chamber adjacent the first chamber, the second chamber including an outlet and a waveguide (Fig. 1 parts 14 and 22, para. 0010); an ultraviolet light source residing within the waveguide of the second chamber (Fig. 1 parts 20, para. 0010); and a microwave source configured to radiate microwave energy into the first chamber. Hur et al teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the waveguide includes a first end and a second end configured such that the microwave energy forms a standing wave within the waveguide. As the instant claim bears to an apparatus, the material being worked upon is understood to be non-patentably distinct from Hurr (see MPEP 2114 I). (definition of a waveguide, para. 0010, Fig. 1 parts 22). Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Hur et al teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the microwave source is further configured to radiate the microwave energy into the waveguide of the second chamber such that the microwave energy contacts the ultraviolet light source, the ultraviolet light source including an internal gas that generates ultraviolet light upon contact with the microwave energy. (Fig. 1 parts 20, para. 0010). Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, Hur et al teaches the system of claim 14, further comprising: a tube assembly within the waveguide and containing the ultraviolet light source, a wall of the tube assembly transparent to ultraviolet light and microwave energy. 44 Attorney Docket No. 51367-506001US (Fig. 1 part 18, para. 0010) Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Hur et al teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the first chamber is located between the microwave source and the second chamber such that the microwave energy is generated by the microwave source and passes through the first chamber to the second chamber. (Fig. 1 parts 18, 22, and 24, para. 0010) Therefore, Hur et al anticipates the system of claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hur et al, as applied to Claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, multiplying the parts to provide: a plurality of tube assemblies adjacent the first chamber, each of the plurality of tube assemblies including a tube assembly outlet, each tube assembly including a wall that is transparent to ultraviolet light and microwave energy would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.; MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Furthermore Hur et al teaches a plurality of ultraviolet light sources, each residing within a tube assembly; wherein the microwave source is configured to radiate the microwave energy into the first chamber and into the tube assembly such that the microwave energy contacts the plurality of ultraviolet light sources, the plurality of ultraviolet light sources including the internal gas that generates ultraviolet light upon contact with the microwave energy. (Fig. 1, para. 0010)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hur et al, as applied to Claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 19, multiplying the parts to provide: a plurality of tube assemblies adjacent the first chamber, each of the plurality of tube assemblies including a tube assembly outlet, each tube assembly including a wall that is transparent to ultraviolet light and microwave energy would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.; MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Furthermore Hur et al teaches a plurality of ultraviolet light sources, each residing within a tube assembly; wherein the microwave source is configured to radiate the microwave energy into the first chamber and into the tube assembly such that the microwave energy contacts the plurality of ultraviolet light sources, the plurality of ultraviolet light sources including the internal gas that generates ultraviolet light upon contact with the microwave energy. (Fig. 1, para. 0010)
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 205730823 (hereinafter CN’823, cited in IDS) in view of Hur et al (US 20040036034 A1). .
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8, CN’823 discloses a system for purifying foul gas, containing H2S. Foul gas is directed via pipe (11) to the water scrubber (12). Afterwards, the gas is directed to the microwave photodissociating equipment (13) and from there to an after-treatment (15, 16). The microwave photodissociation equipment (13) includes a microwave reaction cavity (21), microwave power supply (22), microwave source (23) and an electrode-less UV-lamp pipe (24), whereas the electrode-less UV-lamp pipe (24) is arranged in the microwave reaction cavity (21) (D1: claims 1 -3; page 2, penultimate paragraph to page 3, fifths paragraph (machine translation of CN205730823U); figures 1-3; pages 5-6 of the machine translation). Therefore, CN’823 anticipates the system of claims 1-3 and 5-7.
However, CN’823 does not teach the use of a waveguide residing with the ultraviolet light source in the second chamber.
Hur et al teaches a photoreactor system in the same field of endeavor (abstract). Hur teaches system comprising: a first chamber including an inlet (Fig. 1 part 16, para. 0010); a second chamber adjacent the first chamber, the second chamber including an outlet and a waveguide (Fig. 1 parts 14 and 22, para. 0010); an ultraviolet light source residing within the waveguide of the second chamber (Fig. 1 parts 20, para. 0010); and a microwave source configured to radiate microwave energy into the first chamber.
Prior to filing of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the waveguide in a second chamber comprising a UV light source, as per Hur, into the device of CN’823, with a reasonable expectation that the radiant energy emitted from the second chamber would more efficiently and coherently interact with the fluent input feed material.
Claims 4 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN’823 in view of Hur et al (US 20040036034 A1), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Whellock (US 2009/0314185 A1).
Regarding claim 4, CN’823 in view of Hur et al is applied as above.
CN’823 in view of Hur et al does not explicitly teach wherein the second chamber further includes: a first electrode configured to have a negative charge; and a second electrode configured to have a positive charge, the first electrode and the second electrode being external to the ultraviolet light source and internal to the waveguide.
In the same field of endeavor (processing toxic materials) Whellock teaches a system comprising treatment with UV or microwave source delivering energy inside the reactor (Fig. 6, para. 0089) or electrodes inside the reactor to generate ionized air. (para. 0045, 0060) Whellock teaches that this allows the system to treat solids, break down adsorbed gases on the solids, and ionize gas. (para. 0081-0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to modify the system of CN’823 by adding electrodes to the UV or microwave system as taught by Whellock, as this allows the system to treat solids, break down adsorbed gases on the solids, and ionize gas. (para. 0081-0088).
Regarding claim 10, CN ‘823 is applied as above.
CN’823 in view of Hur et al does not explicitly teach wherein the ultraviolet light source is elongate along the primary axis and resides within the second chamber along the primary axis, wherein the second chamber further includes: a first electrode configured to have a negative charge; and 45 Attorney Docket No. 51367-506001US a second electrode configured to have a positive charge, the first electrode and the second electrode being external to the ultraviolet light source and internal to the waveguide; wherein the first electrode is elongate along the primary axis and is arranged above the ultraviolet light source and the second electrode is elongate along the primary axis and is arranged below the ultraviolet light source.
In the same field of endeavor (processing toxic materials) Whellock teaches a system comprising treatment with UV or microwave source delivering energy inside the reactor (Fig. 6, para. 0089) or electrodes inside the reactor to generate ionized air. (para. 0045, 0060) Whellock teaches that this allows the system to treat solids, break down adsorbed gases on the solids, and ionize gas. (para. 0081-0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to modify the system of CN’823 by adding electrodes to the UV or microwave system as taught by Whellock, as this allows the system to treat solids, break down adsorbed gases on the solids, and ionize gas. (para. 0081-0088).
Regarding claim 11, CN’823 in view of Hur et al is applied as above.
CN’823 in view of Hur et al does not explicitly teach wherein the second chamber forms a hydrocyclone.
In the same field of endeavor (processing toxic materials) Whellock teaches a system comprising treatment with UV or microwave source delivering energy inside the reactor (Fig. 6, para. 0089) and a cyclone operating with the reactor (para. 0073, Fig. 9, para. 0099) Whellock teaches that the flow of solids and gas is upwards through the reactor with all the solids being swept around and out with the gas. The solids residence time is less that with the other options above but is prolonged over the gas phase by virtue of centrifugal force generated by the high velocity swirl of the flow. (para. 0100)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to modify the system of CN’823 by adding a cyclone operating within the reactor (i.e. the second chamber) as taught by Whellock, as then the flow of solids and gas is upwards through the reactor with all the solids being swept around and out with the gas. The solids residence time is less that with the other options above but is prolonged over the gas phase by virtue of centrifugal force generated by the high velocity swirl of the flow. (para. 0100)
Regarding claim 12, Whellock teaches a center electrode within the cyclone (fig. 9 para. 0099 part 171). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the light source along with or instead of the center electrode, i.e. wherein the light source resides on a vortex finder located within the hydrocyclone.
Claim(s) 14-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 205730823 (hereinafter CN’823, cited in IDS) in view of Hur et al (US 20040036034 A1).
Regarding claims 14-15, 17-18 and 20, CN’823 discloses a system for purifying foul gas, containing H2S. Foul gas is directed via pipe (11) to the water scrubber (12). Afterwards, the gas is directed to the microwave photodissociating equipment (13) and from there to an after-treatment (15, 16). The microwave photodissociation equipment (13) includes a microwave reaction cavity (21), microwave power supply (22), microwave source (23) and an electrode-less UV-lamp pipe (24), whereas the electrode-less UV-lamp pipe (24) is arranged in the microwave reaction cavity (21) where it is understood that a standing wave is produced in the microwave cavity (D1: claims 1 -3; page 2, penultimate paragraph to page 3, fifths paragraph (machine translation of CN205730823U); figures 1-3; pages 5-6 of the machine translation).
However, CN’823 does not teach the use of a waveguide extending to a first end and a second end, which causes a standing wave to form in the waveguide where an ultraviolet light source resides within the waveguide.
Hur et al teaches a photoreactor system in the same field of endeavor (abstract). Hur teaches system comprising: a first chamber including an inlet (Fig. 1 part 16, para. 0010); a second chamber adjacent the first chamber, the second chamber including an outlet and a waveguide (Fig. 1 parts 14 and 22, para. 0010); an ultraviolet light source residing within the waveguide which extends from a first end to a second end of the second chamber (Fig. 1 parts 20, para. 0010); and a microwave source configured to radiate microwave energy into the first chamber.
Prior to filing of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the waveguide in a second chamber comprising a UV light source, as per Hur, into the device of CN’823, with a reasonable expectation that the radiant energy emitted from the second chamber would more efficiently and coherently interact with the fluent input feed material.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN’823 in view of Hur et al (US 20040036034 A1), as applied above in claim 14, further in view of Whellock (US 2009/0314185 A1).
Regarding claim 16, CN’823 in view of Hur et al is applied as above to Claim 14.
CN’823 in view of Hur et al does not explicitly teach wherein the second chamber further includes: a first electrode configured to have a negative charge; and a second electrode configured to have a positive charge, the first electrode and the second electrode being external to the ultraviolet light source and internal to the waveguide.
In the same field of endeavor (processing toxic materials) Whellock teaches a system comprising treatment with UV or microwave source delivering energy inside the reactor (Fig. 6, para. 0089) or electrodes inside the reactor to generate ionized air. (para. 0045, 0060) Whellock teaches that this allows the system to treat solids, break down adsorbed gases on the solids, and ionize gas. (para. 0081-0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to modify the system of CN’823 by adding electrodes to the UV or microwave system as taught by Whellock, as this allows the system to treat solids, break down adsorbed gases on the solids, and ionize gas. (para. 0081-0088).
Conclusion
NATHANAEL JASON. DOWNES
Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/NATHANAEL JASON DOWNES/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759