DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In [0043], [0045], [0046], [0049] “FIG. 2A” should read “FIG. 2”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 “reduce pressured” should read “reduced pressure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki et al. (US 20140059855 A1, “Miyazaki”) in view of Lee et al. (KR 20170112895 A, “Lee”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Miyazaki discloses a method for forming an electrode stack (see title “method for manufacturing a stacked electrode”), the method comprising: applying in-plane tension to a separator sheet at least along a first axis by: (see [0025] “a tension roller 132 that applies a fixed amount of tension to the continuous separator” & see FIG. 1) positioning a first one of vacuum clamps along a first separator edge of the separator sheet (see [0012] “continuous separator is held by suction (vacuum chucked)”; see [0033] “continuous separator sheet 13 is alternately held with suction (vacuum chucked) by such wall surfaces” & see FIG. 4 & see [0036] “suction control unit 77 that holds the separator 13 by vacuum on the first wall surface 51 by placing the plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the first wall surface 51 under negative pressure and releases the separator 13 by breaking the negative pressure”), positioning a second one of the vacuum clamps along a second separator edge of the separator sheet, opposite of the first separator edge (see [0037] “suction control unit 78 that holds separator 13 by vacuum chucking on the second wall surface 52 by placing a plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the second wall surface 52 under negative pressure and releases the separator 13 by breaking the negative pressure”), reducing pressure within the vacuum ports of the vacuum clamps thereby forcing the separator sheet against the vacuum clamps (see [0036] & [0037] “negative pressure and releases the separator 13” & “suction control unit 77” & “suction control unit 78” reads on vacuum ports & “under negative pressure” reads on reducing pressure within the vacuum ports & forces the separator 13 against “41 suction holes” & see [0035] “plurality of suction holes 41 for holding by vacuum (pulling by suction) the separator 13”). Miyazaki discloses “first wall surface 51 that moves (rotates) about a base end 51a with respect to the stacking region”. Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose and moving the vacuum clamps at least along the first axis relative to each other and inspecting the separator sheet while applying the in-plane tension, as required by claim 1 nor moving the additional vacuum clamps at least along the first axis relative to each other, as required by claim 16.
Lee teaches vacuum clamps (see [0094] “vacuum suction pad (34d)”) that move (see [0094] “first vacuum suction pad (34d) capable of vacuum suction or suction release of the first electrode member (E1) in order to hold or release the first electrode member (E1). The number of first vacuum suction pads (34d) to be installed is not particularly limited, and each of the first supply arms (34a, 34b) may have at least one first vacuum suction pad (34d) so as to stably hold or release the first electrode member (E1)”; see FIG. 16 describes “34d vacuum suction pad” on “34b first supply arm” is connect to “34c rotation axis”).
Miyazaki and Lee are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely methods for manufacturing stacked electrodes (see Lee title & [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vacuum suction pad that move, as suggested by Lee (see [0094] & FIG. 16) into the method of Miyazaki because Lee teaches doing so “stably hold[s] or release[s] the first electrode member” (see [0094]).
Regarding the limitation and inspecting the separator sheet while applying the in-plane tension, Miyazaki discloses “camera 117 that detects the posture (orientation) of the electrode sheet 11” (see [0024]). Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose inspecting the separator sheet.
Lee teaches inspection of the separator strip (see [0028] “The camera 14 is installed so as to be able to photograph the separation membrane strip (F1) supplied from the first roll (11), and the distortion of the separation membrane (F) can be detected using the image of the separation membrane strip (F) photographed using the camera (14). Therefore, when meandering of the separator strip (F) occurs, the path of the separator strip (F) can be compensated for by the meandering angle to prevent deterioration of the quality of the secondary battery due to meandering”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate inspecting the separator as suggested by Lee (see [0028]) into the method of Miyazaki because doing so “prevent[s] deterioration of the quality of the secondary battery due to meandering” as suggested by Lee (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Miyazaki discloses a method for forming an electrode stack, the method comprising: stacking a separator sheet and an electrode on a stacking platform (see title “method for manufacturing a stacked electrode”; see FIG. 4 describes “stacking stage 55” which describes stacking platform & “separator 13” see FIG. 5c describes “11 anode sheets (electrode sheets)”) using a stacking module comprising vacuum clamps, wherein stacking the separator sheet comprises (see [0026] describes “second wall surface 52 that faces the stacking region 56 and is lowered onto and reversed from the stacking region 56”). Regarding the limitation moving the stacking platform comprising a stack of the separator sheet and the electrode to an additional stacking module, different from the stacking module, Miyazaki discloses in FIG 4 which describes “stacking stage 55” & “separator 13” & in [0026] “a position adjustment unit 59 that controls the position in the Z direction of the stacking stage 55” describes 55 moves. Miyazaki discloses in FIG. 5c “11 anode sheets (electrode sheets)” & in [0027] describes “second wall surface 52 that moves (rotates) about a base end 52a with respect to the stacking region 56 of the stacking stage 55 to the standing state and the lowered state”. Miyazaki discloses in [0039] “third wall surface 53 faces (opposes) the second wall surface 52” & in [0042] “the third wall surface 53 is provided on the front end 51b of the first wall surface 51”. Miyazaki discloses stacking an additional separator sheet and an additional electrode on the stacking platform and over the stack of the separator sheet and the electrode using an additional stacking module comprising additional vacuum clamps (see FIG. 4 describes “41” on X and Z planes; [0033] describes “continuous separator sheet 13 is alternately held with suction (vacuum chucked) by such wall surfaces” & [0036] describes “plurality of suction holes 41”). Miyazaki discloses wherein stacking the additional separator sheet comprises applying in-plane tension to the additional separator sheet at least along the first axis by: positioning a first one of the additional vacuum clamps along a first separator edge of the additional separator sheet (see FIG. 4 & see [0033] describes “continuous separator sheet 13 is alternately held with suction (vacuum chucked) by such wall surfaces”). Regarding the limitation positioning a second one of the additional vacuum clamps along a second separator edge of the additional separator sheet, opposite of the first separator edge, Miyazaki discloses in FIG. 4 & see [0036] “plurality of suction holes”. Regarding the limitation reducing pressure within vacuum ports of the additional vacuum clamps thereby forcing the additional separator sheet against the additional vacuum clamps, and moving the additional vacuum clamps at least along the first axis relative to each other, Miyazaki discloses in [0036]-[0037] “negative pressure and releases the separator 13” & “suction control unit 77” & “suction control unit 78” reads on vacuum ports & “under negative pressure” reads on reducing pressure within the vacuum ports & forces the separator 13 against “41 suction holes” & see [0035] describes “plurality of suction holes 41 for holding by vacuum (pulling by suction) the separator 13”. Regarding the limitation and if an additional stacked layer is needed, Miyazaki discloses in [0010] “multilayer stack”. Miyazaki discloses repeating (a) transferring the stacking platform (see [0012] “lowering the first wall surface onto the first region in a state where the continuous separator is held by suction (vacuum) and reversing the first wall surface in a state where the continuous separator has been released”; see [0051] “in step 89, steps 81 to 88 are repeated until the folding (stacking) process has been completed a predetermined number of times”) and (b) stacking another additional separator sheet and another additional electrode (see [0012] “and the second wall surface taking hold of the continuous separator when the first wall surface has been lowered” & see [0013] “second unit that alternately supplies an anode sheet and a cathode sheet to the first region in synchronization with folding of the continuous separator”).
Regarding claim 2, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1. Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein inspecting the separator sheet is performed while moving the vacuum clamps.
Lee teaches inspecting the separator (see [0028] “The camera 14 is installed so as to be able to photograph the separation membrane strip (F1) supplied from the first roll (11), and the distortion of the separation membrane (F) can be detected using the image of the separation membrane strip (F) photographed using the camera (14). Therefore, when meandering of the separator strip (F) occurs, the path of the separator strip (F) can be compensated for by the meandering angle to prevent deterioration of the quality of the secondary battery due to meandering” & see FIG. 17 & [0094] “the number of the first vacuum suction pads (34d) to be installed is not particularly limited”; see [0025] “first dancing roller (10b) can move back and forth along a predetermined path to control the tension applied to the separation membrane strip (F1)”). Lee teaches “camera (14) that detects the meandering of the separation membrane strip (F)” & “if the first roll (11) cannot supply the separator strip (F) to the core part C evenly due to the meandering of the separator strip (F) or other causes, the quality of the secondary battery will be adversely affected” (see [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate inspecting the separator while moving the vacuum clamps, as suggested by Lee (see [0028], [0094], FIG. 17, & [0025] “control[s] the tension applied to the separation membrane strip” & “a camera (14) that detects the meandering of the separation membrane strip (F)” in [0026]) because doing so improves the quality of the secondary battery (see [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses “first wall surface 51 that moves (rotates) about a base end 51a with respect to the stacking region” in [0027]. Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein moving the vacuum clamps comprises at least one of (a) moving the vacuum clamps relative to each other along the first axis.
Lee teaches vacuum clamps (see [0094] “vacuum suction pad (34d)”) that move (see [0094] “first vacuum suction pad (34d) capable of vacuum suction or suction release of the first electrode member (E1) in order to hold or release the first electrode member (E1). The number of first vacuum suction pads (34d) to be installed is not particularly limited, and each of the first supply arms (34a, 34b) may have at least one first vacuum suction pad (34d) so as to stably hold or release the first electrode member (E1)”; see FIG. 16 describes “34d vacuum suction pad” on “34b first supply arm” is connect to “34c rotation axis”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vacuum suction pads that move, as suggested by Lee (see [0094] & FIG. 16) into the method of Miyazaki because Lee teaches doing so “stably hold[s] or release[s] the first electrode member” (see [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1. Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein moving the vacuum clamps comprises both (1) moving the vacuum clamps relative to each other along the first axis and (2) rotating at least one of the vacuum clamps about an axis perpendicular to a plane containing the first axis.
Lee teaches vacuum clamps (see [0094] “vacuum suction pad (34d)”) that move (see [0094] “first vacuum suction pad (34d) capable of vacuum suction or suction release of the first electrode member (E1) in order to hold or release the first electrode member (E1). The number of first vacuum suction pads (34d) to be installed is not particularly limited, and each of the first supply arms (34a, 34b) may have at least one first vacuum suction pad (34d) so as to stably hold or release the first electrode member (E1)”; see FIG. 16 describes “34d vacuum suction pad” on “34b first supply arm” is connect to “34c rotation axis”). Lee teaches in FIG. 16 “36j the rotation axis”; see [0092] “the first supply arms (34a, 34b) can rotate around the rotation axis (34c) by being axially coupled to a driving motor”; see [0092] “rotated along the rotation axis (34c) and have an installation height that is relatively high compared to the installation height of the first loading tray (32a, 32b)”; see FIG. 16 describes “34c rotation axis” is perpendicular to a plane containing the first axis “36j the rotation axis”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vacuum suction pads that move, as suggested by Lee (see [0094] & FIG. 16) & rotating the vacuum suction pad “34d” about an axis perpendicular to a plane containing the first axis (see FIG. 16) into the method of Miyazaki because Lee teaches in [0091] “first electrode supply (34), as illustrated in FIG. 17, is installed so as to be spaced apart from the first electrode stacking unit (40) by an integer multiple of the rotation angle of the first alignment plate (36a)” & “with the rotation axis (36j) of the first alignment plate (36a) as the center”. Further doing so “stably hold[s] or release[s] the first electrode member” (see Lee [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first separator edge and the second separator edge are parallel to each other and perpendicular to the first axis (see FIG. 4 describes “51 first wall surface” & “second wall surface” & “13 separator” describes the edges of the separator near “51” & “52” are parallel to each other; see [0031] “rail 65 that extends in the Y direction” & “second conveying unit 62 that move the rail 65 in the Y direction” reads on perpendicular to the first axis; see [0030] describes “FIG. 4 shows a state where the stacking unit 50 is viewed from the Y direction”).
Regarding claim 6, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the pressure within vacuum ports is selected and maintained to overcome porosity of the separator sheet (see [0034] “separator 13 prevents short circuits” & “separator is a microporous film”; see [0036] “first wall surface 51 under negative pressure” & “continuous separator 13 is held by suction” which reads on overcoming porosity of the separator sheet) thereby allowing air to leak through a first portion of the separator in contact with the first one of the vacuum clamps (see [0036] “a suction control unit 77 that holds the separator 13 by vacuum on the first wall surface 51 by placing the plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the first wall surface 51 under negative pressure”) and through a second portion of the separator in contact with the second one of the vacuum clamps (see [0037] “suction control unit 78 that holds the separator 13 by vacuum chucking on the second wall surface 52 by placing the plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the second wall surface 52 under negative pressure”).
Regarding claim 7, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein: the first one of the vacuum clamps extends along at least 80% of length of the first separator edge (see FIG. 4 describes “41 suction holes” extends along at least 80% of length of the first separator edge (wall)); and the second one of the vacuum clamps extends along at least 80% of length of the second separator edge (see FIG. 4 describes “41 suction holes” extends along at least 80% of length of the second separator edge (bottom)).
Regarding claim 8, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1. Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose applying the in-plane tension to the separator sheet comprises (a) positioning a third one of the vacuum clamps along a third separator edge of the separator sheet, and (b) positioning a fourth one of the vacuum clamps along a fourth separator edge of the separator sheet, opposite the third separator edge, the third separator edge is parallel to the fourth separator edge and is perpendicular to each of the first separator edge and the second separator edge.
Lee teaches vacuum suction pads (see FIG. 17 & [0094] “The number of the first vacuum suction pads (34d) to be installed is not particularly limited, and each of the first supply arms (34a, 34b) may have at least one first vacuum suction pad (34d) so as to stably hold or release the first electrode member (E1)”; see [0025] “first dancing roller (10b) can move back and forth along a predetermined path to control the tension applied to the separation membrane strip (F1)”; see [0030] “at least one second driven roller (10c) and a second dancing roller (10d) can be installed, as shown in FIG. 1”) Lee teaches “each of the first supply arms (34a, 34b) may have at least one first vacuum suction pad (34d) so as to stably hold or release the first electrode member (E1)” (see [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a third one of the vacuum clamps (see [0094] “number of the first vacuum suction pads (34d) to be installed is not particularly limited”) because doing so “stably hold[s] or release[s] the first electrode member” as suggested by Lee (see [0094]).
Regarding the limitation and the in-plane tension to the separator sheet is further applied along a second axis, perpendicular to the first axis, Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose.
Lee teaches second axis (see FIG. 16 “34d vacuum suction pad”; see FIG. 16 describes “36j the rotation axis”; see [0092] describes “the first supply arms (34a, 34b) can rotate around the rotation axis (34c) by being axially coupled to a driving motor”; see [0092] “rotated along the rotation axis (34c) and have an installation height that is relatively high compared to the installation height of the first loading tray (32a, 32b)”; see FIG. 16 describes “34c rotation axis” is perpendicular to a plane containing the first axis, “36j the rotation axis”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vacuum suction pad that move & in-plane tension to the separator sheet is further applied along a second axis, perpendicular to the first axis, as suggested by Lee (see [0092] & FIG. 16) & rotating the vacuum suction pad “34d” about an axis perpendicular to a plane containing the first axis (see FIG. 16) into the method of Miyazaki because Lee teaches in [0091] “first electrode supply (34), as illustrated in FIG. 17, is installed so as to be spaced apart from the first electrode stacking unit (40) by an integer multiple of the rotation angle of the first alignment plate (36a)” & “with the rotation axis (36j) of the first alignment plate (36a) as the center”. Further doing so “stably hold[s] or release[s] the first electrode member” (see Lee [0094]).
Regarding claim 9, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein applying the in-plane tension to the separator sheet comprises (see FIG. 4 describes “41 suction holes”): positioning a first additional one of the vacuum clamps along the first separator edge of the separator sheet such that the first one and the first additional one of the vacuum clamps are distributed along the first separator edge (see FIG. 4 describes “41 suction holes”); and positioning a second additional one of the vacuum clamps along the second separator edge of the separator sheet, such that the second one and the second additional one of the vacuum clamps are distributed along the second separator edge (see FIG. 4 describes “41 suction holes”).
Regarding claim 10, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses comprising: picking and stacking the separator sheet on a stacking module to form the electrode stack (see [0033] “continuous separator 13 is alternately held with suction” & “stacking unit 50” & see [0036] describes “holds the separator 13 by vacuum” & “stacking region 56”); and releasing the in-plane tension applied to the separator sheet (see [0036] “releases the separator 13 by breaking the negative pressure”).
Regarding claim 11, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 10 and further discloses wherein picking and stacking the separator sheet is performed while applying the in-plane tension to the separator sheet (see [0036] “suction holes 41” & “under negative pressure”).
Regarding claim 12, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 10 and further discloses releasing the in-plane tension to the separator sheet before picking and stacking the separator sheet on the stacking module (see [0037] “releases the separator 13 by breaking the negative pressure. The second subunit 74 catches by suction the continuous separator 13 using the second wall surface 52 when the first wall surface 51 has been lowered, the second wall surface 52 is then lowered onto the stacking region (first region) 56 in a state where the continuous separator 13 is vacuum chucked”); applying the in-plane tension to the separator sheet at least along the first axis while the separator sheet is positioned on the stacking module (see [0036] “holds the separator 13 by vacuum on the first wall surface 51 by placing the plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the first wall surface 51 under negative pressure”). Regarding the limitation and inspecting the separator sheet while applying the in-plane tension and while the separator sheet is positioned on the stacking module, Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose inspecting the separator. Miyazaki does disclose “camera 117 that detects the posture (orientation) of the electrode sheet 11” (see [0024]).
Lee teaches in [0028] “the camera 14 is installed so as to be able to photograph the separation membrane strip (F1) supplied from the first roll (11), and the distortion of the separation membrane (F) can be detected using the image of the separation membrane strip (F) photographed using the camera (14). Therefore, when meandering of the separator strip (F) occurs, the path of the separator strip (F) can be compensated for by the meandering angle to prevent deterioration of the quality of the secondary battery due to meandering”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate inspecting the separator while applying the in-plane tension, as suggested by Lee (see [0028], [0094], FIG. 17, & [0025] “control[s] the tension applied to the separation membrane strip” & “a camera (14) that detects the meandering of the separation membrane strip (F)” in [0026]) because doing so improves the quality of the secondary battery (see [0026] & [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 12 and further discloses wherein applying the in-plane tension to the separator sheet at least along the first axis while the separator sheet is positioned on the stacking module comprises pulling at least two opposite edges of the separator sheet below the plane containing the first axis (see [0036] “holds the separator 13 by vacuum on the first wall surface 51 by placing the plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the first wall surface 51 under negative pressure”).
Regarding claim 14, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 13 and further discloses wherein the separator sheet is positioned on the stacking module over and electrode (see FIG. 4 describes “separator 13” & “stacked electrode 10”) while pulling at least two opposite edges of the separator sheet below the plane containing the first axis (see [0037] “suction control unit 78 that holds the separator 13 by vacuum chucking on the second wall surface 52 by placing the plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the second wall surface 52 under negative pressure”; see FIG. 4 describes first axis “x” and second axis “z”).
Regarding claim 15, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 10 and further discloses stacking an electrode over the separator sheet (see [0022] “stacked electrode (or cell) by stacking anode sheets, cathode sheets, and a separator” & “stacking unit 50 that produces a cell (layered stack) 10 by stacking the anode sheets 11 and the cathode sheets 12 with the separator 13 in between”); and repeating operations comprising (a) applying the in-plane tension (see [0046] “processes described above are repeated until a predetermined number of anode sheets 11 and cathode sheets 12 are stacked with separators 13 in between”; see [0036] “holds the separator 13 by vacuum on the first wall surface 51 by placing the plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the first wall surface 51 under negative pressure”), (b) inspecting (see [0024] “camera 117 that detects the posture (orientation) of the electrode sheet 11”), (c) picking and stacking (see [0033] “continuous separator sheet 13 is alternately held with suction” & “stacking unit 50” & see [0036] “holds the separator 13 by vacuum” & “stacking region 56”), and (d) releasing the in-plane tension at least once for one additional separator sheet (see [0037] “releases the separator 13 by breaking the negative pressure. The second subunit 74 catches by suction the continuous separator 13 using the second wall surface 52 when the first wall surface 51 has been lowered, the second wall surface 52 is then lowered onto the stacking region (first region) 56 in a state where the continuous separator 13 is vacuum chucked”; see [0051] “repeated until the folding (stacking) process has been completed a predetermined number of times” which reads on one additional separator sheet).
Regarding claim 17, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 16 and further discloses wherein stacking the separator sheet and the electrode comprising (see FIG. 4): unwinding a separator portion from a separator roll and tensioning the separator portion (see FIG. 4 describes unwinding “13 separator” from separator roll “supply roller 136”; see [0025] describes “a tension roller 132 that applies a fixed amount of tension to the continuous separator”); delivering an electrode using an electrode delivery unit (see abstract “second unit that alternately supplies an anode sheet”) and aligning the electrode relative to the separator portion thereby forming an initial stack comprising the electrode and the separator portion (see FIG. 4 describes the electrode stack comprising the electrode and the separator portion; see [0024] describes “the alignment unit 115” & “detects the posture (orientation) of the electrode sheet 11 and an XYθ table 116 that controls the posture of the electrode sheet 11” & “this also applies to the cathode sheets 12 so that a cathode sheet 12 that has been aligned by the XYθ table 116”). Miyazaki discloses “a cutter 113 that cuts the sheet into fixed lengths” (see [0023]). Regarding the limitation and positioning and securing the stack comprising the separator sheet and the electrode on the stacking platform, Miyazaki discloses (see FIG. 4). Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose cutting the separator portion from the separator roll.
Lee teaches “the cutting unit (70) is a device for cutting the separation membrane strip (F1) supplied from the first roll (11)” (see [0136]). Lee teaches in [0145] “the cutting unit (70) can cut the end of the first spiral portion (H1) more smoothly in a tense state” & see [0131] “the separator refers to a unit formed by cutting a separator strip so that it has an area corresponding to the positive and negative electrodes”; see [0009] “conventional stack/folding type electrode assembly manufacturing method has a problem in that it takes a lot of time to manufacture the electrode assembly because automation is difficult, resulting in lower productivity” & “it is easy for carelessness or errors to occur during operation, which greatly increases the risk of deterioration in the performance of the electrode assembly and the secondary battery”; see [0014] “the automation of the manufacturing process of the electrode assembly is easy, and the quality of the electrode assembly and the secondary battery manufactured using the electrode assembly due to errors or carelessness in the work can be effectively prevented”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate cutting the separator as suggested by Lee (see [0136]) into the method of Miyazaki because doing so allows “cut[ting] the end of the first spiral portion (H1) more smoothly in a tense state”, as suggested by Lee (see [0145]) & improves the quality of the secondary battery (see Lee [0009], [0014]) & improves the productivity of the manufacturing process (see Lee [0009]) & “cutting a separator strip so that it has an area corresponding to the pos. and neg. electrodes” (see Lee [0131]).
Regarding claim 18 and claim 19, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 17. Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein cutting the separator portion form the separator roll is performed before transferring the stack to the stacking platform nor wherein cutting the separator portion from the separator roll is performed after transferring the stack to the stacking platform.
Lee teaches cutting the separator (see [0136] “the cutting unit (70) is a device for cutting the separation membrane strip (F1) supplied from the first roll (11)”; see FIG. 1 describes “70 cutting unit” & “40”; see FIG. 18 describes “first electrode stacking unit 42” & see [0103]). Lee teaches in [0131] “the separator refers to a unit formed by cutting a separator strip so that it has an area corresponding to the positive and negative electrodes”; see [0009] “conventional stack/folding type electrode assembly manufacturing method has a problem in that it takes a lot of time to manufacture the electrode assembly because automation is difficult, resulting in lower productivity” & “it is easy for carelessness or errors to occur during operation, which greatly increases the risk of deterioration in the performance of the electrode assembly and the secondary battery”; see [0014] “the automation of the manufacturing process of the electrode assembly is easy, and the quality of the electrode assembly and the secondary battery manufactured using the electrode assembly due to errors or carelessness in the work can be effectively prevented”. Lee teaches in [0145] & FIG. 22 “cutting unit (70) moved away from the electrode assembly (A)” & “so as to apply a predetermined tension to the first spiral portion (H1)” & “the cutting unit (70) can cut the end of the first spiral portion (H1) more smoothly in a tense state”; see [0173] describes “a first spiral portion (H1) formed by spirally folding a membrane strip (F)”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate cutting the separator, as suggested by Lee (see FIG. 22 & [0145]) into the method of Miyazaki because doing so allows for controlling the tension of the separator (see [0145]) and doing so improves the quality of the secondary battery (see [0014]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan that cutting after transferring the stack allows “cutting a separator strip so that it has an area corresponding to the pos. and neg. electrode”, as suggested by Lee (see [0131]) and cutting before transferring the stack allows for smoothly cutting the separator (see [0145] “cutting unit (70) can cut the end of the first spiral portion (H1) more smoothly in a tense state”).
Regarding claim 20, Miyazaki discloses the method of claim 17 and further discloses wherein positioning the stack on the stacking platform (see FIG. 4 describes “stacking stage 44” & “separator 13”) comprises contacting the separator sheet with a vacuum picker (see FIG. 4 describes “13 separator” & see [0037] describes “a suction control unit 78 that holds the separator 13 by vacuum chucking on the second wall surface 52 by placing the plurality of suction holes 41 provided in the second wall surface 52 under negative pressure and releases the separator 13 by breaking the negative pressure”) such that the separator sheet is positioned between the vacuum picker and the electrode (see FIG. 4 describes “41” & “stacking region 56”) and such that the electrode is pressed against the separator sheet by a reduce pressured within the pores of the separator (see [0037] “releases the separator 13 by breaking the negative pressure”; see [0034] describes “separator 13” & “microporous polyolefin film”).
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 12/30/2025