DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Request
The applicant is requested to provide line numbers to each claim in all future claim submissions to aide in examination and communication with the applicant about claim recitations. The applicant is thanked for aiding examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, the recitation, “the conductively of H” is unclear for not reciting hydrogen properly. The claim refers to Hydrogen as H2 elsewhere in the claim and improperly references monotonic Hydrogen in this recitation and it is unclear why the recitation does not recite --Hydrogen--.
The recitation, “a fluid exchange of H2 in gas form” is indefinite for improperly reintroducing H2 in gas form and it is unclear if this is the H2 in the gas form recited previously or not.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No recitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2012-0127223 hereafter KR223 in view of De Combarier (US 2022/0064357).
In regard to claim 1, KR223 teaches a cryogenic tank (see whole disclosure, including Fig. 1-5) for storing liquefied Hydrogen (fully capable thereof in view of ability to store natural gas, page 2) with regulated pressure between an inner (110) and an outer tank (120)(page 3), comprising:
the outer tank (120);
the inner tank (110) held inside the outer tank (120) by supports (130), wherein the inner tank (110) contains the liquefied Hydrogen (page 3, para. 1) and a space (between 110 and 120) between the tanks (110, 120) contains Hydrogen in gas form thereby forming an Hydrogen gas atmosphere (page 6, para. 4 - per transfer through 190);
an open-cell inner insulation layer (141; page 5, para. 3) in the space (between 110 and 120) between the tanks (110, 120) and in contact with a surface (see outer surface) of the inner tank (110), wherein said inner insulation layer (141) is embedded in the Hydrogen gas atmosphere (from the inner tank through 190) of the space (between 110 and 120) between the tanks (110, 120);
at least one outer insulation layer (142) in contact with the outer tank (120) comprising closed-cell foams (page 5, para. 3); and
an evaporator (interpreted as a structure that can provide vapor; 191, 190 including part thereof inside 110) inside the inner tank (110) to ensure a fluid exchange of Hydrogen (page 6, para. 4) in the gas form with the space (between 110 and 120) between the tanks (110, 120).
KR223 does not appear to explicitly teach that the closed cell foam is gasified with an inert gas of thermal conductivity lower than the conductivity of the hydrogen. However, such is routine and well known as taught at least by De Combarier. De Combarier teaches closed cell foams (para. 36) are known to be gasified with (using blowing agent) an inert gas (at least nitrogen, para. 40) of thermal conductivity lower than the conductivity of the hydrogen (para. 40, see thermophysical fact that nitrogen is not only inert but has a thermal conductivity lower than hydrogen) thereby providing closed cell foam having lower thermal conductivity and improved thermal performance. Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the closed cell foam of KR223 with a blowing agent of nitrogen for the purpose of providing a lower thermal conductivity insulation with improved thermal performance.
In regard to claim(s) 4, 8, KR223 teaches that the outer and inner tanks (120, 110) and the open-cell inner insulation layer (141) and outer insulation layer (142) are concentric (see both surround center of tank).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2012-0127223 hereafter KR223 in view of De Combarier (US 2022/0064357) and Patelczyk (US 2020/0208779).
In regard to claim(s) 1, 3, KR223 teaches a cryogenic tank (see whole disclosure, including Fig. 1-5) for storing liquefied Hydrogen (fully capable thereof in view of ability to store natural gas, page 2) with regulated pressure between an inner (110) and an outer tank (120)(page 3), comprising:
the outer tank (120);
the inner tank (110) held inside the outer tank (120) by supports (130), wherein the inner tank (110) contains the liquefied Hydrogen (page 3, para. 1) and a space (between 110 and 120) between the tanks (110, 120) contains Hydrogen in gas form thereby forming an Hydrogen gas atmosphere (page 6, para. 4 - per transfer through 190);
an open-cell inner insulation layer (141; page 5, para. 3) in the space (between 110 and 120) between the tanks (110, 120) and in contact with a surface (see outer surface) of the inner tank (110), wherein said inner insulation layer (141) is embedded in the Hydrogen gas atmosphere (from the inner tank through 190) of the space (between 110 and 120) between the tanks (110, 120);
at least one outer insulation layer (142) in contact with the outer tank (120) comprising closed-cell foams (page 5, para. 3); and
an evaporator (interpreted as a structure that can provide vapor; 191, 190 including part thereof inside 110) inside the inner tank (110) to ensure a fluid exchange of Hydrogen (page 6, para. 4) in the gas form with the space (between 110 and 120) between the tanks (110, 120).
KR223 does not appear to explicitly teach that the closed cell foam is gasified with an inert gas of thermal conductivity lower than the conductivity of the hydrogen. However, such is routine and well known as taught at least by De Combarier. De Combarier teaches closed cell foams (para. 36) are known to be gasified with (using blowing agent) an inert gas (at least nitrogen, para. 40) of thermal conductivity lower than the conductivity of the hydrogen (para. 40, see thermophysical fact that nitrogen is not only inert but has a thermal conductivity lower than hydrogen) thereby providing closed cell foam having lower thermal conductivity and improved thermal performance. Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the closed cell foam of KR223 with a blowing agent of nitrogen for the purpose of providing a lower thermal conductivity insulation with improved thermal performance.
KR223 teaches that the evaporator comprises a connecting tube (190) between an interior of the inner tank (110) and the open-cell inner insulation layer (141), but does not explicitly teach a drainage tube that extends to a bottom of the inner tank (110) and a heat exchanger at an opposite end of the drainage tube.
However, it is well known to provide an internal heat exchanger in the ullage space to provide heat exchange between a liquid inside the internal heat exchanger and the gas in the ullage space as taught by Patelczyk. Patelczyk teaches a tank (100) having an inner tank (102) and an outer tank (104), the inner tank (102) holding liquid hydrogen (para. 10), a drainage tube (pipe from 116 to 118) that extends to a bottom (see bottom of tank 100) of the inner tank (102), a heat exchanger (118) at an opposite end (top end) of the drainage tube (pipe from 116 to 118) in the ullage space (para. 12) and teaches that the heat exchanger (118) permits liquid inside the heat exchanger (118) to cool vapor around (para. 12) the heat exchanger (118) thereby cooling the vapor and reducing the vapor pressure in the tank. Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the evaporator (190, 191) of KR223 to have a drainage tube extending to the bottom of the inner tank and with an internal heat exchanger at the top of the drainage tube in the ullage space for the purpose of cooling ullage vapor and reducing a pressure in the tank while still maintaining the pressure balance benefits of KR223.
In regard to claim(s) 4, 8, KR223 teaches that the outer and inner tanks (120, 110) and the open-cell inner insulation layer (141) and outer insulation layer (142) are concentric (see both surround center of tank).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN F PETTITT whose telephone number is (571)272-0771. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 9-5p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR): http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN F PETTITT, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
JFPIII
February 13, 2026