DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 6-20 and 22-25 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11,696,796. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,696,796 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 recites “wherein the controller is further configured to: calculate an RF output peak condition by measuring a temperature of the area of tissue via a thermocouple to determine when the measured temperature of the area of tissue is below a percentage of a predicted maximum temperature” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 recites “wherein the controller is configured to: calculate an RF output peak condition by comparing a phase value of the pre-determined amount of RF energy to a percentage of a predicted maximum phase value and a static threshold of the predicted maximum phase value” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Paragraph 0050 of the printed publication discussed that the break value or range is calculated from a predicted maximum value by multiplying the predicted value by a percentage, however fails mention calculating this with respect to temperature or phase as required by claims 24 and 25. Furthermore, the specification as originally filed fails to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yates et al (2016/0058492) in view of Huang et al (2012/0012638).
Referring to claim 19, Yates et al teaches an electrosurgical generator (102/220) for fusing or sealing tissue comprising: a controller (281 / 1450) configured to: determine one or more characteristics related to an area of tissue (paragraphs 0066, 0067-0068, 0071 and 0111-0112; Figures 11 and 19), instruct an RF amplifier (1466) to generate a pre-determined amount of RF energy for an area of tissue based on the determined one or more characteristics (paragraph 0112), detect changes to the determined one or more characteristics related to the area of tissue, and modify the pre-determined amount of RF energy based on the detected changes to the determined one or more characteristics (paragraphs 0112-0119; Figures 19 and 20); and an RF amplifier (1466) configured to generate the pre-determined amount of RF energy that is passed to an electrosurgical instrument (106 in Figure 1) connected to the electrosurgical generator (102/220), wherein the pre-determined amount of RF energy generated is based on instructions provided by the controller (paragraphs 0066, 0067-0068, 0071 and 0111-0119; Figures 1, 11, 19 and 20).
Yates teaches wherein at least one of the determined one or more characteristics related to the area of tissue is a temperature and teaches a controller configured to maintain desired surgical outcomes (paragraphs 0066, 0067-0068, 0071, 0111-0119 and 0130; Figures 1, 11, 19 and 20), however fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to maintain the temperature of the area of tissue at 100 °C. Huang et al teaches an analogous electrosurgical generator comprising a controller is configured to maintain the temperature of the area of tissue at 100 °C (paragraph 0134). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify controller, as taught by Yates et al, to maintain the temperature of the area of tissue at 100 °C, as taught by Huang et al, in order to provide a reasonable sealing temperature (paragraph 0134).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-20, 22 and 23 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action is overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the art rejections of claim 2, filed March 31, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant's arguments with regard to claim 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Yates teaches a controller configured to maintain desired surgical outcomes (paragraphs 0066, 0067-0068, 0071, 0111-0119 and 0130; Figures 1, 11, 19 and 20), however fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to maintain the temperature of the area of tissue at 100 °C. The examiner is relying on the teaching of Huang et al to teach maintaining the temperature of the area of tissue at 100 °C (paragraph 0134). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify controller, as taught by Yates et al, to maintain the temperature of the area of tissue at 100 °C, as taught by Huang et al, in order to provide a reasonable sealing temperature (paragraph 0134).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794