DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is an office action in response to the communication filed on 05/26/2025.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Claims 1-10 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite the judicial exception of mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, nor do the claims include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 1: Yes, the claims are drawn to one or more statutory categories.
Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test entails considering whether the claimed subject
matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35
U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claims 6-10 are directed toward a method (i.e., process) with at least one step and claims 1-5 are directed toward a system (i.e., a machine).
Step 2A Prong 1: Yes, the claims recite an abstract idea.
If the claim recites a statutory category of invention, the claim requires further analysis
in Step 2A. Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One,
examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception.
Claim 6 recites abstract limitations, including those in bold below.
A replacement-time position identification method of consumable parts comprising:
automatically grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body;
automatically acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off;
automatically receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status; and
automatically identifying, based on a travel status of the movable body, a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part, when a value of data of the internal resistance value from a consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change, wherein
the consumable part is a battery, which is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
These limitations, as drafted, are simple processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses an individual looking at data, recognizing a change in data values, and identifying a position of a moving body as the replacement position of a consumable battery that is replaced when the ignition is turned to an on or off state. The claim does not recite anything that precludes it from the mental process grouping.
Step 2A Prong 2: No, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
If the claim recites a judicial exception in step 2A Prong One, the claim requires further
analysis in step 2A Prong Two. In step 2A Prong Two, examiners evaluate whether the claim
recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that
exception.
Claim 6 recites additional element limitations, including those underlined below.
A replacement-time position identification method of consumable parts comprising:
automatically grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body;
automatically acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off;
automatically receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status; and
automatically identifying, based on a travel status of the movable body, a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part, when a value of data of the internal resistance value from a consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change, wherein
the consumable part is a battery, which is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
The grasping of an internal resistance value, acquisition of travel position status, and receipt of data are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than insignificant pre-solution activity.
The recitation of automatic performance of the abstract idea steps merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental process using generic components. The automation is recited at a high level of generality and merely executes the steps as described.
The additional elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) because they merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: No, the additional elements of these claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
If the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application in
step 2A Prong Two, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, and requires
further analysis under Step 2B to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e.,
whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
As discussed above, the grasping of an internal resistance value, acquisition of travel position status, and receipt of data amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity and are recited at a high level of generality. The data collected as described in the claim are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
As discussed above, the automation additional element amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
The limitations of claim 7 merely serve to further characterize the insignificant extra-solution activity (". . . the consumable part is a battery . . .") and add additional abstract ideas (“. . . the identifying further includes identifying a replacement day . . .”). The abstract limitations, as drafted, are simple processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses an individual evaluating battery internal resistance data and making a simple mental determination on when to replace the battery based on that data. The claim does not recite anything that precludes it from the mental process grouping. For the reasons described above with respect to claim 6, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea.
The limitations of claims 8 and 10 merely serve to add and further characterize insignificant extra-solution activity. For the reasons described above with respect to claim 6, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea.
The limitations of claim 9 add additional abstract ideas. The abstract limitations, as drafted, are simple processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses an individual evaluating battery internal resistance data, making a simple mental determination on when to replace the battery based on that data, and recalling locations where the battery has been replaced before. The claim does not recite anything that precludes it from the mental process grouping. For the reasons described above with respect to claim 8, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea.
The limitations of claim 1 are analogous to the limitations of claim 6 and thus the analysis of claim 6 is applied to claim 1. Claim 1 additionally recites generic means for performing the steps that merely act to "apply" the otherwise abstract idea.
The limitations of claim 2 are analogous to the limitations of claim 7 and thus the analysis of claim 7 is applied to claim 2. Claim 2 additionally recites generic means for performing the steps that merely act to "apply" the otherwise abstract idea.
The limitations of claim 3 are analogous to the limitations of claim 8 and thus the analysis of claim 8 is applied to claim 3. Claim 3 additionally recites generic means for performing the steps that merely act to "apply" the otherwise abstract idea.
The limitations of claim 4 are analogous to the limitations of claim 9 and thus the analysis of claim 9 is applied to claim 4. Claim 4 additionally recites generic means for performing the steps that merely act to "apply" the otherwise abstract idea.
The limitations of claim 5 are analogous to the limitations of claim 10 and thus the analysis of claim 10 is applied to claim 5. Claim 5 additionally recites generic means for performing the steps that merely act to "apply" the otherwise abstract idea.
Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponnuvel et al. (CN 113227804 A; hereinafter Ponnuvel) in view of Zhu (US 20180175638 A1; hereinafter Zhu) and further in view of Flick (US RE47354 E; hereinafter Flick), Shengbing et al. (CN 109421630 A; hereinafter Shengbing), and Hawley (Hawley, D. (2021, March 25). How To Disconnect A Car Battery. J.D. Power.; hereinafter Hawley).
Regarding claim 1, Ponnuvel discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
A replacement-time position identification system of consumable parts comprising (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 2, paragraph 2 ". . . the invention claims a system and method for providing a result of a plurality of instances of a fault test on a hardware component over time to determine a degradation rate of a performance characteristic associated with a hardware component. The degradation rate may be used to predict and/or perform one or more other remedial measures prior to the occurrence of a permanent fault."):
a processor (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 8, paragraph 2 “The various functions described herein as being performed by entities may be performed by hardware, firmware, and/or software. For example, the instructions stored in the memory can be executed by the processor to perform various functions.”); and
a memory (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 8, paragraph 2 “The various functions described herein as being performed by entities may be performed by hardware, firmware, and/or software. For example, the instructions stored in the memory can be executed by the processor to perform various functions.”), wherein the processor is configured to:
. . . grasp an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 11, paragraph 1 ". . . outputs of one or more hardware components to determine the pass or not through the fault test. The evaluated one or more outputs may include one or more . . . physical outputs (e.g., current level, voltage level, resistance level, etc.)."; pg. 42, paragraph 2 ". . . for remotely monitoring the vehicle.");
. . . acquire a travel position status (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 37, paragraph 2 "The vehicle 900 may further include a GNSS sensor 958.") . . .
. . . receive data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 24, paragraph 1 ". . . the computing platform 100 of the fault tester and other components can be in the vehicle 900 . . ."; pg. 36, paragraph 1 "The SoC 904 may further include a wide range of peripheral device interfaces to enable communication with peripheral devices . . . SoC 904 (i.e., receiver) may be used to process . . . sensors . . . data from the bus . . . GNSS sensor . . ."; claim 18- on-vehicle processing units with communication grounds); and
based on a travel status of the movable body, . . . when a value of data of the internal resistance value from a consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 3, paragraph 3 ". . . the performance characteristic can correspond to the hardware component can pass the physical operation parameter (e.g., power supply voltage, operating clock speed) of the critical value (e.g., Vmin) of the fault test."; pg. 5, paragraph 3 ". . . the performance characteristic can be the critical value (also called physical operation parameter critical value) of the physical operation parameter when the hardware component can pass through the fault test. For example, the performance characteristic can be the minimum power supply voltage of the hardware component can pass the fault test."; pg. 10, paragraph 2 ". . . the remedial measure manager 118 may be based at least in part on one or more predictions of the permanent fault predictor 120 (e.g., based on one or more confidence scores) to perform one or more remedial measures."; pg. 37, paragraph 2 "The vehicle 900 may further include a GNSS sensor 958."), wherein
the consumable part is a battery (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 3, paragraph 3 ". . . the performance characteristic can correspond to the hardware component can pass the physical operation parameter (e.g., power supply voltage, operating clock speed) of the critical value (e.g., Vmin) of the fault test.") . . .
While Ponnuvel discloses grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body, acquiring a travel position status, receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status, based on a travel status of the movable body, performing a remedial action when a value of data of the internal resistance value from a consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change, and the consumable part being a battery, it does not appear to explicitly disclose automatically performing the grasping, acquiring, and receiving steps, acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off, based on a travel status of the movable body, identifying a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part, nor the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . based on a travel status of the movable body, . . . identify a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part (see Zhu at least [0109] "The geo position of the moving vehicle . . . may also be dynamically updated according to the real time geo positions acquired by the battery pack."; [0112] ". . . it is indicated that the selected service center is 2.3 miles from the current position (i.e., replacement position)."), . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the remedial action taken in response to an internal resistance value satisfying a predetermined requirement in change and position acquisition capabilities of Ponnuvel with the identification of a position of a moving body as a replacement position of a consumable part as taught by Zhu to, based on a travel status of the movable body, identify a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part. Doing so would assist users in navigating to a service location when servicing is necessary as recognized by Zhu (see Zhu at least [0111] "For instance, sub-window 1335 is a warning window, which displays a warning message ‘Battery will last 15 miles . . .’ in this example. Sub-window 1340 displays a map 1345 with 4 nearby battery service centers depicted with one marked as selected for the needed battery service. Also on the map 1345 in sub-window 1340, the current geo position of the moving vehicle 1355 is also marked."; [0112] ". . . it is indicated that the selected service center is 2.3 miles from the current position. Sub-window 1370 is a[n] actionable button with the display content ‘Hit this button to re-direct to the selected service center.’ A hit on this button may serve as a confirmation to the automatic detour to the selected service center.").
While Ponnuvel and Zhu disclose acquiring a travel position status, they do not appear to explicitly disclose automatically acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off nor the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
Flick teaches the subject matter indicated with dotted underline below:
. . . acquire a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off (see Flick at least pg. 51, col. 24, lines 16-28 "Determination of the vehicle being stopped can be made based upon one or both of the GPS position or the vehicle ignition being turned off. The second time prevents the recording of position information when the vehicle is stopped . . ."); . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the position acquisition of Ponnuvel and Zhu with the position acquisition in response to ignition being turned on or off as taught by Flick to acquire a travel position status in response to an ignition of a movable body being turned on or off. Doing so would allow position acquisition when a vehicle is stopped and thereby reduce system communication resource load as recognized by Flick (see Flick at least pg. 51, col. 24, lines 16-28 "Determination of the vehicle being stopped can be made based upon one or both of the GPS position or the vehicle ignition being turned off. The second time prevents the recording of position information when the vehicle is stopped . . . Accordingly, the important information of the vehicle stops being recorded and . . . system communications resources are conserved.").
While Ponnuvel, Zhu, and Flick disclose grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body, acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off, receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status, based on a travel status of the movable body, identifying a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part when a value of data of the internal resistance value from a consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change, and the consumable part being a battery, they do not appear to explicitly disclose automatically performing the grasping, acquiring, and receiving steps nor the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
Shengbing teaches automatic monitoring of a vehicle (see Shengbing at least pg. 7, paragraph 3 “VHM system 200 is configured as automatically monitoring the health of each onboard subsystem, which executes Related one or more functions are operated with autonomous vehicle.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body, acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off, and receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status of Ponnuvel, Zhu, and Flick with the automatic monitoring of a vehicle as taught by Shengbing to automatically perform the grasping, acquiring, and receiving steps. Doing so would enable autonomous servicing operations.
While Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, and Shengbing disclose the consumable part being a battery, they do not appear to explicitly disclose the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
Hawley teaches the subject matter indicated with wavy underline below:
. . . the consumable part is a battery, which is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state (see Hawley at least pg. 3, paragraph 2 “Before beginning the process of disconnecting your battery, start by turning your car off. You should never attempt to disconnect your car's battery while your car is powered on.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the consumable part being a battery of Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, and Shengbing with the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an off state as taught by Shengbing to have the consumable part be a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state. Doing so would prevent electrical damage as a result of the replacement operation and ensure safety.
Regarding claim 2, Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, Shengbing, and Hawley disclose claim 1 as recited in the claims and applied above. Additionally, Ponnuvel discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the system identifies a replacement time based on a change in the internal resistance value of the battery (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 3, paragraph 3 ". . . the performance characteristic can correspond to the hardware component can pass the physical operation parameter (e.g., power supply voltage, operating clock speed) of the critical value (e.g., Vmin) of the fault test."; pg. 5, paragraph 2 "It is determined when the performance characteristics are degraded at a rate that is faster than a typical rate for the lifetime of the component, and may be used to predict the imminent permanence failure."; pg. 15, paragraph 3 ". . . and different degradation rate can be used for monitoring the service life corresponding to the hardware component 102 and/or use amount (e.g., total service life and/or use amount) of the long-term degradation rate."; pg. 16, paragraph 2 "Other remedial measures include . . . automatic scheduling for the maintenance service of the computing platform 100, automatic control of the autonomous vehicle 900 (e.g., parking the vehicle at the roadside or driving to a specific location, such as a repair factory) and so on."; pg. 45, paragraph 3 "[P]ower supply 1016 may include . . . a battery power supply . . .").
While Ponnuvel discloses identifying a replacement time based on a change in the internal resistance value of a battery, it does not appear to explicitly disclose scheduling a specific day.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the consumable part is a battery, and the system identifies a replacement day (see Zhu at least [0103] ". . . the battery service is scheduled on certain date and time . . .") . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the scheduling function of Ponnuvel with the date-level specificity as taught by Zhu to identify a replacement day. Doing so would ensure that servicing is available when it is required.
Regarding claim 3, Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, Shengbing, and Hawley disclose claim 1 as recited in the claims and applied above. Additionally, Ponnuvel discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the data receiver includes general map information and a replacement place register in which places where replacement of the consumable part is possible are registered in advance (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 16, paragraph 2 "Other remedial measures include . . . automatic control of the autonomous vehicle 900 (e.g., parking the vehicle at the roadside or driving to a specific location, such as a repair factory [(i.e., replacement place)]) and so on."; ". . . one or more [SoC 904 (i.e., receiver)] can be combined with the HD map 922 [(i.e., map information)] in the system (e.g., the system of the vehicle 900); The HD map may obtain a map refresh and/or update from one or more servers . . .").
While Ponnuvel discloses the data receiver including general map information and a replacement place register, it does not appear to explicitly disclose replacement of a consumable part being possible at those locations nor does it appear to explicitly disclose that places are registered in advance.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the data receiver includes general map information and a replacement place register in which places where replacement of the consumable part is possible are registered in advance (see Zhu at least [0117] "FIG. 15 depicts an exemplary framework 1500 which employs the disclosed battery modules/packs to enable automated and efficient battery services, according to an embodiment of the present teaching. The framework 1500 comprises various applications 1510 that employ the disclosed battery modules/packs, a distributed service center network 1540, a BSCCC (battery service central control center) 1530, and a network 1520 via which different parties may be connected."; [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation. This may be a similar process as for the PSMC 240, as disclosed with reference to FIG. 10A. Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the map and service center information of Ponnuvel with the possibility of a consumable parting being replaced at service locations and registration of service places in advance as taught by Zhu to have the data receiver include general map information and a replacement place register in which places where replacement of the consumable part is possible are registered in advance. Doing so would facilitate servicing operations as recognized by Zhu (see Zhu at least [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation.").
Regarding claim 4, Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, Shengbing, and Hawley disclose claim 3 as recited in the claims and applied above.
While Ponnuvel discloses a replacement place register, it does not appear to explicitly disclose a replacement place identifier.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . further comprising a replacement place identifier that identifies a place where the consumable part has been actually replaced by using information relating to the places registered in the replacement place register (see Zhu at least [0120] "Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the replacement place register of Ponnuvel with the replacement place identifier as taught by Zhu to have a replacement place identifier that identifies a place where the consumable part has been actually replaced by using information relating to the places registered in the replacement place register. Doing so would provide service maps with updated information and enable the creation of a service record as recognized by Zhu (see Zhu at least [0120] "Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed."; [0123] "Such information may be used for different purposes. For example, a centralized record of services may facilitate centralized billing or payment . . .").
Regarding claim 5, Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, Shengbing, and Hawley disclose claim 1 as recited in the claims and applied above.
While Ponnuvel discloses a place register, it does not appear to explicitly disclose registering a plurality of places nor registering a place where replacement of the consumable part is possible.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . further comprising a place register that registers a plurality of places where at least one selected from sales, maintenance, and management of the movable body is performed (see Zhu at least [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation. This may be a similar process as for the PSMC 240, as disclosed with reference to FIG. 10A. Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed."),
wherein the place register registers a place where replacement of the consumable part is possible (see Zhu at least [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation. This may be a similar process as for the PSMC 240, as disclosed with reference to FIG. 10A. Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the place register of Ponnuvel with the registering of a plurality of places and the registering of a place where replacement of the consumable part is possible as taught by Zhu to have a place register that registers a plurality of places where at least one selected from sales, maintenance, and management of the movable body is performed and have the place register register a place where replacement of the consumable part is possible. Doing so would facilitate servicing operations as recognized by Zhu (see Zhu at least [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation."; pg. 37, paragraph 2 "The vehicle 900 may further include a GNSS sensor 958.").
Regarding claim 6, Ponnuvel discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
A replacement-time position identification method of consumable parts comprising (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 2, paragraph 2 ". . . the invention claims a system and method for providing a result of a plurality of instances of a fault test on a hardware component over time to determine a degradation rate of a performance characteristic associated with a hardware component. The degradation rate may be used to predict and/or perform one or more other remedial measures prior to the occurrence of a permanent fault."):
. . . grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 11, paragraph 1 ". . . outputs of one or more hardware components to determine the pass or not through the fault test. The evaluated one or more outputs may include one or more . . . physical outputs (e.g., current level, voltage level, resistance level, etc.)."; pg. 42, paragraph 2 ". . . for remotely monitoring the vehicle.");
. . . acquiring a travel position status (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 37, paragraph 2 "The vehicle 900 may further include a GNSS sensor 958.") . . .
. . . receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 24, paragraph 1 ". . . the computing platform 100 of the fault tester and other components can be in the vehicle 900 . . ."; pg. 36, paragraph 1 "The SoC 904 may further include a wide range of peripheral device interfaces to enable communication with peripheral devices . . . SoC 904 (i.e., receiver) may be used to process . . . sensors . . . data from the bus . . . GNSS sensor . . ."; claim 18- on-vehicle processing units with communication grounds); and
. . . identifying, based on a travel status of the movable body, a position of the movable body . . . when a value of data of the internal resistance value from the consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 3, paragraph 3 ". . . the performance characteristic can correspond to the hardware component can pass the physical operation parameter (e.g., power supply voltage, operating clock speed) of the critical value (e.g., Vmin) of the fault test."; pg. 5, paragraph 3 ". . . the performance characteristic can be the critical value (also called physical operation parameter critical value) of the physical operation parameter when the hardware component can pass through the fault test. For example, the performance characteristic can be the minimum power supply voltage of the hardware component can pass the fault test."; pg. 10, paragraph 2 ". . . the remedial measure manager 118 may be based at least in part on one or more predictions of the permanent fault predictor 120 (e.g., based on one or more confidence scores) to perform one or more remedial measures."), wherein
the consumable part is a battery (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 3, paragraph 3 ". . . the performance characteristic can correspond to the hardware component can pass the physical operation parameter (e.g., power supply voltage, operating clock speed) of the critical value (e.g., Vmin) of the fault test.") . . .
While Ponnuvel discloses grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body, acquiring a travel position status, receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status, based on a travel status of the movable body, performing a remedial action when a value of data of the internal resistance value from a consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change, and the consumable part being a battery, it does not appear to explicitly disclose automatically performing the grasping, acquiring, and receiving steps, acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off, based on a travel status of the movable body, identifying a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part, nor the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . identifying, based on a travel status of the movable body, a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part (see Zhu at least [0109] "The geo position of the moving vehicle . . . may also be dynamically updated according to the real time geo positions acquired by the battery pack."; [112] ". . . it is indicated that the selected service center is 2.3 miles from the current position (i.e., replacement position)."), . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the remedial action taken in response to an internal resistance value satisfying a predetermined requirement in change and position acquisition capabilities of Ponnuvel with the identification of a position of a moving body as a replacement position of a consumable part as taught by Zhu to identify, based on a travel status of the movable body, a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part, when a value of data of the internal resistance value from a consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change Doing so would assist users in navigating to a service location when servicing is necessary as recognized by Zhu (see Zhu at least [0111] "For instance, sub-window 1335 is a warning window, which displays a warning message ‘Battery will last 15 miles . . .’ in this example. Sub-window 1340 displays a map 1345 with 4 nearby battery service centers depicted with one marked as selected for the needed battery service. Also on the map 1345 in sub-window 1340, the current geo position of the moving vehicle 1355 is also marked."; [0112] ". . . it is indicated that the selected service center is 2.3 miles from the current position. Sub-window 1370 is a[n] actionable button with the display content ‘Hit this button to re-direct to the selected service center.’ A hit on this button may serve as a confirmation to the automatic detour to the selected service center.").
While Ponnuvel and Zhu disclose acquiring a travel position status, they do not appear to explicitly disclose acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off.
Flick teaches the subject matter indicated with dotted underline below:
. . . acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off (see Flick at least pg. 51, col. 24, lines 16-28 "Determination of the vehicle being stopped can be made based upon one or both of the GPS position or the vehicle ignition being turned off. The second time prevents the recording of position information when the vehicle is stopped . . ."); . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the position acquisition of Ponnuvel and Zhu with the position acquisition in response to ignition being turned on or off as taught by Flick to acquire a travel position status in response to an ignition of a movable body being turned on or off. Doing so would allow position acquisition when a vehicle is stopped and thereby reduce system communication resource load as recognized by Flick (see Flick at least pg. 51, col. 24, lines 16-28 "Determination of the vehicle being stopped can be made based upon one or both of the GPS position or the vehicle ignition being turned off. The second time prevents the recording of position information when the vehicle is stopped . . . Accordingly, the important information of the vehicle stops being recorded and . . . system communications resources are conserved.").
While Ponnuvel, Zhu, and Flick disclose grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body, acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off, receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status, based on a travel status of the movable body, identifying a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part when a value of data of the internal resistance value from a consumable part consumption degree grasper satisfies a predetermined requirement in change, and the consumable part being a battery, they do not appear to explicitly disclose automatically performing the grasping, acquiring, and receiving steps nor the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
Shengbing teaches automatic monitoring of a vehicle (see Shengbing at least pg. 7, paragraph 3 “VHM system 200 is configured as automatically monitoring the health of each onboard subsystem, which executes Related one or more functions are operated with autonomous vehicle.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the grasping an internal resistance value of a consumable part included in a movable body, acquiring a travel position status in response to an ignition of the movable body being turned on or off, and receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status of Ponnuvel, Zhu, and Flick with the automatic monitoring of a vehicle as taught by Shengbing to automatically perform the grasping, acquiring, and receiving steps. Doing so would enable autonomous servicing operations.
While Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, and Shengbing disclose the consumable part being a battery, they do not appear to explicitly disclose the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state.
Hawley teaches the subject matter indicated with wavy underline below:
. . . the consumable part is a battery, which is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state (see Hawley at least pg. 3, paragraph 2 “Before beginning the process of disconnecting your battery, start by turning your car off. You should never attempt to disconnect your car's battery while your car is powered on.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the consumable part being a battery of Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, and Shengbing with the consumable part being a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an off state as taught by Shengbing to have the consumable part be a battery that is a component that is replaced when the ignition of the movable body is turned to an on or off state. Doing so would prevent electrical damage as a result of the replacement operation and ensure safety.
Regarding claim 7, Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, Shengbing, and Hawley disclose claim 6 as recited in the claims and applied above. Additionally, Ponnuvel discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the identifying further includes identifying a replacement time based on a change in the internal resistance value of the battery (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 3, paragraph 3 ". . . the performance characteristic can correspond to the hardware component can pass the physical operation parameter (e.g., power supply voltage, operating clock speed) of the critical value (e.g., Vmin) of the fault test."; pg. 5, paragraph 2 "It is determined when the performance characteristics are degraded at a rate that is faster than a typical rate for the lifetime of the component, and may be used to predict the imminent permanence failure."; pg. 15, paragraph 3 ". . . and different degradation rate can be used for monitoring the service life corresponding to the hardware component 102 and/or use amount (e.g., total service life and/or use amount) of the long-term degradation rate."; pg. 16, paragraph 2 "Other remedial measures include . . . automatic scheduling for the maintenance service of the computing platform 100, automatic control of the autonomous vehicle 900 (e.g., parking the vehicle at the roadside or driving to a specific location, such as a repair factory) and so on."; pg. 45, paragraph 3 "[P]ower supply 1016 may include . . . a battery power supply . . .").
While Ponnuvel discloses identifying a replacement time based on a change in the internal resistance value of a battery, it does not appear to explicitly disclose scheduling a specific day.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the consumable part is a battery, and the identifying further includes identifying a replacement day (see Zhu at least [0103] ". . . the battery service is scheduled on certain date and time . . .") . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the scheduling function of Ponnuvel with the date-level specificity as taught by Zhu to identify a replacement day. Doing so would ensure that servicing is available when it is required.
Regarding claim 8, Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, Shengbing, and Hawley disclose claim 6 as recited in the claims and applied above. Additionally, Ponnuvel discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein, in the receiving the data, general map information and a replacement place register . . . are available (see Ponnuvel at least pg. 16, paragraph 2 "Other remedial measures include . . . automatic control of the autonomous vehicle 900 (e.g., parking the vehicle at the roadside or driving to a specific location, such as a repair factory [(i.e., replacement place)]) and so on."; ". . . one or more [SoC 904 (i.e., receiver)] can be combined with the HD map 922 [(i.e., map information)] in the system (e.g., the system of the vehicle 900); The HD map may obtain a map refresh and/or update from one or more servers . . .").
While Ponnuvel discloses receiving the data includes having general map information and a replacement place register available, it does not appear to explicitly disclose replacement of a consumable part being possible at those locations nor does it appear to explicitly disclose that places are registered in advance.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . and a replacement place register in which places where replacement of the consumable part is possible are registered in advance is available (see Zhu at least [0117] "FIG. 15 depicts an exemplary framework 1500 which employs the disclosed battery modules/packs to enable automated and efficient battery services, according to an embodiment of the present teaching. The framework 1500 comprises various applications 1510 that employ the disclosed battery modules/packs, a distributed service center network 1540, a BSCCC (battery service central control center) 1530, and a network 1520 via which different parties may be connected."; [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation. This may be a similar process as for the PSMC 240, as disclosed with reference to FIG. 10A. Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the map and service center information of Ponnuvel with the possibility of a consumable parting being replaced at service locations and registration of service places in advance as taught by Zhu to have the data receiver include general map information and a replacement place register in which places where replacement of the consumable part is possible are registered in advance. Doing so would facilitate servicing operations as recognized by Zhu (see Zhu at least [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation.").
Regarding claim 9, Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, Shengbing, and Hawley disclose claim 8 as recited in the claims and applied above.
While Ponnuvel discloses a replacement place register, it does not appear to explicitly disclose identifying a place where the consumable part has actually been replaced.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the identifying further includes identifying a place where the consumable part has been actually replaced by using information in which places where replacement of the consumable part is possible are registered in advance (see Zhu at least [0120] "Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the replacement place register of Ponnuvel with the replacement place identification as taught by Zhu to identify a place where the consumable part has been actually replaced by using information in which places where replacement of the consumable part is possible are registered in advance. Doing so would provide service maps with updated information and enable the creation of a service record as recognized by Zhu (see Zhu at least [0120] " Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed."; [0123] "Such information may be used for different purposes. For example, a centralized record of services may facilitate centralized billing or payment . . .").
Regarding claim 10, Ponnuvel, Zhu, Flick, Shengbing, and Hawley disclose claim 6 as recited in the claims and applied above.
While Ponnuvel discloses a place register, it does not appear to explicitly disclose registering a plurality of places nor registering a place where replacement of the consumable part is possible.
Zhu teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . further comprising registering a plurality of places where at least one selected from sales, maintenance, and management of the movable body is performed (see Zhu at least [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation. This may be a similar process as for the PSMC 240, as disclosed with reference to FIG. 10A. Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed."),
wherein the registering the plurality of places further includes registering places where replacement of the consumable part is possible (see Zhu at least [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation. This may be a similar process as for the PSMC 240, as disclosed with reference to FIG. 10A. Each PSMC 240 identifies a service center for its needed service may correspond to a distributed approach and in this distributed approach, each PSMC 240 may need to be equipped with service center distribution maps (e.g., service center maps 1025 in FIG. 10A), which may need to be updated from time to time for all PSMCs. This may be done after a battery pack is replaced and maintained at a service center and the service center maps may be updated before the battery pack is re-deployed.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the place register of Ponnuvel with the registering of a plurality of places and the registering of a place where replacement of the consumable part is possible as taught by Zhu to have a place register that registers a plurality of places where at least one selected from sales, maintenance, and management of the movable body is performed and have the place register register a place where replacement of the consumable part is possible. Doing so would facilitate servicing operations as recognized by Zhu (see Zhu at least [0120] "When the response is sent to the BSCCC 1530, upon receiving the response, the BSCCC 1530 may analyze the response and if the response indicates that a service center cannot handle the requested service, the BSCCC 1530 may make other selection of a service center. This process may repeat until a service center responds with a confirmation.").
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2025 regarding the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues, “The newly-added features of claims 1 and 6 specify that the replacement-time position identification system automatically receives data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status, and automatically identifies a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part. Thus, the newly-added features does not merely link the judicial exceptions to a technical field, but instead adds a meaningful limitation in that it can employ the information provided by the judicial exception.
“As explained in the specification, automatically receiving data of the internal resistance value and data of the travel position status and automatically identifies a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part when a value of data of the internal resistance value satisfies a predetermined requirement in change avoids the need for the operator to evaluate the data, and then manually determine whether a value of data of the internal resistance value satisfies a predetermined requirement in change to identify a position of the movable body as a replacement position of the consumable part. The newly-added features in combination with the replacement-time position identification system enables continuously acquiring information relating to a vehicle of a customer, even for a customer who has defected from the dealership, which goes beyond merely automating the abstract idea. Using the information obtained via the judicial exception to take corrective action such that the replacement-time position identification system is operable in a particular way is an ‘other meaningful limitation’ that integrates the judicial exception into the overall replacement-time position identification and accordingly practically applies the exception, such that the claim is not directed to the judicial exception (Step 2A: NO),” (from remarks pages 6-7).
As to Point (A), examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant appears to argue that the automatic execution of the method steps in the independent claims resultingly yields the claim eligible since the additional element provides a practical application. However, as explained further in the analysis supplied above, the automation additional element amounts to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABITHA KRESS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
7/28/25