DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Although the advisory action dated 04/20/26 had indicated that the amended limitation would overcome the prior art of record however after further review of all the prior art Gao (Pub No 20200280957) further in view of Park (Pub No 20180124687), Agiwal (Pub No 20210127356), and Zhang (Pub No 20170141893), the examiner has found that a portion of Agiwal teaches the amended limitation.
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach the amended limitation.
However, in further review of all the prior art, it is found that Agiwal teaches the amended limitation. Agiwal states:
[0449] Each PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in PO is associated with one of the transmitted SSBs (or SS/PBCH blocks). Based on this association a UE can determine PDCCH monitoring occasion corresponding to one or more suitable SSBs (e.g. SSB with SS-RSRP above a threshold) and monitor only these PDCCH monitoring occasions in a PO. In the existing system K.sup.th PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in PO corresponds to K.sup.th transmitted SSB. However this mapping rule between PDCCH monitoring occasions of a PO and transmitted SSBs works only if number of PDCCH monitoring occasions in a PO is equal to number of transmitted SSBs. As described above each PO consists of ‘S*X’ PDCCH monitoring occasions and for X>1 number of PDCCH monitoring occasions in a PO is larger than number of transmitted SSBs. So new mapping rule between PDCCH monitoring occasions in PO and transmitted SSBs is needed.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13-17, 19, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (Pub No 20200280957) further in view of Park (Pub No 20180124687), Agiwal (Pub No 20210127356), and Zhang (Pub No 20170141893)
Regarding claim 1 and 8 and 14,
Gao teaches An apparatus comprising:
A user equipment (UE); (UE para [0060])
a controller coupled with a memory and configured to cause the processor to: a processor; at least one memory; and at least one processor (see para [0042])
receive a system information block indicating a configuration comprising a paging occasion configuration wherein each paging occasion configuration in the paging occasion configuration is for determining a respective set of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions; (interpreted as It should be noted that, in the embodiments of this application, information (for example, paging position information, a half-frame indication, or Q.sub.max) sent by the network device to the terminal device may be carried in any one of the following messages: a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a new radio system information block NR-SIB) 1, an NR-SIB2, system information, downlink control information (DCI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, and a media access control-control element (MAC-CE)., see para [0066]. Also see The Iwindow offset denotes a start position of a PO. The Iwindow offset may include two parts: for example, Iwindow offset=Iwindow offset 1+Iwindow offset 2, where the first part Iwindow offset 1 may be a time domain position or slot position of a PDCCH of a paging message, see para [0285])
determine a paging frame based at least in part on an identifier of the UE and a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle; (interpreted as the determining, by the network device, the frame number of the paging frame based on a paging frame offset includes: determining, by the network device, the frame number of the paging frame based on a discontinuous reception DRX cycle, a quantity of paging occasions included in the DRX cycle, identification information of the terminal device, and the paging frame offset, see para [0035])
determining a paging occasion index of a paging occasion (interpreted as determining, by the terminal device, a start position and duration of the target paging occasion in the paging frame based on the paging position information., see para [0014])
monitor the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions for a PDDCH transmission carrying a downlink control information (DCI). (interpreted as A paging message in the embodiments of this application may be a downlink control channel (for example, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)) of the paging message, see para [0076]). Also see terminal device detects DCI of different Pos, see para [0295])
However Gao does not teach determine a paging occasion index for a paging occasion of the paging frame based at least in part on the identifier of the UE and the number of paging occasions per paging frame wherein the paging occasion is determined based at least in part on the paging occasion index of the paging occasion and a respective paging occasion configuration associated with the paging occasion index.
Park teaches determine a paging occasion index for a paging occasion of the paging frame based at least in part on the identifier of the UE and the number of paging occasions per paging frame (interpreted as the band/common signaling resource index may be calculated based on an output value of a function that uses a value of at least one of the DRX cycle, the number of paging frames in the DRX cycle, the number of paging occasions in the DRX cycle, the terminal ID, and the number of subframes in the paging frame, and the number of common band/common signaling resources as an input of a function, see para [0191]. Also see subframe (paging occasion), para [0171]) wherein the paging occasion is determined based at least in part on the paging occasion index of the paging occasion (see terminal may calculate a paging occasion (PO) using the following [Table 2]. If Ns is 1 and i_s is 0, PO is 9, so paging can be received in a 9th subframe, see para [0193]. Also see index I_s, para [0177]) and a respective paging occasion configuration associated with the paging occasion index (interpreted as common band index may be calculated based on at least one of an existing system frame number, a subframe, DRX cycle information, or other information for obtaining such information in the paging configuration, see para [0191])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the paging occasion taught by Gao with the specifics of calculating paging occasion as taught by Park with the motivation being determine the resources used for the monitoring of the paging.
However Gao in view of Park do not teach wherein each paging occasion configuration in the list of paging occasion configuration is associated with a paging occasion index;
wherein each paging occasion configuration includes information for deriving a plurality of paging slots corresponding to a respective paging occasion having a respective paging occasion index;
determine, based at least in part on the respective paging occasion configuration, a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions corresponding to the paging occasion;
determine one or more symbols corresponding to a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the paging occasion based at least in part on a paging search space parameter, wherein the one or more symbols comprise a subset of symbols in a slot and, wherein the PDCCH monitoring occasion is associated with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block; and
monitor the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions for a PDCCH transmission during the one or more symbols associated with the paging occasion.
Agiwal teaches wherein each paging occasion configuration in the list of paging occasion configuration is associated with a paging occasion index; (interpreted as Step 1: a UE acquires the paging configuration (Default DRX Cycle Duration, PF_Offset, N, Ns), list of paging search space configuration from the system information signaled by a network, see para [0509]. Also see index of a paging occasion for monitoring para [0010]).
wherein each paging occasion configuration includes information for deriving a plurality of paging slots corresponding to a respective paging occasion having a respective paging occasion index; (interpreted as identifying a paging frame and index of a paging occasion for transmitting a paging, see para [0011])
determine, based at least in part on the respective paging occasion configuration, (paging search space configuration) a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions corresponding to the paging occasion; (interpreted as monitoring occasions based on the TDD configuration information and the paging search space configuration information, the identified PDCCH monitoring occasions being the PDCCH monitoring occasions, configured by the paging search space, see para [0011])
determine, based at least in part on the respective paging occasion configuration, (paging search space configuration) a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions corresponding to the paging occasion; (interpreted as monitoring occasions based on the TDD configuration information and the paging search space configuration information, the identified PDCCH monitoring occasions being the PDCCH monitoring occasions, configured by the paging search space, see para [0011])
determine one or more symbols corresponding to a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the paging occasion based at least in part on a paging search space parameter, wherein the one or more symbols comprise a subset of symbols in a slot (interpreted as Based on paging search space configuration (comprising of parameters Monitoring-periodicity-PDCCH-slot, Monitoring-offset-PDCCH-slot, Monitoring-symbols-PDCCH-within-slot and duration), the UE can know the 1st PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in the determined PF and also the subsequent PDCCH monitoring occasions, see para [0285])and, wherein the PDCCH monitoring occasion is associated with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block; and (interpreted as Each PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in PO is associated with one of the transmitted SSBs (or SS/PBCH blocks), see para [0449])
monitor the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions for a PDCCH transmission during the one or more symbols associated with the paging occasion. (interpreted as the UE can know the 1st PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in the determined PF and also the subsequent PDCCH monitoring occasions, see para [0285])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the paging occasion configuration taught by Gao in view of Park with the paging occasion configuration and paging occasion index taught by Agiwal with the motivation being to indicate the different configurations of paging to be used.
However, Gao in view of Park and Agiwal does not teach the paging occasion index being distinct;
Zhang teaches paging occasion index being distinct; (interpreted as the configuration indexes of the L sets of configuration information are unique, the configuration indexes are an integer, and the L is a positive integer, see para [0085])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the paging occasion configuration list taught by Gao in view of Park and Agiwal with the unique configuration indexes taught by Zhang with the motivation being to uniquely identify a plurality of configurations so that they may be selected.
Regarding claim 3 and 9 and 15,
Gao teaches The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one the processor is configured to cause The UE to: receive the PDCCH transmission carrying the paging DCI during the paging occasion. (interpreted as A paging message in the embodiments of this application may be a downlink control channel (for example, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)) of the paging message… downlink control information (DCI) of the paging message, or data information of the paging message, see para [0063]. Also see 202. The terminal device receives a target paging message on the target paging resource, where the target paging message is a paging message sent by a network device to the terminal device, see para [0076])
Regarding claim 4 and 10 and 16,
Gao teaches The UE of claim 1, wherein each PDCCH monitoring occasions is associated with a respective paging occasion index (interpreted as for example, a random access preamble of the PO 0 is 0 to N−1, a random access preamble of the PO 1 is N to 2N−1, a random access preamble of the PO 2 is 2N to 3N−1, and a random access preamble of the PO 3 is 3N to 4N−1, see Gao para [0296])
Regarding claim 5 and 11 and 17,
Gao teaches The UE of claim 1, wherein the paging occasion begins within the paging frame (interpreted as the paging resource includes the position information of the N paging occasions, and the N paging occasions are located on M time domain resources, where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N, and a position of each of the M time domain resources in the paging frame is related to at least one of a subcarrier spacing, see Gao para [0306])
Regarding claim 7 and 13 and 19,
Gao teaches The UE of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the one or more symbols is based at least in part on a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH block) (interpreted as One monitoring window may include a plurality of slots, or a plurality of symbols, or a plurality of subframes. An association relationship exists between each monitoring window and an SSB (synchronization signal block), see Gao para [0065])
Regarding claim 21 and 22 and 23,
Gao teaches the UE of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the information for deriving the plurality of paging slots includes one or more of: an offset value between at least two groups of UEs, a quantity of search spaces within the plurality of paging slots, an incremental step size for the plurality of paging slots, or a slot offset for the paging occasion.
Agiwal teaches wherein the information for deriving the plurality of paging slots includes one or more of: an offset value between at least two groups of UEs, a quantity of search spaces within the plurality of paging slots, an incremental step size for the plurality of paging slots, or a slot offset for the paging occasion. (interpreted as reference numeral 3000 indicates slot having PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging, periodicity (p) 3010 is 5 slots; offset (o) 3020 is 5 slots; duration (d) 3030 is 2 slots; monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot is 00100000100000 and CORESET-time-duration is 4 OFDM symbols, see para [0578])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the paging occasion configuration taught by Gao in view of Park with the paging occasion configuration and paging occasion index taught by Agiwal with the motivation being to indicate the different configurations of paging to be used.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461