DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15-17 recites the limitations "the first following function" and “the second following function.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that Claim 1 upon which claims 15-17 depend recites “a target following function” but not a first or second following function. Whereas Claim 9 only recites a second following function. As best understood Claims 15-17 should depend on Claim 9 and the “first following function” represents another following function in the game.
Further, Claim 16 recites the limitation “controlling the skill indicator to switch to moving along with the second virtual character from moving along with the target joystick in the game application, when no virtual character meeting the attack condition is found within the skill range, the skill indicator to move along with the target joystick in the game application; and controlling, when the skill indicator is controlled to move along with the target joystick in the game application, and a second virtual character meeting the attack condition is found within the skill range.” Based on the wording of the limitations and ordering of the conditions, it is unclear which style of indicator is associated with the presence and absence of a character meeting the attack condition in the skill range. As best understood, Claim 16 is reciting where the indicator follows the joystick direction when no virtual character is found within range and switches to following the character when a character is found within range.
The remainder of this office action is considered as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang, US 2022/0080316.
In Reference to Claims 1, 19, and 20
Huang teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, comprising a program stored therein, an electronic device, comprising a memory and processor and a method for controlling a skill indicator, performed by an electronic device (Fig. 7 and Par. 64-66), the method comprising obtaining a target selection instruction in a game application (Fig. 4 and Par. 46-48 “skill selection icon 402”), the target selection instruction selecting a target virtual skill of a first virtual character (Fig. 4 and Par. 55 “a user may activate a particular skill associated with the player character . Activation of the skill can be via a touch based interaction with a skill icon ( e.g., skill selection icon 402 of FIG . 4”); displaying a skill indicator of the target virtual skill in the game application in response to the target selection instruction (Fig. 4 ref. 414, 416, 418 and Par. 46. See also Par. 30 “Additionally, the AOTC component 128 generates a dynamic graphic representation of the targeting area, a targeting point, a focus point reticle, a selection perimeter, a skill aiming tool, or any combination thereof.”); and controlling the skill indicator to move along with a target object in the game application when a target following function is enabled in the game application (Fig. 4 Par. 30 and 41 which teaches that the user can aim a focus vector and focus reticule such as by manipulating a virtual or analog joystick. Par. 31 which teaches anchoring the targeting display to a valid object within the targeting area based on customizable rules in the game software. See also Par. 40 “Additionally, in some aspects the selected object perimeter 210 can provide a visual indication that the targeting protocol is currently anchored on valid target object 206.” And 55-57 which teach selecting the object to be the focus point anchor. Finally see Par. 28 which teaches that “For example, the AOTC component 128 may activate a targeting assistance protocol of the AOTC component 128 in response to activation of a skill.”).
In Reference to Claim 2
Huang teaches controlling the skill indicator to move along with a second virtual character in the game application, wherein the skill indicator indicates a direction or position for casting the target virtual skill, the target object comprises the second virtual character, and the second virtual character meets an attack condition within a skill range of the target virtual skill (Par. 27 “movement attack skill may have rules related to skill range, placement range, valid object class, or any other rule.” And Par. 40 which teach determining valid targets to anchor the skill on and providing a visual indicator that the skill is anchored on the target object. See Par. 18-19, 29, 31 which teaches that the object targeted can include, for example, rival player characters and Par. 13, 29, 31 which teaches movement of at least player characters in the game environment. Thus a targeting indicator could be anchored to and would thus follow a moving game object such as a player).
In Reference to Claim 3
Huang teaches controlling, when the virtual character meeting the attack condition within the skill range is changed from the second virtual character to a third virtual character, the skill indicator to move along with the third virtual character in the game application (Par. 27 “movement attack skill” and Par. 31 “As the objects move or the focus point reticle moves the anchor may dynamically change to another valid object. In another aspect, the AOTC component 128 may anchor the targeting assistance protocol on a particular valid object based on a priority hierarchy.”).
In Reference to Claim 4
Huang teaches controlling, when the second virtual character leaves the skill range and a fourth virtual character appears within the skill range, the skill indicator to move along with the fourth virtual character in the game application, wherein the fourth virtual character meets the attack condition within the skill range (Par. 31 “Further, the AOTC component 128 can dynamically anchor the targeting assistance protocol to a valid object within the targeting area. For example, where multiple valid objects are within the targeting area the AOTC component 128 may anchor the targeting assistance protocol on a particular valid object based on a set of rules. The rules may be at least partially customizable by the user of gaming client 120 or may be predetermined. In an aspect, the AOTC component 128 anchors on the closest valid object to the focus point reticle. As the objects move or the focus point reticle moves the anchor may dynamically change to another valid object.” And Par. 27 which teaches that a movement attack skill can have a skill range as a targeting validity rule. As such if one object moved out of valid range the indicator could lock on to another valid target similar to the manner described in Par. 31 for the closest target).
In Reference to Claim 5
Huang teaches controlling, when the second virtual character is killed and a fifth virtual character appears within the skill range, the skill indicator to move along with the fifth virtual character in the game application, wherein the fifth virtual character meets the attack condition within the skill range (Par. 31 which teaches targeting can include any property including “total remaining hitpoints” or “overall hit points” and which teaches switching to valid targets. Thus the targeting could switch when a first locked target is reduced to zero hitpoints (i.e. killed) and another valid target character in in range and has a valid amount of hitpoints).
In Reference to Claim 6
Huang teaches searching an attack range of the target virtual skill for a virtual character meeting a first attack condition when the target virtual skill is a directional skill (Par. 29 “Upon activation, the targeting assistance protocol may detect objects in a targeting area based on the particular targeting rules associated with the activated skill. For example, a targeting area can be determined based on the skill's range. The rules may further identify the valid object classes (e.g., player character, non-player character, building, allied object, rival object, and so forth) associated with the skill. The targeting assistance protocol can scan the shared gaming environment to identify each valid object within the targeting area” Par. 27-28 and 30 which teaches where the skill aiming tool is used to provide a direction for the skill).HuanHuHuan
In Reference to Claim 7
Huang teaches searching an enemy searching range of the target virtual skill for a virtual character meeting a second attack condition when the target virtual skill is a point selecting skill, wherein the enemy searching range is larger than or equal to an attack range (Par. 27, 31 and 55 which teaches searching the range of a skill for a valid object to anchor on to select a position to select for executing the skill. Lacking further limitations for attack range examiner considers the skill range for the “movement attack” skill to constitute an enemy searching range that is equal to an attack range).
In Reference to Claim 8
Huang teaches searching an enemy searching range of the target virtual skill for a virtual character meeting a third attack condition when the target virtual skill is a locking skill (Par. 27, 31 which teaches various attack conditions including range, object class, and object hit point values. And which teaches that the method “anchors” on an object for targeting the skill, which can constitute teaching a “locking skill” in the examiner’s opinion).
In Reference to Claim 12
Huang teaches obtaining a first skill casting instruction in the game application when the direction of the skill indicator is controlled to move along with the target object to a target direction in the game application, wherein the skill indicator indicates a direction for casting the target virtual skill; and casting the target virtual skill toward the target direction in the game application in response to the first skill casting instruction (Par. 28 “execution input command” Fig. 4-5 and Par. 45 “The moment depicted in FIG. 5 is a moment immediately after successful execution of the skill aimed in FIG. 4.).
In Reference to Claim 13
Huang teaches obtaining a second skill casting instruction in the game application when the position of the skill indicator is controlled to move along with the target object to a target position in the game application, wherein the skill indicator indicates a position for casting the target virtual skill; and casting the target virtual skill at the target position in response to the second skill casting instruction. (Par. 28 “execution input command” Fig. 4-5 and Par. 45 “The moment depicted in FIG. 5 is a moment immediately after successful execution of the skill aimed in FIG. 4. The “second” skill casting instruction is not claimed in relation to any other instruction. As such this limitation is teach by, for example a game where a player activates at least two skills in a game, or the same skill twice).
In Reference to Claim 14
Huang teach controlling the skill indicator to move along with the target joystick in the game application when the first following function is enabled in the game application, and the target virtual skill is a movement skill that causes no damage, wherein the skill indicator indicates a direction or position for casting the target virtual skill, and the first following function controlling the skill indicator to move along with a virtual character meeting the attack condition within the skill range of the target virtual skill (Par. 27 which teaches movement skills Like “teleportation, blink, dash, hook, jump, or any other type of movement” which are different from a movement attack. Par. 41 “as a player moves a skill aiming tool (e.g., drags a virtual joystick or manipulates an analog stick of a controller) the focus vector 212 may move in a corresponding direction through the targeting area 204).
In Reference to Claim 18
Huang teaches in response to a skill casting instruction, controlling the first virtual object to cast the target virtual skill based on the skill indicator (Fig. 4-5 and Par. 28, 40 and 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, US 2022/0080316, in view of Karrbrink et al., US 2020/0402349.
In Reference to Claim 9
Huang et al. teaches controlling the skill indicator to move along with a target joystick in the game application, when a second following function is enabled in the game application, wherein the skill indicator indicates a direction or position for casting the target virtual skill, the target object comprises the target joystick to control rotation of the first virtual character(Par. 41 “as a player moves a skill aiming tool (e.g., drags a virtual joystick or manipulates an analog stick of a controller) the focus vector 212 may move in a corresponding direction through the targeting area 204.”).
Further Huang teaches where the characters can be moved in the game environment (Par. 13, 29, 31). However, Huang does not explicitly teach where the joystick used for aiming is also used to control movement for the character.
Karrbrink et al. teaches a game method where a joystick is used to provide both movement and aiming of a player character (Par. 93).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Huang et al. to use one joystick to control movement and aiming of a game character as taught by Karrbrink et al. in order to allow the game to be controlled with more limited UI particularly when the game is using a virtual joystick via touch inputs. Thus allowing one on screen virtual joystick to control both character movement and aiming. Thus covering less of the screen in UI and reducing the number of simultaneous touch movements the player needs to make.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Huang et al. to use one joystick to control movement and aiming of a game character as taught by Karrbrink et al.
In Reference to Claim 10
Huang and Karrbrink et al. teaches controlling a direction of the skill indicator to move along with an input direction of the target joystick in the game application when the target virtual skill is a directional skill, wherein the direction of the skill indicator is a direction for casting the target virtual skill, and the input direction of the target joystick is a movement direction or rotation direction of the first virtual character (Huang Par. 30-31 and 41 “skill aiming tool” and Karrbrink et al. Par. 93).
In Reference to Claim 11
Huang and Karrbrink et al. teaches controlling a position of the skill indicator to move along with a target position in an input direction of the target joystick in the game application when the target virtual skill is a point selecting skill, wherein the position of the skill indicator is a position for casting the target virtual skill, the input direction of the target joystick is a movement direction of the first virtual character, and the target position is a farthest position within the skill range of the target virtual skill (Huang Par. 30-31 and 41 “skill aiming tool” and Par. 27 and 40-41 which teaches a valid location can be an location within skill range 204. See in particular Fig. 3 and Par. 44 “As such, the focus point reticle 308 and the target indicator 316 are co-located at the same point within the selected object perimeter 310” thus if a player were to aim at a target at the edge of the skill and aim at a point on the edge of targeting area 204 within focus point perimeter 210, the target position would be at a farthest position within the skill range of the target virtual skill. See also Karrbrink et al. Par. 93).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, US 2022/0080316, Karrbrink et al., US 2020/0402349, further in view of Novak et al., US 2006/0084509.
In Reference to Claim 15
Huang teaches preferentially controlling the skill indicator to move along with a virtual character meeting the attack condition within the skill range in the game application when the first following function and the second following function are enabled in the game application, a priority of the first following function is lower than a priority of the second following function (Par. 31 which teaches a priority hierarchy for selecting target objects and which teaches moving away from a first anchor object based on the user moving the targeting reticule), and the target virtual skill is a point-selecting movement skill that causes damage (Par. 27 “movement attack”), wherein the skill indicator indicates a direction or position for casting the target virtual skill (Fig. 4-5 and Par. 45), the second following function controlling the skill indicator to move along with the target joystick (Par. 41), and the target joystick is configured to control movement and rotation of the first virtual character (Karrbrink et al. Par. 93).
However, Huang does not explicitly teach where the focus point reticule serves as a skill indicators for indicating a direction or position for casting the virtual skill on its own.
Novak et al. teaches a game method with an aiming indicator and a character locking indicator where the aiming indicator following a joystick serves as a skill indicators for indicating a direction or position for casting the virtual skill on its own (Fig. 4-5 and Par. 40-49 which teaches an aiming reference 468, where when an indicator 570 for a “soft-lock” is not present the aiming indicator itself 468 serves as a skill indicator for where a player attack action will land. See Par. 40 “The aiming reference 468 can include a specific point or area proximate to where the game action will occur.” Whereas if a “soft lock” indicator is present player actions will instead be directed to that location “In the illustrated embodiment, while the object is soft locked, if the player commands the selected game action, the game action will occur at least proximate to the action site 570 regardless of where the aiming reference 468 is located.”).
It would be desirable to modify the method of Huang and Karrbrink et al. to include targeting skills in the direction shown by the aiming indicator as taught by Novak et al. in order to allow the player to aim non-attack movement skills such as those described in Par. 27 of Huang even if no enemies are within range to be locked on to.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method of Huang and Karrbrink et al. to include targeting skills in the direction shown by the aiming indicator as taught by Novak et al.
In Reference to Claim 16
Huang teaches searching in the skill range of the target virtual skill for a virtual character meeting the attack condition, when the first following function and the second following function are enabled in the game application, and a priority of the first following function is higher than a priority of the second following function (Par. 31 “priority hierarchy”), wherein the first following function controlling the skill indicator to move along with a virtual character meeting the attack condition within the skill range, the skill indicator indicating a direction or position for casting the target virtual skill (Fig. 4-5 and Par. 31 and 45), the second following function controlling the skill indicator to move along with the target joystick configured to control movement and rotation of the first virtual character (Fig. 4 and Par. 46 “focus point reticule” and “focus vector”); controlling the skill indicator to switch to moving along with the second virtual character from moving along with the target joystick in the game application, when no virtual character meeting the attack condition is found within the skill range, the skill indicator to move along with the target joystick in the game application; and controlling, when the skill indicator is controlled to move along with the target joystick in the game application, and a second virtual character meeting the attack condition is found within the skill range (Par. 27 which teaches conditions for a valid targeting areas including skill range. Fig. 4 and Par. 31 and 55 which teaches scanning valid targeting area and then “anchoring” the skill to the valid object in range when it is detected).
However, Huang does not explicitly teach where the focus point reticule serves as a skill indicators for indicating a direction or position for casting the virtual skill on its own.
Novak et al. teaches a game method with an aiming indicator and a character locking indicator where the aiming indicator following a joystick serves as a skill indicators for indicating a direction or position for casting the virtual skill on its own (Fig. 4-5 and Par. 40-49 which teaches an aiming reference 468, where when an indicator 570 for a “soft-lock” is not present the aiming indicator itself 468 serves as a skill indicator for where a player attack action will land. See Par. 40 “The aiming reference 468 can include a specific point or area proximate to where the game action will occur.” Whereas if a “soft lock” indicator is present player actions will instead be directed to that location “In the illustrated embodiment, while the object is soft locked, if the player commands the selected game action, the game action will occur at least proximate to the action site 570 regardless of where the aiming reference 468 is located.”).
It would be desirable to modify the method of Huang and Karrbrink et al. to include targeting skills in the direction shown by the aiming indicator as taught by Novak et al. in order to allow the player to aim non-attack movement skills such as those described in Par. 27 of Huang even if no enemies are within range to be locked on to.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method of Huang and Karrbrink et al. to include targeting skills in the direction shown by the aiming indicator as taught by Novak et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CARL V LARSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715