DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 10, 11, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2024/0324039 A1, hereinafter “Wu”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0225129 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Wu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium including instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: transmitting, by a transport layer micro-service of a distributed unit application through a first midhaul control connection from the distributed unit application to a central unit application (figs. 3, 4, e.g., BH RLC channel of fig. 5A. ¶ [0073], The IAB-donor-DU 174 (i.e., IAB-donor-DU 174A and/or IAB-donor-DU 174B) can host the IAB BAP sublayer providing wireless backhaul to IAB-node(s) 104 and/or 106, e.g., in accordance with TS 38.300. IP traffic from the IAB-DU 174C can be routed over the wireless backhaul via the BAP sublayer. ¶ [0080], After performing the IAB-MT setup procedure 502, in some implementations, the IAB-node 104 can perform 504 a backhaul (BH) RLC channel establishment procedure with the IAB-donor 108A to establish backhaul RLC channels for carrying CP traffic (e.g., carrying F1-C traffic/non-F1 traffic) to and from the IAB-node 104), a control message from the distributed unit application to the central unit application utilizing a first midhaul connection protocol address (figs. 3, 5A, 5B, ¶ [0080], establish backhaul RLC channels for carrying CP traffic (e.g., carrying F1-C traffic/non-F1 traffic) to and from the IAB-node 104. In some implementations of the BH RLC channel establishment procedure, the IAB-donor 108A (e.g., IAB-donor-CU 172A) can configure a BAP address of the IAB-node 104 and/or a default BAP Routing ID for the upstream direction. ¶ [0073], On the BAP sublayer, packets are routed based on the BAP routing ID, which is carried in the BAP header. The BAP routing ID has a BAP address and BAP path ID. For the purpose of routing, each IAB-node 104 and/or 106 and IAB-donor-DU 174 is further configured with a designated BAP address.¶ [0081]. Routing tables are updated on the intermediate IAB-node(s) and on the IAB-donor-DU 174A, with routing entries for the BAP Routing ID. ¶ [0082]); requesting, from the transport layer micro-service a second midhaul control connection from the distributed unit application to the central unit application (figs. 3, 5A, ¶ [0080], ¶ [0082], the IAB-node 104 and IAB-donor 108A can communicate F1AP messages (e.g., including F1 Setup Request, F1 Setup Response, F1AP messages described below) ¶ [0083], the IAB-node 104 can perform a (first) F1 Setup procedure with the IAB-donor 108A to establish a (first) F1 connection (e.g., F1-C connection or F1-C interface instance) with the IAB-donor 108A. ¶ [0084], To perform the first F1 Setup procedure, the IAB-node 104 transmits 508 a first F1 Setup Request message to the IAB-donor 108A. ¶ [0093], ¶ [0094], To perform the second F1 Setup Procedure, the IAB-node 104 transmits 516 a second F1 Setup Request message to the IAB-donor 108A to transfer information associated to the second F1 connection or interface instance. ¶ [0096], ¶ [0106]); establishing the second midhaul control connection, the second midhaul control connection utilizing a second midhaul connection protocol address (¶ [0084], The first F1 Setup Request message can include a (first) identity of the IAB-node 104 (e.g., IAB-DU 174C), a (first) transaction identifier (ID), (first) Transport Layer Address (TLA) used by the IAB-node 104, and/or a (first) BAP address used by the IAB-node 104. ¶ [0094], the second F1 Setup Request message can include a (second) identity of the IAB-node 104 (e.g., IAB-DU 174C), a (second) transaction identifier associated with the second F1 connection, and/or a (second) BAP address used by the IAB-node 104); and transmitting, by the transport layer micro-service through the second midhaul control connection, a control message from the distributed unit application to the central unit application utilizing the second midhaul connection protocol address (figs. 3, 4, 5A, 5B, ¶ [0083], the IAB-node 104 (e.g., IAB-DU 174C) can exchange F1AP messages with the IAB-donor 108A (e.g., IAB-donor-CU 172A) on the first F1 interface or connection. [0096], ¶ [0097], ¶ [0099]).
Wu does not explicitly teach requesting, from the transport layer micro-service through the first midhaul control connection, a second midhaul control connection from the distributed unit application to the central unit application.
However, Wu teaches the IAB-donor 108A and/or the IAB-node 104 can establish BH RLC channels for carrying non-UP traffic (e.g., CP traffic (i.e., F1-C traffic/non-F1 traffic) to and from the IAB-node 104. The IAB-node 104 transmits F1 Setup Request message(s) (e.g., F1-C traffic) to the IAB-donor 108A (figs. 3, 5A, ¶ [0080], ¶ [0082], the IAB-node 104 and IAB-donor 108A can communicate F1AP messages (e.g., including F1 Setup Request, F1 Setup Response, F1AP messages described below) ¶ [0083], ¶ [0084], To perform the first F1 Setup procedure, the IAB-node 104 transmits 508 a first F1 Setup Request message to the IAB-donor 108A to transfer information associated to the first F1 connection or interface instance. The first F1 Setup Request message can include a (first) identity of the IAB-node 104 (e.g., IAB-DU 174C), a (first) transaction identifier (ID). ¶ [0089], During or after performing the F1 connection establishment procedure 550, the IAB-node 104 performs another (second) F1 connection establishment procedure 560 to establish another (second) F1 connection with another IAB-donor (e.g., the IAB-donor 108B). ¶ [0093], ¶ [0094], To perform the second F1 Setup Procedure, the IAB-node 104 transmits 516 a second F1 Setup Request message to the IAB-donor 108A to transfer information associated to the second F1 connection or interface instance. The second F1 Setup Request message can include a (second) identity of the IAB-node 104 (e.g., IAB-DU 174C), a (second) transaction identifier associated with the second F1 connection, and/or a (second) BAP address used by the IAB-node 104. ¶ [0096], ¶ [0106]).
Further, it well-known in the art to transmit F1 Setup Request/Response via the BH RLC channel(s), as evidenced by ¶ [0064] of Chen.
Therefore, it is obvious that the F1 Setup Request/Response (request/response for a second midhaul control connection) is transmitted via the BH RLC channel(s) (i.e., the first midhaul control connection) established to carry CP (i.e., F1-C) traffic in the system of Wu to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Wu in view of Chen teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise detecting an issue with the first midhaul control connection; and in response to detecting the issue: discontinuing transmission of control messages through the first midhaul control connection; and beginning transmission of control messages through the second midhaul control connection.
However, Wu wherein the operations further comprise detecting an issue with one of the (the second) midhaul control connections; and in response to detecting the issue: discontinuing transmission of control messages through the one of (second) midhaul control connections; and beginning transmission of control messages through the third/different midhaul control connection (figs. 5A-6B, ¶ [0050], ¶ [0052], ¶ [0089], The IAB-node 104 may be triggered to perform the second F1 connection establishment procedure 560 in various ways. ¶ [0090] In some implementations, during or after the F1 connection establishment procedure 550 and before performing a handover preparation with the IAB-donor 108B for handing over UE 102 or a descendant IAB-node of the IAB-node 104 to the IAB-donor 108B (e.g., as described in FIGS. 8A-8B), the IAB-donor 108A can transmit an F1AP message (e.g., over the F1 connection established at event 514) to the IAB-node 104 to request or to indicate to establish the second F1 connection with the IAB donor 108B, so that the IAB-node 104 can determine to establish the second F1 connection, ¶ [0091], ¶ [0113], ¶ [0147]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to detect an issue with the first midhaul control connection; and in response to detecting the issue: discontinue transmission of control messages through the first midhaul control connection; and begin transmission of control messages through a different/second midhaul control connection in the system of Wu in view of Chen to further enhance system reliability.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Wu in view of Chen teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise detecting a packet-drop ratio through the first midhaul control connection; and performing the requesting and the establishing in response to the packet-drop ratio exceeding a threshold packet-drop ratio value.
However, Examiner makes an official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to perform the requesting and the establish in response to the packet-drop ratio, through first midhaul control connection, exceeding a threshold packet-drop ratio value in the system of Wu in view of Chen to further enhance system reliability.
6. Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wu in view of Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yi et al. (US 2024/0064572 A1, hereinafter “Yi”).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Wu in view of Chen teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the establishing the second midhaul control connection includes associating, by the transport layer micro-service, a device communicating through the distributed unit application with the second midhaul connection protocol address; and wherein the device is associated with both the first midhaul connection protocol address and the second midhaul connection protocol address.
Yi teaches the establishing the second midhaul control connection includes associating, by the transport layer micro-service, a device communicating through the distributed unit application with the second midhaul connection protocol address; and wherein the device is associated with both the first midhaul connection protocol address and the second midhaul connection protocol address (fig. 6, ¶ [0181], , IAB-donor-CU 1 configures one or more TNL addresses for the descendant IAB-node according to the response message from IAB-donor-CU 2, the one or more TNL addresses being anchored at IAB donor-DU 2; ¶ [0182] 14. IAB-donor-CU 1 performs BH RLC channel configuration and BAP sublayer routing entry configuration between the dual-connecting IAB-node and descendant access IAB-node (configuration of BAP route and mapping rules along the path between dual-connecting IAB-node and the access IAB-node for the redundant path), to support routing and BH RLC channel mapping of the second path; and IAB-donor-CU 1 performs configuration of BAP routing ID mapping on the dual-connecting IAB-node based on the response message from IAB-donor-CU 2 (such as being transmitted in step 9), which is used for BAP routing conversion between two topologies. ¶ [0183] 15. when a new TNL address is allocated in step 10, the new TNL address is added into the F1-C association of the descendant IAB-DU and IAB-donor-CU 1, and IAB-donor-CU 1 configures new uplink backhaul information (UL BH information) for the F1AP message of the second path; ¶ [0184]-¶ [0189], ¶ [0091], ¶ [0105], ¶ [0207] and ¶ [0208], ¶ [0253]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to associate, by the transport layer micro-service, a device communicating through the distributed unit application with the second midhaul connection protocol address; and wherein the device is associated with both the first midhaul connection protocol address and the second midhaul connection protocol address in the system of Wu in view of Chen to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
7. Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arham et al. (US 11,895,020 B1, hereinafter “Arham”).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Wu in view of Chen teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise provisioning the distributed unit application on a server in a data center.
Arham teaches provisioning the distributed unit application on a server in a data center (servers 12A-12D of fig. 1, col. 8, line 61-col. 9, col. 4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provision the distributed unit application on a server in a data center in the system of Wu in view of Chen to further improve industrial applicability.
8. Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and Arham as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Tsai (US 2024/0114047 A1).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Wu in view of Chen and Arham teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 5.
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the provisioning the distributed unit application includes: initializing the midhaul connection protocol from the distributed unit application to the control unit application to utilize the first midhaul connection protocol address; provisioning the transport layer micro-service to communicate control messages between the distributed unit application and the control unit application; requesting, from the transport layer micro-service through the first midhaul connection protocol address, the first midhaul control connection between the distributed unit application and the control unit application; and establishing the first midhaul control connection.
Tsai teaches wherein the provisioning the distributed unit application includes: initializing the midhaul connection protocol from the distributed unit application to the control unit application to utilize the first midhaul connection protocol address (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0030], in FIG. 2, in step S01, in this embodiment, the processing device 12 is configured to generate a virtual distribution unit (DU) module 122 and execute an F1 setting process for the virtual DU module 122, so as to communicatively connect the virtual DU module 122 to a central unit (CU) 201 of an O-RAN base station 20 through the F1 interface); provisioning the transport layer micro-service to communicate control messages between the distributed unit application and the control unit application; requesting, from the transport layer micro-service, the first midhaul control connection between the distributed unit application and the control unit application; and establishing the first midhaul control connection (figs. 2, 3, ¶ [0036]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to initialize the midhaul connection protocol from the distributed unit application to the control unit application to utilize the first midhaul connection protocol address; provision the transport layer micro-service to communicate control messages between the distributed unit application and the control unit application; request, from the transport layer micro-service through the first midhaul connection protocol address, the first midhaul control connection between the distributed unit application and the control unit application; and establish the first midhaul control connection in the system of Wu in view Chen and Arham of to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
9. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen, Arham and Tsai as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yi.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Wu in view of Chen, Arham and Tsai teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 6.
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the establishing the first midhaul control connection includes associating with the first protocol address, by the transport layer micro-service, a device communicating through the distributed unit application.
Yi teaches wherein the establishing the first midhaul control connection includes associating with the first protocol address, by the transport layer micro-service, a device communicating through the distributed unit application (figs. 5, 6, ¶ [0091], ¶ [0105], ¶ [0181]-¶ [0185], ¶ [0207], The F1-C identification information may be a TNL association, or may be TNL-associated transport layer information (such as an IAB-DU control plane transport layer address, i.e. a TNL address). Traffic offloading of F1-C may be explicitly performed on the TNL association, or performing traffic offloading of F1-C on the TNL association may be implicitly indicated by not providing information on F1-U. ¶ [0253]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to associate with the first protocol address, by the transport layer micro-service, a device communicating through the distributed unit application in the system of Wu in view of Chen, Arham and Tsai to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed on March 15, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477