DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 15 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 4, 11, 17 and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 10, 12 - 16, 18 and 19 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo et al (US 2010/0248830) in view Bruzzo et al (US 2019/0308108) in view of “New Replay and Resume Features Coming in Heart of the Swarm” by Kaivax (hereinafter “Kaivax”) posted 1/24/2013
As per claim 1, Otomo discloses:
determining, by a terminal, in response to a preset selection operation of a player on a game playback interface, a game replay start time and a target replay character, wherein the terminal comprises a display, a graphical user interface is provided on the display of the terminal, the game playback interface is displayed on the graphical user interface, and the game playback interface is configured for playing back a corresponding gameplay footage based on pre-stored historical game data; (Otomo discloses a game system for enabling a user to pause the game and playback a game situation that has been previously played) (Otomo 0060, 0061)
switching, by the terminal, the game playback interface to a game competition interface, and restoring, based on the pre-stored historical game data, a game scene corresponding to the game replay start time on the game competition interface; (Otomo discloses upon the user suspending or pausing the game, the system will restore the game to a previously played game scene or situation according to a time in the past designated by the user) (Otomo 0061, 0086, 0099, 0105 – 0108)
in response to a control operation input on the game competition interface, controlling, by the terminal, a game behavior of the target replay character; and (Otomo disclose the setting of game behavior for controlling game tactics wherein the tactics control the behavior of multiple game characters such as teammates wherein the teammates are being interpreted as target characters and first virtual characters) (Otomo 0110, 0112, 0129, 0135)
controlling, based on preset game logic, a game behavior of a first virtual character, wherein the first virtual character is different from the target replay character. (Otomo disclose the controlling of multiple different characters based upon determined game logic or game tactics) (Otomo 0110, 0112, 0129, 0135, 0137, 0138)
…determining, in response to the preset selection operation of the player on the game playback interface, the game replay start time and the target replay character comprises: determining, in response to a selection operation input by the player on a time selection control on the game playback interface, the game replay start time; and determining, in response to a selection operation input by the player on a virtual character selection control on the game playback interface, the target replay character. (Otomo discloses the determination of a start time of the replay and the target replay character (i.e. user can set various tactics for a designated user to model their behavior after) (Otomo 0060, 0061, 0063, 0064)
Otomo fails to disclose:
playing back, by a terminal based on competition data recorded during a game competition of a player, the game competition on a game playback interface displayed on a graphical user interface after the player finishes the game competition;
in response to a termination control instruction input by the player on the game competition interface, terminating control of the target replay character replaying the game, switching the game competition interface back to the game playback interface, and continuing to play back the corresponding gameplay footage on the game playback interface from a time when the game playback interface is switched to the game competition interface for the restoring, wherein the game playback interface simultaneously displays a time selection control for selecting the game replay start time and a virtual character selection control for selecting the target replay character, and the…
However, in a similar field of endeavor, wherein game replay data is redisplayed for execution, Bruzzo teaches a game replay system that utilizes at least two different GUI’s (one for displaying the recorded video game footage that is recreated and a different GUI for displaying the game replay that the user takes over to replay the recorded game) (Bruzzo 0096, 0101). Bruzzo teaches the playing back of captured video gameplay footage after a game has been completed (Bruzzo 0083 – 0086, 0089 – 0096). Bruzzo teaches that in response to a user termination (user wishes to change the game state, the user can return to the gameplay video and select a different time (i.e. after termination switch to a different interface for selecting a time) (Bruzzo 0101).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Otomo in view of Bruzzo by utilizing a known technique to modify similar devices in the same way wherein a game replay mechanism is available to the player after completion of the game or competition that enable a player utilize different interfaces for viewing gameplay footage and also playing or taking over a game from set time and returning to the video footage at a specific time when they are done replaying the gameplay. This would enhance the replay-ability of the game as a player would be able to reattempt the game in the event that they die or the competition has ended and easily be directed towards the interface that allows them to play the gameplay replay again from a different or same point in time to practice.
In a similar field of endeavor, wherein a user interface is presented to a user to enable them to replay previously played games from a game timeline, Kaivax discloses the use a single game screen that simultaneously displays a player selectable replay timeline and also a player selection portion to allow a player to choose their virtual character to control. Kaivax teaches “Now that you can watch a replay with friends, we’re taking it a step further and making replays even more powerful. We’ve added the ability to jump right into any spot in a replay and take over the gameplay from that point. You and your friends can pick a timestamp, choose which of the original players you’re each going to take over for, and play the game as you like. There are many possibilities for the Take Command function. You might be playing against a friend and challenge one another to go back to a turning point in the game and play it again. You might be playing with a teacher who can now take you back to play through the same section of a game repeatedly, improving on your results with practice.” (Kaivax page 2, par 2 and 3, see screenshot below)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Otomo in view of Bruzzo in view of Kaivax to utilize a known technique to modify similar devices in the same way by utilizing a singular display screen to display a timeline and virtual character selection mechanism. This would be beneficial as it would eliminate the number of separate game screens that a user need to navigate through and also would help a player improve their gameplay as Kaivax teaches, “You might be playing with a teacher who can now take you back to play through the same section of a game repeatedly, improving on your results with practice” (Kaivax page 2 par 2 -3).
As per claim 2, Otomo discloses: wherein the preset game logic comprises artificial intelligence behavior logic, and the artificial intelligence behavior logic is configured for controlling an execution order of the game behavior of the first virtual character and gaming level of the first virtual character when executing the game behavior. (Otomo discloses the use of “artificial intelligence behavior logic” that is used to control game behaviors according to various tactics such as aggressiveness wherein the aggressiveness comprises levels “-5 to +5” and are control the players to attack more aggressively. Thus the game characters comprise determined gaming levels.) (Otomo 0054)
As per claim 3, Otomo discloses: determining, based on the execution order of the game behavior indicated by the artificial intelligence behavior logic, current game behavior of the first virtual character; determining, based on historical game data of the first virtual character, the gaming level of the first virtual character under the current game behavior; and controlling the first virtual character to execute the current game behavior in accordance with the gaming level under the current game behavior. (Otomo discloses the determination of the current level of tactics (i.e. aggressiveness), determining a current behavior of the game characters in relation to a degree of similarity between the current and reference game situation (Otomo 0116, 0117) and then controlling multiple game characters according to the special tactics (i.e. behavior) (Otomo 0118).
As per claim 5, Otomo discloses: determining, based on the target replay character determined in response to the selection operation, the game scene corresponding to the target replay character as a viewpoint focus. (Otomo disclose the determination of the game scene with a focus on the replayed characters) (Otomo 0063, 0064)
As per claim 6, Otomo discloses: wherein images corresponding to the target replay character and the first virtual character are displayed on the game playback interface, and the method further comprises: determining the target replay character in response to a selection operation of the player on an image corresponding to the target replay character. (Otomo discloses the replaying of target characters such as user teammates according to new tactics, wherein the images representing the characters are selectable when the game is being replayed) (Otomo 0062, 0064, 0066)
As per claim 7, Otomo discloses: wherein the competition data comprises game data of each virtual character, and the game data comprises one or more of: location information, a life value, a skill state, or gaming level. (Otomo discloses historical data comprising location information of the virtual characters) (Otomo 0075 – 0076)
As per claim 8, Otomo discloses: wherein controlling, based on the preset game logic, the game behavior of the first virtual character comprises: obtaining the historical game data of the first virtual character; determining, based on the historical game data of the first virtual character, the gaming level of the first virtual character under the current game behavior; determining, based on the gaming level of the first virtual character under the current game behavior, simulative gaming level of the first virtual character in the game scene; and simulatively controlling, based on the simulative gaming level of the first virtual character, the game behavior of the first virtual character in the game scene. (Otomo discloses the determination of the historical tactics of the game character(s) on the team such as aggressiveness, defensive line, etc. wherein the tactics are associated with a value (i.e. level) from -5 to +5. Thus the system knows the previously tactic value of the game character(s) (i.e. level) and when replaying the game, a new tactic value (i.e. level) for the game character(s) can be determined and set, and the game can be replayed with the new updated tactic value (i.e. level)) (Otomo 0054 – 0056, 0062 – 0065).
As per claim 9, Otomo discloses: wherein the gaming level comprises one or more of: attack accuracy, a kill number, or a death number; and wherein the simulative gaming level comprises one or more of: an attack discrete value, an attack propensity value, or a defense propensity value. (Otomo disclose the use of a level pertaining to attack and defense values) (Otomo 0053 – 0056).
As per claim 10, Otomo discloses: wherein the higher the attack accuracy is, the smaller the attack discrete value is; the larger the kill number is, the larger the attack propensity value is; and the smaller the death number is, the larger the defense propensity value is. (Otomo discloses a defense value that when increased or larger causes the team to increase their defense and in turn have a greater chance at limiting the amount of goals that an opponent team will be able to score and beat them in the game) (Otomo 0056)
As per claim 12, Otomo discloses: displaying a time selection control on the game competition interface, wherein the time selection control comprises a first display area and a second display area, the first display area is configured for displaying a competition progress of the game before the game replay start time, and the second display area is configured for displaying a replay competition progress after the game replay start time. (Otomo discloses the displaying of a time selection control (Otomo Fig 5, 0061) and a display of the game after the replay has started (Otomo 0064).
As per claim 13, Otomo discloses: determining, in response to a selection operation input by the player on the second display area, a new replay time for the target replay character between a current time and the game replay start time. (Otomo discloses the player can repeatedly make inputs to selected a new replay time) (Otomo 0061, 0064)
As per claim 14, Otomo discloses: wherein the game competition interface further comprises: a refresh control, and the method further comprises: restarting the replay competition progress by controlling, in response to a refresh operation input by the player on the refresh control, the target replay character to return from a replay game scene at a current time to a replay game scene at the game replay start time. (Otomo discloses the player can repeatedly make inputs to refresh the replay by selected a new replay time to repeatedly replay the game and practice new tactics) (Otomo 0061, 0064)
Independent claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are obvious over Otomo, Bruzzo and Kaivax based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 1, which are similar in claim scope.
Dependent claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are obvious over Otomo, Bruzzo and Kaivax based on the same analysis set forth for the combination of claim(s) 2 and 3 which are similar in claim scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5 – 10, 12 – 16, 18 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see above rejection in view of Bruzzo that teaches the newly amended claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAW/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715
8/12/2026
/KANG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715