DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 9956766) in view of Tamada et al. (US 2009/0091182).
Regarding to claim 1:
Yamada et al. discloses a printing device comprising:
a power storage section (FIG. 6, element 19: BATTERY) that is charged only with the electric power supplied via a first coupling section (FIG. 6, element 23); and
a printing section (FIG. 6, element 51: Printhead) that executes print processing of forming an image on a medium using the electric power charged in the power storage section (FIG. 6: The battery feeds the power to operate the printer elements/units).
Yamada et al. however does not teach wherein the first coupling section to which a first cable configured to transmit information and transmit electric power is coupled, and wherein the printing section executes print processing of forming the image based on information supplied from the first cable also using electric power supplied from the first cable.
Tamada et al. discloses an image forming apparatus comprising a first coupling section (FIG. 2, element CN) to which a first cable (FIG. 2, element LAN) configured to transmit information and transmit electric power is coupled (paragraph [0043]: The communication line LAN includes DC network power and a pulsing communication data signal); and a printing section (FIG. 2, element MFP) that executes print processing of forming an image based on information supplied from the first cable on a medium using electric power supplied from the first cable (FIG. 2: The separation unit 32 separates the DC power and the communication data signal from the LAN cable via coupling CN, wherein the DC power is provided to the power supply unit 44 to power the print engine 6 to perform printing operation based on the communication data signal from the transmission & reception unit 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to modify the coupling section in Yamada’s apparatus to be a coupling for a cable, such as LAN as disclosed by Tamada et al., in order to be able to transmit both, the printing information and the electric power on the same cable, to the printing section (Tamada, FIG. 2).
Tamada also discloses the following claims:
Regarding to claim 4: wherein the printing section is configured to execute the print processing in a state where no cable other than the first cable is coupled to the printing device (FIG. 2 even though shows the printing section connecting to AC power source, the power supply unit would select the DC power supply from the LAN cable in case the AC power lost; in this case, the printing section is simply considered as not connecting to the AC power source).
Regarding to claim 8: wherein the first is a cable conforming to an Ethernet standard (paragraph [0005]: Ethernet cable can be used to supplying DC power and transmitting and receiving a communication signal).
Claim(s) 3, 9, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 9956766) in view of Tamada et al. (US 2009/0091182), and further in view of Hata (US 2014/0293311).
Regarding to claims 3 and 9:
Yamada et al., as modified, discloses the claimed invention as discussed above except a second coupling section to which a second cable configured to transmit information and transmit electric power charged in the power storage section is coupled, wherein the power storage section supplies electric power to an external device coupled via the second cable.
Hata discloses a printing device having a first coupling for connecting to a first cable (FIGs. 1-2, element 80) and a second coupling for connecting to a second cable (FIGs. 1-2, element 90), wherein the second cable is configured to transmit information and transmit electric (FIG. 2: The cable 90 communicates information (D+, D-) and electric power (GND, VBUS)), wherein the printing device supplies electric power to an external device (FIGs. 1-2, element 50) coupled via the second cable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to modify Yamada’s printing device, as modified, to include the second coupling for purpose of connecting the printing device to an external device such as a scanner as disclosed by Hata (FIG. 1).
Regarding to claims 10-11 and 15: Please see the rejection above regarding to claims 2, 4, and 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAM S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853