DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority benefits from:
Provisional No. 63345365, filed 05/24/2022
Provisional No. 63367992, filed 07/08/2022
Provisional No. 63382382, filed 11/04/2022
The effective filing date for instant claims 7, 9-13, 16, 22-27, 29-32, 35, 37-40 is 05/24/2022, the filing date of Provisional No. 63345365.
The effective filing date for instant claims 33 is 11/04/2022, the filing date of the Provisional No. 63382382. The subject matter regarding treating subjects less than 1 year of age is not found in earlier benefit documents.
Claims Status
Amendments filed 07/17/2026 are entered.
Claims 1-6, 8, 14-15, 17-21, 25, 28, 41-42 are canceled.
Claims 7, 9-11, 22, 26-27, 30-31, 35 are amended.
Claims 43-54 are new.
Claims 7, 9-13, 16, 22, 24, 26-27, 29-33, 35, 37-40, 43-54 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The previous rejections of claims 7, 22, 25, 35, 40 under 35 USC § 112(b) are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments to claims 7, 22, 25, 35 and Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 40 explicitly clarifying the interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
The previous rejections of claims 25 under 35 USC § 112(d) are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments cancelling claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The previous rejections of claims 7, 9-11, 16, 22-4, 26-27, 29-32, and 37 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments deleting “about” from the doses in independent claim 27.
Maintained Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 7, 9-13, 16, 22-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim. A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claims 7, 9-13, 16, 22-24, 26 depend on independent claim 27. The claims are not numbered so that dependent claims refer only to a preceding claim.
New Objections/Rejections Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9-11, 16, 22-24, 27, 29-32, 35, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon et al (US2020/0399368A1, published 12/24/2020).
To align terminology with the instant application, regarding claim 27, Leon et al teaches:
Clinical diabetes is synonymous with Stage 3 type I diabetes (para 6).
Stage 2 T1D is defined by the presence of diabetes-related autoantibodies and dysglycemia (p. 1, para 5) and that all subjects in their trial had 2 or more diabetes-related autoantibodies and dysglycemia as evidenced by abnormal glucose tolerance on OGTT (p. 10, para 102).
The 14-day course of teplizumab is counted from Day 0 – 13, instead of Day 1 – 14 (p. 10, para 105).
Therefore, Leon teaches a method of delaying the onset of Stage 3 type I diabetes (TID), comprising administering to a subject in need thereof with Stage 2 TID a 14-day course of teplizumab. The dose values taught by Leon differ from the instant as follows:
Day
(instant)
Dose (μg/m2) (instant)
Day
(Leon et al)
Dose (μg/m2)
(Leon et al)
1
65
0
51
2
125
1
103
3
250
2
207
4
500
3
413
5-14
1030
4-13
826
Leon does not explicitly teach the exact dose values of 65, 125, 250, 500, and 1030 μg/m2.
However, Leon also teaches that the amount of the composition effective in preventing or ameliorating symptoms can be determined by standard clinical practices and the precise dose to be employed in the formulation depends on the administration route, condition severity, and each patient’s circumstances. The effective doses may be extrapolated. This indicates that the dose is a result-effective variable that is routinely optimized, i.e. the dose is a variable that is optimized to achieve a desired effect for each patient. Further, Leon teaches that in some embodiments the first dose of the regimen can be 5-100 μg/m2 (para. 0091), which covers the claimed starting dose.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, through routine optimization within prior art conditions to arrive at the claimed starting dose and subsequent doses. The scaling for the subsequent dose is obvious from the dosing regimen pattern disclosed and the exact values are again routinely optimizable. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) states: “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."” Further, it would be expected that a higher dose produces a difference in degree of effect (i.e. higher effect) than a lower dose.
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to increase (or decrease) the dose as needed or desired for more severe cases and/or to effect a stronger change.
One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success, especially in light of the teachings regarding slow infusion the doses so that increasingly higher doses could still be tolerated (para. 006).
The teachings of the references regarding claim 27 are incorporated in its entirety for the dependent claims and discussed further below, as is relevant for each claim.
Regarding claim 7, Leon et al further teaches the subject is a relative of a patient with T1D, specifically children or siblings of patients with T1D (p. 11, para 117).
Regarding claims 10 and 11 and 31, Leon et al further teaches the subjects in their trials have dysglycemia without overt hyperglycemia, as defined by on oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT) by the fasting plasma glucose level of 100-125 mg/dL, a 2 hour plasma glucose level of 2: 140 and< 200 mg/dL, or a 30 60 or 90 minute plasma glucose level of >200 mg/dL (p. 10, para 102).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, although Leon et al teaches a study including patients with and without ZnT8 autoantibodies, HLA-DR4, and HLA-DR3, they further explicitly envision the subject does not have ZnT8 autoantibodies, is HLA-DR4+, and is not HLA-DR3+ (Abstract).
Their findings that subjects without ZnT8 autoantibodies showed a greater response to the treatment than those with ZnT8 autoantibodies and that the presence of HLA-DR4 and absence of HLA-DR3 was associated with a more robust response to treatment (p. 12, para 124) and their subsequent teaching of treating this specific subject group (Abstract) makes it obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to apply this method to subjects without ZnT8 autoantibodies, with HLA-DR4, and without HLA-DR3. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, would be motivated to do so to get the greatest chance of a response to treatment, and would have a reasonable expectation of success due to the superior treatment response results.
Regarding claim 16, Leon et al further teaches the 14-day course of teplizumab is administered to the subject as a subcutaneous injection or as an intravenous infusion (p. 1, para 17), and specifically an intravenous infusion was reduced to practice in the trial (p. 10, para 105).
Regarding claim 22, Leon et al further teaches the method delays the median time to clinical diagnosis of T1D within the ranges instantly claimed. Specifically, the median times to T1D was 24.4 months in the placebo group versus 48.4 months in the teplizumab group, equating to a 24.2-month delay (p. 11, para 119).
Regarding claim 23, Leon et al further teaches determining the percentage of TIGIT+KLRG1+CD8+CD57- T cells after teplizumab administration (p. 12, para 123) and that drug treatment increased the proportion of TIGIT+KLRG1+CD8+CD57- T cells (p. 10, para 99). Figure 3A teaches there is at least 10 times more TIGIT+KLRG1+CD8+CD57- T cells in treated versus untreated subjects. Regarding claim 24, Leon et al further teaches determining of the percentage of TIGIT+KLRG1+CD8+ T cells is by flow cytometry (p. 11, para 111 and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 26, Leon et al further teaches IV infusion of the 14-day course of teplizumab (p. 10, para 105).
Regarding claim 29, Leon teaches the subject is 8 years of age or older and has Stage 2 T1D (p. 10, para 102).
Regarding claim 32, Leon et al further teaches the subject is at least 1 year old (p. 10, para 102).
Regarding claim 37, Leon et al further teaches administering an effective amount of ibuprofen, which is a nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID), and diphenhydramine, which is an antihistamine known as Benadryl, for at least the first 5 days of the 14-day course (p. 10, para 105).
Regarding claim 39, Leon et al further teaches the dose can be administered over a period of time, from about 5 minutes to about 22 hours; and in certain embodiments, by slow infusion over a period of 20 to 24 hours (p. 9, para 92); and in another specific embodiment, over a period of hours or days (p. 5, para 66). Leon et al further teaches all the doses are administered slowly by intravenous administration to reduce the possibility of cytokine release and other adverse effects (p. 9, para 92).
Leon et al does not explicitly teach administration over a period of at least 30 minutes as it teaches a range of times.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to choose the higher range of time for infusion, such as the 20-24 hour embodiment. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to administer the daily doses of teplizumab slowly for the advantage of reducing the risk of cytokine storm and adverse effects. A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of success due to the inverse relationship between infusion rate and risk of cytokine storm.
Claim 9, 30, 35, 37, and 43-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon et al (US2020/0399368A1, published 12/24/2020), as applied to claim 27 above, and further as evidenced by Burkly et al (WO 9417828 A2, published 08/18/1994) and Lampasona et al (Lampasona et al, Islet Autoantibodies, Immunology and Transplantation, Vol 16, No 53; published 04/25/2016).
The teachings of the references regarding claim 27 are incorporated in its entirety for the dependent claims and discussed further below, as is relevant for each claim.
Regarding claim 9 and 30, Leon et al further teaches the subject has two or more pancreatic islet autoantibodies (p. 11, para 117) and that these autoantibodies are selected from ICA, IAA, GAD, IA-2/ICA512 or ZnT8 (p. 1, para 11), as evidenced by Lampasona et al which teaches these claimed autoantibodies are islet autoantibodies (Abstract).
Regarding claim 35, Leon et al further teaches the patient has dysglycemia without overt hyperglycemia (p. 10, para 102), wherein overt hyperglycemia is interpreted to mean fasting blood glucose levels > 250 mg/dL, as evidenced by Burkly et al (p. 12, lines 11-13), and has two or more pancreatic islet autoantibodies, which encompass the autoantibodies taught by Leon et al (p. 1, para 11), as evidenced by Lampasona et al which teaches these claimed autoantibodies are islet autoantibodies (Abstract).
The teachings of the references regarding claim 35 are incorporated in its entirety for the dependent claims and discussed further below, as is relevant for each claim.
Regarding claim 43, Leon et al further teaches the subject has two or more pancreatic islet autoantibodies (p. 11, para 117) and that these autoantibodies are selected from ICA, IAA, GAD, IA-2/ICA512 or ZnT8 (p. 1, para 11),
Regarding claims 44-45, Leon et al further teaches the subjects in their trials have dysglycemia without overt hyperglycemia, as defined by on oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT) by the fasting plasma glucose level of 100-125 mg/dL, a 2 hour plasma glucose level of 2: 140 and< 200 mg/dL, or a 30 60 or 90 minute plasma glucose level of >200 mg/dL (p. 10, para 102).
Regarding claim 46 and 47, Leon teaches the subjects are within at least 8 years of age or older and has Stage 2 T1D (p. 10, para 102).
Regarding claim 48, Leon et al further teaches the dose can be administered over a period of time, from about 5 minutes to about 22 hours; and in certain embodiments, by slow infusion over a period of 20 to 24 hours (p. 9, para 92); and in another specific embodiment, over a period of hours or days (p. 5, para 66). Leon et al further teaches all the doses are administered slowly by intravenous administration to reduce the possibility of cytokine release and other adverse effects (p. 9, para 92).
Leon et al does not explicitly teach administration over a period of at least 30 minutes as it teaches a range of times.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to choose the higher range of time for infusion, such as the 20-24 hour embodiment. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to administer the daily doses of teplizumab slowly for the advantage of reducing the risk of cytokine storm and adverse effects. A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of success due to the inverse relationship between infusion rate and risk of cytokine storm.
Regarding claims 49-54, from the teachings of Leon, the discussion regarding arriving at the method of delaying the onset of Stage 3 type 1 diabetes comprising administering the claimed 14-day course of teplizumab is provided for claim 27 and incorporated herein.
Leon et al further teaches the subjects in their trials have dysglycemia without overt hyperglycemia, as defined by oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT) (p. 10, para 102).
Leon teaches the subject is 8 years of age or older and has Stage 2 T1D (p. 10, para 102), which meets the claimed age limitation of at least one year old.
Leon et al further teaches the subject has two or more pancreatic islet autoantibodies (p. 11, para 117) and that these autoantibodies are selected from ICA, IAA, GAD, IA-2/ICA512 or ZnT8 (p. 1, para 11), as evidenced by Burkly.
Leon et al further teaches the 14-day course of teplizumab is administered to the subject by an intravenous infusion in their trial (p. 10, para 105).
Together, these teachings by Leon arrive at all the limitations of claims 49 and 52 and their dependent claims, 50-51 and 53-54.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon et al (US2020/0399368A1, published 12/24/2020), as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Elliot et al (US11535679B2; filed 12/21/2021).
Leon et al further teaches administering an effective amount of ibuprofen, which is a nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID), and diphenhydramine, which is an antihistamine known as Benadryl, for at least the first 5 days of the 14-day course (p. 10, para 105).
Leon et al does not explicitly teach the NSAID and antihistamine are administered orally.
However, Elliot et al teaches subjects to receive antibody infusions are pretreated with prophylaxis to attenuate infusion reactions, such as an oral dose of acetaminophen (column 50, line 30-35). Diphenhydramine can be administered orally or intravenously for the same purpose (column 50, line 30-35).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, that the premedication taught in Leon et al can also be administered orally, if they exist in oral form, and to choose oral administration of premedication, if the subject is able to orally intake. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to choose the easier and less painful form of premedication administration to the advantage of minimizing pain and injections to the subject. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success since oral doses of premedication, such as acetaminophen, ibuprofen, and Benadryl, exist and are generally well-tolerated and used for premedication.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon et al (US2020/0399368A1, published 12/24/2020) , as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Krischer et al (Krischer et al, The 6 year incidence of diabetes-associated autoantibodies in genetically at-risk children: the TEDDY study, Diabetologia 58, 980–987; published 02/10/2015) and Dayan et al (Dayan et al, Preventing type 1 diabetes in childhood, Science 373, 506-510; published 07/30/2021).
Leon et al teaches teplizumab was administered to subjects 8 years of age or older but does not explicitly exclude the possibility of treating younger patients. Leon et al further reports that the most common adverse effects were nausea and CRS (cytokine release storm), but only mild or moderate grades, which could be mitigated by premedication (column 60, line 60-67). Leon further teaches a younger age of diagnosis is associated with worse outcome and that patients in the placebo group progressed rapidly to clinical diabetes, indicating the importance of early intervention.
Krischer et al teaches that islet autoantibodies in young children have been reported to peak between 9 months and 2 years of age, with autoantibodies against insulin (IAA) typically appearing first (section: Introduction, para. 2).
Dayan et al teaches that although up to 90% of children with a single type of islet-specific autoantibody do not progress to clinical T1D, the presence of two or autoantibodies (which occurs at a median age of 2.1 years) indicates a high risk of developing clinical T1D later. Therefore, “[a] disease model of presymptomatic autoimmune β cell destruction identified by the presence of islet-specific autoantibodies offers the possibility of intervening early, before clinical diagnosis of T1D, to maximize the preservation of β cells” (section: Autoantibodies as biomarkers of early disease, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, that autoantibodies implicated in the development of T1D can occur in infants under one year of age, and therefore, prevention of clinical T1D should occur as early as possible to protect insulin-producing beta cells, including for subjects under one year of age, especially when indicated by the presence of autoantibodies and other genetic and known risk factors for T1D. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to protect against the destruction of insulin-producing beta cells as early as possible for the advantage of delaying or preventing the onset of type 1 diabetes, which can have dramatic impact on the overall lifespan of the subject. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success, in light of the safety and efficacy experienced by the child subjects in Leon et al and the pressing need for early intervention, and barring any known reasonable or definitive teachings contraindicating the use of teplizumab in infants under one year of age.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon et al (US2020/0399368A1, published 12/24/2020) , as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Herold et al (A single course of anti-CD3 monoclonal antibody hOKT3y1(Ala-Ala) results in improvement in C-peptide response and clinical parameters for at least 2 years after onset of type 1 diabetes, Diabetes, 54(6):1763-1769; published 06/2005) and Ismail et al (Ismail et al, The shape of the glucose concentration curve during an oral glucose tolerance test predicts risk for type 1 diabetes, Diabetologia, 61:84-92; published 9/27/2017).
Regarding claim 40, Leon et al teaches determining the C-peptide AUC mean at baseline before treatment.
Leon et al does not explicitly teach determining the C-peptide AUC:glucose AUC ratio after the teplizumab course wherein an increase indicates responsiveness to the teplizumab course.
However, Herold et al teaches treatment of patients with recent onset type 1 diabetes with hOKT3γ1(Ala-Ala), i.e. teplizumab (Abstract), yielded increased C-peptide response compared to untreated (section: Effects of drug treatment on C-peptide response, para. 1), expressed as the total area under the response curve (AUC) (section: Assay measurements, para. 1), accompanied by improvement in glucose control (section: Discussion, para. 2), which means a decrease in glucose levels from the hyperglycemia of T1D.
Herold does not explicitly teach these measurements of response as a single C-peptide AUC:glucose AUC ratio.
However, Ismail et al teaches the AUC C-peptide/AUC glucose ratio is a known and validated index of beta cell function (section: Measures of beta cell function, para. 2).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, that an increase in AUC C-peptide/AUC glucose ratio, from an increase in C-peptide and decrease in glucose, is indicative of response to teplizumab as it confirms the ability of teplizumab to rescue the insulin-producing beta cells. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to use this known and measurable biomarker for the advantage of quantifying response to treatment. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success due to the known relationship between AUC C-peptide/AUC glucose ratio and beta cell functions, which is an indicator of insulin production.
Double Patenting
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
The double patenting reference claims that are relevant to each instant claim are mapped in the table below and will be discussed further.
Instant claims
App. 19210427
App. 18693879
US 11434291 B2
7
10
16
1, 17
9
11
16
1, 17
10
12
21
1, 17
11
13, 14, 15
21
5-8
12
23
18
1, 2
13
1
18
1, 2
16
2, 3, 16, 17
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
22
16
26
1, 17
23
18
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
20
24
18
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
20
26
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
27
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
29
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
18-19
30
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
31
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
32
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
33
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
35
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
37
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
38
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
39
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
40
1
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 28
1, 17
43-54
1, 3, 10-15
1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 16, 21, 28
1, 5-8, 17-19
Patent No. US 11434291B2
Claim 27 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 and 1 of U.S. Patent No.11434291B2.
Regarding instant claim 27, claim 17 limitations on dosing, which depends on the method of claim 1 of Patent No. ‘291, teaches the same method of administering teplizumab to prevent or delay the onset of T1D, differing by concentration of the drug. The rationale to arrive at the instantly claimed concentrations by routine optimization guided by a prior art disclosed range is provided in the art rejection
Claims 7, 9-13, 16, 22-24, 26, 29-33, 35, 37-40, 43-54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-8, 17, 20, 28-29 of U.S. Patent No.11434291B2 in view of Leon et al (US2020/0399368A1, published 12/24/2020), Elliot et al (US11535679B2; filed 12/21/2021), Krischer et al (Krischer et al, The 6 year incidence of diabetes-associated autoantibodies in genetically at-risk children: the TEDDY study, Diabetologia 58, 980–987; published 02/10/2015), Dayan et al (Dayan et al, Preventing type 1 diabetes in childhood, Science 373, 506-510; published 07/30/2021), Herold et al (A single course of anti-CD3 monoclonal antibody hOKT3y1(Ala-Ala) results in improvement in C-peptide response and clinical parameters for at least 2 years after onset of type 1 diabetes, Diabetes, 54(6):1763-1769; published 06/2005), Ismail et al (Ismail et al, The shape of the glucose concentration curve during an oral glucose tolerance test predicts risk for type 1 diabetes, Diabetologia, 61:84-92; published 9/27/2017), as evidenced by Burkly et al (WO 9417828 A2, published 08/18/1994) and Lampasona et al (Lampasona et al, Islet Autoantibodies, Immunology and Transplantation, Vol 16, No 53; published 04/25/2016).
From the baseline method of delaying the onset of T1D from claim 17 of Patent US ‘291B2, it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to combine the claim of Patent US ‘291B2 and the teachings from the prior art references arrive at the limitations for instant claims 7, 9-13, 16, 22-26, 29-33, 35, 37-40 and 43-54, as discussed previously in the prior art rejection section.
Application No. 19210427
Claims 7-12, 16-24, and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 10-18 of copending Application No. 19210427. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claims 7-12, 16-24, and 27, the claims from copending App. No. ‘427 that teach the limitations are outlined above in the table. In summary, it would be obvious to arrive at instant independent claim 27 (see prior art rejection for analysis of dose ranges) from App. No. ‘427 claim 1 and the other reference claims teach the specific limitations of the instant method for dependent claims.
Claims 13, 26, 28-40, 43-54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 10-18 of copending Application No. 19210427 in view of Leon et al (US2020/0399368A1, published 12/24/2020), Elliot et al (US11535679B2; filed 12/21/2021), Krischer et al (Krischer et al, The 6 year incidence of diabetes-associated autoantibodies in genetically at-risk children: the TEDDY study, Diabetologia 58, 980–987; published 02/10/2015), Dayan et al (Dayan et al, Preventing type 1 diabetes in childhood, Science 373, 506-510; published 07/30/2021), Herold et al (A single course of anti-CD3 monoclonal antibody hOKT3y1(Ala-Ala) results in improvement in C-peptide response and clinical parameters for at least 2 years after onset of type 1 diabetes, Diabetes, 54(6):1763-1769; published 06/2005), Ismail et al (Ismail et al, The shape of the glucose concentration curve during an oral glucose tolerance test predicts risk for type 1 diabetes, Diabetologia, 61:84-92; published 9/27/2017), as evidenced by Burkly et al (WO 9417828 A2, published 08/18/1994) and Lampasona et al (Lampasona et al, Islet Autoantibodies, Immunology and Transplantation, Vol 16, No 53; published 04/25/2016). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
From the baseline method of delaying the onset of T1D from claim 1 of App. No. ‘427, the teachings from the prior art references arrive at the limitations for instant claims 13, 25-26, 28-40, and 43-54 as discussed previously in the prior art rejection section.
Application No. 18693879
Claims 7, 9-13, 16, 22-24, 26-27, 29-33, 35, 37-40, and 43-54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 16, 18, 26, and 28 of copending Application No. 18693879 in view of Leon et al (US2020/0399368A1, published 12/24/2020), Elliot et al (US11535679B2; filed 12/21/2021), Krischer et al (Krischer et al, The 6 year incidence of diabetes-associated autoantibodies in genetically at-risk children: the TEDDY study, Diabetologia 58, 980–987; published 02/10/2015), Dayan et al (Dayan et al, Preventing type 1 diabetes in childhood, Science 373, 506-510; published 07/30/2021), Herold et al (A single course of anti-CD3 monoclonal antibody hOKT3y1(Ala-Ala) results in improvement in C-peptide response and clinical parameters for at least 2 years after onset of type 1 diabetes, Diabetes, 54(6):1763-1769; published 06/2005), Ismail et al (Ismail et al, The shape of the glucose concentration curve during an oral glucose tolerance test predicts risk for type 1 diabetes, Diabetologia, 61:84-92; published 9/27/2017), as evidenced by Burkly et al (WO 9417828 A2, published 08/18/1994) and Lampasona et al (Lampasona et al, Islet Autoantibodies, Immunology and Transplantation, Vol 16, No 53; published 04/25/2016).This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claims 7-13, 22, 27, and 40, the claims from copending App. No. ‘879 that teach the limitations are outlined above in the table and the rationale to arrive at the instantly claimed dose values is provided in the rejection of instant claim 27 under 35 USC 103 presented above. From the baseline method of prognosis or assessing responsiveness of a therapeutic or prophylactic agent for treating or preventing the onset of claim 1 of T1D, which includes steps regarding the therapeutic or prophylactic administration, of App. No. ‘879, the teachings from the prior art references arrive at the limitations for instant claims 7-13, 22, 27, and 40 and further for claims 16, 23-26, 29-39, and 43-54 as discussed previously in the prior art rejection section.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The requirement to maintain original claim numbering and Applicant’s ability to cancel and add claims without adding new matter do not prevent nor contradict meeting the requirements of 35 USC § 112(d) throughout prosecution. The rejection is proper and maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive as the rejections depended on the withdrawn rejections under 35 USC § 102. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments.
Applicant argues that Leon does not provide any motivation to modify their dose regimen since it already provided the subjects with good outcomes. Applicant argues that Leon teaches improving outcomes through repeating the dosing regimen or incorporating complementary agents and does not teach higher teplizumab doses.
These arguments are not found persuasive for the amended claims and the new rejection necessitated by these amendments. MPEP 2144 teaches that the references do not have to explicitly suggest to combine the teachings. Rather, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness requires a clear articulation of a rationale for combining the teachings of the references, and such rationale has been provided in the rejection above. In this case, Leon does provide teachings to optimize the dose as needed, for example, to be commensurate with symptom severity, and teaches increase the starting dose, and a method to make higher doses more tolerable by slowly infusing the dose, thereby providing one skilled in the art the tools needed to optimize within the prior art disclosed dose range and dosing schema. Furthermore, a generally good outcome amongst the study population and improving outcomes through repeating the dosing regimen or incorporating complementary agents does not exclude the ability to increase dosage on a patient-by-patient case.
MPEP 2144.5 (I) and (III) states:
“Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. […]
"[A] modification of a process parameter may be patentable if it ‘produce[s] a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art."”
Applicant has not provided any argument for unexpected results between the claimed concentrations and the prior art concentrations. MPEP 716.02(b)(I)-(II) states:
“The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. […]
"[A]ppellants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness."”
Applicant further argues that because the primary reference, Leon, does not render independent claim 27 obvious, all rejections of claims dependent on claim 27 using Leon as the primary reference are therefore moot since the additional references do not remedy the claimed dosing regimen.
These arguments are not found persuasive for the amended claims and the new rejection necessitated by these amendments. The teachings of Leon and discussion of how to arrive at the claimed dosing regimen are provided in the new rejection necessitated by amendments to claim 27 and fully address the amended limitations. Therefore, the primary reference remains a proper foundation for the dosing regimen for the rejections regarding the dependent claims and the additional references need only remedy the additional limitations or provide evidentiary support, as outlined in the previously presented rejection.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejections
For all the double patenting rejections, except the provisional double patenting rejection, Applicant argues that because the primary reference, Leon, does not render independent claim 27 obvious, all rejections of claims dependent on claim 27 using Leon as the primary reference are therefore moot since the additional references do not remedy the claimed dosing regimen.
These arguments are not found persuasive for the amended claims and the new rejection necessitated by these amendments. The teachings of Leon and discussion of how to arrive at the claimed dosing regimen are provided in the new rejection necessitated by amendments to claim 27 and fully address the amended limitations. Therefore, the primary reference remains a proper foundation for the dosing regimen for the rejections regarding the dependent claims and the additional references need only remedy the additional limitations or provide evidentiary support, as outlined in the previously presented rejection.
Regarding the provisional double patenting rejection over US Patent Application No. 18693879, the Applicant requests the rejection be held in abeyance until the pending claims are found otherwise allowable. The rejection is maintained as no arguments nor amendments overcoming this rejection were provided.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondance
/BONIRATH CHHAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 September 17, 2026