DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitations “the first electrode plate”, “the second electrode plate”, “the first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor”, and “the first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor” are indefinite, because there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim, due to Applicant’s amendment; “a first electrode plate” and “a second electrode plate” are only recited in claim 7, while “a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor” and “a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor” are only recited in claim 8. Thus, it is unclear whether “the first electrode plate” and “a first electrode plate” are to be interpreted as the same structure. The same is true for the recitations of second electrode plates or first ends.
For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitations are interpreted to mean “a first electrode plate”, “a second electrode plate”, and “a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor”.
Claims 2-20 are rejected, as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, 11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, see Instant IDS and Machine Translation of Record), in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2020/0381765) and Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches an electrochemical apparatus (button cell of Fig. 1, Page2:L27-28), comprising: a housing (1, Fig. 1), an electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1), and an electrolyte (electrolyte, Page2:L37); the electrode assembly (2) and the electrolyte being disposed in the housing (1, see Page2:L37); wherein the housing comprises:
a housing body (11, Fig. 1), wherein the housing body comprises a side wall (side of 11, Fig. 1) and the side wall (side of 11) comprises a metal layer (metal material, Page2:L44-45);
a housing cover (12, Fig. 1) covering the housing body (11), wherein an injection opening (122, Fig. 1) is disposed at a center of the housing cover (12); and
wherein the first electrode plate (plate of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, below, see 35 U.S.C. § 112b rejection, above for interpretation) is a negative electrode plate (negative electrode 22, Page2:L35-36) and the second electrode plate (plate of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, below, see 35 U.S.C. § 112b rejection, above for interpretation) is a positive electrode plate (positive electrode 21, Page2:L35-36);
the electrochemical apparatus further comprises a positive electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, below) and a negative electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, below),
wherein at least one negative electrode tab (first tab of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, below) is electrically connected (see explanation, below) to the sidewall (side of 11, Fig. 1, see Page2:L29-30 and Page2:L44-45), and at least one positive electrode tab (first tab of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, below) is electrically connected (see explanation, below) to a pole (4, Fig. 1) and the pole (4) is insulated (via 3, Fig. 1, see Page2:L30-33 and explanation, below) from the side wall (side of 11); and a second end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, above) is electrically connected (see explanation, below) to the metal layer (metal material).
but does not teach a sealing plug configured to seal the injection opening, the electrode assembly further comprises a plurality of positive electrode tabs and a plurality of negative electrode tabs, wherein the plurality of positive electrode tabs are stacked and bent to be electrically connected to the first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor, and a first tab protection adhesive is attached outside a tail end of the stacked positive electrode tabs; and the plurality of negative electrode tabs are stacked and bent to be electrically connected to the first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor, and a second tab protection adhesive is attached outside a tail end of the stacked negative electrode tabs; a pole disposed on the side wall.
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1
It is the position of the Examiner that Han teaches the positive and negative electrode tabs and adapter conductors, the pole 4, and the metal layer are all electrically connected to one another, either indirectly or directly. This would inherently be required for current to flow through the battery. Further, since Han teaches the pole 4 is insulated from the cover 12 by insulating seal 3, it would therefore be indirectly insulated from the side wall.
However, in an alternate embodiment, Han teaches a sealing plug (sealing member, Page3:L3-4) configured to seal the injection opening (122).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the embodiments of Han comprising the injection opening (122, Fig. 2) and the sealing plug (sealing member, Page3:L3-4) because Han teaches the embodiments as effective equivalents that would yield the same predictable result. Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Han still does not teach a plurality of positive electrode tabs and a plurality of negative electrode tabs, wherein the plurality of positive electrode tabs are stacked and bent to be electrically connected to the first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor, and a first tab protection adhesive is attached outside a tail end of the stacked positive electrode tabs; and the plurality of negative electrode tabs are stacked and bent to be electrically connected to the first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor, and a second tab protection adhesive is attached outside a tail end of the stacked negative electrode tabs, and a pole disposed on the side wall.
However, Yang teaches a plurality of positive electrode tabs (110, Fig. 3, [0035]) and a plurality of negative electrode tabs (210, Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of positive electrode tabs (110) are stacked and bent (at 112, Fig. 4, [0042]) to be electrically connected to the first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (left side of 113, Fig. 4), and a first tab protection adhesive (300, Fig. 4, [0048]) is attached outside a tail end of the stacked positive electrode tabs (110); and the plurality of negative electrode tabs (210) are stacked and bent (at 212, [0042]) to be electrically connected to the first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (left side of 213, [0042]), and a second tab protection adhesive (300) is attached outside a tail end of the stacked negative electrode tabs (210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrode tabs of Han, such that they are stacked and bent to be electrically connected to the electrode adapter conductors and provided with a tab protection adhesive, as taught by Yang, to improve the fixing stability of the tabs (see [0048]).
Han, in view of Yang, does not teach a pole disposed on the side wall.
Further, Vedoy teaches a pole (220, Fig. 2) disposed on the side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pole of Han, in view of Yang, such that it is disposed on the side wall, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches the electrode assembly is a wound structure with an axial direction of the electrode assembly parallel to the housing cover; or the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1) is a stacked structure (see Fig. 1) with electrode plates parallel to the housing cover (12, Fig. 1).
It is the position of the Examiner that the top surface of each electrode plate is parallel to the housing cover (12).
Regarding claim 7, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches wherein the metal layer (metal material, Page2:L44-45) being electrically connected to a first electrode plate (plate of 22, Fig. 1, see explanation, below) in the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1); and the pole (4, Fig. 1) is disposed in the through hole (123, Fig. 1), a first end (first end, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the pole (4) extending out of the through hole (123) and a second end (second end, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the pole (4) being electrically connected to a second electrode plate (plate of 21, Fig. 1, see explanation, below) in the electrode assembly (2); and
the electrochemical apparatus (button cell, Fig. 1, Page2:L27-28) further comprises a sealing insulator (3, Fig. 1), wherein the sealing insulator is disposed around the pole (4) to insulate the pole (4) from the metal layer of the side wall (side of 11) and seal the through hole (3, see Fig. 1),
but does not teach the side wall is provided with a through hole.
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1
It is the position of the Examiner that the first electrode plate (22), the second electrode plate (21), the metal layer, and the pole (4) are all electrically connected, either indirectly or directly. This would inherently be required for current to flow through the battery.
However, Vedoy teaches the side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2) is provided with a through hole (hole surrounding 220, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the side wall of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, such that it is provided with a through hole, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches the positive electrode plate (plate of 21, Fig. 1) in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) through one of the positive electrode tabs (first tab of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1); and a second end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 21) is electrically connected to the second end of the pole (second end of pole 4, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 7, see explanation, below); and the negative electrode plate (plate of 22, Fig. 1) in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) through one of the negative electrode tabs (second tab of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1); and a second end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) is electrically connected to the metal layer (see rejection of claim 1, above).
It is the position of the Examiner that both ends of the positive electrode adapter conductor, the negative electrode adapter conductor, the pole (4), and the metal layer are all electrically connected, either indirectly or directly. This would inherently be required for current to flow through the battery.
However, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, does not teach wherein each wound layer of the positive electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of positive electrode plate in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor through one of the positive electrode tabs; and each wound layer of the negative electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of negative electrode plate in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor through one of the negative electrode tabs.
Further, Yang teaches wherein each wound layer of the positive electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of positive electrode plate (100, Fig. 4, [0042]) in the stacked structure (stacked structure, [0045]) is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (left side of 113, Fig. 4) through one of the positive electrode tabs (110, Fig. 3); and each wound layer of the negative electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of negative electrode plate (200, [0042]) in the stacked structure (stacked structure, [0045]) is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (left side of 213, [0042]) through one of the negative electrode tabs (210, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify each layer of the stacked electrode plates of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, such that they are electrically connected to the electrode adapter conductors and respective tabs, as taught by Yang, to stably fix the positive and negative tabs (see [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches the side wall (side of 11, Fig. 1) comprises a first portion (first portion, Annotated Fig. 1, below) and a second portion (second portion, Annotated Fig. 1, below), wherein the first portion is a plane perpendicular to the housing cover (12, Fig. 1),
but does not teach the through hole is disposed at the first portion.
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1
However, Vedoy teaches a side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2) comprises a first portion (first portion, Annotated Fig. 2, below), and the through hole (hole surrounding 220, Fig. 2) is disposed at the first portion (first portion).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first portion of the side wall of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, such that it is provided with a through hole, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches an electronic device (button battery device, Fig. 4, see Machine Translation Page2:L6-9 and Page2:L24), comprising the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1, above).
Regarding claim 16, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches the electrode assembly is a wound structure with an axial direction of the electrode assembly parallel to the housing cover; or the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1) is a stacked structure (see Fig. 1) with electrode plates parallel to the housing cover (12, Fig. 1, see explanation, below).
It is the position of the Examiner that the top surface of each electrode plate is parallel to the housing cover (12).
Regarding claim 17, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches wherein the metal layer (metal material, Page2:L44-45) being electrically connected to a first electrode plate (plate of 22, Fig. 1, see explanation, below) in the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1); and the pole (4, Fig. 1) is disposed in the through hole (123, Fig. 1), a first end (first end, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the pole (4) extending out of the through hole (123) and a second end (second end, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the pole (4) being electrically connected to a second electrode plate (21, Fig. 1, see explanation, below) in the electrode assembly (2); and
the electrochemical apparatus (button cell, Fig. 1, Page2:L27-28) further comprises a sealing insulator (3, Fig. 1), wherein the sealing insulator is disposed around the pole (4) to insulate the pole (4) from the metal layer of the side wall (side of 11) and seal the through hole (3, see Fig. 1),
but does not teach the side wall is provided with a through hole.
It is the position of the Examiner that the first electrode plate (22), the second electrode plate (21), the metal layer, and the pole (4) are all electrically connected, either indirectly or directly. This would inherently be required for current to flow through the battery.
However, Vedoy teaches the side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2) is provided with a through hole (hole surrounding 220, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the side wall of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, such that it is provided with a through hole, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Regarding claim 18, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches the positive electrode plate (plate of 21, Fig. 1) in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) through one of the positive electrode tabs (first tab of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1); and a second end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 21) is electrically connected to the second end of the pole (second end of pole 4, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 7, see explanation, below); and the negative electrode plate (plate of 22, Fig. 1) in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) through one of the negative electrode tabs (second tab of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1); and a second end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) is electrically connected to the metal layer (see rejection of claim 1, above).
It is the position of the Examiner that both ends of the positive electrode adapter conductor, the negative electrode adapter conductor, the pole (4), and the metal layer are all electrically connected, either indirectly or directly. This would inherently be required for current to flow through the battery.
However, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, does not teach wherein each wound layer of the positive electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of positive electrode plate in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor through one of the positive electrode tabs; and each wound layer of the negative electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of negative electrode plate in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor through one of the negative electrode tabs.
Further, Yang teaches wherein each wound layer of the positive electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of positive electrode plate (100, Fig. 4, [0042]) in the stacked structure (stacked structure, [0045]) is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (left side of 113, Fig. 4) through one of the positive electrode tabs (110, Fig. 3); and each wound layer of the negative electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of negative electrode plate (200, [0042]) in the stacked structure (stacked structure, [0045]) is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (left side of 213, [0042]) through one of the negative electrode tabs (210, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify each layer of the stacked electrode plates of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, such that they are electrically connected to the electrode adapter conductors and respective tabs, as taught by Yang, to stably fix the positive and negative tabs (see [0035]).
Regarding claim 19, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches the side wall (side of 11, Fig. 1) comprises a first portion (first portion, Annotated Fig. 1, below) and a second portion (second portion, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 9), wherein the first portion is a plane perpendicular to the housing cover (12, Fig. 1),
but does not teach the through hole is disposed at the first portion.
However, Vedoy teaches a side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2) comprises a first portion (first portion, Annotated Fig. 2, below), and the through hole (hole surrounding 220, Fig. 2) is disposed at the first portion (first portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first portion of the side wall of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, such that it is provided with a through hole, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation of Record), in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2020/0381765) and Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331) and further in view of Deng et al. (CN 111682129, Machine Translation of Record).
Regarding claim 2, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches a sealing plug (sealing member, Page3:L3-4),
but does not teach the electrochemical apparatus further comprises an anti-explosion valve, and the anti-explosion valve is disposed on the sealing plug.
Deng teaches an electrochemical apparatus (lithium ion battery, see Page3:L8-9) comprising an anti-explosion valve (safety valve 3, see Page4:13-15), and the anti-explosion valve (3) is disposed on the sealing plug (8, see Page4:13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sealing plug of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, by adding an anti-explosion valve, as taught by Deng, to improve safety and prolong the service life of the battery (see Page4:L5-6).
Regarding claim 12, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches a sealing plug (sealing member, see Page3:L3-4),
but does not teach the electrochemical apparatus further comprises an anti-explosion valve, and the anti-explosion valve is disposed on the sealing plug.
Deng teaches an electrochemical apparatus (lithium ion battery, see Page3:L8-9) comprising an anti-explosion valve (safety valve 3, see Page4:13-15), and the anti-explosion valve (3) is disposed on the sealing plug (8, see Page4:13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sealing plug of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, by adding an anti-explosion valve, as taught by Deng, to improve safety and prolong the service life of the battery (see Page4:L5-6).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation of Record), in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2020/0381765), Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331), Deng et al. (CN 111682129, Machine Translation of Record) and further in view of Streuer et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2012/0085762).
Regarding claim 3, Han, in view of Yang, Vedoy, and Deng, teaches the anti-explosion valve formed on the sealing plug (see Page4:13-15 of Deng),
but does not teach the anti-explosion device is a gap formed on a surface of the sealing plug, and a depth of the gap is smaller than a thickness of the sealing plug.
However, Streuer teaches an anti-explosion valve (13, Fig. 2) is a gap (see [0034-0035]) formed on a surface (top surface of 6, Fig. 2) of the sealing plug (5, Fig. 1), and a depth of the gap is smaller than a thickness of the sealing plug (see [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anti-explosion valve of Han, in view of Yang, Vedoy, and Deng, by forming the anti-explosion valve to be a gap with a thickness smaller than the thickness of the sealing plug, as taught by Streuer, to more finely adjust the valve action (see [0035]).
Regarding claim 13, Han, in view of Yang, Vedoy, and Deng, teaches the anti-explosion valve formed on the sealing plug (see Page4:13-15 of Deng),
but does not teach the anti-explosion device is a gap formed on a surface of the sealing plug, and a depth of the gap is smaller than a thickness of the sealing plug.
However, Streuer teaches an anti-explosion valve (13, Fig. 2) is a gap (see [0034-0035]) formed on a surface (top surface of 6, Fig. 2) of the sealing plug (5, Fig. 1), and a depth of the gap is smaller than a thickness of the sealing plug (see [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anti-explosion valve of Han, in view of Yang, Vedoy, and Deng, by forming the anti-explosion valve to be a gap with a thickness smaller than the thickness of the sealing plug, as taught by Streuer, to more finely adjust the valve action (see [0035]).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation of Record), in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2020/0381765) and Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331) and further in view of Heo et al. (WO 2019/203450, Machine Translation of Record).
Regarding claim 4, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches the injection opening (122, Fig. 1) comprises a through hole (hole of 122, Fig. 1) serving as an injection channel (see Page2:L1-2),
but does not teach a first groove disposed around the through hole; and the sealing plug comprises a plug head and a plug cap, wherein the plug head fits the through hole, and the plug cap fits the first groove.
However, Heo teaches a first groove (292, Figs. 3-5) disposed around the through hole (291, Figs. 3-5); and the sealing plug (27, Figs. 3-5) comprises a plug head (271, Figs. 3-5) and a plug cap (272, Figs. 3-5), wherein the plug head (271) fits the through hole (291), and the plug cap (272) fits the first groove (292).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the injection opening and sealing plug of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, by forming the injection opening to have a first groove and forming the sealing plug to have a plug head and plug cap, each fitted to the injection opening, as taught by Heo, to firmly maintain the sealing state of the electrolyte injection hole (see Machine Translation Page7:L5-7).
Regarding claim 14, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches the injection opening (122, Fig. 1) comprises a through hole (hole of 122, Fig. 1) serving as an injection channel (see Page2:L1-2),
but does not teach a first groove disposed around the through hole; and the sealing plug comprises a plug head and a plug cap, wherein the plug head fits the through hole, and the plug cap fits the first groove.
However, Heo teaches a first groove (292, Figs. 3-5) disposed around the through hole (291, Figs. 3-5); and the sealing plug (27, Figs. 3-5) comprises a plug head (271, Figs. 3-5) and a plug cap (272, Figs. 3-5), wherein the plug head (271) fits the through hole (291), and the plug cap (272) fits the first groove (292).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the injection opening and sealing plug of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, by forming the injection opening to have a first groove and forming the sealing plug to have a plug head and plug cap, each fitted to the injection opening, as taught by Heo, to firmly maintain the sealing state of the electrolyte injection hole (see Machine Translation Page7:L5-7).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation of Record), in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2020/0381765) and Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331), further in view of Li et al. (CN 101964400, see Instant IDS and Machine Translation of Record).
Regarding claim 5, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches a side of the housing cover (bottom side of 12, Fig. 1) facing the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1) and a gap (space between 11 and 2, Fig. 1) between the housing body (11) and the electrode assembly (2),
but does not teach a side of the housing cover is provided with a second groove in communication with the injection opening; and the second groove extends from the injection opening to a gap between the housing body and the electrode assembly.
However, Li teaches teach a side of the housing cover (cover plate, Figs. 1-2, see Page2:L35-36) is provided with a second groove (2, Figs. 1-2) in communication with the injection opening (1, Figs. 1-2); and the second groove (2) extends from the injection opening (1) to a gap (end of 2 at outer edge of cover, Fig. 1) between the housing body and the electrode assembly (see Machine Translation Page2:L22-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing cover of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, by forming a second groove communicating with the injection hole on the side of the housing cover facing the electrode assembly, as taught by Li, to inject make injection of electrolyte more convenient (see Machine Translation Page1:L25-28).
Regarding claim 15, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, teaches a side of the housing cover (bottom side of 12, Fig. 1) facing the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1) and a gap (space between 11 and 2, Fig. 1) between the housing body (11) and the electrode assembly (2),
but does not teach a side of the housing cover is provided with a second groove in communication with the injection opening; and the second groove extends from the injection opening to a gap between the housing body and the electrode assembly.
However, Li teaches teach a side of the housing cover (cover plate, Figs. 1-2, see Page2:L35-36) is provided with a second groove (2, Figs. 1-2) in communication with the injection opening (1, Figs. 1-2); and the second groove (2) extends from the injection opening (1) to a gap (end of 2 at outer edge of cover, Fig. 1) between the housing body and the electrode assembly (see Machine Translation Page2:L22-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing cover of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, by forming a second groove communicating with the injection hole on the side of the housing cover facing the electrode assembly, as taught by Li, to make injection of electrolyte more convenient (see Machine Translation Page1:L25-28).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation of Record), in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2020/0381765) and Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331) and further in view of Busche et al. (WO 2019/145542, Machine Translation of Record).
Regarding claim 10, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, does not teach an insulation gasket is disposed on an end surface of a bottom of the housing body and is disposed between the electrode assembly and the housing body.
However, Busche teaches an insulation gasket (60, Fig. 5) is disposed on an end surface of a bottom (bottom side of 3, Fig. 5) of the housing body (3) and is disposed between the electrode assembly (10, Fig. 5) and the housing body (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing body of Han to add an insulation gasket, as taught by Busche, so that the positive and negative terminals can be electrically insulated from each other (see Machine Translation [0012]).
Regarding claim 20, Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, does not teach an insulation gasket is disposed on an end surface of a bottom of the housing body and is disposed between the electrode assembly and the housing body.
However, Busche teaches an insulation gasket (60, Fig. 5) is disposed on an end surface of a bottom (bottom side of 3, Fig. 5) of the housing body (3) and is disposed between the electrode assembly (10, Fig. 5) and the housing body (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing body of Han, in view of Yang and Vedoy, to add an insulation gasket, as taught by Busche, so that the positive and negative terminals can be electrically insulated from each other (see Machine Translation [0012]).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment with respect to claims filed on 23 May 2023 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
The 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 09 March 2026
are withdrawn and the above new rejections are made, in view of the applicant’s amendment. Further, new 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are made, in view of antecedent basis issues seemingly inadvertently raised by applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026, regarding amended claims 10 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Busche et al. (WO 2019/145542, [hereinafter, Busche]), does not teach the insulation element 60, shown in Fig. 5, as compatible with claim 10 (and implicitly 20), because “the insulation is used to connect a top housing element to a bottom housing element, and surrounds the circumference of the battery”. This interpretation of Busche, however, is not contradictory to being “disposed on an end surface of a bottom”, as argued. Applicant admits that element 60 connects, and therefore must be disposed upon, a bottom housing element. The recitation of “an end surface” in claims 10 and 20 is vague, and could be broadly and reasonably interpreted to mean where the bottom of housing 3 ends and the top of housing 3 begins, where insulation element 60 is disposed. Additionally, as more clearly depicted in Fig. 1 of Busche, the insulation element 60 is disposed on opposite upper and lower ends of the cell housing; insulation element 60 is disposed on a lower end surface of the bottom of housing 3.
As further noted by applicant, the insulation element 60 of Busche “surrounds the circumference of the battery”, but this does not render the teaching incompatible with the claim language either. Firstly, the top and bottom housing elements have a border that would surround the circumference of the battery, meaning the insulation element 60 would be disposed along that boundary and on an end surface. Secondly, the claim limitation only stipulates that the insulation gasket is disposed on an end surface, not that the insulation gasket is entirely or exclusively disposed on an end surface.
As for the amendment to claims 10 and 20, applicant argues that Busche’s insulation element 60 “extends past the housing and therefore is not between the housing an[d] electrode assembly”. However, the same rebuttal as above is appropriate: the claim language only stipulates that the insulation gasket is disposed between the electrode assembly and the housing body, not that the insulation gasket is entirely or exclusively disposed between said elements. While applicant asserts that the insulation element 60 extending past the housing means it is not between the housing and electrode assembly, the Examiner disagrees; as depicted in Fig. 1 of Busche, the insulation element 60 is at least partially disposed between the housing 3 and the electrode assembly 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIDAN LACHLAN PAPANDRIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723