DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was effectively filed on 23 May 2023, but claims priority as a continuation of a PCT Application designating the United States (App. No.: PCT/CN2020/131837) filed on 26 November 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 May 2023 and 13 September 2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-11, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, see Instant IDS and Machine Translation attached), in view of Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches an electrochemical apparatus (button cell, Fig. 1, see Machine Translation Page2:L27-28), comprising: a housing (1, Fig. 1), an electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1), and an electrolyte (see Machine Translation Page2:L37); the electrode assembly (2) and the electrolyte being disposed in the housing (1, see Machine Translation Page2:L37); wherein the housing comprises:
a housing body (11, Fig. 1), wherein the housing body comprises a side wall (side of 11, Fig. 1);
a housing cover (12, Fig. 1) covering the housing body (11), wherein an injection opening (122, Fig. 1) is disposed at a center of the housing cover (12); and
wherein a first tab (first tab of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the electrode assembly (2) is electrically connected to the side wall (side of 11), a second tab of the electrode assembly (second tab of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, below) is electrically connected to a pole (4, Fig. 1); and the pole (4) is insulated (via 3, Fig. 1, see Machine Translation Page2:L30-33) from the side wall (side of 11).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1
Examiner’s Note: It is the position of the Examiner that the first tab (first tab of 21) is indirectly electrically connected to the side wall (side of 11), because the first tab is electrically connected to the housing cover (12) and the housing cover is electrically connected to the side wall (11, see Page2:L29-30 and Page2:L44-45). By the same reasoning, the pole (4) would be insulated from the side wall (11), since it is insulated from the housing cover (12).
Han does not teach wherein a sealing plug configured to seal the injection opening and the pole is disposed on the side wall.
However, in an alternate embodiment, Han teaches a sealing plug (see Page3:L3-4) configured to seal the injection opening (122).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the embodiments of Han comprising the injection opening (122) of Fig. 2 and sealing plug (not shown, see Page3:L3-4) because Han teaches the embodiments as effective equivalents that would yield the same predictable result. Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Further, Vedoy teaches a pole (220, Fig. 2) is disposed on the side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pole of Han such that it is disposed on the side wall, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches the electrode assembly is a wound structure with an axial direction of the electrode assembly parallel to the housing cover; or the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1) is a stacked structure (23, Fig. 1) with electrode plates parallel to the housing cover (12, Fig. 1).
Examiner’s Note: It is the position of the Examiner that the top surface of each electrode plate is parallel to the housing cover (12).
Regarding claim 7, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches the side wall (side of 11, Fig 1) comprises a metal layer (see Machine Translation Page2:L44-45), the metal layer (metal of 11) being electrically connected to a first electrode plate (plate of 21, Fig. 1) in the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1); and the pole (4, Fig. 1) is disposed in the through hole (123, Fig. 1), a first end (first end, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the pole (4) extending out of the through hole (123) and a second end (second end, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the pole (4) being electrically connected to a second electrode plate (plate of 22, Fig. 1) in the electrode assembly (2); and
the electrochemical apparatus (button cell, Fig. 1, see Machine Translation Page2:L27-28) further comprises a sealing insulator (3, Fig. 1), wherein the sealing insulator is disposed around the pole (4) to insulate the pole (4) from the metal layer of the side wall (side of 11) and seal the through hole (3, see Fig. 1),
but does not teach the side wall is provided with a through hole.
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1
However, Vedoy teaches the side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2) is provided with a through hole (hole surrounding 220, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the side wall of Han, in view of Vedoy, such that it is provided with a through hole, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches the side wall (side of 11, Fig. 1) comprises a first portion (first portion, Annotated Fig. 1, below) and a second portion (second portion, Annotated Fig. 1, below), wherein the first portion is a plane perpendicular to the housing cover (12, Fig. 1),
but does not teach the through hole is disposed at the first portion.
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1
However, Vedoy teaches a side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2) comprises a first portion (first portion, Annotated Fig. 2, below), and the through hole (hole surrounding 220, Fig. 2) is disposed at the first portion (first portion).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first portion of the side wall of Han, in view of Vedoy, such that it is provided with a through hole, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches an electronic device (button battery device, Fig. 4, see Machine Translation Page2:L6-9 and Page2:L24), comprising the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1, above).
Regarding claim 16, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches the electrode assembly is a wound structure with an axial direction of the electrode assembly parallel to the housing cover; or the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1) is a stacked structure (23, Fig. 1) with electrode plates parallel to the housing cover (12, Fig. 1).
Examiner’s Note: It is the position of the Examiner that the top surface of each electrode plate is parallel to the housing cover (12).
Regarding claim 17, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches the side wall (side of 11, Fig 1) comprises a metal layer (see Machine Translation Page2:L44-45), the metal layer (metal of 11) being electrically connected to a first electrode plate (plate of 21, Fig. 1) in the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1); and the pole (4, Fig. 1) is disposed in the through hole (123, Fig. 1), a first end (first end, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the pole (4) extending out of the through hole (123) and a second end (second end, Annotated Fig. 1, below) of the pole (4) being electrically connected to a second electrode plate (22, Fig. 1) in the electrode assembly (2); and
the electrochemical apparatus (button cell, Fig. 1, see Machine Translation Page2:L27-28) further comprises a sealing insulator (3, Fig. 1), wherein the sealing insulator is disposed around the pole (4) to insulate the pole (4) from the metal layer of the side wall (side of 11) and seal the through hole (3, see Fig. 1),
but does not teach the side wall is provided with a through hole.
However, Vedoy teaches the side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2) is provided with a through hole (hole surrounding 220, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the side wall of Han, in view of Vedoy, such that it is provided with a through hole, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches the side wall (side of 11, Fig. 1) comprises a first portion (first portion, Annotated Fig. 1, below) and a second portion (second portion, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 9), wherein the first portion is a plane perpendicular to the housing cover (12, Fig. 1),
but does not teach the through hole is disposed at the first portion.
However, Vedoy teaches a side wall (side of 200, Fig. 2) comprises a first portion (first portion, Annotated Fig. 2, below), and the through hole (hole surrounding 220, Fig. 2) is disposed at the first portion (first portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first portion of the side wall of Han, in view of Vedoy, such that it is provided with a through hole, as taught by Vedoy, to obtain a battery with long-term reliability ([0002]).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation attached), in view of Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331) and further in view of Deng et al. (CN 111682129, Machine Translation Attached).
Regarding claim 2, Han, in view of Vedoy teaches a sealing plug (see Page3:L3-4),
but does not teach the electrochemical apparatus further comprises an anti-explosion valve, and the anti-explosion valve is disposed on the sealing plug.
Deng teaches an electrochemical apparatus (lithium ion battery, see Page3:L8-9) comprising an anti-explosion valve (safety valve 3, see Page4:13-15), and the anti-explosion valve (3) is disposed on the sealing plug (8, see Page4:13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sealing plug of Han, in view of Vedoy, by adding an anti-explosion valve, as taught by Deng, to improve safety and prolong the service life of the battery (see Page4:L5-6).
Regarding claim 12, Han, in view of Vedoy teaches a sealing plug (see Page3:L3-4),
but does not teach the electrochemical apparatus further comprises an anti-explosion valve, and the anti-explosion valve is disposed on the sealing plug.
Deng teaches an electrochemical apparatus (lithium ion battery, see Page3:L8-9) comprising an anti-explosion valve (safety valve 3, see Page4:13-15), and the anti-explosion valve (3) is disposed on the sealing plug (8, see Page4:13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sealing plug of Han, in view of Vedoy, by adding an anti-explosion valve, as taught by Deng, to improve safety and prolong the service life of the battery (see Page4:L5-6).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation attached), in view of Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331) and Deng et al. (CN 111682129, Machine Translation Attached), further in view of Streuer et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2012/0085762).
Regarding claim 3, Han, in view of Vedoy and Deng, teaches the anti-explosion valve formed on the sealing plug (see Page4:13-15 of Deng),
but does not teach the anti-explosion device is a gap formed on a surface of the sealing plug, and a depth of the gap is smaller than a thickness of the sealing plug.
However, Streuer teaches an anti-explosion valve (13, Fig. 2) is a gap (see [0034-0035]) formed on a surface (top surface of 6, Fig. 2) of the sealing plug (5, Fig. 1), and a depth of the gap is smaller than a thickness of the sealing plug (see [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anti-explosion valve of Han, in view of Vedoy and Deng, by forming the anti-explosion valve to be a gap with a thickness smaller than the thickness of the sealing plug, as taught by Streuer, to more finely adjust the valve action (see [0035]).
Regarding claim 13, Han, in view of Vedoy and Deng, teaches the anti-explosion valve formed on the sealing plug (see Page4:13-15 of Deng),
but does not teach the anti-explosion device is a gap formed on a surface of the sealing plug, and a depth of the gap is smaller than a thickness of the sealing plug.
However, Streuer teaches an anti-explosion valve (13, Fig. 2) is a gap (see [0034-0035]) formed on a surface (top surface of 6, Fig. 2) of the sealing plug (5, Fig. 1), and a depth of the gap is smaller than a thickness of the sealing plug (see [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anti-explosion valve of Han, in view of Vedoy and Deng, by forming the anti-explosion valve to be a gap with a thickness smaller than the thickness of the sealing plug, as taught by Streuer, to more finely adjust the valve action (see [0035]).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation attached), in view of Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331) and further in view of Heo et al. (WO 2019/203450, Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 4, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches the injection opening (122, Fig. 1) comprises a through hole (hole of 122, Fig. 1) serving as an injection channel (see Page2:L1-2),
but does not teach a first groove disposed around the through hole; and the sealing plug comprises a plug head and a plug cap, wherein the plug head fits the through hole, and the plug cap fits the first groove.
However, Heo teaches a first groove (292, Figs. 3-5) disposed around the through hole (291, Figs. 3-5); and the sealing plug (27, Figs. 3-5) comprises a plug head (271, Figs. 3-5) and a plug cap (272, Figs. 3-5), wherein the plug head (271) fits the through hole (291), and the plug cap (272) fits the first groove (292).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the injection opening and sealing plug of Han, in view of Vedoy, by forming the injection opening to have a first groove and forming the sealing plug to have a plug head and plug cap, each fitted to the injection opening, as taught by Heo, to firmly maintain the sealing state of the electrolyte injection hole (see Machine Translation Page7:L5-7).
Regarding claim 14, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches the injection opening (122, Fig. 1) comprises a through hole (hole of 122, Fig. 1) serving as an injection channel (see Page2:L1-2),
but does not teach a first groove disposed around the through hole; and the sealing plug comprises a plug head and a plug cap, wherein the plug head fits the through hole, and the plug cap fits the first groove.
However, Heo teaches a first groove (292, Figs. 3-5) disposed around the through hole (291, Figs. 3-5); and the sealing plug (27, Figs. 3-5) comprises a plug head (271, Figs. 3-5) and a plug cap (272, Figs. 3-5), wherein the plug head (271) fits the through hole (291), and the plug cap (272) fits the first groove (292).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the injection opening and sealing plug of Han, in view of Vedoy, by forming the injection opening to have a first groove and forming the sealing plug to have a plug head and plug cap, each fitted to the injection opening, as taught by Heo, to firmly maintain the sealing state of the electrolyte injection hole (see Machine Translation Page7:L5-7).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation attached), in view of Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331), further in view of Li et al. (CN 101964400, see Instant IDS and Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 5, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches a side of the housing cover (bottom side of 12, Fig. 1) facing the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1) and a gap (space between 11 and 2, Fig. 1) between the housing body (11) and the electrode assembly (2),
but does not teach a side of the housing cover is provided with a second groove in communication with the injection opening; and the second groove extends from the injection opening to a gap between the housing body and the electrode assembly.
However, Li teaches teach a side of the housing cover (cover plate, Figs. 1-2, see Page2:L35-36) is provided with a second groove (2, Figs. 1-2) in communication with the injection opening (1, Figs. 1-2); and the second groove (2) extends from the injection opening (1) to a gap (end of 2 at outer edge of cover, Fig. 1) between the housing body and the electrode assembly (see Machine Translation Page2:L22-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing cover of Han, in view of Vedoy, by forming a second groove communicating with the injection hole on the side of the housing cover facing the electrode assembly, as taught by Li, to inject make injection of electrolyte more convenient (see Machine Translation Page1:L25-28).
Regarding claim 15, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches a side of the housing cover (bottom side of 12, Fig. 1) facing the electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1) and a gap (space between 11 and 2, Fig. 1) between the housing body (11) and the electrode assembly (2),
but does not teach a side of the housing cover is provided with a second groove in communication with the injection opening; and the second groove extends from the injection opening to a gap between the housing body and the electrode assembly.
However, Li teaches teach a side of the housing cover (cover plate, Figs. 1-2, see Page2:L35-36) is provided with a second groove (2, Figs. 1-2) in communication with the injection opening (1, Figs. 1-2); and the second groove (2) extends from the injection opening (1) to a gap (end of 2 at outer edge of cover, Fig. 1) between the housing body and the electrode assembly (see Machine Translation Page2:L22-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing cover of Han, in view of Vedoy, by forming a second groove communicating with the injection hole on the side of the housing cover facing the electrode assembly, as taught by Li, to make injection of electrolyte more convenient (see Machine Translation Page1:L25-28).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation attached), in view of Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331), further in view of Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2019/0348702).
Regarding claim 8, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches a first electrode plate (plate of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) and a second electrode plate (plate of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1); and the electrochemical apparatus (button cell, Fig. 1, see Machine Translation Page2:L27-28) further comprises a positive electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) and a negative electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) and a second end of the ;
but does not teach the first electrode plate is a negative electrode plate, and the second electrode plate is a positive electrode plate, and the electrode assembly further comprises a plurality of positive electrode tabs and a plurality of negative electrode tabs, wherein each wound layer of the positive electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of positive electrode plate in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor through one of the positive electrode tabs; and a second end of the positive electrode adapter conductor is electrically connected to the second end of the pole; and each wound layer of the negative electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of negative electrode plate in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor through one of the negative electrode tabs; and a second end of the negative electrode adapter conductor is electrically connected to the metal layer.
However, in an alternate embodiment, Han teaches the first electrode plate is a negative electrode, and the second electrode plate is a positive electrode plate (see Machine Translation Page2:L37-39), and a second end of the positive electrode adapter conductor is electrically connected to the second end of the pole (4, Fig. 1) and a second end of the negative electrode adapter conductor is electrically connected to the metal layer (metal of 11, Fig. 1).
Examiner’s Note: It is the position of the Examiner that, while the alternate embodiment of Han does not explicitly teach the first electrode plate is negative and the second electrode plate is positive, Han teaches the negative plate (22) can connect to the wall (11) and the positive plate (21) can connect to the pole (4, see Page2:L37-39). Thus, the negative adapter conductor would be connected to the wall and the positive adapter conductor would be connected to the pole.
It is further the position of the Examine that the embodiment of Han depicted in Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1, has a second end of each adapter conductor, seen connected the First Tab of 21 and Second Tab of 22, respectively. If these second ends were connected as taught by Han in the alternate embodiment, the second end of negative adapter conductor would be indirectly connected to the metal layer and the second end of the positive adapter conductor would be indirectly electrically connected to the pole.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive and negative electrode adapter conductors of Han, in view of Vedoy, to electrically connect to the pole and the metal layer, respectively, as taught by Han, to improve space utilization (see Machine Translation Page2:L12-16).
Further, Zhu teaches an electrode assembly (4, Fig. 3) comprises a plurality of positive electrode tabs (21, Fig. 3) and a plurality of negative electrode tabs (31, Fig. 3), wherein each wound layer of the positive electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of positive electrode plate (2, Figs. 2-3) in the stacked structure (see [0039]) is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (5, Fig. 2) through one of the positive electrode tabs (21); and each wound layer of the negative electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of negative electrode plate (3, Figs. 2-3) in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (31, Fig. 3) through one of the negative electrode tabs (31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive and negative electrode plates of Han, in view of Vedoy, by adding a plurality of electrode tabs electrically connecting them to the first end of the positive and negative electrode adapter conductors, respectively, as taught by Zhu, to reduce internal resistance (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 18, Han, in view of Vedoy, teaches a first electrode plate (plate of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) and a second electrode plate (plate of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1); and the electrochemical apparatus (button cell, Fig. 1, see Machine Translation Page2:L27-28) further comprises a positive electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 21, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1) and a negative electrode adapter conductor (adapter conductor of 22, Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1);
but does not teach the first electrode plate is a negative electrode plate, and the second electrode plate is a positive electrode plate, and the electrode assembly further comprises a plurality of positive electrode tabs and a plurality of negative electrode tabs, wherein each wound layer of the positive electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of positive electrode plate in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor through one of the positive electrode tabs; and a second end of the positive electrode adapter conductor is electrically connected to the second end of the pole; and each wound layer of the negative electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of negative electrode plate in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor through one of the negative electrode tabs; and a second end of the negative electrode adapter conductor is electrically connected to the metal layer.
However, in an alternate embodiment, Han teaches the first electrode plate is a negative electrode, and the second electrode plate is a positive electrode plate (see Machine Translation Page2:L37-39), and a second end of the positive electrode adapter conductor is electrically connected to the second end of the pole (4, Fig. 1) and a second end of the negative electrode adapter conductor is electrically connected to the metal layer (metal of 11, Fig. 1).
Examiner’s Note: It is the position of the Examiner that, while the alternate embodiment of Han does not explicitly teach the first electrode plate is negative and the second electrode plate is positive, Han teaches the negative plate (22) can connect to the wall (11) and the positive plate (21) can connect to the pole (4, see Page2:L37-39). Thus, the negative adapter conductor would be connected to the wall and the positive adapter conductor would be connected to the pole.
It is further the position of the Examine that the embodiment of Han depicted in Annotated Fig. 1, under claim 1, has a second end of each adapter conductor, seen connected the First Tab of 21 and Second Tab of 22, respectively. If these second ends were connected as taught by Han in the alternate embodiment, the second end of negative adapter conductor would be indirectly connected to the metal layer and the second end of the positive adapter conductor would be indirectly electrically connected to the pole.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive and negative electrode adapter conductors of Han, in view of Vedoy, to electrically connect to the pole and the metal layer, respectively, as taught by Han, to improve space utilization (see Machine Translation Page2:L12-16).
Further, Zhu teaches an electrode assembly (4, Fig. 3) comprises a plurality of positive electrode tabs (21, Fig. 3) and a plurality of negative electrode tabs (31, Fig. 3), wherein each wound layer of the positive electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of positive electrode plate (2, Figs. 2-3) in the stacked structure (see [0039]) is electrically connected to a first end of the positive electrode adapter conductor (5, Fig. 2) through one of the positive electrode tabs (21); and each wound layer of the negative electrode plate in the wound structure or each layer of negative electrode plate (3, Figs. 2-3) in the stacked structure is electrically connected to a first end of the negative electrode adapter conductor (31, Fig. 3) through one of the negative electrode tabs (31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive and negative electrode plates of Han, in view of Vedoy, by adding a plurality of electrode tabs electrically connecting them to the first end of the positive and negative electrode adapter conductors, respectively, as taught by Zhu, to reduce internal resistance (see [0028]).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 107768586, Machine Translation attached), in view of Vedoy (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0317331) and further in view of Busche et al. (WO 2019/145542, Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 10, Han, in view of Vedoy, does not teach an insulation gasket is disposed on an end surface of a bottom of the housing body.
However, Busche teaches an insulation gasket (60, Fig. 5) is disposed on an end surface of a bottom (bottom side of 3, Fig. 5) of the housing body (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing body of Han to add an insulation gasket, as taught by Busche, so that the positive and negative terminals can be electrically insulated from each other (see Machine Translation [0012]).
Regarding claim 20, Han, in view of Vedoy, does not teach an insulation gasket is disposed on an end surface of a bottom of the housing body.
However, Busche teaches an insulation gasket (60, Fig. 5) is disposed on an end surface of a bottom (bottom side of 3, Fig. 5) of the housing body (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing body of Han, in view of Vedoy, to add an insulation gasket, as taught by Busche, so that the positive and negative terminals can be electrically insulated from each other (see Machine Translation [0012]).
Conclusion
/AIDAN LACHLAN PAPANDRIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723