DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “an annular wall” in lines 4-5 . It is unclear whether this “annular wall” is the same as the annular wall recited in claim 3, line 2. Since the ‘’annular wall” recited in lines 4-5 is located on a different connection portion of the apparatus it is considered a different “annular wall” and should be written as “a second annular wall” or with a similar term. Appropriate correction is require.
Claim 3 recites “annular wall” in line 6 . It is unclear which “annual wall” is referring. Appropriate correction is corrected.
Claim 3 recites “an outer ring “ in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim and should be “ an outer ring” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites “ a clearance fit” in line 2. It is unclear whether this “clearance fit ” is the same as the clearance fit recited in claim 5, line 2. Since this “clearance fit” is located on the second end plate it is considered a different “clearance fit and should be written as “a second clearance fit” or with a similar term. Appropriate correction is require
Claim 5 recites “clearance fit” in line 5 . It is unclear which “clearance fit ” is referring. Appropriate correction is corrected.
Claim 6 “the clearance” in line 2. It is unclear which clearance is the limitation refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machine Translation of DE 10224472 A1, hereinafter 472’.
As to claim 1, 472’ discloses in figures 1-2. a charging pile [see figure 1, element 10] comprising: a shell [ housing halves (66) and (67); see page 5], wherein an inner cavity [the halves (66) and (67) creates inner cavity; see figure 2] is formed by enclosing the shell, and two through holes [opening in 66 and 67; see figures 1 and 2] ) are provided along the transverse or longitudinal direction of the shell; a turntable [see figure 2, due to the rollers (64) the turntable formed by 11, 15 and 19 moves/rotates; and page 5 ], at least part of the turntable being rotatably arranged [see figure 2 and rollers 64; see page 5] in the inner cavity [see figure 1] along the through hole axial direction, and an accommodating space [see figure 2 and element 18] being formed inside the turntable; at least one electric control assembly [see figure 2, circuit board 26], wherein the electric control assembly [se figure 2, elements 26 and 30 ) is provided in the accommodating space [ elements 26 and 30 are located in the space 18; see figure 2] can rotate with the turntable [see above, 26 and 30 are fixed to the turntable and will thus rotate with it];
at least one charging gun [see element see fig. charging wire connector end ]comprising a charging head [fig. 1 the connector end] and a charging wire [the electrical wire of the charging cable] wherein one end of the charging [cable 72 is connected with the control assembly 26 with 30, see figure 2] is electrically connected to the electric control assembly (26, 30), and the other end is connected to the charging head [see figure 1]; the turntable [see figure 1] comprises a first connecting portion [ connecting portion (11)] and a second connecting portion [connection portion (15)] , wherein the first connecting portion [element (11)] and the second connecting portion [element (15)] are respectively movably [see rollers (64)] connected at the positions [see element 65 inn figure 2] of the shells [elements (66) and (67)] corresponding to the two through holes [see figure 2]; a wire winding groove [figure 2, winding cylinder 19] for accommodating the charging wire [charging wire ((72) is formed ; see figure 2] with the first connecting portion [element (11)] and the second connecting portion [element (15); and see the pages 2 -5]..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 472’ in view of Machine Translation of DE202020102671 U1, hereinafter 671’
As to claim 2, 472’ discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein the first connecting portion comprises a first connector and a first end plate, and the second connecting portion comprises a second connector and a second end plate; and the shell includes a first sidewall and a second sidewall that are penetrated by the through hole, the first connector is disposed in the inner cavity near the first sidewall, and the first end plate is disposed outside the inner cavity near the first sidewall; the second connector is disposed in the inner cavity proximate the second sidewall and the second end plate is disposed outside the inner cavity proximate the second sidewall.
671’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the first connecting portion [first wall and element 17; see figure above] comprises a first connector [see figure below]connector and a first end plate [see figure below, element 17], and the second connecting portion [includes element 21 and second wall] comprises a second connector [see figure below] and a second end plate [element 21, see figure below] ; and the shell includes a first sidewall [side wall 4b] and a second sidewall [side wall 4a] that are penetrated by the through hole [see the whole shown in figure 2] , the first connector is disposed in the inner cavity near the first sidewall [see figure below] , and the first end plate is disposed outside the inner cavity near the first sidewall; the second connector is disposed in the inner cavity proximate the second sidewall [see figure below] and the second end plate is disposed outside the inner cavity proximate the second sidewall.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to add plurality of plates in 472’ as taught by 671 in order to easily wind and unwind the charging cable.
. As to claim 3, 671’ discloses in figure 2 (see figure above), wherein the first connecting portion further comprises an annular wall [annual wall is formed on the first surface, see figure above] provided on the center point peripheral side of the first connector, the annular wall extending vertically [it is extended vertically and the same as applicant’s drawing] with respect to the first connector, and the second connecting portion further comprises an annular wall [[noted that annual wall shown above is shown in both surfaces; see also figure 5]; provided on the center point peripheral side of the second connector, the annular wall extending vertically with respect to the second connecting member; and the two annular walls are oppositely arranged to enclose the accommodating space [see figures 2 and 5] , and the first connector, the second connector and the outer ring of the two annular walls in the accommodating space together define the wire winding groove [see figure above element 5 and also see ¶0019],
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify 472’s apparatus and add plurality of plate surfaces as taught by 671’ in order to reliably retain or house the charging cables.
. As to claim 8, 472’ discloses in figures 1-17, at least one handle portion is provided above the shell [see figure1, the handle is provided on the shell 10] , the handle portion is fixedly connected to the shell [see figure 1] or the handle portion and the shell are of an integral structure; and/or, at least one mounting element is provided outside the shell and includes at least one mounting block fixedly connected to the shell and at least one connecting block hinged to the mounting block.
671’ discloses in figure 2, wherein that a rotating handle [handle 17] is vertically connected to the outer surface of the first end plate [see figure 1], the rotating handle being arranged near the outer edge of the first end plate [see figure 1; the handle (17) is located on the end plate]; and/or, an outlet is provided at either side away from the through hole of the shell ,the charging wire pass through the outlet, two opposite rotary drums [see figure above ; the charging wire pass through the rotary drums] are provided at the line outlet, the charging wire protrudes from between the two rotary drums [see figure 2 (figure above)], and at least one of the rotary drums rotates as the charging wire protrudes; the shell is provided with at least one charging-slot for placing the charging head, and the charging-slot is provided above the outlet.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide rotating handle at the outside of 471’s apparatus as taught by 671’ effectively and easily wind and unwind the charging cable.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 472’ in view of 671’, and in view of Lerch (US 7.429.189)
As to claim 4, neither 472’ nor 671’ discloses the first end plate is provided at the through hole of the first sidewall and the outer side surface of the first end plate and the outer side surface of the first sidewall are substantially horizontal, and the second end plate is provided at the through hole of the second sidewall and the outer side surface of the second end plate and the outer side surface of the first sidewall are substantially horizontal.
However, neither 472’ nor 671’ discloses, wherein a first flange and a second flange in the shape of a circular ring are vertically extended along the center line of the through hole on the inner side of both the sidewalls; and the first end plate is provided at the through hole of the first sidewall and the outer side surface of the first end plate and the outer side surface of the first sidewall are substantially horizontal, and the second end plate is provided at the through hole of the second sidewall and the outer side surface of the second end plate and the outer side surface of the first sidewall are substantially horizontal; the first flange limits movement of the first end plate toward the inner cavity and the second flange limits movement of the second end plate toward the inner cavity.
Lerch discloses in figures 1-3, wherein a first flange [annular flange 4a] and a second flange [annular flange 4b] in the shape of a circular ring [see Col. 3, lines 22] are vertically extended along the center line of the through hole on the inner side of both the sidewalls [the flanges are located on the surfaces]; the first flange limits movement of the first end plate toward the inner cavity and the second flange limits movement of the second end plate toward the inner cavity [it is implicit that flanges are protecting or limiting movements].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use plurality of flanges in 472’s apparatus as taught by 671’ in order to reliably secure the drum plates.
It is also noted that all the claimed elements of applicant’s inventions were known in the prior art (e.g. drum, plurality of plates, retractable charging cables, controller, handle, flanges and etc.,) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, proper motivation/rationale to combine is as given in the office action. See KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 472’ in view of Machine Translation of DE202020102671 U1, hereinafter 671’, in view of Takai et al. (US 2015/0357837), hereinafter Takai.
As to claim 7, 671’ discloses in figure 1, wherein further comprising a control panel [controller 9] disposed on the outer surface of the first end plate [see figure above] and electrically connected to the electric control assembly [see ¶0019]; and the control panel is synchronously rotatable with the first end plat [noted that the controller (5) rotates with the turntable].
Neither 472’ nor 671’ discloses, control panel including at least one display screen and buttons.
Takai discloses in figure 2, control panel [110[ including at least one display screen and buttons [see ¶0049, ¶0056].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify controller of 671’ and add display means as taught by Takai in order to allow the user visually observe the charging process or status.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For Claim 9: primarily, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest in the claimed combination: wherein at least one storage tray is fixedly connected to the outer side of the second end plate, wherein at least one storage space is provided between the storage tray and the outer side of the second end plate, and wherein the storage tray can rotate synchronously with the second end plate.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859