Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 21, 24-26, 29-31, 34-36 and 39-40 are currently pending.
3. Claims 21, 24-26, 29-31, 34-36 and 39-40 are rejected.
4. Claims 21, 26, 31 and 36 are independent claims.
-
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 26 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
6. Claim 26 recites the limitation "the SDT" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
7. Claim 36 recites the limitation "the SDT" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 21, 25-26, 30-31, 35-36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattias BERGSTROM et al. (US 2025/0008563 A1), hereinafter BERGSTROM, in view of MING-HUNG TAO et al. (US 2023/0080733 A1), hereinafter TAO.
For claim 21, BERGSTROM teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
triggering a random access (RA) for a small data transmission (SDT) (BERGSTROM teaches UE selects SDT-partitioned RA resource: “UE performed a RA procedure to indicate…the UE is…using SDT”. See Figs 1-2 and paragraphs 54-61.);
receiving, from a base station, a UE information request message (BERGSTROM, Fig. 3 and paragraph 70 teach receiving the UEInformationRequest message. See also BERGSTROM, claim 25.); and
as a response to the reception of the UE information request message, transmitting, to the base station, a UE information response message including an RA report (BERGSTROM, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 29-32 teach UE reports RACH information within a UE Information Response message.),
wherein the RA report includes at least one of first information indicating that the RA is triggered by the SDT or second information indicating that a resource of the RA is associated with small data (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 29-50.).
TAO further teaches RA-based SDT trigger and configuration/response messaging in RRC inactive state (TAO, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 132-160.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM with TAO to have “method of triggering a random access (RA) for a small data transmission (SDT); receiving, from a base station, a UE information request message; and as a response to the reception of the UE information request message, transmitting, to the base station, a UE information response message including an RA report, wherein the RA report includes at least one of first information indicating that the RA is triggered by the SDT or second information indicating that a resource of the RA is associated with small data. Because both BERGSTROM and TAO teach RA procedure during SDT procedure”, thereby a more efficient and collision-free method allowing the UE to transmit these accumulated data is beneficial from both the UE's and NW's perspectives [TAO: paragraph 131].
For claim 25, BERGSTROM and TAO further teach the method of claim 21, wherein the UE information response message further includes at least one of third information on a reference signal and a received power (RSRP) value or fourth information associated with a data volume (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 30, 70.).
For claim 26, BERGSTROM teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a UE information request message (BERGSTROM, Fig. 3 and paragraph 70 teach receiving the UEInformationRequest message. See also BERGSTROM, claim 25.); and
as a response to the transmission of the UE information request message, receiving, from the UE, a UE information response message including a random access (RA) report (BERGSTROM, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 29-32 teach UE reports RACH information within a UE Information Response message.),
wherein the RA report includes at least one of first information indicating that an RA is triggered by the SDT or second information indicating that a resource of the RA is associated with small data (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 29-50.).
TAO further teaches RA-based SDT trigger and configuration/response messaging in RRC inactive state (TAO, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 132-160.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM with TAO to have “method of transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a UE information request message; and as a response to the transmission of the UE information request message, receiving, from the UE, a UE information response message including a random access (RA) report, wherein the RA report includes at least one of first information indicating that an RA is triggered by the SDT or second information indicating that a resource of the RA is associated with small data. Because both BERGSTROM and TAO teach RA procedure during SDT procedure”, thereby a more efficient and collision-free method allowing the UE to transmit these accumulated data is beneficial from both the UE's and NW's perspectives [TAO: paragraph 131].
For claim 30, BERGSTROM and TAO further teach the method of claim 26, wherein the UE information response message further includes at least one of third information on a reference signal and a received power (RSRP) value or fourth information associated with a data volume (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 30, 70.).
For claim 31, BERGSTROM teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (BERGSTROM, Fig. 5 item 512A), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (BERGSTROM, Fig. 6 item 612) and
a controller (BERGSTROM, Fig. 6 item 602) coupled with the transceiver, and configured to:
trigger a random access (RA) for a small data transmission (SDT) (BERGSTROM teaches UE selects SDT-partitioned RA resource: “UE performed a RA procedure to indicate…the UE is…using SDT”. See Figs 1-2 and paragraphs 54-61.);
receive, from a base station, a UE information request message (BERGSTROM, Fig. 3 and paragraph 70 teach receiving the UEInformationRequest message. See also BERGSTROM, claim 25.); and
as a response to the reception of the UE information request message, transmit, to the base station, a UE information response message including an RA report (BERGSTROM, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 29-32 teach UE reports RACH information within a UE Information Response message.),
wherein the RA report includes at least one of first information indicating that the RA is triggered by the SDT or second information indicating that a resource of the RA is associated with small data (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 29-50.).
TAO further teaches RA-based SDT trigger and configuration/response messaging in RRC inactive state (TAO, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 132-160.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM with TAO to have method of triggering a random access (RA) for a small data transmission (SDT); receiving, from a base station, a UE information request message; and as a response to the reception of the UE information request message, transmitting, to the base station, a UE information response message including an RA report, wherein the RA report includes at least one of first information indicating that the RA is triggered by the SDT or second information indicating that a resource of the RA is associated with small data. Because both BERGSTROM and TAO teach RA procedure during SDT procedure. Thereby, a more efficient and collision-free method allowing the UE to transmit these accumulated data is beneficial from both the UE's and NW's perspectives [TAO: paragraph 131].
For claim 35, BERGSTROM and TAO further teach the UE of claim 31, wherein the UE information response message further includes at least one of third information on a reference signal and a received power (RSRP) value or fourth information associated with a data volume (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 30, 70.).
For claim 36, BERGSTROM teaches a base station in a wireless communication system (BERGSTROM, Fig. 5 item 510A), the base station comprising:
a transceiver (BERGSTROM, Fig. 7 item 706); and
a controller (BERGSTROM, Fig. 7 item 702) coupled with the transceiver, and configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a UE information request message (BERGSTROM, Fig. 3 and paragraph 70 teach receiving the UEInformationRequest message. See also BERGSTROM, claim 25.); and
as a response to the transmission of the UE information request message, receive, from the UE, a UE information response message including a random access (RA) report (BERGSTROM, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 29-32 teach UE reports RACH information within a UE Information Response message.),
wherein the RA report includes at least one of first information indicating that an RA is triggered by the SDT or second information indicating that a resource of the RA is associated with small data (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 29-50.).
TAO further teaches RA-based SDT trigger and configuration/response messaging in RRC inactive state (TAO, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 132-160.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM with TAO to have “method of transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a UE information request message; and as a response to the transmission of the UE information request message, receiving, from the UE, a UE information response message including a random access (RA) report, wherein the RA report includes at least one of first information indicating that an RA is triggered by the SDT or second information indicating that a resource of the RA is associated with small data. Because both BERGSTROM and TAO teach RA procedure during SDT procedure”, thereby a more efficient and collision-free method allowing the UE to transmit these accumulated data is beneficial from both the UE's and NW's perspectives [TAO: paragraph 131].
For claim 40, BERGSTROM and TAO further teach the base station of claim 36, wherein the UE information response message further includes at least one of third information on a reference signal and a received power (RSRP) value or fourth information associated with a data volume (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 30, 70.).
12. Claims 24, 29, 34 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattias BERGSTROM et al. (US 2025/0008563 A1), hereinafter BERGSTROM, in view of MING-HUNG TAO et al. (US 2023/0080733 A1), hereinafter TAO and Guillaume DECARREAU et al. (US 2025/0193957 A1), hereinafter DECARREAU.
For claim 24, BERGSTROM and TAO teach all the limitations of parent claim 21. BERGSTROM and TAO do not explicitly teach in case that the SDT is failed, the RA report further includes an indication associated with a failure of the SDT.
However, DECARREAU explicitly teaches sending report with an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in case that the SDT is failed (DECARREAU, Figs. 4A, 6. and paragraphs 48-49, 88-94.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM and TAO with sending report with an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in case that the SDT is failed taught in DECARREAU to have wherein in case that the SDT is failed, the RA report further includes an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in order to enable the systems to operate more efficiently, by reducing energy consumption and delays [DECARREAU: background].
For claim 29, BERGSTROM and TAO teach all the limitations of parent claim 30. BERGSTROM and TAO do not explicitly teach in case that the SDT is failed, the RA report further includes an indication associated with a failure of the SDT.
However, DECARREAU explicitly teaches sending report with an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in case that the SDT is failed (DECARREAU, Figs. 4A, 6. and paragraphs 48-49, 88-94.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM and TAO with sending report with an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in case that the SDT is failed taught in DECARREAU to have wherein in case that the SDT is failed, the RA report further includes an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in order to enable the systems to operate more efficiently, by reducing energy consumption and delays [DECARREAU: background].
For claim 34, BERGSTROM and TAO teach all the limitations of parent claim 31. BERGSTROM and TAO do not explicitly teach in case that the SDT is failed, the RA report further includes an indication associated with a failure of the SDT.
However, DECARREAU explicitly teaches sending report with an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in case that the SDT is failed (DECARREAU, Figs. 4A, 6. and paragraphs 48-49, 88-94.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM and TAO with sending report with an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in case that the SDT is failed taught in DECARREAU to have wherein in case that the SDT is failed, the RA report further includes an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in order to enable the systems to operate more efficiently, by reducing energy consumption and delays [DECARREAU: background].
For claim 39, BERGSTROM and TAO teach all the limitations of parent claim 36. BERGSTROM and TAO do not explicitly teach in case that the SDT is failed, the RA report further includes an indication associated with a failure of the SDT.
However, DECARREAU explicitly teaches sending report with an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in case that the SDT is failed (DECARREAU, Figs. 4A, 6. and paragraphs 48-49, 88-94.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM and TAO with sending report with an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in case that the SDT is failed taught in DECARREAU to have wherein in case that the SDT is failed, the RA report further includes an indication associated with a failure of the SDT in order to enable the systems to operate more efficiently, by reducing energy consumption and delays [DECARREAU: background].
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412