DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed January 4 2024 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 39-40, 42, 66-67, 88-89 & 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Sloop US Pub. 2019/0260100.
With respect to claim 39, Sloop teaches a method of treating particles of used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material having a single, known cathode chemistry, the method comprising the following step: c) applying a second elevated temperature and/or a plasma (the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C; [0063]) to the particles to produce relithiated lithium ion battery cathode particles (Recycling processes for spent lithium-ion positive-electrode materials thus may include relithiation of the spent positive-electrode material; [0018]; the positive-electrode material may include NCA (LiNixCoyAlzO2); [0027]; positive-electrode material are particles; [0040]), recovered lithium ion battery cathode particles (Recycling processes for spent lithium-ion positive-electrode materials thus may include relithiation of the spent positive-electrode material; [0018]), or upgraded lithium ion battery cathode particles, the particles are at least partially coated with a molten layer of Li precursor (LiOH is passed through the positive-electrode material residing in the fluidized bed; [0045]; Examiners Note: there is inherently some coating due to the fluidized bed contact process between LiOH and the positive-electrode material in the first heating step, which would remain at the second heating; the second heating step: At 98, method 90 may include drying the product prior to calcination, or in the process of calcination through an evaporative step. At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide; [0063]; LiOH is molten at 940oC; [0063]), wherein the relithiated lithium ion battery cathode particles, the recovered lithium ion battery cathode particles, and the upgraded lithium ion battery cathode particles have a desired morphology and/or a desired crystallinity (At 98, method 90 may include drying the product prior to calcination, or in the process of calcination through an evaporative step. At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide; [0063]).
With respect to claim 40, further comprising the following steps: a) contacting the particles of used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material (Recycling processes for spent lithium-ion positive-electrode materials thus may include relithiation of the spent positive-electrode material; [0018]; the positive-electrode material may include NCA (LiNixCoyAlzO2); [0027]; positive-electrode material are particles; [0040]) with the Li precursor (LiOH is passed through the positive-electrode material residing in the fluidized bed; [0045]; Examiners Note: there is inherently some coating due to the fluidized bed contact process between LiOH and the positive-electrode material in the first heating step), thereby at least partially coating the particles with a non-molten layer of the Li precursor (the particles are exposed to LiOH or Li2CO3 at 250oC, wherein LiOH [Li precursor] is passed through the positive-electrode material residing in the fluidized bed; [0045]; Examiners Note: inherently some coating due to the fluidized bed contact process; to LiOH is not molten at 250oC); and b) applying a first elevated temperature to the particles with the non-molten layer of the Li precursor, thereby producing the particles at least partially coated with the molten layer of the Li precursor (the particles are exposed to LiOH or Li2CO3 at 250oC, wherein LiOH [Li precursor] is passed through the positive-electrode material residing in the fluidized bed; [0045]; thus inherently some coating due to the fluidized bed contact process; to LiOH is not molten at 250oC).
With respect to claim 42, the Li precursor further comprises a cathode-chemistry-adjusting additive (oxidizing agents include LiClO4; [0061]).
With respect to claim 66, wherein step c) includes applying the second elevated temperature (the second heating step: At 98, method 90 may include drying the product prior to calcination, or in the process of calcination through an evaporative step. At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide; [0063]; LiOH is molten at 940oC; [0063]).
With respect to claim 67, wherein the second elevated temperature is between 650 °C and 1000 °C (the second heating step: At 98, method 90 may include drying the product prior to calcination, or in the process of calcination through an evaporative step. At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide; [0063]; LiOH is molten at 940oC; [0063]).
With respect to claim 88, wherein the used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material, used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material (Recycling processes for spent lithium-ion positive-electrode materials thus may include relithiation of the spent positive-electrode material; [0018]; the positive-electrode material may include NCA (LiNixCoyAlzO2); [0027]; positive-electrode material are particles; [0040]), relithiated lithium ion battery cathode particles (Recycling processes for spent lithium-ion positive-electrode materials thus may include relithiation of the spent positive-electrode material; [0018]; the positive-electrode material may include NCA (LiNixCoyAlzO2); [0027]; positive-electrode material are particles; [0040]), recovered lithium ion battery cathode particles (Recycling processes for spent lithium-ion positive-electrode materials thus may include relithiation of the spent positive-electrode material; [0018]), or upgraded lithium ion battery cathode particles comprise lithium cobalt oxide, lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium manganese oxide, lithium iron phosphate, or a combination thereof (the positive-electrode material may include NCA (LiNixCoyAlzO2); [0027]).
With respect to claim 89, the Li precursor is selected from the group consisting of LiOH, LiNO3, Li2CO3, HCOOLi, Li2Ac, lithium citrate, LiCl, Li2SO4, Li2C204, and combinations thereof (the particles are exposed to LiOH or Li2CO3 at 250oC, wherein LiOH [Li precursor] is passed through the positive-electrode material residing in the fluidized bed; [0045]).
With respect to claim 95, the Li precursor is present in an amount in excess of the amount needed to produce the relithiated lithium ion battery cathode particles, the recovered lithium ion battery cathode particles, or the upgraded lithium ion battery cathode particles (concentration of LiOH exceeds saturation at typical ambient temperatures [0045]; cooled, hydrothermally treated solids are collected, and at 30 the solids are rinsed to remove excess LiOH [0049]).
Therefore, the instant claims are anticipated by Sloop.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41, 50, 71, 97, 100 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloop US Pub. 2019/0260100.
Sloop teaches a method of treating particles of used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material having a single, known cathode chemistry, as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. With respect to claim 50, Sloop teaches a method of treating particles of used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material having a single, known cathode chemistry, wherein the particles possess a desired morphology (positive-electrode material are particles; [0040]; positive-electrode material being coated [0043]; Examiners Note: positive-electrode material being coated is a desired morphology), the method comprising the following steps: a) at least partially coating each of the particles with a non-molten layer of Li precursor, thereby producing coated particles (the particles are exposed to LiOH or Li2CO3 at 250oC, wherein LiOH [Li precursor] is passed through the positive-electrode material residing in the fluidized bed; [0045]; Examiners Note: some coating due to the fluidized bed contact process; to LiOH is not molten at 250oC) ; b) applying a first elevated temperature to the coated particles, thereby producing particles at least partially coated with a molten layer of the Li precursor (a first elevated temperature: At 98, method 90 may include drying the product prior to calcination, or in the process of calcination through an evaporative step. At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide; [0063]; LiOH is molten at 940oC; [0063]; and c) thereby producing relithiated lithium ion battery cathode particles (LiOH is passed through the positive-electrode material residing in the fluidized bed for relithiation; [0045]).
Sloop does not teach or suggest: step c) applying a second elevated temperature to the particles at least partially coated with the molten layer of the Li precursor (claim 50); the non- molten layer of Li precursor has a thickness of between 0.1 nm and 1000 µm (claims 41 & 71); step c) is performed at an absolute pressure of less than 0.1 MPa (claim 97); annealing the relithiated lithium ion battery cathode particles, the recovered lithium ion battery cathode particles, and/or the upgraded lithium ion battery cathode particles (claim 100).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ step c) applying a second elevated temperature to the particles at least partially coated with the molten layer of the Li precursor (claim 50); in order to increase conductivity of the electrode, as Sloop teaches multiple heating steps with multiple heating rages. See the positive-electrode material being relithiated via a fluidized bed process with LiOH at elevated temperature at paragraph [0045]. See relithiation may be performed via a solid-state reaction using LiOH at elevated temperature at paragraph [0045]. At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide. See paragraph [0063]. Both ALD-NMC and NMC may behave this way, and the capacity may be reinstated after hydrothermal treatment and heating. Further, while the (uncoated) NMC may require sintering at temperatures ranging from 600° C.-900° C., the ALD-NMC sample was heated only to 300° C. See paragraph [0070]. Furthermore, selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See also Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946).
With respect to the non- molten layer of Li precursor having a thickness of between 0.1 nm and 1000 µm (claims 41 & 71); it would have been obvious in the method of Sloop, in order to control the lithiation rate of the positive-electrode material. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to the non- molten layer of Li precursor having a thickness of between 0.1 nm and 1000 µm (claims 41 & 71); it would have been obvious in the method of Sloop, in order to control the lithiation rate of the positive-electrode material. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to step c) being performed at an absolute pressure of less than 0.1 MPa (claim 97); it would have been obvious in the method of Sloop, in order to control the lithiation rate of the positive-electrode material. Sloop teaches relithiation may be performed via a solid-state reaction [0045]; hydrothermally treated solids are collected, and at 30 the solids are rinsed to remove excess LiOH [0049] thus LiOH coated in any hydrothermal process of [0045]. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to annealing the relithiated lithium ion battery cathode particles, the recovered lithium ion battery cathode particles, and/or the upgraded lithium ion battery cathode particles (claim 100); it would have been obvious in the method of Sloop, as the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000°. See [0063]. Thus showing contemplation of several heating processes. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 51, 59, 72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloop US Pub. 2019/0260100 in view of Jeon KR 20150022225A.
Sloop teaches a method of treating particles of used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material having a single, known cathode chemistry, as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. With respect to claim 59, Sloop teaches a method of treating particles of used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material having a single, known cathode chemistry, wherein the particles lack a desired morphology (Examiners Note: LiOH coated relithiation does not exist before recycling), the method comprising the following steps: c) applying a second elevated temperature and/or a plasma to the particles comprising the molten shell, wherein the applying produces recovered lithium ion battery cathode particles having the desired morphology (LiOH is passed through the positive-electrode material residing in the fluidized bed; [0045]; Examiners Note: there is some coating/shell due to the fluidized bed contact process between LiOH and the positive-electrode material in the first heating step, which would remain at the second heating; the second heating step: At 98, method 90 may include drying the product prior to calcination, or in the process of calcination through an evaporative step. At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide; [0063]; LiOH is molten at 940oC; [0063]; Examiners Note: LiOH coated relithiation is desired morphology). With respect to claim 72, the agglomerates and the particles having the molten shell have the desired morphology (LiOH coated relithiation is desired morphology; [0045]).
Sloop does not teach or suggest: a) forming agglomerates of the particles and Li precursor, the forming achieved by either: i) spray drying a suspension comprising a solution of the Li precursor having the particles suspended therein; or ii) dry mixing the particles with the Li precursor, wherein the Li precursor binds the particles together and at least partially coats the particles; b) applying a first elevated temperature to the agglomerates of the particles and the Li precursor, thereby producing particles comprising a molten shell (claim 59); includes spray drying (claim 51).
Jeon teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a) forming agglomerates of the particles and Li precursor, the forming achieved by either: i) spray drying a suspension comprising a solution of the Li precursor having the particles suspended therein; or ii) dry mixing the particles with the Li precursor, wherein the Li precursor binds the particles together and at least partially coats the particles (spray drying LiOH; paragraph 24; Examiners Note: the act of spraying forms agglomerates; spray drying is preferable from the viewpoint of uniformity of the produced particle material, powder fluidity and powder processing performance paragraph 23 of DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS; claim 59); includes spray drying (spray drying LiOH; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 24; claim 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a) forming agglomerates of the particles and Li precursor, the forming achieved by either: i) spray drying a suspension comprising a solution of the Li precursor having the particles suspended therein of Jeon, in the method of Sloop, as spray drying is preferable from the viewpoint of uniformity of the produced particle material, powder fluidity and powder processing performance. See Jeon at paragraph 23 of DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS.
With respect to b) applying a first elevated temperature to the agglomerates of the particles and the Li precursor, thereby producing particles comprising a molten shell (claim 59); it would have been obvious in the method of Sloop in view of Jeon, in order to increase conductivity of the electrode. Sloop teaches multiple heating steps with multiple heating rages. See the positive-electrode material being relithiated via a fluidized bed process with LiOH at elevated temperature, Sloop at paragraph [0045]. See relithiation may be performed via a solid-state reaction using LiOH at elevated temperature at paragraph [0045]. At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide. See Sloop paragraph [0063]. Both ALD-NMC and NMC may behave this way, and the capacity may be reinstated after hydrothermal treatment and heating. Further, while the (uncoated) NMC may require sintering at temperatures ranging from 600° C.-900° C., the ALD-NMC sample was heated only to 300° C. See Sloop paragraph [0070]. Furthermore, selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See also Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 68-69 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloop US Pub. 2019/0260100 in view of Hu US 2020/0052345.
Sloop teaches a method of treating particles of used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material having a single, known cathode chemistry, as described in the rejection recited hereinabove, including At 99, the product may be heated, sintered, or calcined at, for example, temperatures from 300° C. to 1000° C. to reorder the crystal lattice of the lithium metal oxide. See Sloop paragraph [0063].
Sloop does not teach or suggest: step c) includes applying the plasma (claim 68); applying the plasma includes a plasma power density of between 0.3 and 60 kW per kilogram of the used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material and/or a plasma exposure time of between 0.1 and 30 seconds (claim 69).
Hu teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: step c) includes applying the plasma (Various heating methods can be used, including but not limited to electric current activated/assisted sintering, Joule heating, combustion sintering, radiation heating, laser heating, plasma heating, microwave heating, combustion sintering, and flame heating (including gas flame, such as aerosol spray, heating) and combinations thereof; [0077]; claim 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ step c) including applying the plasma of Hu, in the method of Sloop, to reach predetermined higher temperatures efficiently to form molten layers.
With respect to applying the plasma includes a plasma power density of between 0.3 and 60 kW per kilogram of the used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material and/or a plasma exposure time of between 0.1 and 30 seconds (claim 69); it would have been obvious in the method of Sloop in view of Hu, to reach predetermined higher temperatures efficiently to form molten layers. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 104 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloop US Pub. 2019/0260100 in view of WANG et al. CN 202700637.
Sloop teaches a method of treating particles of used or damaged lithium ion battery cathode material having a single, known cathode chemistry, as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
Sloop does not teach or suggest a-molten shell process reactor comprising: a pre-mixing device including a spray injector or a ball milling device; a particle-gas pre-heating chamber positioned to receive particles from the pre-mixing device; a cyclone separator downstream of the particle-gas pre-heating chamber; a plasma treatment region downstream of the cyclone separator; and a plasma electrode configured to produce a plasma in the plasma treatment region, wherein the micro-molten shell process reactor is configured to execute the method (claim 104).
WANG teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a-molten shell process reactor comprising: a pre-mixing device including a spray injector or a ball milling device; a particle-gas pre-heating chamber positioned to receive particles from the pre-mixing device; a cyclone separator downstream of the particle-gas pre-heating chamber; a plasma treatment region downstream of the cyclone separator; and a plasma electrode configured to produce a plasma in the plasma treatment region, wherein the micro-molten shell process reactor is configured to execute the method ( wet ball mill (5) is connected with the middle tank (6) is connected with the cyclone (B) is connected with the inlet, outlet pipe and the wet ball mill (5) and the ore groove (9) is connected with the inlet, a wet ball mill (5) and underground settling tank (13) connected with the raw ore separating groove (9) is connected with a feeding pump (10) is connected with the tank (19) is connected with the inlet, the front pool (19) and a plasma generator (20) is respectively with the gas-liquid mixing pump (21) is connected with the inlet, a gas-liquid mixing pump (21) is connected with the gas-liquid reactor (22) is connected with the inlet, a gas-liquid reactor (22); teaching claim 1; claim 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a-molten shell process reactor comprising: a pre-mixing device including a spray injector or a ball milling device; a particle-gas pre-heating chamber positioned to receive particles from the pre-mixing device; a cyclone separator downstream of the particle-gas pre-heating chamber; a plasma treatment region downstream of the cyclone separator of WANG, in the a-molten shell process reactor of Sloop, to form sufficient coatings.
With respect to a plasma electrode configured to produce a plasma in the plasma treatment region, and the micro-molten shell process reactor is configured to execute the method; the molten shell process reactor Sloop in view of WANG, as Lan teaches all of the components capable of performing said functions.
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723