DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation 200ppm to 800ppm, and the claim also recites 300ppm to 600ppm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-4, 7-14, 15, 17-19 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for controlling resistant pests by exposing pests to flavesone, leptospermone, and isoleptospermone (claims 5 and 6), does not reasonably provide enablement for practicing the claimed method with the full scope of compounds in rejected claims. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) the nature of the invention; (b) the breadth of the claims; (c) the state of the prior art; (d) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (e) the existence of working examples; (f) the relative skill of those in the art; (g) whether the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure is "undue"; and (h) the level of predictability in the art (MPEP 2164.01 (a)).
Nature of the invention and Breadth of the claims:
Claims are directed to a method of controlling resistant pests in urban and agricultural environment. The method comprises exposing the resistant pests to compound of formula (I). The breadth of claims resides in the types of pests that are controlled, the types of pesticide resistance that the pests have acquired and scope of the active agent to which the pests are exposed. The type of pest and type of resistance is not limited in claim 1 and therefore includes hundreds of possible pests and resistance to dozens of known pesticides with varying mechanisms of actions.
State of the prior art and level of predictability in the art:
In order to have activity against resistant pests, the compound must have activity against non-resistant pests. With regards to the scope of compounds encompassed by formula (I) of claims 1 and 18 (the independent claims), art recognizes flavesone, leptospermone, and isoleptospermone as natural products that have pesticidal activity against a variety of pests (Jeong et al Pest Management Science, 2008, 65(3) 327-331). The other compounds within the scope of formula (I) have not been previously described in the art as pesticides. The practice of invention requires understanding of mechanism of action of the beta-triketones and knowledge regarding interaction of specific substituents on the triketone with the target molecule in the pest. Structures of flavesone, leptospermone, and isoleptospermone are very similar and differ only in the arrangement of carbon atoms around the non-cyclic ketone. Current claims comprise compounds that have great variability in the acidity, basicity, ionization and steric considerations where flavesone has an isopropyl ketone. Based on the structure of the three natural compounds, a skilled artisan would not assign the same pesticidal activity to other compounds within the scope of the rejected claims.
Amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples:
Examples in the specification are directed to flavesone. Flavesone is the only compound within the scope of Formula (I) that has been tested. With regards to other compounds, applicants state their intent to use them, but no pesticidal activity for anything other than flavesone has been shown.
Relative skill of those in the art and quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention: Although the relative level of skill in the art is high, one of ordinary skill would not be able to control the population of resistant pests according to the claimed method without engaging in undue experimentation. 1) it’s not clear if any of the compounds other than flavesone have pesticidal activity. 2) its not known what mechanism the compounds utilize to achieve pesticidal activity and therefore 3) also unknown what pests with what resistance would be susceptible to control using the compound. In order to practice the invention as claimed, a person of ordinary skill would need to undertake an undue amount of experimentation without having any certainty that any compound other than flavesone can be utilized as a pesticide.
Thus, given these considerations, one of ordinary skill in the art clearly would not be able to practice the claimed method such that it can be used as contemplated in the specification without first engaging in substantial and undue experimentation. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, as lacking and enabling disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by May (International Pest Control, 2016, 58(6), 310-311).
In paragraph bridging pages 310 and 311 May discloses successful testing of flavesone against ticks and buffalo fly including against pyrethroid and organophosphate-resistant strains. This disclosure of May anticipates claim 1 because testing encompasses exposing the pyrethroid and organophosphate resistant strains of ticks and buffalo fly to claimed compound (flavesone). The step of exposing is the sole active step of claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 17-19 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (Pest Management Science, 2009, 65, 327-331; submitted with IDS) in view of IRAC (https://croplife.org/wp-content/uploads/pdf_files/IRAC-Prevention-management-of-insecticide-resistance-in-vectors-pests-of-public-health-importance.pdf; published 2006)
Scope of prior art
Jeong et al. teach a study of natural products isolated from L. Scoparium. Jeong teaches that repeated use of synthetic chemicals as pesticides led to resistance in mites and that the study is aimed at developing natural acaricides derived from L. Scoparium which will affect the biological activity of a mite (Abstract). On page 3 of the article in Figure 1 Jeong identifies leptospermone (compound 1), which is within the scope of the claimed compound (1), as being active against three species of mites. (page 3, second column, 2nd paragraph).
Ascertaining the difference
Jeong et al. fail to teach activity of leptospermone against resistant mites.
Secondary reference
IRAC teaches that to combat resistance in pests one should identify the mechanism of action involved in resistance and to switch to an insecticide that functions through a different mechanism of action (page 41, section 8.4)
Obviousness
One skilled in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date of the instant application would have found it obvious to control mites by exposing resistant pests to leptospermone. Jeong et al teach leptospermone to be more effective than DEET (page 3, column 2, paragraph 2). In view of the disclosed activity of leptospermone and teaching of IRAC to switch pest control agents when resistance is identified, one would have found it obvious to try controlling population of pesticide resistant pests by administering to said population leptospermone. Motivation to try is provided by Jeong because is directed to identifying insecticides that are potentially effective against resistant pests. Since Jeong is successful at identifying leptospermone as a potent insecticide, it would have been obvious to try using it on resistant mites. Expectation of success is provided by the activity of leptospermone being more potent that conventional pesticides such as DEET. Since leptospermone is more effective than DEET it would have been obvious to try in controlling mites that are resistant to DEET.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-13, 15, 17-19, 23-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,259,522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘522 patent is directed to a method of controlling pesticide resistant pests by administering compound of formula (I). While instant claims recite “exposing pests to a compound” and claims of the ‘522 patent recite “applying to the agricultural environment compound of formula (I)”, applying the compound to agricultural environment is the same as exposing the pests to the compound. Since the compound is a pesticide, exposure to the pest is required for activity.
Claims 1-13, 15, 17-19, 23-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,712,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims of the ‘039 patent are directed to a method of controlling resistant pests comprising exposing the pests to the currently claimed compounds. Claim 14 recites combination treatment with another pesticide, claim 7 recites the currently claimed amounts. Claim 17 recites domestic and outdoor environments.
Conclusion
Claims 1-13, 15, 17-19 and 23-26 are pending
Claims 1-13, 15, 17-19 and 23-26 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628