Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/05/2026 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-8, 11-18 and 20 have been amended. Claims 9-10 and 19 has been cancelled. Claims 1-8, 11-18 and 20 are currently pending in the instant application.
The rejection of claims 9 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as allegedly being indefinite has been withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 11 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, provided that all other rejections under 35 USC 101/112 (if any) are obviated upon upcoming amendments/arguments without raising new issue that necessitate further consideration/searches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0314537 A1) (hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Ross et al Pat. No.: (US 6,380,804 A1) (hereinafter "Ross”).
With respect to claim 1: Yang discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a switching indication for switching from a source artificial intelligence (AI) model to a target (AI) model (first communication device receives AI model switching indication from a second communication device [0076-0078], [Fig. 2], wherein the second communication device is a network-side device [0085], the network side device is a base station [0074], [Fig. 1]);
determining a switching delay for the target AI model (determining a switching gap for the change of AI models [0123], [0378-0394]);
applying the target AI model based on the switching delay (first device switched from first AI model to second AI model [0078], [0211], [0050-0058]);
However, Yang does no explicitly disclose determining a switching delay based on a switching sequence;
Ross discloses determining a switching delay based on a switching sequence (The delivery of a control signal to each individual stage is delayed by a delay unit so that the modes of the stages are switched in a desired sequence [Col 2 lines 1-16], [Col 3 lines 1-7]. Therefore, a delay is determined in order for the modes of the stages witched in a desired sequence);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang in view of Ross in order to determining a switching delay based on a switching sequence;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide an optimized time for switching modes [Ross: Col 3 lines 1-7].
Additionally, based on the broadest reasonable of interpretation of “a switching delay for the target AI model based on a switching sequence”, examiner could have reasonably cited [0123-0130] of Yang, where the AI model Gap is determined based on the different types or structures of the AI models, such that the Gap is based on the first sequence of the first AI model being the same type as the second AI model or the second sequence of the first AI model being a different type then the second AI model. Which can be interpreted as 2 different sequences for switching.
With respect to claim 2: Yang-Ross discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Yang disclose wherein the switching indication is received at a first time, and wherein the target AI model is applied at a second time that is offset from the first time by the switching delay (determining the gap for switching from first AI model to second A model, and the duration of the switching gap along with the start and end time for switching from the first AI model to the second AI model [0123], [0378-0394]).
With respect to claim 3: Yang-Ross discloses the method of claim 2 as set forth above, further comprising:
Yang disclose receiving, from the base station, the switching sequence for a plurality of AI models including the source AI model and the target AI model (determining whether there is a switch gap between the first AI model and the second AI model and the contents of the first AI model and the second AI model, along with the configurations of the AI models to determine the sequence of when the switch should be done [0094-0109], [0121-0129]).
With respect to claims 11-13, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 1-3, respectively. Therefore claims 11-13 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-3.
With respect to claim 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1, respectively. Therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/MICHAEL A KELLER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446